The Onkyo TX-SR606 Owners Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 9468 Old 05-14-2008, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shinksma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wandering the intertubes, on the way to damnation
Posts: 2,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by focker240 View Post

Any by bypassing the LPF, you mean turn it all the way down on the sub? I just purchased the 606 last night and ran the Audessy set-up and the sub was set at -14db. I am assuming this was because I had my frequency on my sub set to around 100? Any help on this will be appreciated!

Bypassing the LPF means selecting "bypass" on the sub, if there is such a setting, or by setting the cross-over frequency on the sub as high as possible (not all the way "down").

Does that help?

shinksma

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my captors.
shinksma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 9468 Old 05-14-2008, 10:53 AM
Member
 
focker240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinksma View Post

Bypassing the LPF means selecting "bypass" on the sub, if there is such a setting, or by setting the cross-over frequency on the sub as high as possible (not all the way "down").

Does that help?

shinksma

I think so. So what your saying is to turn the dial on the back of my Onkyo sub to the highest possible frequency? I do not think I have a bypass switch/button on the back of the sub, just a frequency dial, phase button (normal or reverse, i think), and a volume dial (which, according to a few posts back, should be set to 1/3-1/2 volume). After these adjustments, I should go ahead and re-run the Audessy speaker setup? Am I getting on the right track, shinksma?

______________________
PSN: ShengLongDong
Xbox Live: ShengLongDong
focker240 is offline  
post #273 of 9468 Old 05-14-2008, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by focker240 View Post

Any by bypassing the LPF, you mean turn it all the way down on the sub? I just purchased the 606 last night and ran the Audessy set-up and the sub was set at -14db. I am assuming this was because I had my frequency on my sub set to around 100? Any help on this will be appreciated!

No, bypassing the LPF means flipping a switch on your sub that bypasses the LPF. Some sub's have such a switch, some don't. If your sub doesn't, then you want to turn the frequency switch all the way up, not down.

Audyssey set your sub at -14 because you have the volume knob on your sub too high. Dial it down and try again.
kplex is offline  
post #274 of 9468 Old 05-14-2008, 12:06 PM
Newbie
 
llap444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally got the speaker wires run in the walls last night - (Polk Audio RM705 set) mounted on the walls - new oak cabinet purchased over the weekend.

Equipment: 606, Motorola DCT6416, PS3(40), Panasonic 50pz800 - using HDMI connections. BTW, 606 and 800 purchased at ABT - good prices and service - they had the 800 before anybody that I could find - certainly where I live in central Illinois.

Test: Blu ray "Phantom of the Opera" - sound is very good - Audyssey system works fine. I'm satisfied. (No, the sound is NOT as good as my 23 year old Onkyo/Polk setup described below -- it's good, it IS surround sound, it's just not AS good)

Side benefit - I can now watch/listen early in the morning and cook my eggs on the 606 at the same time (:-) -- lots of heat -- can't imagine what the 605 must be like. Seriously - I have a 23ish year old Onkyo Integra that gets pretty warm as well -- but I've also not heard any better sound on any system yet (speakers: 2 Polk Audio cabinets -forgot the model # - ~5' tall each with 4 tweeters, 8 horns, 1 woofer) . I'll have to fiddle with cutting some exhaust holes and maybe a quiet fan arrangement (new cabinet came without ventilation holes!) - for now, I just pop open the 2 glass panel doors to let the heat out while I'm using the 606. My son-in-law convinced me to hook up component cables directly from 6416 to plasma for "simplified operation" (until I get the myriad of remotes figured out - or puchase a harmony) - thus I can keep the 606 turned off and still watch cable tv with basically same video quality - just not through the polk speakers - but the panasonic 800 has a very good sound in its own right.
llap444 is offline  
post #275 of 9468 Old 05-14-2008, 12:06 PM
Member
 
focker240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kplex View Post

No, bypassing the LPF means flipping a switch on your sub that bypasses the LPF. Some sub's have such a switch, some don't. If your sub doesn't, then you want to turn the frequency switch all the way up, not down.

