Are these the new Onkyo receivers ?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-08-2008, 09:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
smooth aviator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I discovered a link on B&H photo's website for an Onkyo TX-SR506 and TX-SR576 in their receiver catalog. The 576 didn't even have a photo but they are taking pre-orders. The 506 seems to have 3 HDMI's input and 1 HDMI out. I can't find any information for these models on Onkyo's USA website but something is happening...can anyone share more information ?
smooth aviator is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2008, 04:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
smooth aviator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The link to the Onkyo TX-SR506 is

Onkyo_TX_SR506

The receiver and remote are below.

new remote, three HDMI in, one out
smooth aviator is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Davidt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Wow!!! 3 HDMI inputs for $300.
Davidt1 is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 12:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
smooth aviator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
will they abandon the faroudja video chips as oppo has done with their latest DVD player ? Is there a 606 ??
smooth aviator is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
 
dgjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davidt1 View Post

Wow!!! 3 HDMI inputs for $300.

yeah not bad. I wish i knew all the specs of it. Since I have a 503 it's really time to update. I'll be keeping an eye on this one as well.

"I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am HE, ye shall die in your sins."

John 8:24 (King James Version)




PSN: IR_dgjr
dgjr is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 03:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pinstripe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smooth aviator View Post

Is there a 606 ??

Not yet, but it will have 4 hdmi in!

http://www.av-forums.net/plus/viewthread.php?tid=42374

Pinstripe is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
mikelike2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Salem, VA
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why no 7.1 analog inputs? That's a little disappointing.
mikelike2 is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 06:13 PM
Member
 
supwdatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: il
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[/quote]

Aren't they just to the left of the zone 2 lineouts? Or am I mistaken?
supwdatt is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 06:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by smooth aviator View Post

will they abandon the faroudja video chips as oppo has done with their latest DVD player ? Is there a 606 ??

No..
The 606, 706 & 806 uses the Genesis Hudson II processor which does scale to 1080i..
M Code is online now  
Old 03-16-2008, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oztech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 7,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by supwdatt View Post


Aren't they just to the left of the zone 2 lineouts? Or am I mistaken?[/quote]

Thats the ones labeled dvd.
oztech is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 06:40 PM
Member
 
supwdatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: il
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ooops, my bad
supwdatt is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
simon_templar_32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post

No..
The 606, 706 & 806 uses the Genesis Hudson II processor which does scale to 1080i..

What other info do you have on the 706 and 806? Any chance the xx6 line will address the problems with the xx5 line such as overheating and lipsynching?
simon_templar_32 is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
mikelike2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Salem, VA
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Aren't they just to the left of the zone 2 lineouts? Or am I mistaken?

Thats the ones labeled dvd. [/quote]

oztech: I assumed that was the preouts. I can't see where it's labeled. Odd.
mikelike2 is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kemiza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Circle City
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 90
I think so http://www.hdtv-space-forum.de/avrec...3295;topicseen

Panasonic TC-P50ST60 plasma HD television, Onkyo TX-SR805 and PIONEER ELITE VSX-47TX receivers, Klipsch RB-75(2 pair) and RB-61 bookshelf speakers, Klipsch RSW-10, RSW-12(2), Velodyne HGS-12, HGS-18 subwoofers, OPPO BDP-103, PS3 80G, PIONEER DV-525 dvd player, Klipsch RS-42 surrounds, Klipsch RC-52 center channel
kemiza is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kemiza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Circle City
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Still no preamp outputs on the 606.

Panasonic TC-P50ST60 plasma HD television, Onkyo TX-SR805 and PIONEER ELITE VSX-47TX receivers, Klipsch RB-75(2 pair) and RB-61 bookshelf speakers, Klipsch RSW-10, RSW-12(2), Velodyne HGS-12, HGS-18 subwoofers, OPPO BDP-103, PS3 80G, PIONEER DV-525 dvd player, Klipsch RS-42 surrounds, Klipsch RC-52 center channel
kemiza is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 08:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemiza View Post

Still no preamp outputs on the 606.

Don't expect that feature on an entry-level HDMI 1.3 repeater AVR, if one wants that feature then they need to move up a couple of steps. Since having pre-outs typically means..
Having a more expensive, advanced system having external component power amplifiers..

Just my $0.02...
M Code is online now  
Old 03-16-2008, 10:14 PM
Member
 
phoenix1406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When will these be available?
phoenix1406 is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 10:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
_Avarice_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post

Don't expect that feature on an entry-level HDMI 1.3 repeater AVR, if one wants that feature then they need to move up a couple of steps. Since having pre-outs typically means..
Having a more expensive, advanced system having external component power amplifiers..

Just my $0.02...

I'm sure this is likely the exception and not the rule, but the Yammy V663 has preouts and is certainly an entry-level AVR (at least by price standards).

