Official Denon AVP-A1HD/AVP-A1HDCI and POA-A1HD/POA-A1HDCI owners thread. - Page 729 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 57Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2012, 09:16 PM
Member
 
Hi-Res's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRADH View Post

After the upgrade you can make chances from -15 -10 -5db. If I understand it correctly when it's set at 0db and you listen at ref -0 db Dynamic EQ is off. When you lower the volume Dynamic EQ kicks in to give you the same effects as at ref -0db. Setting Dynamic EQ at -15db -10 -5db then that becomes the new ref for Dynamic EQ so at a lower setting you will get less Dynamic EQ at lower volumes. I hope that's right.

Brad

Here is my understanding of Reference Level in Dynamic EQ as it relates to music and cinema sources
0 dB (Film Ref): Default – use for movies
5 dB: use for sources with very wide dynamic range, such as classical music.
10 dB: use this for jazz or music with wide dynamic range. TV is usually mixed at 10 dB below film reference
15 dB: use this setting for pop/rock or material mixed at very high listening levels and that has compressed dynamic range

As you go from 0 (default) offset to 15 dB you are telling Dynamic EQ to compensate less. In other words you have to turn the volume down much more before it starts to make the adjustments.

In my opinion, the ability to adjust the reference level for Dynamic EQ is one of the major improvements from the AVP Upgrade
Hi-Res is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2012, 11:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
alebonau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Land of Contentment :)
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 134
thanks guys, I would agree, that is a pretty major addition !

"Technology is a drug. We can't get enough of it."


Welcome to my lounge room :)
alebonau is offline  
Old 02-04-2012, 11:28 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 18,732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 980 Post(s)
Liked: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by alebonau View Post

thanks guys, I would agree, that is a pretty major addition !

I agree.

_________________________

Frank
Franin is online now  
Old 02-04-2012, 11:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SJHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by willyj View Post


lol - we are "married" to our avp's: We don't look at other equipment anymore.

+1
SJHT is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 02:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnrgagne View Post

Yeah I wonder too.
I also wonder if there's features available on the new board that haven't been "activated" which could be in the future with a firmware upgrade?

Either way, all displays and quite a few players come with dual in/outputs so working around higher res video isn't exactly rocket science.

The answer to this question dictates if I upgrade my AVP or not. I suspect the next generation of JVC and Sony projectors will bring 4K Projectors with 4K input below £10000 and it would be much easier if the AVP could at least switch 4K.
Krobar is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WillyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlanta Metro Area, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

Well i know i don't anymore.
I haven't even done the upgrade yet and im extremely happy with the way everything is. My room has had extra room treatment by a level 2 HAA calibrator and has been fine tuned using a sencore equipment etc.

Though i am wrong saying majority of us don't care going by many that have there upgrade recently done i was assuming that everyone is happy to hang onto there units for quite awhile. If some are still interested in looking at other units i apologize.

Companies have issued new pre/pros recently but none that are on a par with the AVP, especially post upgrade. Cary introduced one in the $1300 price range but it has no video processing which means no OSD. It has XLR's and all the latest sound processing features but it is lacking on the video side. It is built for sound but lacking an OSD, it seems like a step backward IMHO.

I ran my AVP all day yesterday (9AM to 5PM) streaming music throughout my home. It never skipped a beat. Works flawlessly and sounds great. I cannot remember a purchase that I have made recently that I was more satisfied with.
WillyJ is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 08:44 AM
Member
 
jbuccino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I just upgraded my speakers to a Paradigm Signature system (2xS8, 1xC5, 2xADP3 and 1xSUB1) and I am using my old Polk RT3000p floorstanding units as top height speakers. I ran Audyssey successfully and it recognized the S8s and the C5 as "Large" and set the crossover to 40Hz. The ADPs and the old Polks were set to Small with a 150Hz crossover. The SUB1 crossover was set to 80Hz.

My problem is that with normal stereo inputs there is no signal (or sound) from the sub. Any multichannel input plays normally and uses the sub appropriately.

Is there a setting I am missing or would this be considered "normal"? I would have thought that some signal would be played through the sub even though my fronts and center are Large.

