Official Pioneer SC-09TX/SC-LX90 Owner's Thread - Page 180 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5371 of 5386 Old 03-02-2014, 02:51 AM
Newbie
 
mkk85lam@hotmail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
By the way,
When performing the..........
"8.3 How to update the Flash Roms for various Microcomputers".....
Question: Can you purchase one of the "USB to Serial 9-pin null-modem(cross cable) cables", that are widely available on EBay.com, for this update firmware-file/transfer procedure??
Can this be done Hkan?
Just asking, as I do not have an earlier model PC with a "serial-9-pin" connnector on it anymore?
Just wondering IF one of these hybrid "USB-serial-9-pin" cables works as well, for the firmware/software updates on the Pioneer SC-09TX??
mkk85lam@hotmail is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5372 of 5386 Old 03-02-2014, 05:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 343
I have the Belkin F5U109 USB-to-Serial Adapter. Came with Windows XP drivers. It works like a charm for both FW updates and downloading MCACC data.

I think the Mac version was F5U409.

Still available but a discontinued product:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/BELKIN-USB-to-SERIAL-ADAPTER-Cable-for-PC-F5U109-F5U409-/400071303835

But check Belkin support carefully on compatibility with Windows >> XP & no support for 64 bit Win.

Here's another one that popped up but check WIndows support (32 bit Vista OK but no mention of W7):
http://www.serialgear.com/1-Port-Serial-USB-U232-P9.html

and they have a number of others with Win7 & Win8 support:
http://www.serialgear.com/USB-to-Serial.html
http://www.serialgear.com/usb-to-serial-adapter.html
http://www.serialgear.com/rs232-to-usb-adapter.html
http://www.serialgear.com/usb-to-serial-cable.html

Then you'll need the null modem cable to connect receiver to adapter, like this:
http://www.microcenter.com/product/200404/Serial_Null_Modem_Cable_6_Foot
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812196488

As far as a single USB adapter device with a built-in null modem cable, I've never came across one.

btw - glad to see there's still some out there using this excellent receiver smile.gif

Steve
ss9001 is offline  
post #5373 of 5386 Old 03-04-2014, 05:53 AM
Newbie
 
mkk85lam@hotmail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks very much for the help "ss9001" Susano owner, I'm very appreciative of all your lengthly post/help, in regards to my SC-09TX's Fimware-update queries!!
Will definately be ordering/buying 1 or 2 of these recommended "cross/null cable attachments" you posted about.
# Do you also know whether anybody has posted any official Pioneer Sisano SC-09TX "USB Firmware updates", the one's that the service manual says you can??
....Specifically the bit in the manual where it says.....
8.4 HOW TO UPDATE THE FLASH ROMS FOR USB MODULES........??
Any posts from any SC-09TX bloggers, referring to these particular "USB Flash Roms" firmware-updates??

## Also, just out of query, I also, have a Pioneer SC-07 reciever, and was wondering whether you know of anyone on AVSForum.com who has ever posted "any DSP Flash Roms, Flash roms for various micro-computers, OR USB Module Flash-roms" for the SC-07 reciever, also??
Once Again,
Thanks very much for your help ss9001 user!!!
Very much appreciate all your help, (and anybody else's help, who chimes-in, for that matter).
Best Regards,
Mark
mkk85lam@hotmail is offline  
post #5374 of 5386 Old 03-17-2014, 05:53 AM
Newbie
 
