The Official VSX-1018AH-K Owners, Reviews, and Comments Thread! - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2008, 07:11 PM
Member
 
Curmudgeonx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two issues perhaps you could check:

Upscaling quality. You touched on the issue that it only upscales 480i/p to 1080p, suggesting that 720p and 1080i/p "pass through". True? Even component in (i.e. SA 8300 cable box) and HDMI?

Ipod interaction. Anyone tried plugging in an Ipod Classic (160G)? Music quality? Movie quality (although it is a terrible use, but still curious) . . .
Curmudgeonx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-24-2008, 07:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bgillyjcu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 3,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check my updated first post

Twitter @ Clefoodandbrews
 

bgillyjcu is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 07:31 PM
Member
 
Vexeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have OSD pics?
Vexeus is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 07:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tvted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bgillyjcu,

Thanks for the testing.
What was your playback source for BTB & WTW tests? DVE BD or SD or something else?

With respect to LPCM vs TrueHD - some may differ but lossless is lossless - LPCM is the pure digital stream which is passed to the processing or the D/A's, TrueHD is compressed much like a .zip file and has to go through a decoding stage but it is the same losslesss stream once decoded. An argument *might* be made for the quality of the decoder as far as bit perfect decoding goes but this is not particle physics - the algorythms are time tested so I think it is a meaningless argument.

ted
tvted is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 08:38 PM
Member
 
shinerburke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Curmudgeonx View Post

Two issues perhaps you could check:

Upscaling quality. You touched on the issue that it only upscales 480i/p to 1080p, suggesting that 720p and 1080i/p "pass through". True? Even component in (i.e. SA 8300 cable box) and HDMI?

Ipod interaction. Anyone tried plugging in an Ipod Classic (160G)? Music quality? Movie quality (although it is a terrible use, but still curious) . . .

I would like to know that as well.
shinerburke is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dawson, Georgia
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgillyjcu View Post

I do have one question. TRUE HD vs Uncompressed PCM Isn't the PCM track "better"?

Ted already sorta answered this question, but he left out two bits.

Namely that Dolby TrueHD could actually be superior! Sony, for instance, has released several releases with BOTH PCM and Dolby TrueHD... with a 16-bit PCM mix and a 20 or 24-bit Dolby TrueHD track.

However, Dolby TrueHD (as well as DTS-HD MA) can sometimes use DialNorm which some people would prefer to do without... which makes them favor PCM.

~Alan

DirecTV SUBSCRIBER since 1995!
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views
of Alan Gordon, Alan Gordon Enterprises, Alan Gordon, Inc., or Alan Gordon Amalgamated.
Alan Gordon is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 08:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,061
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gordon View Post

However, Dolby TrueHD (as well as DTS-HD MA) can sometimes use DialNorm which some people would prefer to do without... which makes them favor PCM.

~Alan

TrueHD tracks almost always come with DialNorm. Those who don't like DialNorm also the ones that don't fully understand what DialNorm does or does not do.
Foxbat121 is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 09:13 PM
Member
 
drewzus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoami View Post

I'll try later tonight.. although i doubt this would work well

True. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tvted View Post

Those are likely LINE level so I would be surpirsed if it were possible. Even if the gain were there, it would be unlikely to have an RIAA equalization curve which would be necessary for flat response. I am in the same boat btw. and though I've a PHONO pre amp I wanted to include it with the new setup, so I'll likely be breaking out my old Audio Amateur mags and building.

Good point.
drewzus is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 09:51 PM
Member
 
Xebec01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bad news on the A.L.C. front:

It appears that A.L.C. requires that you set your sound to Stereo; no surround, no center channel.

The manual states nothing about commercial volume leveling, and I didn't notice any difference. Perhaps I'm doing it wrong?

I will test more when my cables arrive tomorrow and I tinker again...

- Xebec -
Xebec01 is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 10:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CT_Wiebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
tvted & others -- Hi again Ted. I had a similar problem (no Phono Pre-amp input) several years ago. I did a lot of research, and found an excellent (and economical) unit that works (and looks) better than any one I could build. It's the TCC model TC-750 and the link to it is here: http://www.phonopreamps.com/ - see the 3rd item on that page. I have it powered from the Switched AC plug on my AVR. BTW, it's better than any built-in phono pre-amp that I've had.

It is absolutely quiet, and provides an almost (99%) perfect RIAA equalization for moving magnet cartridges (the output response is printed on the top of the unit). It also can connect to a PC audio card as well as the line inputs of AVRs, which makes it perfect for transferring vinyl to lossless PC files (and to CDs & audio DVDs - with the right software, of course). It's also in a nice small box, and is a solid, all steel, shielded, unit of high quality construction.

PS -- It's got an external power supply (in-line with the power cord).

- Claus {non-Santa model}
CT_Wiebe is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 11:04 PM
Member
 
Coolpplse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

TrueHD tracks almost always come with DialNorm. Those who don't like DialNorm also the ones that don't fully understand what DialNorm does or does not do.