Does anyone have any thoughts? Thanks.
jbuccino is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BRADH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spencer, In
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillyJ View Post


Companies have issued new pre/pros recently but none that are on a par with the AVP, especially post upgrade. Cary introduced one in the $1300 price range but it has no video processing which means no OSD. It has XLR's and all the latest sound processing features but it is lacking on the video side. It is built for sound but lacking an OSD, it seems like a step backward IMHO.

I ran my AVP all day yesterday (9AM to 5PM) streaming music throughout my home. It never skipped a beat. Works flawlessly and sounds great. I cannot remember a purchase that I have made recently that I was more satisfied with.

Willy

Talking about others with problems. I had to restart my Proceed AVPII quiet a few time when I had it. My Lexicon MC 12 was even worse. I just looked at the hrs on my projector for the last yr and it's at 2600hrs +. The AVP was on ever one of those hrs. That's well over 5000 hrs for my AVP not counting all the hrs on it for music in the last 2 yrs +. I have only had to restart it once with power button for a tinny sound in one of the speakers since I have had it. That one of many reason I an so happy with the AVP it just works no matter what I ask of it

Brad
BRADH is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BRADH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spencer, In
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbuccino View Post

I just upgraded my speakers to a Paradigm Signature system (2xS8, 1xC5, 2xADP3 and 1xSUB1) and I am using my old Polk RT3000p floorstanding units as top height speakers. I ran Audyssey successfully and it recognized the S8s and the C5 as "Large" and set the crossover to 40Hz. The ADPs and the old Polks were set to Small with a 150Hz crossover. The SUB1 crossover was set to 80Hz.

My problem is that with normal stereo inputs there is no signal (or sound) from the sub. Any multichannel input plays normally and uses the sub appropriately.

Is there a setting I am missing or would this be considered "normal"? I would have thought that some signal would be played through the sub even though my fronts and center are Large.

Does anyone have any thoughts? Thanks.

Congrats on your new speakers.

When say stereo are you using Direct? If so you will need to turn on Audyssey for Direct and Pure Direct for for the subs to work.

Brad
BRADH is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rnrgagne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbuccino View Post

I ran Audyssey successfully and it recognized the S8s and the C5 as "Large" and set the crossover to 40Hz..

That seems wrong, if Audyssey set your mains to "Large", there shouldn't be a crossover set, unless you manually change it. With your mains set to Large there will be no signal sent to the sub in stereo, be it direct or otherwise.

150hz seems really high for the ADP's. But Audyssey is strange with ADP's, when Audyssey does mine, I get anywhere from 60hz to 110hz depending on the first mic position.
rnrgagne is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Aesculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Nor Calif
Posts: 1,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know the RS232 commands for these?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi-Res View Post

Here is my understanding of Reference Level in Dynamic EQ as it relates to music and cinema sources
0 dB (Film Ref): Default - use for movies
5 dB: use for sources with very wide dynamic range, such as classical music.
10 dB: use this for jazz or music with wide dynamic range. TV is usually mixed at 10 dB below film reference
15 dB: use this setting for pop/rock or material mixed at very high listening levels and that has compressed dynamic range

As you go from 0 (default) offset to 15 dB you are telling Dynamic EQ to compensate less. In other words you have to turn the volume down much more before it starts to make the adjustments.

In my opinion, the ability to adjust the reference level for Dynamic EQ is one of the major improvements from the AVP Upgrade


Chris
Aesculus is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 12:55 PM
Member
 
deckarep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aesculus View Post

Does anyone know the RS232 commands for these?

You can get the RS 232 codes here:http://www.denon.co.uk/DocumentMaste...COL_V6.0.2.pdf

Deck

STOP THE LOUDNESS WAR
REMOVE THE SILLY REGION LOCK ON DVD AND BLURAY
DON'T BUY CINAVIA INFECTED PRODUCTS
VOTE WITH YOUR WALLET
deckarep is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 11:23 PM
Newbie
 
Kikke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Amsterdam in the Netherlands
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRADH View Post

Welcome and congrats.

Dynamic EQ from what I understand was designed for movies not music. Is your AVP upgraded if so there are adjustments for D-EQ. You can change the off sets. Try using it with a movie and see how it sounds with movies.

