Firmware/Update Requests For Onkyo/Integra-Please Read - Page 58 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1711 of 5560 Old 05-27-2008, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamZX11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1dude57 View Post

Is the updater version (1.00 or 1.01) what you find under the HDMI when scrolling through the different versions? If so, I am at 1.01 which is good right? All of this stuff is way over my head, so am feeling pretty apprehensive about doing this myself. I will be doing the update for the DTS-MA bomb because I can handle that one. I strictly watch movies with my 805(haven't noticed any lip sync issues, but do get audio delay once in a while ff/rewinding through a movie), and am wondering if I should keep obsessing about the upgrade. My present firmware says 1.04, but the HDMI says 1.01.

You will only see the updater version when you put the unit in update mode.
WilliamZX11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1712 of 5560 Old 05-27-2008, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
billbillw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta metro
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1dude57 View Post

Is the updater version (1.00 or 1.01) what you find under the HDMI when scrolling through the different versions? If so, I am at 1.01 which is good right? All of this stuff is way over my head, so am feeling pretty apprehensive about doing this myself. I will be doing the update for the DTS-MA bomb because I can handle that one. I strictly watch movies with my 805(haven't noticed any lip sync issues, but do get audio delay once in a while ff/rewinding through a movie), and am wondering if I should keep obsessing about the upgrade. My present firmware says 1.04, but the HDMI says 1.01.

No, the HDMI version is not the same as the MainUpdate Mode version. The MainUpdate Mode version is only displayed when you enter the serial update mode. To get there, you have to do the following:

Unplug the unit,
Press/hold enter (on the front panel),
and then plug in the unit.

You should see MainUpdate Mode on the front panel along with a series of numbers. That number needs to start with 1.01/ for you to to the update posted in this thread.

Chances are, you do not have 1.01. Most everybody that has the 1.04 firmware is stuck with the 1.00 updater version. Sorry.

If it ain't in HD, it ain't worth watching!
billbillw is offline  
post #1713 of 5560 Old 05-27-2008, 11:46 AM
Member
 
eap_44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by billbillw View Post

No, the HDMI version is not the same as the MainUpdate Mode version. The MainUpdate Mode version is only displayed when you enter the serial update mode. To get there, you have to do the following:

Unplug the unit,
Press/hold enter (on the front panel),
and then plug in the unit.

You should see MainUpdate Mode on the front panel along with a series of numbers. That number needs to start with 1.01/ for you to to the update posted in this thread.

Chances are, you do not have 1.01. Most everybody that has the 1.04 firmware is stuck with the 1.00 updater version. Sorry.

I will try this when I get home tonight. Last night I updated the DSP FW and I saw that my main FW is 1.04. I may have the 1.00 MainUpdater which will leave me stuck.

Oh well, if that's the case then I just will leave it the way it is. I haven't noticed any lipsynch issues anyway to bother changing the FW.

Or maybe I will sell my Unit and get the Yammy 663.
eap_44 is offline  
post #1714 of 5560 Old 05-27-2008, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
r1dude57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portage, MI
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by billbillw View Post

No, the HDMI version is not the same as the MainUpdate Mode version. The MainUpdate Mode version is only displayed when you enter the serial update mode. To get there, you have to do the following:

Unplug the unit,
Press/hold enter (on the front panel),
and then plug in the unit.

You should see MainUpdate Mode on the front panel along with a series of numbers. That number needs to start with 1.01/ for you to to the update posted in this thread.

Chances are, you do not have 1.01. Most everybody that has the 1.04 firmware is stuck with the 1.00 updater version. Sorry.

Thanks for the reply. I won't even bother checking to see if I have 1.01 updater, as it appears I probably won't. I haven't been plagued by many of the issues that you guys describe so I may just leave it alone. Well, I need to do the DSP upgrade because I have a Samsung Bluray/HDDVD player coming this week that will supposedly allow bitsreaming. Maybe I should just buy a PS3 for this thing to be on the safe side (using PCM), and plug my new Sammy into my XBR4 in the bedroom. Fortunately, if I decide to send my 805 to Onkyo, I believe that the regional service center is only about 25 miles away.
r1dude57 is offline  
post #1715 of 5560 Old 05-27-2008, 12:52 PM
Member
 
eap_44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just confirmed that my MainUpdater is only 1.00 although my main FW is 1.04. Oh well... I'll just leave it the way it is.
eap_44 is offline  
post #1716 of 5560 Old 05-27-2008, 02:52 PM
Member
 
allano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montréal, Quebec
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohjay View Post

unplug your 805 or 705.
hold down enter on the 805* under the flap*
plug in 805 while holding enter down

Mode should appear. To get out of this mode I had to unplug my 805 again.

I tried to verify my version on my 705, I it does not seem to work. Tried this with the sytem on, unpluged it, held enter, plugged it back in. Nothing. Tried the same thing with the system in standby same results. As I missing something?

Thanks
allano is offline  
post #1717 of 5560 Old 05-27-2008, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The hold enter and plug routine does not work on the 705.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #1718 of 5560 Old 05-27-2008, 03:00 PM
Member
 
allano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montréal, Quebec
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to check the 705? The main version is main 1.01/07618A, would this be the mainupdater version?