Audyssey set your sub at -14 because you have the volume knob on your sub too high. Dial it down and try again.

Thanks for the info. I think I have my sub volume turned up pretty high, maybe even all the way up! I will make these adjustments and then re-run the Audyessy setup. Casino Royal on BD sounded sweet last night, so I can only image what it will sound like with a properly calibrated speaker setup! Any other info of use for an audio setup noob like me?

______________________
PSN: ShengLongDong
Xbox Live: ShengLongDong
focker240 is offline  
post #276 of 9468 Old 05-14-2008, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by focker240 View Post

Thanks for the info. I think I have my sub volume turned up pretty high, maybe even all the way up! I will make these adjustments and then re-run the Audyessy setup. Casino Royal on BD sounded sweet last night, so I can only image what it will sound like with a properly calibrated speaker setup! Any other info of use for an audio setup noob like me?

Read the first two posts on the 705 thread. Most of the information there is applicable to a 606. The second post is specifically about running Audyssey.
kplex is offline  
post #277 of 9468 Old 05-14-2008, 12:26 PM
Member
 
focker240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kplex View Post

Read the first two posts on the 705 thread. Most of the information there is applicable to a 606. The second post is specifically about running Audyssey.

Great! Off to soak up some more info!
Thanks again!

______________________
PSN: ShengLongDong
Xbox Live: ShengLongDong
focker240 is offline  
post #278 of 9468 Old 05-14-2008, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SkiSmuggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Central Vermont
Posts: 1,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those Fockers were Messerschmidts! :-)
SkiSmuggs is offline  
post #279 of 9468 Old 05-14-2008, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
mchamblissII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering if this system have lip sync issues like the 605???
mchamblissII is offline  
post #280 of 9468 Old 05-14-2008, 07:57 PM
Member
 
DillnutMcGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have yet to have any lip sync issues so far using mulitple sources. I haven't seen any complaints yet, but that doesn't mean anything.
DillnutMcGee is offline  
post #281 of 9468 Old 05-14-2008, 08:06 PM
Senior Member
 
mchamblissII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DillnutMcGee View Post

I have yet to have any lip sync issues so far using mulitple sources. I haven't seen any complaints yet, but that doesn't mean anything.

Thanx, I was trying to decided if I should get this receiver or the 663. So far i'm really starting to like the 606 but I also like the 663. I like the 606 since it has 4 hdmi inputs, my old onkyo just died on me today . But now I have an excuse to get a new receiver LOL .
mchamblissII is offline  
post #282 of 9468 Old 05-14-2008, 09:43 PM
Member
 
makry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

I have my ps 3 connect via hdmi outputting in LPCM. The PS3 shows 7.1 DTS HD but if I hit the display on the receiver it shows 5.1. Any clue? I have a 6.1setup. Thanks!

Mark
makry is offline  
post #283 of 9468 Old 05-14-2008, 10:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone connected their pc via the onkyo hdmi and having this issue?

If I turn the tv off, the signal from the pc (via HDMI) is dropped and the only way to get it back is to reboot the pc. It doesn't do this to any of the other inputs to the onkyo. In setting I've got the power control turned off.
ymarker is offline  
post #284 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 12:51 AM
Member
 
Dural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've just read a thing in the manual that made me sick (haven't installed anything yet): "HDMI inputs can be used with an DVI-HDMI adapter. Although signals originating by a PC are not supported".

What the hell is that? I can not connect my HTPC via a DVI-HDMI adapter to this receiver? What are your experiences? Because if it really so, I'm going to immediately return it..
Dural is offline  
post #285 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 01:05 AM
Member
 
CaRaBeeN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

Which one do you recommend to drive with Wharfedale 9.6 fronts,9.2 rears,9cs center and sw150 sub?
Onkyo 606 or Yamaha 663?