Again welcome to forum.

Brad

Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post

Dynamic EQ is usable for any source that you listen to, and it is designed to maintain the intended spectral and spatial balance when not listening at reference level..

For music sources, I highly recommend changing the Dynamic Level Offset to -15db... since music is mastered and mixed at higher levels than music, this will make the AVP not apply Dyncamic EQ as quickly..

Quote:
Originally Posted by BRADH View Post

After the upgrade you can make chances from -15 -10 -5db. If I understand it correctly when it's set at 0db and you listen at ref -0 db Dynamic EQ is off. When you lower the volume Dynamic EQ kicks in to give you the same effects as at ref -0db. Setting Dynamic EQ at -15db -10 -5db then that becomes the new ref for Dynamic EQ so at a lower setting you will get less Dynamic EQ at lower volumes. I hope that's right.

Brad

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi-Res View Post

Here is my understanding of Reference Level in Dynamic EQ as it relates to music and cinema sources
0 dB (Film Ref): Default - use for movies
5 dB: use for sources with very wide dynamic range, such as classical music.
10 dB: use this for jazz or music with wide dynamic range. TV is usually mixed at 10 dB below film reference
15 dB: use this setting for pop/rock or material mixed at very high listening levels and that has compressed dynamic range

As you go from 0 (default) offset to 15 dB you are telling Dynamic EQ to compensate less. In other words you have to turn the volume down much more before it starts to make the adjustments.

In my opinion, the ability to adjust the reference level for Dynamic EQ is one of the major improvements from the AVP Upgrade

Thanks guys for answering my question. I've tried all these settings already and don't like what dynamic eq is doing with music so I'll turn that function off. I've tuned most sources down now using calibration disks to have the right level of db at reference level. I've switched on dynamic eq for TV again and see if tuning the signal down will do the trick..... So far so good.
I've been listening to some Bob Dylan on SACD. These sounded overly bright on my previous set up. The AVP/A1UD combo transfered it into music.
Kikke is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 11:24 PM
Newbie
 
smilekoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by frahengeo View Post

Hello Smile Koo and welcome to the forum. If and when you find out how to complete the upgrade, please share this information with us.

Regards

frahengeo

Hi, frahengeo. I'm still stuck now, maybe the sell agent found it's not simple as a new firmware update, so he still can't offer me a solution way.
smilekoo is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 12:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
danielo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 4,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kikke View Post

Thanks guys for answering my question. I've tried all these settings already and don't like what dynamic eq is doing with music so I'll turn that function off. I've tuned most sources down now using calibration disks to have the right level of db at reference level. I've switched on dynamic eq for TV again and see if tuning the signal down will do the trick..... So far so good.
I've been listening to some Bob Dylan on SACD. These sounded overly bright on my previous set up. The AVP/A1UD combo transfered it into music.

Welcome to the thread, good to see someone else from our little country . I don't run into many other avp/poa owners do you plan to upgrade the avp ?. Getting to know the avp is a long process so we expect to hear from you again and again and again. I wonder what the longest active thread on avs is

Daniel.

for men to evolve we have to upgrade
danielo is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 01:43 AM
Newbie
 
Kikke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Amsterdam in the Netherlands
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielo View Post

Welcome to the thread, good to see someone else from our little country . I don't run into many other avp/poa owners do you plan to upgrade the avp ?. Getting to know the avp is a long process so we expect to hear from you again and again and again. I wonder what the longest active thread on avs is

Daniel.

Hi Daniel, Not sure whether to upgrade or not. I've informed@hobo about the price and for how long I'll have to be missing the AVP. 3D doesn't mean a thing to me but the upgraded Audyssey might be worth the extra investment.

I've noticed the Auddysey thread to be even longer

I'm not sure but is your player equipped with Denon link or not? I find that to be the most valuable gimmick on the AVP.
Kikke is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 01:50 AM
Member
 
jason shep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maidstone,England
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kikke View Post

the upgraded Audyssey might be worth the extra investment.

