Official Denon AVP-A1HD/AVP-A1HDCI and POA-A1HD/POA-A1HDCI owners thread. - Page 231 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 15Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6901 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

just curious how many servers would you say Denon has for consumers to update? Because there was another update and as usual around 43 minutes updating it gets stuck. I guess they must know that people get stalled with these updates and by knowing that you think that they should provide more servers.It really annoys me.

The following Denon change log for mid-October update:

1)Translation mistake in German and other languages.

2)The GUI and OSD of the A/V amplifier doesn't operate correctly when the A/V amplifier is connected with "iPhone 3G".

3)Improvement of the Audyssey Dynamic Volume function. (For only PAY-Upgraded models.)

Like 80's rock? Add Pirate Radio KQLZ (updated 8/21/11): http://174.127.65.10:80 to your http://www.radiodenon.com

Firmware update? http://denon-firmware-tracking.wetpaint.com/
captavs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6902 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 08:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by captavs View Post

The following Denon change log for mid-October update:

1)Translation mistake in German and other languages.

2)The GUI and OSD of the A/V amplifier doesn't operate correctly when the A/V amplifier is connected with "iPhone 3G".

3)Improvement of the Audyssey Dynamic Volume function. (For only PAY-Upgraded models.)

Can I ask where do you get your log from? Im looking at the Japn website and cannot seem to find a thing.

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #6903 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Aesculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Nor Calif
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

just curious how many servers would you say Denon has for consumers to update? Because there was another update and as usual around 43 minutes updating it gets stuck. I guess they must know that people get stalled with these updates and by knowing that you think that they should provide more servers.It really annoys me.

I have no idea but I just keep getting "Connection Failed" messages when I check for updates.

Chris
Aesculus is offline  
post #6904 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 6,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonFo View Post

So bottom line, I'd use a digital link if available, and Recommend a DenonLink for highest performance.

I don't have a Denon player so I can't take advantage of the DenonLink. I have one player hooked up via digital coax and another via HDMI.

Growing Older But Not Up
Waboman is online now  
post #6905 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

Can I ask where do you get your log from? Im looking at the Japn website and cannot seem to find a thing.

Takes time for Japan website to update

Like 80's rock? Add Pirate Radio KQLZ (updated 8/21/11): http://174.127.65.10:80 to your http://www.radiodenon.com

Firmware update? http://denon-firmware-tracking.wetpaint.com/
captavs is offline  
post #6906 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Tom Blake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Benicia, CA , U.S.A.
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by the rick View Post

Do anyone know of any units beside McIntosh that use an analog volume control? I have no idea why I care but this jogged my memory of an old argument I got into that never got proved

Theta Casablanca always had an analog volume control and full analog bypass.
Tom Blake is offline  
post #6907 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

Can I ask where do you get your log from? Im looking at the Japn website and cannot seem to find a thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by captavs View Post

Takes time for Japan website to update

But what is your source, captavs? You've kinda become the source around here for details about firmware changes, which is greatly appreciated, but we can't seem to find this info anywhere else. So we're just wondering where it comes from.
progprog is offline  
post #6908 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 10:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 184
I like to know, before I begin updating.it will be nice if there is a site where we can go to before we update.

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #6909 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

But what is your source, captavs? You've kinda become the source around here for details about firmware changes, which is greatly appreciated, but we can't seem to find this info anywhere else. So we're just wondering where it comes from.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

I like to know, before I begin updating.it will be nice if there is a site where we can go to before we update.

Ask Gene from Audioholics if he has any change log. Your Wiki has info from Gene as well.

Like 80's rock? Add Pirate Radio KQLZ (updated 8/21/11): http://174.127.65.10:80 to your http://www.radiodenon.com

Firmware update? http://denon-firmware-tracking.wetpaint.com/
captavs is offline  
post #6910 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ohyeah32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Land of Enchantment
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by captavs View Post

The following Denon change log for mid-October update:

1)Translation mistake in German and other languages.

2)The GUI and OSD of the A/V amplifier doesn't operate correctly when the A/V amplifier is connected with "iPhone 3G".

3)Improvement of the Audyssey Dynamic Volume function. (For only PAY-Upgraded models.)

I just want to say that I "really" appreciate you sharing this info with us here. All of the past update info you have shared with us has been spot on with what Gene has provided. So I have no doubt that this info is indeed accurate.

Thanks again.


Seth
ohyeah32 is online now  
post #6911 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 12:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ohyeah32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Land of Enchantment
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielo View Post

Seth i am so happy you also got this bug now , I was missing the whole community feeling around this bug and wondering why i was alone in finding it. Feel much better now.

If (and it sounds like it) its the same bug its not audessey itself that is the problem but Dynamic EQ see the video if you turn that off its fine.

I think i know how to trigger it and after ive rebuild my home setup and saved it again ill try if i can 'screw it up' again. Once its screwed up the bug stays until you start from zero again.