- The source will be HTPC (palit 9600gt sonic hdmi out for video and coaxial sound card output for sound) and 720p-1080p rip movies

- Sound card will be replaced when new generation sound cards arrive which gives full support for new tech. like DD+ etc.

- Display units will be (Pioneer 5080XA or Panasonic 42PX80) and Panasonic AX-100 projector..

Thanks
CaRaBeeN is offline  
post #286 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 05:56 AM
Member
 
Michael F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hou, TX
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post

Anyone connected their pc via the onkyo hdmi and having this issue?

If I turn the tv off, the signal from the pc (via HDMI) is dropped and the only way to get it back is to reboot the pc. It doesn't do this to any of the other inputs to the onkyo. In setting I've got the power control turned off.

Yes, I had my HP Digital Entertainment Center(z560) connected through HDMI and had problems. Many times my computer was already on and recording HD tv shows and I wanted to turn on the projector and the 606. Well, my projector would not pick up the signal in that order! It drove me crazy so I took my 606 back to Circuit City. I hope you have better luck. I use my HTPC for 90% of my viewing and this just wasn't acceptable.

Also, I sent my progressive scan DVD signal to the 606 via component cables and then to the projector by HDMI cable and I could see a loss of quality.

So this 606 just didn't work out for me. Anyone know of a receiver that won't have the HDMI issue with computers. (Specifically the required order of turning on the projector, receiver and then computer)

Thanks,
Mike
Pearland, TX
Michael F. is offline  
post #287 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 06:27 AM
Member
 
ainatar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dural View Post

I've just read a thing in the manual that made me sick (haven't installed anything yet): "HDMI inputs can be used with an DVI-HDMI adapter. Although signals originating by a PC are not supported".

What the hell is that? I can not connect my HTPC via a DVI-HDMI adapter to this receiver? What are your experiences? Because if it really so, I'm going to immediately return it..

Yeah it seems to be true. At least if you have DVI on the TV, I don't know about the other way around. I have a TV with only one DVI and a computer with HDMI and I can't run the resolution that I had when the computer was connected directly to the TV :-( Anyone know any workarounds for this?
ainatar is offline  
post #288 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shinksma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wandering the intertubes, on the way to damnation
Posts: 2,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael F. View Post

So this 606 just didn't work out for me. Anyone know of a receiver that won't have the HDMI issue with computers. (Specifically the required order of turning on the projector, receiver and then computer)

The problem lies more with the PC than the receiver. The PC card is not performing re-syncs on the HDMI HDCP handshake when a new device comes alive. AFAIK, the receiver and TV/projector aren't supposed to send HDCP handshakes when off, but the source device should allow new devices to establish the protocol if powered up after the source.

Is there no way to re-trigger the HDCP handshake on the PC?

shinksma

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my captors.
shinksma is offline  
post #289 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
angryht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I hadn't seen many reviews for this unit but I finally found one here the other day.

On another note, could someone please confirm that this unit passes BTB & WTW through the HDMI? Please. It has been asked several times but never answered.

-Greg
angryht is offline  
post #290 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shinksma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wandering the intertubes, on the way to damnation
Posts: 2,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaRaBeeN View Post

Hello all,

I think the choice of receiver is driven by your functional requirements, and then if that is still equal, buy which receiver literally "sounds" better to you. Although many folks will argue (including me) that trying to listen for audio-quality differences between the two models you suggest is rather pointless, as they are both in the middle-ground of receiver quality, and will likely sound very similar, compared to some of the very expensive units out there.

I think both of these units are similar power-wise, so it all comes down to whether the amplifiers color the sound any differently enough for you to notice.

