Official Denon AVP-A1HD/AVP-A1HDCI and POA-A1HD/POA-A1HDCI owners thread. - Page 896 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 86Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #26851 of 26865 Old 10-09-2016, 10:42 AM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,623
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 718 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Anyone who had a Denon AVP ever test out the Acurus ACT 4? It seems in paper to be a good item but there is zero buzz. I'm curious if it is because the price is too high or if there is a hardware quality or sound quality issue.
boe is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26852 of 26865 Old 10-14-2016, 07:34 AM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,623
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 718 Post(s)
Liked: 340
I ended up ordering the Marantz AVP 8802a and putting my AVP on an auction site. I'm looking forward to comparing the new 8802 with my old AVP!
boe is online now  
post #26853 of 26865 Old 10-15-2016, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JonFo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Big Canoe, GA, USA
Posts: 1,394
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe View Post
I ended up ordering the Marantz AVP 8802a and putting my AVP on an auction site. I'm looking forward to comparing the new 8802 with my old AVP!
You will love the new preamp, I sure am enjoying mine. Good luck with the auction, hope you get a good value. Mine might go up afterwards, as I have some local interest in my AVP.

One thing I still can't get used to is the how small the 8802 looks compared my my beloved behemoth

Jonathan

My System
JonFo is offline  
post #26854 of 26865 Old 10-19-2016, 10:52 AM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,623
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 718 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Sorry it has been a while but you verify it has the 3D /hdmi upgrade by turning it on and if it says 3D on bootup it has the upgrade right?
boe is online now  
post #26855 of 26865 Old 10-19-2016, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Digione's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe View Post
Sorry it has been a while but you verify it has the 3D /hdmi upgrade by turning it on and if it says 3D on bootup it has the upgrade right?
Correct
boe likes this.
Digione is offline  
post #26856 of 26865 Old 10-19-2016, 05:47 PM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,623
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 718 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Muchas!
boe is online now  
post #26857 of 26865 Old 10-20-2016, 02:14 PM
PLA
Member
 
PLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Eastern Canada
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Farewell to all. I got tired of waiting for a replacement unit for the AVP-A1, bought the Anthem AVM-60 plus the Samsung 4K player and the LG 65 inch G6 OLED TV and installed 4 Paradigm in-ceiling speakers for Dolby Atmos. Major 4K CEC hand shake issues, now resolved. The ARC room correction is done, limited to 5Khz. My early impression is that low frequency performance is better than with Audyssey XT32. I detect a slight boost in mid-frequency, female voices on tracks I am familiar with sound warmer. Can't say much about the high end, have significant decrease in hearing acuity above 14,200 Hz. The need for USB firmware updates is a pain, the Ethernet port does not allow for remote diagnostics. Overall am happy with the performance, though. Thanks for all the helpful advice posted on the forum over the years. Best wishes to all remaining forum members.
PLA is offline  
post #26858 of 26865 Old 10-20-2016, 02:22 PM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,623
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 718 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Congrats on the new toys!
boe is online now  
post #26859 of 26865 Old 10-21-2016, 11:36 AM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,623
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 718 Post(s)
Liked: 340
I just got a Marants 8802a and I'll plug it in right after I remove my AVP (auction is about to end but I didn't want to remove it in case they needed a picture of it in use or anything). I'm going to get about what I expected (far less than I hoped )for it although I think if it was working as my other AVP is I'd get a much higher price. My other AVP doesn't have the warm up issue. I'll post my opinion if anyone is interested after I test it out.

Last edited by boe; 10-21-2016 at 12:03 PM.
boe is online now  
post #26860 of 26865 Old 11-06-2016, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
drmanny3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hello everyone. I realize this is the forum for the Denon AVP-A1HD... While what I have is the Denon AVR 5308CI upgraded to 3D pass through. While I appreciate that your pre amp is a step above mine, we probably share the same problems as we approach new equipment standards. Just from reading a few of the posts I can see that some are changing out the Denon for another more modern? unit. I prefer not to do that just yet. I am hoping that given the extensive forum someone will have some recommendations. So in that spirit-see below


1, OK, it has been a long time since I posted here. Appears the same for others as well. I need some recommendations. We just moved and now I have a dedicated media room. Actually just one of the bedrooms that my wife let me use. The audio/video was not going into our new living room so I got the downstairs bedroom. So be it, that much better. Here is my issue. I have just upgraded my Panasonic 65" Plasma 2009 to the new Sony XBR-75Z9D. I have not received it yet (a week away). Problem.... As a Ultra High Def TV I will have it hooked up to Ethernet for things like Netflix, Amazon Video, etcetera. The TV does not have a HDMI out, only in. It does have a fiber optic out. My concern is that I will lose the great audio that I use to get via the Denon. Will I still enjoy Dolby Digital 7.1 or 5.1? I sort of remember something about copyright that can prevent the audio from going through optical output.