Avarice
_Avarice_ is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
samsurd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Texas
Posts: 3,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Avarice_ View Post

I'm sure this is likely the exception and not the rule, but the Yammy V663 has preouts and is certainly an entry-level AVR (at least by price standards).

It's not an exception. The Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K also has preouts and is in the same MSRP price regime.
samsurd2 is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 11:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pinstripe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So does the H/K in this price range.

I just noticed the specs on the rear are 4Ω.
Pinstripe is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 11:46 AM
Member
 
sbeveraggi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just 1080i upscaling in the 606, 706 and 806?
Any of you guys know if Onkyo receivers can upconvert analog sources to hdmi, without upscaling? My 1080p tv has a good upscaler, so I would like to avoid double video processing...
Thanks!

Just trying to learn...
sbeveraggi is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 12:01 PM
Member
 
trxjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would 1080i upscaling make any sense for someone with a 720p PDP? I'm in the market for either a 4280HD Kuro or a Panasonic 50PX80U plasma display, both of which are 720p. Would I be better off upscaling and passing everything to the display over HDMI @ 1080i and letting the display scale it to native res? The amount of HDMI inputs on the 606 is really appealing for me because I have 4 devices that all (can) run on HDMI (stb, LG Br/HDDVD, PS3 and 360 elite).

Probably looking to purchase around June/July.
trxjw is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shinksma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wandering the intertubes, on the way to damnation
Posts: 2,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Hmm, the 606 sounds like just what I'm looking for:

4 HDMI inputs
Transcodes and upscales to 1080i (and doesn't mess with 1080p)
7.1 + zone 2
Advanced audio format decoding

The only thing that would be nice, but is not a requirement, is the 7.1 analog pre-outputs so I could use a separate amp if I wanted. But I'll never actually do that, so I can live without it.

Gotta keep my eye on this now. Was looking very seriously at the 705, but having only three HDMI inputs bugged me, since I'm sure I'll eventually have four HDMI devices, since I went from one to two to three very quickly. And the transcoding of component to HDMI limited to 720p on the 705 was another no-go issue for me.

Very interesting...

shinksma

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my captors.
shinksma is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
smooth aviator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post

No..
The 606, 706 & 806 uses the Genesis Hudson II processor which does scale to 1080i..

Thanks for the images, still nothing up on the Onkyo USA site despite B&H's pitch for pre-orders.

The 606 looks very interesting, I would love to know how competive their prices are, compared to Yamaha's new 663/863.

Does anyone know if the 1080i conversion downgrades the hidef signals ? See this original link about the 605 faroudja chip
http://="http://www.avsforum.com/avs...9#post12967089

If not, then 1080i would be a real gift. I would also like to get more information about the bass function, and how it compares to the competition who have provided dual subwoofer output.
smooth aviator is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 17
when do new ones usually launch? i'll be looking at PDP's in June/July - think that's about right?
b_scott is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 12:36 PM
Member
 
scubadiverdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One thing that I noticed is that the XM and Sirius inputs are not there. I use my Sirius radio a lot since the radio station here in Ral, NC suck, unless you are a Country fan. I wonder if they are on the 706? Anyone know this answer?
scubadiverdj is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 08:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
smooth aviator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It may be due to the fact that the 606 shown is the european variant which may not offer Sirius/XM capabilities due to lack of coverage. There were similar differences between 605's sold in america and europe, including the use of banana plugs and connections for zone 2 speakers etc. Onkyo USA hasn't updated their site to show 606 specs so additional product shots can be expected.
smooth aviator is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 09:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by smooth aviator View Post

Thanks for the images, still nothing up on the Onkyo USA site despite B&H's pitch for pre-orders.

The 606 looks very interesting, I would love to know how competive their prices are, compared to Yamaha's new 663/863.

Does anyone know if the 1080i conversion downgrades the hidef signals ? See this original link about the 605 faroudja chip
http://="http://www.avsforum.com/avs...9#post12967089

If not, then 1080i would be a real gift. I would also like to get more information about the bass function, and how it compares to the competition who have provided dual subwoofer output.

Hudson II uses a 2D comb filter.
M Code is online now  
Old 03-18-2008, 11:00 PM
Member
 
sbeveraggi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post

Hudson II uses a 2D comb filter.

Do you know if transcoding to hdmi without any upscaling or deinterlacing will be possible with these receivers?

Just trying to learn...
sbeveraggi is offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 05:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
smooth aviator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post

Hudson II uses a 2D comb filter.

That is a rather curious choice by Onkyo, I don't think anyone has a digital TV that still outputs 1080i native resolution through a 2D comb filter... 1080i may be considered better than 720p in some circles but 2D comb filtering at this level may really prove to be useless. Is it that hard for Genesis to upgrade their basline chips to a 3D filter ?? Or do we have to wait for 2-3 more marketing cycles ??
smooth aviator is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off