The Onkyo/Integra direct firmware updates - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 4215 Old 04-27-2008, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
EskimoPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sahuarita, AZ
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JVi View Post

The firmware update fixes the lip synch and lock on times.

And adds the hidden REON controls as well as fixes the black level issue (these were added in an earlier firmware upgrade but if you're starting from the left edge then you'll get these benefits too.). I've heard about a color-space issue too but I'm not sure on the details.
EskimoPie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 4215 Old 04-27-2008, 07:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
millerwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 29
But we don't yet have an updated FW for the 805, right?
millerwill is online now  
post #363 of 4215 Old 04-27-2008, 07:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by millerwill View Post

But we don't yet have an updated FW for the 805, right?

Correct. Unless you want to ship it to Onkyo, then they will update it for you, but no DIY version available yet.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #364 of 4215 Old 04-27-2008, 09:28 AM
Member
 
DTGallagher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't really know which one of these Onkyo threads
to post this message in, but figured I'd start here.

As I purchased a Panasonic BD30 player with DTS-MA bitstreaming capability and had read about the "DTS bomb" with Onkyo receivers, I assumed I needed to install
the DSP update - which I believe I successfully performed
(i.e. the DSP 1-3 settings match those in the installation
instructions). (FWIW - I never saw a "pure" CLEAR display when exiting the installation after a few minutes
on S/PDIF update; the display referenced something like
NET - CLEAR, as it seemed like the receiver was trying to access a server.)

But now I have problems - and realized probably too late that I also need to update my firmware, which is at
1.01/07704A.

Now that I've done the DSP update, I can no longer use
AUX1 and AUX2 as HDMI inputs.
I also now rarely see DolbyTrue HD on my receiver
display for discs using this codec - I'm back to the generic "multichannel" display which I saw before I purchased my A35 HD DVD player. (Specifics: I got a correct display for a "Battlestar Galactica" rental but not for "I Am Legend').

More settings which might be helpful:
HDMI 1.00/07517A
Video: 07606E009924
Net: ??

Help anyone? I'm trying to avoid going to a service center. I'll do the firmware update if that will solve these problems - but mainly I'm just concerned with
avoiding the "DTS bomb" and getting my HDMI settings
back to what they were before the upgrade.

Dennis
DTGallagher is offline  
post #365 of 4215 Old 04-27-2008, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i am having problems updating the DSP on my Onkyo 805 - i burned 2 cds, one in itunes and one with discblaze, just to make sure. The wav file is audible from my xbox 360 and i put the optical output of the xbox into OPT1 of the onkyo - i can get as far as seeing the "spdif update" message on my receiver but i never get the "writing" message after pressing play on the cd, it just stays on the update message. I do not hear the update audio during this, only when i am listening to opt1 separate from the update. any clue what i'm doing wrong?

UPDATE - realized my 360 was only outputting 48 khz - used my ps3 set to 44.1 and it's working now.

now i have several hours of setting back up to do for all my inputs/listening modes!
oleus is online now  
post #366 of 4215 Old 04-27-2008, 05:21 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
bobpaule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: US
Posts: 1,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I just finished udating my DSP and firmware on my late (got it 04/20) Malaysian
PR-SC885P with original main 1.06 and old DSP1 firmware.

1.DSP i set my Sony changer to 48kHz PCM and updated without difficulty. It would not stop, so i replayed the track which resulted in prompt reinstallation over the already done install. Stopped and waited 15 min the restarted. The right DSP1 version is showing.

2. Used a RadioShack 6 ft RS232S straight through male-female cable from my HTPC. No problem.

TIP: lost one whole day because of two things. One, the COM1 driver was modified (Elo touchpad), so i deleted all drivers and restarted computer. Only two drivers should show one "Microsoft......" the other one "Serenum...".
Two, i was using the wrong cable, a female-female with two sided short male-male adapter to the Onkyo. Only straight (1-1,2-2,3-3, etc. pin correspondence) male-female cables should be used !

Luckily i can return the USB-serial cable and drivers that i also purchased for the worst eventuality.

My advice is read the instructions carefully and do it on a morning after you slept all night, no Heineken or Hennessy V.S.O.P. in the system If at any step you run into snags just log on to AVS and search.

