Official Denon AVP-A1HD/AVP-A1HDCI and POA-A1HD/POA-A1HDCI owners thread. - Page 889 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 57Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #26641 of 26657 Old 04-29-2015, 05:31 PM
Member
 
Hi-Res's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firmware Update - Connection Failed

I recently have been unable to check for firmware updates on the AVP. When I attempt to check for an update, the system responds "connection failed". Have others experienced this?


My internet connection seems fine otherwise (Network info shows an IP address, I am able to stream music through internet radio).
Hi-Res is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26642 of 26657 Old 04-29-2015, 06:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aesculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Nor Calif
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi-Res View Post
I recently have been unable to check for firmware updates on the AVP. When I attempt to check for an update, the system responds "connection failed". Have others experienced this?


My internet connection seems fine otherwise (Network info shows an IP address, I am able to stream music through internet radio).
I had this problem a few months ago when I did a check. It worked OK if I just asked for an update.

You might also want to turn the little button off and then back on again to reset the connection. Wait about 5 minutes after turning it back on before you ask for the update.

Chris
Aesculus is offline  
post #26643 of 26657 Old 04-29-2015, 06:59 PM
Member
 
AVMN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi-Res View Post
I recently have been unable to check for firmware updates on the AVP. When I attempt to check for an update, the system responds "connection failed". Have others experienced this?


My internet connection seems fine otherwise (Network info shows an IP address, I am able to stream music through internet radio).
There was a period of several days where the server was apparently not available. It seems to be back. I don't think it was a user-end problem.
AVMN is offline  
post #26644 of 26657 Old 04-29-2015, 08:14 PM
Member
 
Hi-Res's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVMN View Post
There was a period of several days where the server was apparently not available. It seems to be back. I don't think it was a user-end problem.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aesculus View Post
I had this problem a few months ago when I did a check. It worked OK if I just asked for an update.

You might also want to turn the little button off and then back on again to reset the connection. Wait about 5 minutes after turning it back on before you ask for the update.

I did try turning off the little button, and waited about 10 minutes, ... but this did not help.
I just tried asking for the update by selected start, but it again responded with "connection failed".
Thanks for the replies. Based on these two replies, it appears quite possible that the problem is at Denon's end, and not a malfunction of my unit. Are there any others that cannot access the update feature at this point?
Hi-Res is offline  
post #26645 of 26657 Old 04-29-2015, 11:03 PM
Member
 
denon a1xva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Amsterdam/ The Netherlands / Europe
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Did you check if your Ethernet cable is not in the Denon link port?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi-Res View Post
I did try turning off the little button, and waited about 10 minutes, ... but this did not help.
I just tried asking for the update by selected start, but it again responded with "connection failed".
Thanks for the replies. Based on these two replies, it appears quite possible that the problem is at Denon's end, and not a malfunction of my unit. Are there any others that cannot access the update feature at this point?
alebonau likes this.
denon a1xva is offline  
post #26646 of 26657 Old 04-30-2015, 04:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
alebonau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Land of Contentment :)
Posts: 2,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by denon a1xva View Post
Did you check if your Ethernet cable is not in the Denon link port?
if I recall, I have done this...

but he does say shows and IP address and is streaming, so must be connected to the network.

"Technology is a drug. We can't get enough of it."


Welcome to my lounge room :)
alebonau is offline  
post #26647 of 26657 Old 04-30-2015, 10:03 AM
Member
 
denon a1xva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Amsterdam/ The Netherlands / Europe
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Try to reset the processor.



Quote:
Originally Posted by alebonau View Post
if I recall, I have done this...

but he does say shows and IP address and is streaming, so must be connected to the network.
denon a1xva is offline  
post #26648 of 26657 Old 04-30-2015, 08:55 PM
Member
 
Hi-Res's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Smile Update difficulty resolved

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aesculus View Post
I had this problem a few months ago when I did a check. It worked OK if I just asked for an update.

You might also want to turn the little button off and then back on again to reset the connection. Wait about 5 minutes after turning it back on before you ask for the update.

Problem solved
I turned the little button off and waited a full day before turning back on. This time the unit now properly connects to the update and reports that the version is the latest. Thanks to all!
Hi-Res is offline  
post #26649 of 26657 Old 04-30-2015, 10:38 PM
Member
 
denon a1xva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Amsterdam/ The Netherlands / Europe
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Nice work!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi-Res View Post
Problem solved
I turned the little button off and waited a full day before turning back on. This time the unit now properly connects to the update and reports that the version is the latest. Thanks to all!
denon a1xva is offline  
post #26650 of 26657 Old 05-07-2015, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WillyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlanta Metro Area, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Had a scare today. Turned my rig on and all I got was a bluescreen and no sound. Thought my PJ might have croaked until I tried other inputs and got the same result. Reset the AVP with the small button and upon restart, all is well.