Very good that you mailed it to Gene, in the past i have talked to Jeff a few times and if needed will provide him with mode info. lets keep both ways open since i am not sure how quickly the dutch denon route will go (they are still thinking if they want to sell the volume upgrade at all, amazing).

Also its not just related to DTS i had it on multiple input and connection types (optical, hdmi, analog) and even in direct and pure-direct if you also use audessey on these modes.

Daniel.

I still need to verify and see if what I experienced is indeed the same issue that you are having. So far, other than the "one" incident with a streamed DTS Surround track, everything else is working great. I have tried all of my connected audio inputs and all are issue free so far. I have watched over 7 Blu-ray movies since the update and with Audyssey fully engaged not once has the volume spiked. So I'm still sticking to my theory that the volume spike I experienced was do to Audyssey kicking in abruptly on multichannel from a 2 channel Direct (or Pure Direct) state.

If this is indeed the case, then it's still no less of a potential problem. As I should be able to listen to DTS Surround while streaming without the need to worry that the volume is going to spike all of a sudden if it goes from a 2 channel track to DTS surround with Audyssey on. I should also bring this up to Chris on the Audyssey thread and see what he has to say.

But for the moment I am only going to listen to 2 channel material when streaming. And just to be safe I also turned Audyssey off for Net/USB.


BTW I tried to view that video you have showing the volume issue on your AVP, but only showed "page error" when I downloaded. I don't know why.



Seth
ohyeah32 is online now  
post #6912 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ohyeah32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Land of Enchantment
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

Well at least we know its a firmware issue. Hopefully Denon can respond quickly.

Yeah I'm pretty sure that it's a firmware issue. And once Denon is aware of it and what it's doing, then they can find a fix for it. Until then, since I only have 3 DTS surround CD's, if I can't listen to those three albums via streaming, no biggie. I have 600 non DTS CD's I can still enjoy!
Now if I had like 40 or 50 DTS encoded CD's that I wanted to stream, well then that's another story.

But like I was telling Daniel, every other source so far has been issue free. Satellite, DVD, HD DVD, and Blu-ray, are all working just fine with Audyssey Dynamic EQ and Dynamic Volume.

Speaking of Dynamic Volume, I watched Indiana Jones IV last night and it was an awesome listening experience! Talk about a stunner of a soundtrack! And not once during the whole film did I have to turn up the volume to hear the dialog, and at all times the sound effects never overpowered the dialog.

I am impressed with what Dynamic Volume does.


Seth
ohyeah32 is online now  
post #6913 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohyeah32 View Post

I just want to say that I "really" appreciate you sharing this info with us here. All of the past update info you have shared with us has been spot on with what Gene has provided. So I have no doubt that this info is indeed accurate.

Thanks again.
Seth

I absolutely agree, Seth. The info has proven accurate and it's greatly appreciated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by captavs View Post

Ask Gene from Audioholics if he has any change log. Your Wiki has info from Gene as well.

But why so secretive about the source? Obviously, the info must be published somewhere, if Gene and captavs have access to it. I'm merely suggesting that many AVP owners would like to access this information at its source, at their convenience.
progprog is offline  
post #6914 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohyeah32 View Post

BTW I tried to view that video you have showing the volume issue on your AVP, but only showed "page error" when I downloaded. I don't know why.

Seth

I was able to download it (it took quite a while), but it only played audio.
progprog is offline  
post #6915 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
danielo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 4,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

I was able to download it (it took quite a while), but it only played audio.

How weird but for you people ill reencode it and try again

new h.264, http://www.xs4all.nl/~daniel/ht/avpbug2.mp4

Daniel.

for men to evolve we have to upgrade
danielo is online now  
post #6916 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Whatever you did, Daniel, it downloaded much faster, but still no video. That's okay, though, because I was able to hear the volume jump (and you quickly rescuing your equipment...). So is the consensus that this is a Dynamic Volume issue?
progprog is offline  
post #6917 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

I absolutely agree, Seth. The info has proven accurate and it's greatly appreciated.



But why so secretive about the source? Obviously, the info must be published somewhere, if Gene and captavs have access to it. I'm merely suggesting that many AVP owners would like to access this information at its source, at their convenience.

My source prefers to be unnamed.

Cheers, captavs

Like 80's rock? Add Pirate Radio KQLZ (updated 8/21/11): http://174.127.65.10:80 to your http://www.radiodenon.com

Firmware update? http://denon-firmware-tracking.wetpaint.com/
captavs is offline  
post #6918 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by captavs View Post

My source prefers to be unnamed.