I bow before you Gurkey and the brave beta testers who pioneered this path. Many thanks!

Onkyo received an angry email with a link to this forum, i cannot even register my unit on the Onkyo site, had to do it on the Integra site as a 9.8 with last digit from serial missing (showed purchase date 3 months earlier, dammit).

Al Jarreau has an SACD with an interpretation of Route 66 where i could hear some kind of train in the background on my Yamaha. Now, i hear the train crossing the stage and the bells too, all this while Al is singing on. Wait until i calibrate you baby!
bobpaule is offline  
post #367 of 4215 Old 04-27-2008, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
sheedoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also updated my 885 today (DSP and main firmware). Everything went pretty smooth, thanks to Gurkey and other users of this forum. I had updated the main firmware from 1.04-->1.05-->1.07. Used the Dynex usb-serial cable. Set it to com1 and 9600 baud. I had the E2prom error sign after the update, but it went away after a hardware reset. For the DSP update, I used my old pioneer DVD recorder. Burned the wav file using the freeware imgburn. Altogether, it took about 2 hours.
sheedoe is offline  
post #368 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 01:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Added some pictures of a cooling solution for placement of other units ON TOP of a 905/875/805 etc and others !
Temperature stays at 30/31°C eq. 86/88°F even under load and its ultra quiet (inaudible without anything special).
No opening of case or other mods (throttle etc.) needed.
It's D-I-Y completely.
The fans used are 120 mm Cooler Master "Ultra Silent" at 13dbA (12 VDC).

See my initial post (signature).
Pictures are at bottom.
gurkey is offline  
post #369 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 04:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post

Added some pictures of a cooling solution for placement of other units ON TOP of a 905/875/805 etc and others !
Temperature stays at 30/31°C eq. 86/88°F even under load and its ultra quiet (inaudible without anything special).
No opening of case or other mods (throttle etc.) needed.
It's D-I-Y completely.
The fans used are 120 mm Cooler Master "Ultra Silent" at 13dbA (12 VDC).

See my initial post (signature).
Pictures are at bottom.

I have my Toshiba HD-DVD on top of my 905 without any heat issues at all...
gurkey is offline  
post #370 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 09:17 AM
Senior Member
 
sheedoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post

I have my Toshiba HD-DVD on top of my 905 without any heat issues at all...

Just ordered the fan from svc.com. I had been using a similar type fan from radio shack, but it is too noisy. One quick question. Do you have the fan on top of your 905 or the HD-DVD player? I plan on putting the fan behind my 885.
sheedoe is offline  
post #371 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 10:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
jimjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post

I have my Toshiba HD-DVD on top of my 905 without any heat issues at all...

Another option for the truly lazy is the Antec Veris component cooler. It's basically an inch thick shelf with feet at the corners, two computer case fans in the middle, and two exhaust vents out the back edge. Set it on top of the receiver, plug it into the switched outlet on the back of the receiver and it powers on and off in tandem. Has kept my 8.8 to around 37-41 degrees even with one of those scorching hot Comcast cable boxes piled on top.
jimjr is offline  
post #372 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
EskimoPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sahuarita, AZ
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post

Added some pictures of a cooling solution for placement of other units ON TOP of a 905/875/805 etc and others !
Temperature stays at 30/31°C eq. 86/88°F even under load and its ultra quiet (inaudible without anything special).
No opening of case or other mods (throttle etc.) needed.
It's D-I-Y completely.
The fans used are 120 mm Cooler Master "Ultra Silent" at 13dbA (12 VDC).

See my initial post (signature).
Pictures are at bottom.

Gurkey, I like that setup, what is the metal grill used to connect all 4 fans? Just something you had laying around?
EskimoPie is offline  
post #373 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
thrand1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Suburbia, Columbus, OH
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just a quick update...got around to updating my Integra DTR-7.8 with the DSP update. The DTR-7.8 is considered the Integra cousin of the Onkyo 805. No problems here for me, the updated DSPs match the ones in the PDF doc in the first post. I did have to manually reset the receiver after waiting for about 30 minutes- the receiver just kept displaying S/PDIF Update... after going through each of the DSP writes. No real problems for me, reset everything to what I had before the updates. Thanks to gurkey and joerod for providing all of this valuable information!