So go to Best Buy (Yamaha) and Circuit City (Onkyo) and have a listen with whatever speakers they have there, and if one sounds better than the other, go for that one. Or buy both, try them at home, and return the one you don't like.

shinksma

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my captors.
shinksma is offline  
post #291 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 06:41 AM
Member
 
Dural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinksma View Post

The problem lies more with the PC than the receiver. The PC card is not performing re-syncs on the HDMI HDCP handshake when a new device comes alive. AFAIK, the receiver and TV/projector aren't supposed to send HDCP handshakes when off, but the source device should allow new devices to establish the protocol if powered up after the source.

Is there no way to re-trigger the HDCP handshake on the PC?

shinksma


This bloody HDCP stuff.. As usual, protection systems f**k the things up for the final users...

So if I understand: one must first turn on the VPR, then the Onkyo and then the PC to get the signal detected right? And if then I switch temporarly to another input then the PC signal is "lost forever" unless I reboot the PC? What a pain in the arse..
Dural is offline  
post #292 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 07:08 AM
Member
 
bull75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
couple questions/comments:

Is anyone having the receiver make a clicking sound when changing input signals? Mine does it changing from dvd input to satellite input. It also does it when changing from a HD digital satellite signal (w/ dd signal) to a std. def. channel (w/ stereo signal).

As for my subwoofer, Audessey has it set at -11dB. My sub volume is practically turned off (X-over turned to allow receiver to control). My sub is a HSU VTF-1 (w/ 1 port plugged).

Overall, I've been extremely pleased w/ this receiver. I have a H/K receiver in my living room, and the 606 blows it away. (I'm sure the speakers have an impact on this also, H/K speakers in my living room and Klipsch R5650w speakers in my theater room). Setup was also easy with the receiver. It does run a little hot, so I placed some shims between it and the component above it, and this has helped dissipate the heat.
bull75 is offline  
post #293 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
angryht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Is anyone having the receiver make a clicking sound when changing input signals? Mine does it changing from dvd input to satellite input. It also does it when changing from a HD digital satellite signal (w/ dd signal) to a std. def. channel (w/ stereo signal).

Mine clicks too. I think that is normal.
Quote:


As for my subwoofer, Audessey has it set at -11dB. My sub volume is practically turned off (X-over turned to allow receiver to control). My sub is a HSU VTF-1 (w/ 1 port plugged).

Check the settings that audessey set for your x-over. Typically, it will set the mains to full but usually you should set it to 80 or 100. Also, there is a great audysey explaination on the 705, 805 thread. You probably need to re-run it.
Quote:


Overall, I've been extremely pleased w/ this receiver. I have a H/K receiver in my living room, and the 606 blows it away. (I'm sure the speakers have an impact on this also, H/K speakers in my living room and Klipsch R5650w speakers in my theater room). Setup was also easy with the receiver. It does run a little hot, so I placed some shims between it and the component above it, and this has helped dissipate the heat

mine runs hot but not as hot as the 605 I don't think I would put anything within about 6 inches of this unit.

-Greg
angryht is offline  
post #294 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
angryht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here is the link to the 705 thread discussing the Audyssey: HERE

-Greg
angryht is offline  
post #295 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 07:28 AM
Senior Member
 
MacAlert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bull75 View Post

couple questions/comments:

Is anyone having the receiver make a clicking sound when changing input signals? Mine does it changing from dvd input to satellite input. It also does it when changing from a HD digital satellite signal (w/ dd signal) to a std. def. channel (w/ stereo signal).

As far as I can tell, the clicking is normal when switching audio modes.
MacAlert is offline  
post #296 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 07:30 AM
Member
 
bull75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
awsome, thanks. On initial audyssey setup, it made all the speakers full range, I went and changed the front stage to 80Hz and the surrounds to 100Hz. I left the sub x-over where it was set (100Hz). I'm getting decent output from my sub, and I don't think it needs to be higher; I just thought it odd that the volume control on the sub was a hair over zero (way below 1/4 way up) and the 606 had it on -11 on top of that.
bull75 is offline  
post #297 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kplex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bull75 View Post

couple questions/comments:

Is anyone having the receiver make a clicking sound when changing input signals? Mine does it changing from dvd input to satellite input. It also does it when changing from a HD digital satellite signal (w/ dd signal) to a std. def. channel (w/ stereo signal).