Thanks
allano is offline  
post #1719 of 5560 Old 05-27-2008, 03:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skid71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: KC
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by allano View Post

Is there a way to check the 705? The main version is main 1.01/07618A, would this be the mainupdater version?

Thanks

Sorry to say, but nope. It's your Main FW version number, not the MainUpdater version number.

Pure speculation, and I'm not giving up.... I'm thinking that since we 705 owners cannot find a way to find out our Main Update version, it may not exist, and only have the option of using the jig.

Again, nothing but speculation. I'm certainly hoping someone proves this theory pure rubbish.

Skid

BOTJ Member... Onk 705 FW 1.06
Skid71 is offline  
post #1720 of 5560 Old 05-27-2008, 04:34 PM
Member
 
allano's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montréal, Quebec
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skid71 View Post

Sorry to say, but nope. It's your Main FW version number, not the MainUpdater version number.

Pure speculation, and I'm not giving up.... I'm thinking that since we 705 owners cannot find a way to find out our Main Update version, it may not exist, and only have the option of using the jig.

Again, nothing but speculation. I'm certainly hoping someone proves this theory pure rubbish.

Skid

Thanks for the info. I will continue to watch this and the main 705 thread.
allano is offline  
post #1721 of 5560 Old 05-27-2008, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TiVoHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 1,561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1dude57 View Post

Well, I need to do the DSP upgrade because I have a Samsung Bluray/HDDVD player coming this week that will supposedly allow bitsreaming.

I hate to burst your bubble, but the Samsung combo player doesn't currently bitstream any advanced codecs. It doesn't internally decode them either for that matter.
TiVoHD is offline  
post #1722 of 5560 Old 05-27-2008, 08:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoHD View Post

I hate to burst your bubble, but the Samsung combo player doesn't currently bitstream any advanced codecs. It doesn't internally decode them either for that matter.

Ya but TiVo, isn't there supposed to be a new firmware coming to maybe address those issues?

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #1723 of 5560 Old 05-27-2008, 11:51 PM
Senior Member
 
tpaxadpom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I successfully upgraded the main fw from 1.06 to 1.08. I saved the setting before I upgraded it. I think Lip Sync delay is gone now. I have to play more with the AV delay settings to fine tune it though. Not sure if 5 ms increment is good enough.
It feels like the unit sounds somewhat different. I wonder if anyone noticed that.
tpaxadpom is offline  
post #1724 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 06:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
jimjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

Ya but TiVo, isn't there supposed to be a new firmware coming to maybe address those issues?

Samsung is not a reliable enough company to bet the farm on that. I've had one since January, Samsung suggested that the mythical firmware you speak of would be released sometime in May, but now nobody at Samsung seems to have a straight answer as to its status. I'm hopeful, but not optimistic.
jimjr is offline  
post #1725 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 06:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
jimjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpaxadpom View Post

I successfully upgraded the main fw from 1.06 to 1.08. I saved the setting before I upgraded it. I think Lip Sync delay is gone now. I have to play more with the AV delay settings to fine tune it though. Not sure if 5 ms increment is good enough.
It feels like the unit sounds somewhat different. I wonder if anyone noticed that.

I'm not sure if it's my imagination, but it sounds to me like there's more detail in the side channels.
jimjr is offline  
post #1726 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin R. Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 1,341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimjr View Post

I'm not sure if it's my imagination, but it sounds to me like there's more detail in the side channels.

I had a similiar experience, but I also re-ran Audyssey immediately after the DSP and Main update. I took 7 readings (as suggested in the FAQ) and then did a check with Room EQ Wizard and found a very nice frequency response across the board (generally +-3db). The Audyssey even did a reasonably good job flattening out 40Hz peak from the subwoofer.

I don't know if there is a cause-and-effect resulting from the new firmware, but it seems a good idea to re-run Audyssey after doing the upgrade.

ISF Certified
Kevin R. Anderson is offline  
post #1727 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
manofsteele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How can this FW fix the Lip Synch. Didn't Onkyo admitt that with the three DSP chips that there is an inherent delay that cannot be solved?
manofsteele is offline  
post #1728 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TiVoHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 1,561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

Ya but TiVo, isn't there supposed to be a new firmware coming to maybe address those issues?

We won't take this thread on that tangent. It would be a long one!
TiVoHD is offline  
post #1729 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
jimjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin R. Anderson View Post

I had a similiar experience, but I also re-ran Audyssey immediately after the DSB and Main update. I took 7 readings (as suggested in the FAQ) and then did a check with Room EQ Wizard and found a very nice frequency response across the board (generally +-3db). The Audyssey even did a reasonably good job flattening out 40Hz peak from the subwoofer.

I don't know if there is a cause-and-effect resulting from the new firmware, but it seems a good idea to re-run Audyssey after doing the upgrade.

I reran it too, using three more positions than the pre-update set up. No way to tell if it was the firmware or the more extensive calibration. Probably more the latter, but who knows.
jimjr is offline  
post #1730 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 08:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
billbillw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta metro
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by manofsteele View Post

How can this FW fix the Lip Synch. Didn't Onkyo admitt that with the three DSP chips that there is an inherent delay that cannot be solved?