Eagerly awaiting the firmware update,
Tyler
thrand1 is offline  
post #374 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jmschnur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VA MD DC area
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neville View Post

Apart from these fw upgrades fixing the "bomb" what other benfits does this bring ? I dont have any issues and hesitant to upgrade, just because I can, unless there is an improvement in sound quality.

Any input ?
thx

There were comments in the Adudyssey thread the the sound in Stereo was a bit better than before after the DSP upgrade.

Joel
jmschnur is offline  
post #375 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
frank1940's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neville View Post

Apart from these fw upgrades fixing the "bomb" what other benfits does this bring ? I dont have any issues and hesitant to upgrade, just because I can, unless there is an improvement in sound quality.

Any input ?
thx

Problem as I see it that what your thinking is true today. But think a bit further out. If you can remember all early DVD players would decode Dolby Digital into 5.1 analog audio because there weren't any AVR's that could do it. Is there a single DVD player that will decode anything beyond 2.0 analog audio? If BluRay player prices are going to drop, decoding is the one place to save money. Just bitstream everything-- The DB-30 already does that! I know that I hope I will be using my 805 in ten years but I am afraid that my BD-30 will have bit the dust long before then. (I have had at least THREE standard DVD players die in the past few years and I don't have much confidence that the BluRay will be that much better!)

If you don't do anything else, you had best get the update files and put them some place where you can find them when you do need to update the DSP firmware.
frank1940 is offline  
post #376 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 02:18 PM
Member
 
DTGallagher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTGallagher View Post

I don't really know which one of these Onkyo threads
to post this message in, but figured I'd start here.

As I purchased a Panasonic BD30 player with DTS-MA bitstreaming capability and had read about the "DTS bomb" with Onkyo receivers, I assumed I needed to install
the DSP update - which I believe I successfully performed
(i.e. the DSP 1-3 settings match those in the installation
instructions). (FWIW - I never saw a "pure" CLEAR display when exiting the installation after a few minutes
on S/PDIF update; the display referenced something like
NET - CLEAR, as it seemed like the receiver was trying to access a server.)

But now I have problems - and realized probably too late that I also need to update my firmware, which is at
1.01/07704A.

Now that I've done the DSP update, I can no longer use
AUX1 and AUX2 as HDMI inputs.
I also now rarely see DolbyTrue HD on my receiver
display for discs using this codec - I'm back to the generic "multichannel" display which I saw before I purchased my A35 HD DVD player. (Specifics: I got a correct display for a "Battlestar Galactica" rental but not for "I Am Legend').

More settings which might be helpful:
HDMI 1.00/07517A
Video: 07606E009924
Net: ??

Help anyone? I'm trying to avoid going to a service center. I'll do the firmware update if that will solve these problems - but mainly I'm just concerned with
avoiding the "DTS bomb" and getting my HDMI settings
back to what they were before the upgrade.

Dennis

Bump!
Anyone able to offer help on these problems?
Can I update the firmware myself with the firmware
version I'm currently running?
DTGallagher is offline  
post #377 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTGallagher View Post

Bump!
Anyone able to offer help on these problems?
Can I update the firmware myself with the firmware
version I'm currently running?

The DSP Update cleared all Youir personal settings, which now have to be redone including Audyssey.
What model is Yours ?
gurkey is offline  
post #378 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 02:37 PM
Newbie
 
Rossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to gurkey and dlcockrum, I updated the firmware on my 885 over the weekend. I went from 1.06 to 1.07 and it eliminated the audio delay when using my HR20 and fast forwarding thru commercials. I couldn't find the free Nero software, so I used Roxio Easy CD Creator 5 software on my work computer. No problems at all thanks to the folks on this forum.
Rossie is offline  
post #379 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 02:38 PM
Member
 
DTGallagher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 905.
DTGallagher is offline  
post #380 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 02:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTGallagher View Post

I have a 905.


Do a hardware reset first:
Unplug Your unit, wait at least five seconds, reinsert plug and turn it on.

Now continue with the main firmware 1.08 updated as provided in the first post, if You wish to.

Redo Your settings and Audyssey afterwards.
gurkey is offline  
post #381 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 03:03 PM
Member
 
DTGallagher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post

Do a hardware reset first:
Unplug Your unit, wait at least five seconds, reinsert plug and turn it on.