I dont see the point of Dialogue Normalization when correctly mastered audio tracks can do the exact same thing Dolby is trying to achieve with this feature for Dolby TrueHD.
Coolpplse is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 11:10 PM
Member
 
drewzus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT_Wiebe View Post

tvted & others -- Hi again Ted. I had a similar problem (no Phono Pre-amp input) several years ago. I did a lot of research, and found an excellent (and economical) unit that works (and looks) better than any one I could build. It's the TCC model TC-750 and the link to it is here: http://www.phonopreamps.com/ - see the 3rd item on that page. I have it powered from the Switched AC plug on my AVR. BTW, it's better than any built-in phono pre-amp that I've had.

It is absolutely quiet, and provides an almost (99%) perfect RIAA equalization for moving magnet cartridges (the output response is printed on the top of the unit). It also can connect to a PC audio card as well as the line inputs of AVRs, which makes it perfect for transferring vinyl to lossless PC files (and to CDs & audio DVDs - with the right software, of course). It's also in a nice small box, and is a solid, all steel, shielded, unit of high quality construction.

PS -- It's got an external power supply (in-line with the power cord).

Thank you for that link. Looks great.
drewzus is offline  
Old 06-24-2008, 11:40 PM
Newbie
 
fito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any good company that has it in stock, that I can order through the web?
fito is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 12:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CT_Wiebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fito View Post

any good company that has it in stock, that I can order through the web?

I don't know, but you can use www.pricegrabber.com or Epinions to see. I believe that I ordered it direct from the PhonoPreamps web site that I linked to, IIRC.

- Claus {non-Santa model}
CT_Wiebe is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 05:05 AM
Member
 
cigga24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone take a pic of the On Screen Menus? Are they the same as the Elite 92?
cigga24 is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 05:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bgillyjcu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 3,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't have the time before work today for a pic.....but the menus are black with big white lettering. Pretty plain looking, but I find that makes it simple, quick and easy to use.

Twitter @ Clefoodandbrews
 

bgillyjcu is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 07:00 AM
Newbie
 
fito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Were are you guys getting the recievers from??? I want one sooo baaaddd!
fito is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 4,112
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 453 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by fito View Post

Were are you guys getting the recievers from??? I want one sooo baaaddd!

From the source.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 07:22 AM
Member
 
Taank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cigga24 View Post

Can someone take a pic of the On Screen Menus? Are they the same as the Elite 92?

OSD pic attached.
LL
Taank is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulims View Post

Great. Better than the Yamaha 661.

Looks the same as the 663 to me?
mpgxsvcd is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
EnzymaticRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
great news so far. Hopefully by the time the Hk 354 is available there will be some solid reviews of this receiver...
EnzymaticRacer is online now  
Old 06-25-2008, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
 
sanhacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post

Looks the same as the 663 to me?

Looks the same as my 1981 PC to me.
Plain is an understatement

- John
sanhacker is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xebec01 View Post

Bad news on the A.L.C. front:

It appears that A.L.C. requires that you set your sound to Stereo; no surround, no center channel.

The manual states nothing about commercial volume leveling, and I didn't notice any difference. Perhaps I'm doing it wrong?

I will test more when my cables arrive tomorrow and I tinker again...

- Xebec -

That is not good! Guess that eliminates the 1018 from my list!
mpgxsvcd is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanhacker View Post

Looks the same as my 1981 PC to me.
Plain is an understatement

I didn't say either one was "Good". However, they do look the same to me.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 08:19 AM
Newbie
 
Taterman4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all:

Couple of quick questions. I am trying to decide on the following receivers Yamaha TX-SR606, the Pioneer VSX-1018AH-K or the Yamaha RX-V663BL. All of these are fine units and I realize that I am asking the Pioneer owners group and my get somewhat biased answers !

Question:

Can you play music from all sources both digital and analog in a remote zone ? The Pioneer manual says that only analog sources can go to Zone 2 and I have some outside speakers and would like to be able to play music from an optically connected CD player or Ipod both on the inside speakers as well as the outside when I am having a party.

Thanks to all

Taterman4 (Ed)
Taterman4 is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found someone else that has it in stock. An authorized seller.
blackmax2k1 is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 09:15 AM
Member
 
Aloof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
B&H Photo seems to be taking orders on their site now, though they don't have it in stock.
Aloof is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 4,112
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 453 Post(s)
Liked: 973
July 2nd seems to be the date for Internet sales. Hopefully BB will have them on that date as well.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Spartan94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Middle of Michigan
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackmax2k1 View Post

I found someone else that has it in stock. An authorized seller.

ooo -- don't tempt me like that!

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

July 2nd seems to be the date for Internet sales. Hopefully BB will have them on that date as well.

how do you know that?
Spartan94 is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 09:30 AM
Member
 
charlie22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what's the msrp for the 1018? didn't see it in the first post.
charlie22 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off