mkk85lam@hotmail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems that "ScreamsDream", "borland", "bguzman", "bumblefeet" (and many other users in this forum!) are absolutely, correct, in their application of sucessfully downloading & applying the "downgrading CFW" and then the "CFW 4.03"(fomr the Russion site, I believe), to SUCCESFULLY make their Pioneer BDP-105 completely "region-free-for-Blu-Ray & DVD" playback!!
Let me just add a few of the "other" problems that I ran into when installing my downloaded CFW for my BDP-105:
1) the "FAT or FAT32" formatting USB format "DID NOT" work for me, so I had to re-doe the formatting in the "NTFS" USB formatting, before the files would work for me!
2) You DON'T seem to need the "extra" 2 x additional files stored on the USB for these CFW's to work.....(i.e.don't seem to need the * "DLDISCIDENTIFIER" file, OR the * "DVD.bin" files, the "one's that appear on the Official PIONEER BDP-150 official Firmware files, now that your installing the CFW files!)
3) Remember to "un-zip" the "BDP-150_S-downgrade" file first (.....& also un-zip the "Pioneer BDP-150 Firmware - v4.03" file as well, when it comes time to use that download)....., as I had to use a program called "Winzip" to unzip mine!......I downloaded this un-zipping program on-line.
4) After using the initial "downgrade" firmware file, the new Firmware showing on my BDP-150 came up as ....."BDP-150 Activefile "5.09" February 02_2013"" version!!
5) I also had to "download" the program called "Microsoft Visual Studio 2012 x86 Redistributable", a program I found on-line..(using Google...), so that I could in fact use the "MTKPIO.exe" program, otherwise it would not recognise the "MTKPIO.exe" program file on my IBM-compatible pc!
6) After installing the second update file..file "BDP-150_SP.bin", the one you've just un-zipped, form the USB into your Pioneer BDP-150, the software version/Firmware number niow showing should now be ..........."BDP150 V04.03"
7) ....one final tip, remember to press the "GENERATE" icon within the "MTKPIO.exe" program on your PC (after you've entered your BDP-150 player's "unique/individual" "mac address" and "serial numbers", otherwise the "MTKPIO.exe" program will not now show you/Generate your unique "codes" for you to enter on your BDP-150, after entering/pressing 3 7 2 1, in the "twelve step" of "Third step", as ScreamDream avsforum user has indicated!

P.S. the above are just added problems I ran into, in addition to what the others have indicated in their "3-STEP" procedure, to transform your BDP-150 into completely "region FREE for BD-dvd playback!!".

ALL the best converting, as I am completely won-over by how sucessful this CFW's have transformed my player!!
Best Regards,
Mark L.

ScreamsDream




DOWNGRADE TO 1.02 FROM 1.05 TO INSTALL CFW. (uploaded files to different site from the original to make things easier)



First Step:

Downgrade from 1.05 to CFW to DG:



1) Download " http://www.mediafire.com/download/ecfmwbjwo0bbjpv/BDP-150_SP-downgrade.rar " and copy the file "BDP-150_SP " to a Empty USB (formatted in FAT or NTFS NOT EX FAT!!!)
2) Plugin the USB into the BDP 150
3) Boot up BDP 150 (without any discs inserted) and press Home button
4) Go to initial setup
5) Go to options, and select update

6) Update from the USB
7) When installed it will reboot.



Second Step:



1) Download " http://www.mediafire.com/download/1c46szl1ewqe1ld/Pioneer+BDP-150+Firmware+-+v4.03.zip " and copy the file "BDP-150_SP" to a Empty USB (formatted in FAT or NTFS NOT EX FAT!!!)
2) Download " http://www.mediafire.com/download/yy3nyqo8wsjvnpg/Activator.zip " and save to Desktop (or anywhere you want i don't care)
3) Plugin the USB into the BDP 150
4) Boot up BDP 150 (without anything inserted) and press Home button
5) Go to initial setup and options and select update.
6) Update from the USB
7) When installed it will reboot.(IN MY CASE IT GOT STUCK ON WAIT. I HIGHLY SUGGEST WAITING 15-20 MINUTES THEN TAKING THE POWER OUT AND THEN BACK IN)
8) CFW Is now installed.Now to activate


Third Step:



1) Boot up BDP 150 (without anything inserted) and press Home button
2) Go to initial setup
3) Select Network - ip setting and write down the Mac address onto notepad (don't include the - literally just afe456e43 etc)
4) Go to the options and select system information
5) Write down your serial number into notepad (don't include - literally afe4r5e3 etc)
6) Run "MTKPIO.exe" which you downloaded and click on the unlock tap.
7) Select BDP-150 from the drop down box
8) Now copy the mac address you wrote down (5e56te3e etc) and click the From clipboard button
9) Now copy the Serial number you wrote down (98e4t5 etc) and click the From clipboard button
10) Click Generate button.
11) Turn on your BDP and select initial settings.
12) Press 3 7 2 1 on the remote
13) Enter the code from MTKPIO IE 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 1 2 3 4 5
14) Press Enter

15) DONE.