Hi Kikke,
I had my AVP upgraded to get the XT32 & it's well worth doing,a significant improvement over the already excellent XT.
jason shep is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 03:03 AM
Member
 
jbuccino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnrgagne View Post

That seems wrong, if Audyssey set your mains to "Large", there shouldn't be a crossover set, unless you manually change it. With your mains set to Large there will be no signal sent to the sub in stereo, be it direct or otherwise.

150hz seems really high for the ADP's. But Audyssey is strange with ADP's, when Audyssey does mine, I get anywhere from 60hz to 110hz depending on the first mic position.

Thanks for the feedback and information.

Audyssey set the crossover and it is hardwired to 40Hz and not changeable via the web interface. Do you think I should try and force the fronts to Small or should I just trust it?
jbuccino is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 03:26 AM
Newbie
 
Kikke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Amsterdam in the Netherlands
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason shep View Post

Hi Kikke,
I had my AVP upgraded to get the XT32 & it's well worth doing,a significant improvement over the already excellent XT.

Hi Jason, Can you tell us a bit more about the nature of the improvements?
Kikke is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 03:58 AM
Member
 
jason shep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maidstone,England
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kikke View Post


Hi Jason, Can you tell us a bit more about the nature of the improvements?

The best way I can explain it is that it's like going from lower resolution music to a higher resolution,the music has more impact & a more of a live music sensation,the blend to the surrounds is also now stunningly smooth,it's an all round improvement & was greater than I had expected !
jason shep is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WillyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlanta Metro Area, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbuccino View Post

Thanks for the feedback and information.

Audyssey set the crossover and it is hardwired to 40Hz and not changeable via the web interface. Do you think I should try and force the fronts to Small or should I just trust it?

Have you checked the OSD/Menu for 2 channel/stereo to make sure you have the subwoofer ON for 2 channel music? There is an option for this. Not sure if the latest upgrade would have changed any of the menus so it may be different now.

Before the upgrade it worked like this:

MANUAL SETUP->AUDIO SETUP-> 2ch Direct/Stereo->Subwoofer=YES

I believe you will also need to go to the AUTO SETUP menu to make sure Direct Mode is ON (AUTO SETUP->OPTION->Direct Mode->ON

There was a big discussion about bass management in 2 channel/direct several months and pages back - you might want to search this thread for DIRECT and SUB but here are a couple:

See post 19564 here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8#post20132418

And post 20089 here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...9#post20754499

Will

EDIT: Corrected links.
WillyJ is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WillyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlanta Metro Area, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRADH View Post

Willy
That's well over 5000 hrs for my AVP not counting all the hrs on it for music in the last 2 yrs +. I have only had to restart it once with power button for a tinny sound in one of the speakers since I have had it. That one of many reason I an so happy with the AVP it just works no matter what I ask of it
Brad

Wow - that's a lot of hours. I use mine primarily for music and movies so I doubt I have even 1000 hours on it yet. The only issue I have had is the loss of the OSD/GUI which is a know bug. That has happened a couple of times but really no big deal - just push cycle the little button.

I am in the middle of making my room bigger and adding a nice big projector (along with a kitchen remodel - arggh) so I will be in reno mode for a few more months. Hopefully I will get around to the upgrade in the summer sometime. $1000 here and $1000 there and before you know it, we are talking some real money.
WillyJ is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 07:04 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,133
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillyJ View Post

Have you checked the OSD/Menu for 2 channel/stereo to make sure you have the subwoofer ON for 2 channel music? There is an option for this. Not sure if the latest upgrade would have changed any of the menus so it may be different now.

Before the upgrade it worked like this:

MANUAL SETUP->AUDIO SETUP-> 2ch Direct/Stereo->Subwoofer=YES

I believe you will also need to go to the AUTO SETUP menu to make sure Direct Mode is ON (AUTO SETUP->OPTION->Direct Mode->ON

There was a big discussion about bass management in 2 channel/direct several months and pages back - you might want to search this thread for DIRECT and SUB but here are a couple:

See post 19564 here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8#post20132418

And post 20089 here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...9#post20754499

Will

^

I fixed the links for you.
gsr is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BRADH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spencer, In
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillyJ View Post

Wow - that's a lot of hours. I use mine primarily for music and movies so I doubt I have even 1000 hours on it yet. The only issue I have had is the loss of the OSD/GUI which is a know bug. That has happened a couple of times but really no big deal - just push cycle the little button.