Cheers, captavs

Can you at least clarify why this information should be "classified?" Just seems bizarre to me that every owner doesn't get this info from Denon with every update notification. As Frank said, it makes sense to be able to check these things before deciding whether we want to run an update.
progprog is offline  
post #6919 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
danielo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 4,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

Whatever you did, Daniel, it downloaded much faster, but still no video. That's okay, though, because I was able to hear the volume jump (and you quickly rescuing your equipment...). So is the consensus that this is a Dynamic Volume issue?

I did let someone else download it, you just need a good mp4 player . No its NOT Dynamic Volume its Dynamic EQ. I do think it triggers something in Dynamic Volume. Why simple my avp doesn't have Dynamic Volume yet, denon in netherlands is still thinking about it.

For you in the video you see me turn on/off dynamic eq. Ill make a wmv for you .

http://www.xs4all.nl/~daniel/ht/avpbug.wmv

Daniel.

for men to evolve we have to upgrade
danielo is online now  
post #6920 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 02:41 PM
Member
 
iolair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielo View Post

How weird but for you people ill reencode it and try again

new h.264, http://www.xs4all.nl/~daniel/ht/avpbug2.mp4

Daniel.

I downloaded it just now and it seems to work ok........audio+video.

John

I used to be a dyslexic-agnostic-insomniac but I got tired of lying awake in bed at night wondering if there really was a dog.

Althea's Garage
iolair is offline  
post #6921 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
danielo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 4,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

Can you at least clarify why this information should be "classified?" Just seems bizarre to me that every owner doesn't get this info from Denon with every update notification. As Frank said, it makes sense to be able to check these things before deciding whether we want to run an update.

Infact in the next version they should DISPLAY this on the screen before you hit 'upgrade'.

Daniel.

for men to evolve we have to upgrade
danielo is online now  
post #6922 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
progprog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Other Washington
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielo View Post

Infact in the next version they should DISPLAY this on the screen before you hit 'upgrade'.

Daniel.

YES! This is exactly what I have been waiting for!
progprog is offline  
post #6923 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 02:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
peterpioli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The AVP-A1HDs with the October upgrade already included now shipping?
peterpioli is offline  
post #6924 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by progprog View Post

YES! This is exactly what I have been waiting for!

Heck I'm looking forward to the day I wake up and the computer says "work is done enjoy the day"

Like 80's rock? Add Pirate Radio KQLZ (updated 8/21/11): http://174.127.65.10:80 to your http://www.radiodenon.com

Firmware update? http://denon-firmware-tracking.wetpaint.com/
captavs is offline  
post #6925 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
danielo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 4,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by captavs View Post

Heck I'm looking forward to the day I wake up and the computer says "work is done enjoy the day"

As a ex programmer i can make that for you if you want no problem .

I hope you do agree that that is the best place to but the change log no?

Daniel.

for men to evolve we have to upgrade
danielo is online now  
post #6926 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielo View Post

As a ex programmer i can make that for you if you want no problem .

I hope you do agree that that is the best place to but the change log no?

Daniel.

Ha... more programming more work

Like 80's rock? Add Pirate Radio KQLZ (updated 8/21/11): http://174.127.65.10:80 to your http://www.radiodenon.com

Firmware update? http://denon-firmware-tracking.wetpaint.com/
captavs is offline  
post #6927 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
danielo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 4,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by captavs View Post

Ha... more programming more work

he i would just put up the message i would not make any claims about the content of the message itself.

I do notice that you sortof skip our questions could it be you work on the firmware ?. If you don't reply on this we assume thats a fact ok

Daniel.

for men to evolve we have to upgrade
danielo is online now  
post #6928 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 03:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielo View Post

he i would just put up the message i would not make any claims about the content of the message itself.

I do notice that you sortof skip our questions could it be you work on the firmware ?. If you don't reply on this we assume thats a fact ok

Daniel.

Assume whatever you want.

Like 80's rock? Add Pirate Radio KQLZ (updated 8/21/11): http://174.127.65.10:80 to your http://www.radiodenon.com

Firmware update? http://denon-firmware-tracking.wetpaint.com/
captavs is offline  
post #6929 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 04:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
tassop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonFo View Post

Well I got a Denon player because wanted all digital link for all content, including CD's.

The AVP's DAC's are always in-circuit as far as I can tell. So whatever you hear, it's gone through the AVP's DAC's.

Many pages ago, the question of whether the AVP had a pure analog bypass mode came up, I challenged it, and no one as refuted it.

So bottom line, I'd use a digital link if available, and Recommend a DenonLink for highest performance.

I think I remember making the point that Denon state explicitly that the AVP does have full analog bypass.
tassop is offline  
post #6930 of 26325 Old 10-16-2008, 04:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
tassop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

I wonder what happened to Tassop and even Mark B? Have not seen them around for awhile.

I have been on holidays ( mostly on a cruise ship in the Mediterranean). Just got back. It looks like I have a bit of catching up to do!
tassop is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avp A1hdci Ultra Reference A V Network Streaming Preamplifier , Denon , Component Preamplifiers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off