TO CHANGE REGION CODE PRESS 3344 in initial setup and change DVD TO 0 AND BLU-RAY TO A (1) B (2) AND C (4)



!!!! Huge thanks to borland!!!!
mkk85lam@hotmail is offline  
post #5375 of 5386 Old 04-06-2014, 10:56 PM
Newbie
 
mkk85lam@hotmail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there Hkan, ss9001 avrforum'ers,
#Anyway you guy's know of where I can obtain the "EVENT", "DSP2" and "item" AND "HMG-usb drivere" firmware update files for the SC-09tx/SC-LX90?
##
Does anybody know where to gain downloads for the official Pioneer "SC-07_SC-LX81" official fimwares, esp, the "HDMI, DSP1, DSP2, DISP, EVENT, ITEM, Main, DISP-ucom, USB-Home Media Gallery files" from, and from which specific on-line site?
####
What about the latest "ufu1.10" unified flash update program utility file from??
Thanks for your help guy's,
Mark
mkk85lam@hotmail is offline  
post #5376 of 5386 Old 04-19-2014, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,419
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 216
I notice the L/R channels are rated up to 4 ohms. But not the center channel which is rated up to 6 ohms. Will the center channel handle a 4 ohm speaker?
rhed is online now  
post #5377 of 5386 Old 04-20-2014, 05:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 343
^^
yes, all of them will, even though the "official" rating is not. I've been using mine for 5+ yrs with 4 ohm Magnepans. no problems. many used it with 4 ohm speakers & it was bench tested by various reviewers at 4 ohms.

Steve
ss9001 is offline  
post #5378 of 5386 Old 04-20-2014, 10:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,419
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post

^^
yes, all of them will, even though the "official" rating is not. I've been using mine for 5+ yrs with 4 ohm Magnepans. no problems. many used it with 4 ohm speakers & it was bench tested by various reviewers at 4 ohms.

Thanks.. Btw, for almost all my questions regarding the sc-09 or MCACC. You've answered them precisely. And I've learned a lot since. Thanks again. And No matter how old this reciever is, I still think it's one of the baddest ones ever made. Had it for over 5 years now. My first reciever ever bought and I don't want to part with it. I'm gonna use it till it gives up on me. But man, it can take some punishment. I think it'll go 5 more years. Lol
rhed is online now  
post #5379 of 5386 Old 06-19-2014, 03:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello! I've just bought SC-LX90 and very happy with. But I have a problem and a few questions.
When I choosing Home media gallery I cannot use remote but can use buttons on the receiver itself
Whats wrong?
lesnik is offline  
post #5380 of 5386 Old 06-30-2014, 08:37 AM
Member
 
JANJWJMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesnik View Post
Hello! I've just bought SC-LX90 and very happy with. But I have a problem and a few questions.
When I choosing Home media gallery I cannot use remote but can use buttons on the receiver itself
Whats wrong?


At the left of to the volume control at your remote control is a switch for amp-source-tv set it to source to control media center.
JANJWJMC is offline  
post #5381 of 5386 Old 06-30-2014, 08:39 AM
Member
 
JANJWJMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Btw what are the benefits fore upgrading firmware?
Dont have dts bomb I think.
JANJWJMC is offline  
post #5382 of 5386 Old 06-30-2014, 09:45 AM
Member
 