Now continue with the main firmware 1.08 updated as provided in the first post, if You wish to.

Redo Your settings and Audyssey afterwards.

The hardware reset did not work. I can still not assign
AUX1 and AUX2 as HDMI inputs. (I did the default reset
recommended by the Onkyo support person - which led me to a Net - Clear Skip [Ent] display) - not a "pure"
Clear screen.)

The friendly folk at Onkyo product support suggested I
send my receiver to a service center. AARRGH!
The closest service center is about 30 miles away - and
I don't think any will do a "while I wait" firmware update.

(The ugly fix for now is to assign the VCR/DVR as HDMI
2 and GAME as HDMI 4. I was used to using AUX1 for
my Blu-Ray player and AUX2 for my Oppo 980.)

Please tell me I'm missing something basic here.

(Just as an aside - this is the second support person I've
encountered who hems and haws his way through his
conversation. I had the impression I wasn't talking to a real person.)

Thanks for any help you might provide. Again - I'm
trying my best to avoid having to take this receiver out
of service.
DTGallagher is offline  
post #382 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 03:18 PM
Member
 
DTGallagher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update:

I disconnected my HD DVD player and connected the
Blu-Ray player to the same input.

I'm now seeing DTS HD MSTR and 7.1 channels lit up for the audio on my "Hairspray" disc.

Bottom line - the AUX1 and AUX2 issues may just be an
annoyance.
Do you think a firmware update would correct these
problems?
Is the "DTS Bomb" still fixed if I see the correct DSP1-3
display?
DTGallagher is offline  
post #383 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 04:39 PM
Member
 
Bobkbusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thought I'd provide the following in case there are others apprehensive about updating their 9.8s.

I experienced the "DTS BOMB" while watching the Eagles HD-DVD last December. (I originally thought it was a defective disc.) Just about gave me a heart attack and that is my motivation for doing this update.

I updated my 9.8 Main Firmware last week using a Vista laptop and Com Port 3 (USB) using a Keyspan USB/Serial adapter. Although I received the "E2PROM ERROR," a simple unplug of the power cord fixed the problem.

I just finished doing the DSP Update...by phone!

I'm traveling and had some spare time, so I called my son (he's 21 and pretty tech savvy). I emailed him the DSP Update file and he burned the Audio CD using Nero on my home computer. Then, following my directions, he ran the update from our PS3. The update went as advertised - took about 30 minutes total, and that included waiting 10 minutes after the update to shut-down and re-power the 9.8!

Everything is updated and works great!

MAJOR THANKS Gurkey and to all the others that have posted useful info for this update!

Now, if I could only locate an Audyssey Pro installer in the Colorado Springs area.....
Bobkbusch is offline  
post #384 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon Spackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobkbusch View Post

Thought I'd provide the following in case there are others apprehensive about updating their 9.8s.

I experienced the "DTS BOMB" while watching the Eagles HD-DVD last December. (I originally thought it was a defective disc.) Just about gave me a heart attack and that is my motivation for doing this update.

I updated my 9.8 Main Firmware last week using a Vista laptop and Com Port 3 (USB) using a Keyspan USB/Serial adapter. Although I received the "E2PROM ERROR," a simple unplug of the power cord fixed the problem.

I just finished doing the DSP Update...by phone!

I'm traveling and had some spare time, so I called my son (he's 21 and pretty tech savvy). I emailed him the DSP Update file and he burned the Audio CD using Nero on my home computer. Then, following my directions, he ran the update from our PS3. The update went as advertised - took about 30 minutes total, and that included waiting 10 minutes after the update to shut-down and re-power the 9.8!

Everything is updated and works great!

MAJOR THANKS Gurkey and to all the others that have posted useful info for this update!

Now, if I could only locate an Audyssey Pro installer in the Colorado Springs area.....


All your settings are wiped out right? Names, distances, eq, everything right?

Just enjoy HD in whatever form you can (Sat, Cable, D-VHS, OTA, HD DVD, or BD).
Jon Spackman is offline  
post #385 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 07:06 PM
Member
 
keithfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just finished the update process on my DTC 9.8 FW 1.04 to FW 1.07 and the DSP update. It was pretty simple.

