Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Set up is going to as follows:

TV: Kuro Pro-151FD
Speakers: 2x Paradigm Studio 60's
Receiver: ????
Blu-ray / Console: PS3
Console: Wii

I'm not doing surround (for right now) because I currently live in an apartment and do not plan on being here for too long, plus with the wiring and all I'd rather leave that when I move into a more permanent place...

I'm also not doing a sub-woofer yet because of downstairs neighbors...

Now, I'm just stuck on the receiver part.. Some people have recommended the Pioneer VSX-94TXH, some say the 94 isn't worth the money and to get the 92 instead? And I also see a lot of recommendations for the Onkyo.. Yet when I read about the Onkyo I read it wasn't as good for video as it was for audio? Argh!

Problem is I'm really new in this and a lot of the receivers have so many features I am not even sure what I really need for the set up I am going for... I do plan on eventually having surrounds and a sub, and I prefer video quality over audio quality if that matters in selection as I'll be doing more gaming, movies than just listening to music..

My price limit is around what the 92-94VSX pioneer elite receivers run...

Thanks,
Adam
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 07-12-2008, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Liked: 10
How long will it be until you flesh out the surround system? If its any significant amount of time, Id just get an integrated amp. The new HDMI receivers are pretty new, and by the time you actually need all of the things it can do, you can either get better for cheaper, or get todays' offerings for that much less.

The integrated amp can be sold, used elsewhere, or you might find one that has HT bypass so that it can be combined with a future receiver. Just an idea to consider.