2, I am having Direct TV install their 4K System. I believe it is the Genie DVR 54 that will replace my Genie DVR 44 Plus a Mini that actually enables the 4K signal. I understand I cannot run the HDMI from Direct TV to the Denon and then to the Sony TV. Our Denon 5308CI upgraded will not pass any signal beyond 1080P. Is this correct? It will pass through 3D at 1080P. Is that correct? Again will the fiber optic coming from the Sony back to the Denon give me Dolby Digital 5.1 and/or 7.1?


3. I have heard that there are some Ultra High Definition HDMI splitters out there? If I ran one of the HDMI with 4K to the Denon could I get the audio that way?


4. I am thinking that I will lose the switching capability of the Denon since I will not be able to use it with UHD HDMI cables. So I would have to switch the Denon to the Source and also the Sony to the Source. Makes it more complex.


5. I am thinking of adding an Xbox One which comes with a 4K Blue Ray player. Same issue here? I would have to run the HDMI to the Sony and the Fiber Optic out from the Sony to the Denon.


6. Most new receivers have the capability of switching 4K signals. Could I purchase a low cost receiver and somehow send the audio to the Denon 5308CI? Or is that just dumb? I love the receiver and think it sounds as good as it ever has.
Manny
drmanny3 is offline  
post #26861 of 26865 Old 11-06-2016, 07:31 AM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,623
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 718 Post(s)
Liked: 340
I don't think any TV's do lossless audio out - e.g DTS MA or Dolby True HD, atmos or dts:x
boe is online now  
post #26862 of 26865 Old 11-12-2016, 08:47 PM
Newbie
 
frcnorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Santa Cruz, California
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I remain in the backwoods of home theater where 5.1 is more than good enough. 3D, 4K, and Atmos hold no interest for me. But sound does, so as I've looked to upgrade from my Pioneer Elite SC-07 the AVP-A1HDCI has always loomed large. So when one fell to my price range I jumped on it. It's in perfect working order and cosmetically flawless. Previous owner doted on it. Not sure what he upgraded to as I dealt with the dealer and not him.

Oh man, what a difference from the Pioneer. The sound is phenomenal and now I can go to multiple subs when the day arrives. I am still tweaking the set-up and have it just about dialed in.

With the build quality and attention to detail that Denon put into this unit I expect to enjoy it for many years to come. It may be considered a functional antique this day and age but to me it is the most advanced piece of equipment I've ever owned.

I'll go back through the thread and read up on what I've been missing all these years.
gsr likes this.
frcnorth is offline  
post #26863 of 26865 Old 11-12-2016, 09:44 PM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,623
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 718 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Congrats! It is a great prepro.
boe is online now  
post #26864 of 26865 Old 11-13-2016, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Digione's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Welcome to the party ^^^^, better late than never

Yes it is truly still one of the best pre's out there if you do not require any of the immersive sound formats; Dolby Atmos, DTS X or Auro 3D.

It will be quite a while before I change this pre unless it "dies".

The only issue is if you want to run 4K as it does not support HDMI2.2. You will have to drive the pre with the audio HDMI 1.4 out and the display/projector with the video HDMI 2.2 out from the 4K player. You loose the GFX on the 4K feed but if the display/projector has two inputs you can drive it from the pre also and just switch between inputs.

Enjoy.

Last edited by Digione; 11-13-2016 at 08:27 AM.
Digione is offline  
post #26865 of 26865 Old 11-19-2016, 05:53 AM
Newbie
 
Jeco92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
For your information, after a failed firmware update (Lock on DSP1 Firm updating message), I was able to get it back by resetting the AVP-A1HD using top and down arrow plus power button.


You have to turn the AVP-A1HD off before doing the reset using the small power button.


You will loose everything except the AVP-A1 itself !!


At this time, I know three different combinations :


- Top, Down Arrow + power button : total reset
- Dimmer, status + power button : access to firmware version through status button
- Standard, home thx cinema + power button : reset processor (and perhaps loosing settings, I did not try)


Hope this help and sorry if it was already known.


From France....

Marantz AV7703, MM8077, MM7055, Sony VPL-VW1100ES, Lumagen Radiance Pro 18Ghz, Klipsch Palladium P38/27C/27S/R-5800-W II/R15M, Oppo 103D, Samsung UBD-K8500, Sony FMP-X5, etc.
Jeco92 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avp A1hdci Ultra Reference A V Network Streaming Preamplifier , Denon , Component Preamplifiers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off