carver m-500t bridging problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 03-27-2008, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sidmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last night my buddy brought over his carver m-500t amp.

He has an extra SVS sub, and wanted to install his sub up in my DIY box I built last week, and use his Carver amp. just to get a feel for what he would experience if he built his own box.

we could never figure out how to bridge the amp. and he has no manual, and 1 hour of googling turned up nothing.

does anyone know how?


As you can see the really high quality diagram on the left should clearly indicate how to bridge the amp, but this does not work.

we finally decided to hook the speakers up using the left diagram, then put a jumper between the other two (shorting them out.......yeh we were scared)

we finally got some bass, but it sucked and not anywhere near the 700 watts this amp is capable of.

anyone know how to do this? or what we were doing wrong?

FYI, we used the Y-adapter RCA cable for the sub out, so both inputs had a signal.. NO bridge button is on this amp
sidmind is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 03-27-2008, 05:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
kouack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1012636

Warning to prevent risk of injuries, you should always be smarter than the equipment you are about to use.
kouack is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 03-27-2008, 06:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sidmind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the reply, but it doesn't really help.

the diagram shows to go from L+ to r-, but that does not work,

and I decided to post over here, because it's the appropriate forum.
I need someone who has bridged a carver amp like this to help me out.

I have bridged many amps in my life, but not like this.
sidmind is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off