TK-713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhed View Post
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1027273/official-pioneer-sc-09tx-sc-lx90-owners-thread/5370#post_24626677" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>ss9001</strong> <a href="/t/1027273/official-pioneer-sc-09tx-sc-lx90-owners-thread/5370#post_24626677"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
^^<br>
yes, all of them will, even though the "official" rating is not. I've been using mine for 5+ yrs with 4 ohm Magnepans. no problems. many used it with 4 ohm speakers &amp; it was bench tested by various reviewers at 4 ohms.</div>
</div>
<br>
Thanks.. Btw, for almost all my questions regarding the sc-09 or MCACC. You've answered them precisely. And I've learned a lot since. Thanks again. And No matter how old this reciever is, I still think it's one of the baddest ones ever made. Had it for over 5 years now. My first reciever ever bought and I don't want to part with it. I'm gonna use it till it gives up on me. But man, it can take some punishment. I think it'll go 5 more years. Lol
I put the bad boy back in my system after using the SC-79 for almost a year. I am so happy I didnt sell it. The build quality of the SC-09tx is kick ass. I have my THX ULTRA 2 mode back lol.

Anyone out there know what speaker mode would be the best to use? I use the 7.2 bi-amp mode. Speakers are the Atlantic Technology 8200e THX ULTRA. I know its only passive bi-amp but it must do something, wouldnt it.
TK-713 is offline  
post #5383 of 5386 Old 08-27-2014, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Dragnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Western part of Sweden
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i.Link mystery

Long time...no post.... been busy and just enjoying the beast.


That was until about two months when lightning struck (literally) with a vengenance. Viped out the upstairs TV, router, switches, the mining computer, sat-boxes and damaged the HDMI board in my Susano (as well as the Sim2 projektor....). Thank goodness for insurance!


Anyway, I recently got the Susano back, still waiting for the projector though, so for now it's music only. I spent last Sunday rewiring and configuring and ended up with a cleaner set-up with less Cables, front-align MCACC etc.
(In this I have to confess a thing about the firmware: although being the first on the thread to upgrade the DSP FW I never got around to upgrade the other subsystems, never found my USB/serial dongle, not urgently needing any of the new "features", not wanting to reconfigure etc ;-) . But I had the service center upgrade the lot as they replaced the HDMI board.)


Now, when trying out my trusty BDP-868AVi (only connected with i.Link and component video as before) I could not get any sound from SACD or DVD-Audio (except my one and only disc from Aix). CD, DTS-CD and burned DVD-Audio discs with HD files from HDtracks worked fine. It seems that I have run into some evil copy protection that I have not encountered before.


Has anyone else seen this behaviour?


(I'm not in trouble really as I use my excellent Sony SCD-XA5400ES for analog CD, analog 2-channel SACD and digital multichannel SACD and the Denon DVD-3930 handles DVD-Audio nicely.)
Dragnet is offline  
post #5384 of 5386 Old 10-07-2014, 08:59 AM
Member
 
Alicatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ice cold in Alexandria or Eating in Eksel Belgium
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post

btw - glad to see there's still some out there using this excellent receiver
Yep still using it and still enjoying it, but soon will have to start thinking about the 4k minefield
Alicatt is offline  
post #5385 of 5386 Old 10-12-2014, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,419
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alicatt View Post
Yep still using it and still enjoying it, but soon will have to start thinking about the 4k minefield
Yup still using mines too. Only now, I'm using the preouts to a inuke 12000 and 6000 to power my LCR's. While the sc-09 still powers my surrounds. Very minimal noiserunning pro amps. I actually have to put my ear about 8" away to hear a hiss. And no humming too. If I do upgrade, it'll be for Atmos. But I'm not in the hurry. My SC-09 is still going 5 yrs strong. Now, I'm just getting into 2 channel music and love it. Any tips for 2 channel listening with the AVR? As far as settings?
rhed is online now  
post #5386 of 5386 Old 10-20-2014, 02:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Dragnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Western part of Sweden
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhed View Post
...... Now, I'm just getting into 2 channel music and love it. Any tips for 2 channel listening with the AVR? As far as settings?

I have a Sony SACD and a Marantz audio streamer and for both I only use analogue in and "Pure Direct " = "Analog Direct". Works like a charm
Dragnet is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off