I am in the middle of making my room bigger and adding a nice big projector (along with a kitchen remodel - arggh) so I will be in reno mode for a few more months. Hopefully I will get around to the upgrade in the summer sometime. $1000 here and $1000 there and before you know it, we are talking some real money.

Yes it is. We (I) use the theater for TV, sports ect. everyday. The upgrade with Audyssey 32 is worth the price. Have fun with the remodel.

Brad
BRADH is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Terraforming Planet Wabo
Posts: 9,220
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1857 Post(s)
Liked: 3431
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRADH View Post

Yes it is. We (I) use the theater for TV, sports ect. everyday.
Brad

Me too. I'm over 2700 hours on my pj lamp.

__________________________________________________

Take life with a grain of salt... a slice of lime, and a shot of tequila
Waboman is online now  
Old 02-06-2012, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WillyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlanta Metro Area, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post

^

I fixed the links for you.

Thanks - Weird that it didn't paste correctly from what I copied. Those little electronic gremlins are at it again. Guess I need to check the links were copied correctly in future cut-n-pastes.
WillyJ is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rnrgagne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbuccino View Post

Thanks for the feedback and information.

Audyssey set the crossover and it is hardwired to 40Hz and not changeable via the web interface. Do you think I should try and force the fronts to Small or should I just trust it?

Hmm, still seems odd, if that's the setting in the web interface it should be the same in the GUI setup, and the mains should be set to small for the crossover to be in effect.

There's no harm in changing the "small" designation to "Large" in fact Audyssey recommends it.

Also check the 2ch settings as mentioned, but it should default to using a sub if your mains are set to small, if I recall correctly.

The other thing is there's not much below 40hz in typical music, so with that low of a crossover it wouldn't be a stretch that there might not be anything to send to the sub to begin with.
(Unless of course you listen to a lot of orchestral music where harps, stand up bass's and contra-bassoons can get into the 30's.)
rnrgagne is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rnrgagne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post

Me too. I'm over 2700 hours on my pj lamp.

Ha, I'm on my second lamp and my PJ's got a 5000 hr one. You guys are seriously under-performing!
rnrgagne is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BRADH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spencer, In
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnrgagne View Post

Hmm, still seems odd, if that's the setting in the web interface it should be the same in the GUI setup, and the mains should be set to small for the crossover to be in effect.

There's no harm in changing the "small" designation to "Large" in fact Audyssey recommends it.

Also check the 2ch settings as mentioned, but it should default to using a sub if your mains are set to small, if I recall correctly.

The other thing is there's not much below 40hz in typical music, so with that low of a crossover it wouldn't be a stretch that there might not be anything to send to the sub to begin with.
(Unless of course you listen to a lot of orchestral music where harps, stand up bass's and contra-bassoons can get into the 30's.)

As rnrgagne said they recommend small. Let us know if you cant change it in the GUI.

Here is a new part of Audyssey calibrations, it give you some recommended crossovers. With the upgrade after Audyssey calibrates when I look at the crossovers, speaker config. ect (says mine are large) before saving it. When looking at the crossover part, it say 40-60-80 for mains (which in config say they are large). Plus it gives crossover for the others based on where it found them. Example my center (found small) crossover was set at 40hz. The recommendation for crossovers where 40- 60 -80 ect. With my side and back speaker its recommendations where 60-80 ect (they where found as small crossed at 60hz). So it looks like the recommendations are based on the finding of the speaker and there lowest crossover. Which is correct, you should only raise the crossover never lower it.

Brad
BRADH is offline  
Old 02-06-2012, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BRADH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spencer, In
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnrgagne View Post

Ha, I'm on my second lamp and my PJ's got a 5000 hr one. You guys are seriously under-performing!

Now is that for 1 yr . If so they yes we are way behind.

Brad
BRADH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Denon Avp A1hdci Ultra Reference A V Network Streaming Preamplifier , Denon , Component Preamplifiers
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off