I did the Main FW update first. I already had a RS232 cable I used to upgrade my Anthem (AVM 20 now in box) and my laptop has an RS232 port. COM1 at 38k baud. Did not take that long. Machine shut down correctly at end of process.

The DSP upgrade hung at the end as has happened to other people. I used an Onkyo 5 disc CD player DX-C380 I was no longer using (in a box too ) otherwise this worked fine as well. I waited the 10 minutes, shut it down manually, got the 'Clear' message. Then I restarted it.

I used the spreadsheet provided on this forum to record my settings, so re-entering those was easy after the DSP upgrade deleted most but not all of them.

I then did a quick level balance. I have not had a chance to re-do the Audessy setup yet.

My basic impression is this a system that was not really designed for end users to update in the field as it was not that friendly or intuitive a process but for those of you that can use a computer and follow instructions it was not really all that complex.


All is working fine. Thanks to all those on the forum.

Keith
keithfox is offline  
post #386 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 07:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I updated the DSP on my 605 (purchased July 2007) last weekend. Before the firmware flash it would only decode DD 2.0 (not DD 5.1 or DTS). After the upgrade I can decode all advertised formats.

The 605 didn't like the way the following players handled the firmware upgrade:
Toshiba HD-A2
LG LST-3510A
LG BH200

It did like my Panasonic DMR-E80H (DVD / HDD recorder circa 2003).

I used Nero 8's default audio CD settings to burn the disc.

So far no problems and it is decoding all formats as expected.

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is online now  
post #387 of 4215 Old 04-28-2008, 09:33 PM
Member
 
Bobkbusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Spackman View Post

All your settings are wiped out right? Names, distances, eq, everything right?

When I did the Main firmware update, my settings were lost. I only had time to redo sources/inputs before I left on my trip. When my son did the DSP update for me today, he said he had to redo the sources/inputs again.

To me, it wasn't a big deal. I planned on redoing Audyssey anyway, and I had everything else written down, so re-entering the info shouldn't take that long.

I had my son check for the "DTS BOMB" on my Eagles HD-DVD and it is gone!
Bobkbusch is offline  
post #388 of 4215 Old 04-29-2008, 01:11 PM
Member
 
dbaydoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I updated the DSP's on my 9.8 today. I left my firmware alone since it is 1.06. I still get some popping from my surrounds when I chapter forward during The Golden Compass. Just thought I would pass that along. Anyone else having this problem?
dbaydoun is offline  
post #389 of 4215 Old 04-29-2008, 03:33 PM
Member
 
DTGallagher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTGallagher View Post

Update:

I disconnected my HD DVD player and connected the
Blu-Ray player to the same input.

I'm now seeing DTS HD MSTR and 7.1 channels lit up for the audio on my "Hairspray" disc.

Bottom line - the AUX1 and AUX2 issues may just be an
annoyance.
Do you think a firmware update would correct these
problems?
Is the "DTS Bomb" still fixed if I see the correct DSP1-3
display?

Bump again!
Anyone?
Am i missing something basic about not being able to set the AUX1 and AUX2 as HDMI inputs?
Can I safely upgrade the firmware to 1.08 from my current version (1.01/07704A)?

FWIW, I got a call from a local service center who told
me that the only service center on the east coast who
could do a firmware upgrade is in Syracuse, NY (meaning my receiver would be out of service multiple days). What a way to do business!

Thanks again for any help.

Dennis

(As an aside, any conjectures as to why the audio on
the HD DVD of "I Am Legend" is being displayed as
"Multichannel" rather than Dolby TrueHD? The
"Battlestar Galactica" disc I rented is displaying correctly.
DTGallagher is offline  
post #390 of 4215 Old 04-29-2008, 07:17 PM
Member
 
dbaydoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do the firmware update as described on page 1. Your firmware is very old. I'm sure that is the problem. If that doesn't work, redo the dsp update too. Also, the instructions from Onkyo are incorrect. The unit will not reset itself and read "clear". After you do the DSP upgrade, wait about 10 minutes and then press the power button. You will see the "clear" display and the unit will reset. Good luck.
dbaydoun is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Sr605 Receiver , Onkyo Tx Sr805 7 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver Silver , Onkyo Tx Nr905s
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off