This has never happened before but my AVP is now 5 years old - my AVP may have just had its 1st senior moment.
WillyJ is offline  
post #26651 of 26657 Unread 05-09-2015, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JonFo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Big Canoe, GA, USA
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hi Willy, glad it was just a reboot-type problem and that you are back up and running.

I make it a habit of cold booting my AVP once a week, as that seems to ensure the cleanest most reliable performance. I hear a bit of digital grunge in high-rez audio tracks after a week or two of not rebooting. Play the same track right after the re-boot and the 'grunge' is gone.
JonFo is offline  
post #26652 of 26657 Unread 05-14-2015, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aesculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Nor Calif
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonFo View Post
Hi Willy, glad it was just a reboot-type problem and that you are back up and running.

I make it a habit of cold booting my AVP once a week, as that seems to ensure the cleanest most reliable performance. I hear a bit of digital grunge in high-rez audio tracks after a week or two of not rebooting. Play the same track right after the re-boot and the 'grunge' is gone.
Rebooting, as toggling the little button?

I usually have to do this because of a hangup with the networking api. Gosh I wish they would fix that.

Chris
Aesculus is offline  
post #26653 of 26657 Unread 05-14-2015, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aesculus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Nor Calif
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonFo View Post
Hi Willy, glad it was just a reboot-type problem and that you are back up and running.

I make it a habit of cold booting my AVP once a week, as that seems to ensure the cleanest most reliable performance. I hear a bit of digital grunge in high-rez audio tracks after a week or two of not rebooting. Play the same track right after the re-boot and the 'grunge' is gone.
Rebooting, as toggling the little button?

I usually have to do this because of a hangup with the networking api. Gosh I wish they would fix that.

Chris
Aesculus is offline  
post #26654 of 26657 Unread 05-15-2015, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WillyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlanta Metro Area, Georgia, USA
Posts: 1,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aesculus View Post
Rebooting, as toggling the little button?

I usually have to do this because of a hangup with the networking api. Gosh I wish they would fix that.

Yes. Hasn't happen again so far. Probably just grunge as JonFo pointed out. I am constantly switching displays (plasma and PJ) and numerous input sources and I am using the HDMI CEC feature so I suspect it was just an HDMI sync-up error.
WillyJ is offline  
post #26655 of 26657 Unread 05-20-2015, 08:17 PM
Member
 
sk576c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Need a bit of assistance. I was attempting to level set my new subs into the system without running the full calibration (had to order a new 50 foot sub cable and don't have it yet so didn't want to bother with a full calibration). I replaced one sub in my front left corner with 2 subs stacked. I was playing a 20 hz and 30 hz tone off YouTube just on my xbox and my ps4. I was having issues with phase so I was looking around in the processor menus searching for a phase adjustment. Couldn't find one but I ran into an issue with the "subwoofer setup" where you select 1SP, SP L/F, 2SPmix etc. I am positive that I had it set to " 2SP mix. The second setting is the mode and it toggles between LFE + MAIN or LFE-THX. I am nearly positive that I set it to LFE - THX which sends the subs the LFE and then anything below the crossovers for speakers set to small (all mine are set to small to use the crossover in the processor). However something happened when switching between the LFE-THX and LFE+MAIN and now the only time I get a sub signal while playing YouTube on either the ps4 and xbox is when the mode is set to LFE+MAIN. Anyone have an idea?

Next question : is there somewhere to restore the settings (levels and everything else) from the previous run of auto calibration??? After I started having the issue I mention about no bass signal without having the mode set to LFE+MAIN I figured I messed something up and so I wanted to restore all the settings from my last calibration. All I found was the RESTORE under auto calibrating but that seemed to only reset the speaker/sub levels, and even the levels it changed it to didn't seem to be what I was running before this confusion started.

Last edited by sk576c; 05-21-2015 at 05:37 AM.
sk576c is online now  
post #26656 of 26657 Unread 05-22-2015, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
DoctorO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Cooling question--I have the AVP in a cabinet with good top clearance, a vent underneath, the front door open, and two heat-triggered fans at the upper rear. I would like to add additional cooling--would the best location be additional at the rear, or mounting something to pull upwards from the top of the unit, or.....??
DoctorO is offline  
post #26657 of 26657 Unread Today, 12:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
jomark911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Athens greece.
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I would say the later. A single fan 120mm , reved down , to pull upwards from the top of the unit.

Limits established to be exceeded.
jomark911 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avp A1hdci Ultra Reference A V Network Streaming Preamplifier , Denon , Component Preamplifiers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off