It's clicking as it switches between 2 channel and multichannel input signals. To stop it, you have to use a matrixing mode for the two channel signals so they use the same number of channels as a DD 5.1 signal does. Press the MOVIE/TV button when it switches to a 2 channel mode and select a matrixing mode. Use PLII if you have 5.1 or PLIIx if you have 7.1. If you have 7.1, you probably also need to select PLIIx for a DD 5.1 broadcast. If your preset listening modes are all set to Last Valid, this should fix the problem.

Alternatively you can preset listening modes on the Listening Mode Preset menu for Analog/PCM and D.F. 2ch, and Dolby Digital if you have 7.1.

You don't have to use PLIIx if you have 7.1 if you don't want to matrix 5.1 broadcasts. In that case use the Dolby Digital listening mode for DD, and PLII for the the two channel modes.
kplex is offline  
post #298 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 08:06 AM
Member
 
mayo2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody have any idea on why Onkyo went with push clips for the zone 2 speakers on the North American model and terminal posts on the other mondel?
mayo2222 is offline  
post #299 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
R1NLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by angryht View Post

On another note, could someone please confirm that this unit passes BTB & WTW through the HDMI? Please. It has been asked several times but never answered.

I don't have a proper calibration disc so I can't say for sure. However, I used one of the THX calibration utilities from the Star Wars DVDs and was able to see the black background behind the THX logo. If I'm not mistaken, I think that means that it will pass BTB.

Please correct me if I'm wrong.

360 & PSN Gamertag - R1NLP
R1NLP is offline  
post #300 of 9468 Old 05-15-2008, 08:24 AM
Member
 
Sweet Willie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I got my 606 (R&J) Monday evening but didn't have a chance to hook up till last night. Running a Toshiba (1080p upconverting) DVD player $59.99 from Costco via HDMI to 52XBR Sony (will be shopping for a BD after new models are out this summer). Running 5.1 speaker system till I decide on new surround and back surround speakers (will move the old surrounds into zone 2 in our dining room for my wife) (Hey while I'm up in the attic running wires - I might as well run a few more sets to places I might later want speakers). The 606 replaces an old Aiwa surround receiver. My impressions - almost entirely favorable are;

1. After tuning with the Audessey system and viewing a number of scenes from some of our favorite DVDs the sound system is seamless. It handles everything from space battles to dinosaur bellows to rustling leaves in romantic comedies with equal aplomb. The best compliment I can give the receiver is the sound blends with the video - you hear the sound but it's not the sound for sound sake but all part of the movie scene. The Audessey EQ also seems to keep the center channel dialogue understandable at low volume levels while still blending with the other sound - something I've always had trouble with. I've been using bitstream from the player to the Onk.

2. Musically, I don't think our CDs have ever sounded as good.

3. At first it's a little bit of a hassle pounding through the various sound modes for each source, but I seem to find one or two that do sound better for the source than others. I assume I'll eventually find a default mode to program in for each source over time.

4. Mine gets warm but after using for some 6 hours straight with some demanding driving of the sound system. It was warm, but I could easily hold my hand on it and on a cool fall day it would have felt quite nice! Driving two more speakers may add some more heat load, but I don't expect it to be excessive.

5. My only complaint so far and believe me it's a minor one is the FM antennae wire they gave me didn't work for spit! Half of my wife's favorite FM stations were so bad I gave up. I took the old dipole antennae I had, put a 300 ohm to 75 ohm transformer that I had on it and plugged it back in. With that, all her favorites but one was back.

My experience with the set up and initial installation are that the receiver is quite a good value for the money. Its manual is reasonably well written as I was able to work my way through without any major hiccups - I'm an engineer but not in the electronics arena and certainly no audiophile. I'm happy and shouldn't get receiver-it is for a year or two!
Sweet Willie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off