Its possible that they introduced a video delay, or they just shaved the audio delay down to the very lowest possible level, which would minimize the problem. Most of the newer TVs have some delay in processing the image anyway.

I, for one, did not have a lip-sync issue with v1.06, so the upgrade to 1.08 was for the audio lock on speed, which I am happy to say, is very noticeable and a nice improvement.

If it ain't in HD, it ain't worth watching!
billbillw is offline  
post #1731 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TiVoHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 1,561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by billbillw View Post

I, for one, did not have a lip-sync issue with v1.06, so the upgrade to 1.08 was for the audio lock on speed, which I am happy to say, is very noticeable and a nice improvement.

Is the audio lock now instantaneous? Do we know if that improvement was a result of the main fw or the DSP fw?
TiVoHD is offline  
post #1732 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 08:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 148
TiVo, some people have said that the audio actually comes on BEFORE the video sometimes. So, I guess that would count as instantaneous.
It is the result of the MAIN fw upgrade.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #1733 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 08:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
billbillw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta metro
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoHD View Post

Is the audio lock now instantaneous? Do we know if that improvement was a result of the main fw or the DSP fw?

Not instant, but probably less than 1 second. Previously, it was about 2-3 seconds. This improvement is purely from the 1.06>1.08 upgrade. I did the DSP update more than a month ago and it had no noticeable change.

If it ain't in HD, it ain't worth watching!
billbillw is offline  
post #1734 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 09:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
jimjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

TiVo, some people have said that the audio actually comes on BEFORE the video sometimes. So, I guess that would count as instantaneous.
It is the result of the MAIN fw upgrade.

Yep, that's been my experience. Audio before video and it was the main firmware, not the DSP. I know this because I did not apply both updates at the same time. Did the main first and that fixed the audio lock by itself. Actually, I have not noticed the DSP update doing anything at all. I don't have a Blu-Ray player than can bitstream DTS-MA to confirm the bomb fix. I presume it was successful, but I don't hear anything from my receiver leading me to believe that the DSP update did anything other than fixing the bomb.
jimjr is offline  
post #1735 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
manofsteele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by billbillw View Post

Its possible that they introduced a video delay, or they just shaved the audio delay down to the very lowest possible level, which would minimize the problem. Most of the newer TVs have some delay in processing the image anyway.

I, for one, did not have a lip-sync issue with v1.06, so the upgrade to 1.08 was for the audio lock on speed, which I am happy to say, is very noticeable and a nice improvement.

People were raving at how the DSP update fixed this, now people are saying the FW fixed this. Is there an official memo as to what this FW was supposed to fix?
manofsteele is offline  
post #1736 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by manofsteele View Post

People were raving at how the DSP update fixed this, now people are saying the FW fixed this. Is there an official memo as to what this FW was supposed to fix?

No.
slimm is offline  
post #1737 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
r1dude57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portage, MI
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiVoHD View Post

I hate to burst your bubble, but the Samsung combo player doesn't currently bitstream any advanced codecs. It doesn't internally decode them either for that matter.

Yup, I was aware of that(knew that before purchasing for 299). I'm just hoping for the promised firmware update , then will decide which of three systems to throw it into.
r1dude57 is offline  
post #1738 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 11:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
jimjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by manofsteele View Post

How can this FW fix the Lip Synch. Didn't Onkyo admitt that with the three DSP chips that there is an inherent delay that cannot be solved?

Quote:
Originally Posted by billbillw View Post

Its possible that they introduced a video delay, or they just shaved the audio delay down to the very lowest possible level, which would minimize the problem. Most of the newer TVs have some delay in processing the image anyway.

rlb I think made the observation that the Reon processor adds some additional video delay already. That may be how Onkyo is trying to compensate for at least some of the audio lag, if in fact it is true that the DSPs can't be further tweaked and that the delay on the audio side is unavoidable. It will be interesting to see if the rumored f/w version 1.10 will do anything more on the video end.
jimjr is offline  
post #1739 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 11:14 AM
Member
 
nfrankli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a fellow 805 owner who has Main FW 1.03 and thus probably has the MainUpdater 1.00. It looks like the only way to upgrade the FW on these systems is with the "jig", but thus far no one has been able to get their hands on one of these. I had guessed that the IC on this jig was actually a very common IC and started hunting for it. If you look in detail at the photo in the 805FW pdf it looks like it has "NEC D4721" printed on it. A quick google search turned up the following part
NEC
MOS INTEGRATED CIRCUIT
m P D 4 7 2 1
RS-232 LINE DRIVER/RECEIVER AT 3.3 V/5 V

http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datashe...721GS-GJG.html

The intended use description confirms this is the part we are looking for. The actual part is called a "micro" or uPD4721, but if you just paste that into another window the "u/micro" gets converted to the letter "M", thus the MPD4721GS seen in the 805FW part sheet.

Who wants to take ball and run with this?
nfrankli is offline  
post #1740 of 5560 Old 05-28-2008, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Already running with the ball.

Good work, we are on the same page!

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off