*Official* Denon AVR 1909/789 Thread - Page 379 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11341 of 11355 Old 08-08-2014, 12:31 PM
Member
 
noved's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all. I recently re-did my basement and I am setting up my home theater. Its been awhile since I last did this and I am adding 2 more speakers so I am here to make sure I do it right.
My receiver is a Denon 1909 (obviously) and my speakers are energy RC series. I have the lcr (center) 70s (left and right front), rcr's (the sides of the room), 30's (rear)an my sub is an SVS nsd 10". My tv is an older Samsung DLP that I can't justify upgrading just yet (but soon will). I will be using a PS3 as my blue ray player and Netflix hub.
To start, I would like to know if the 1909 is capable of converting to 7.1. I read somewhere that the HDMI is passthrough only and does not convert to 7.1 unless there is a true 7.1 source or to that effect.
Secondly, is there a way I can have the volume display on the TV when using hdmi either by adding more cable or some other means... this would be nice since I can't read the receiver from my chair.
Also, any advise or things to consider before I start the Audyssey and assigning inputs.
noved is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11342 of 11355 Old 08-08-2014, 12:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,288
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 1203
1) Yes, the 1909 has Dolby PLIIx which can mix any incoming signal up to 7.1. There were some very early HDMI receivers that couldn't upmix multich PCM to 7.1 but your 1909 is fine.

2) No, the 1909 does not display any overlay graphics over HDMI like the volume bar. You could run an analog composite cable to the DLP but that would mean you'd have to switch inputs on the TV just to check the volume on the receiver.

3) In terms of other advice... I would probably do a microprocessor reset since you are starting from scratch in a new setup, then at least you have a clean slate to work with. Run Audyssey, make sure to check bass management (the RC-70's and probably the 30's will get set to LARGE) and reset everything to SMALL with a 60-80Hz crossover so the SVS sub gets the low bass.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #11343 of 11355 Old 08-08-2014, 10:53 PM
Member
 
noved's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, resetting the receiver, is a good idea. I plan to do just that and I'm sure I'll have more questions once I do
noved is offline  
post #11344 of 11355 Old 08-18-2014, 06:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
wallstreet123456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was hoping someone here could help me, I own the ave-789 and LOVE it but today for some reason the display on the unit has been acting funny. When I turn the receiver on it display is visible and I can see everything on it but after about a minute or two the display goes dark but I still hear sound and everything else works fine. Is there a setting that might have been activated that turns the display off after a while? If so could someone tell me how to turn this feature off?

Thanks,
Steven
wallstreet123456 is offline  
post #11345 of 11355 Old 08-18-2014, 08:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,524
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallstreet123456 View Post
When I turn the receiver on it display is visible and I can see everything on it but after about a minute or two the display goes dark but I still hear sound and everything else works fine. Is there a setting that might have been activated that turns the display off after a while? If so could someone tell me how to turn this feature off?
Hi wallstreet123456, does it come back on for a few second if using the volume control? Its possible you enabled Pure Direct mode.
JChin is offline  
post #11346 of 11355 Old 08-19-2014, 05:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
wallstreet123456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes it does. I figured it out. There is a dimmer button on front of the unit and somehow it must have been pressed to turn diaplay off after a few seconds. It is now working again.

Thank you for your help.

I love this receiver.
wallstreet123456 is offline  
post #11347 of 11355 Old 08-19-2014, 06:23 PM
Member
 
ochsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A few weeks ago, the headphone jack on my Denon AVR-1909 stopped working; it wouldn't accept a headphone plug. Otherwise, the receiver was working fine. A little over a week ago, I took the unit into one of the two official Denon service centers in town and paid them a $100.00 bench fee to fix the jack. I'd used them once before, about two years ago, when the unit stopped working, and they'd sent it back to Denon to replace the HDMI board. Although I wasn't happy about paying nearly $300.00 for that repair, I thought the service facility handled the matter professionally and the unit was repaired well.

Yesterday, I called the facility to check on the progress of the repair. I nearly fell over when the staffperson I talked to told me the technician had diagnosed a defective HDMI board, since I'd replaced the board 2 years ago, and it was functioning just fine when I brought it in. The staffer put me on hold, then told me he'd check with the technician and get back to me with more details.

Today I got a call from the manager of the facility. He told me that the technician had replaced the jack, but when he'd powered up the unit it wouldn't "pass signal," hence the broken HDMI board. When I asked him to explain why the board had suddenly stopped working, he said he really had no explanation, although he suggested that the broken jack might have "stressed" the board. He insisted, however, that they had not broken my receiver.

He then offered to contact Denon to see if he could get them to replace the HDMI board, which has failed twice on this unit. I'm not holding out much hope for this, since the machine is about five years old, but I guess I'll wait to hear back from him before taking any action. In the meantime, I'd appreciate any advice or expertise from folks here who know more about electronics than I do. Could a broken headphone jack "stress" an HDMI board or am I being fed a load of bull?

Last edited by ochsfan; 08-19-2014 at 06:25 PM. Reason: clarification
ochsfan is offline  
post #11348 of 11355 Old 08-20-2014, 12:46 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,353
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 1491
^^
Don't know although if there is no cost to you to replace the HDMI board, moot point. Personally, I would have used that $300 towards a newer networking model for not much more and would certainly not recommend investing any more money for repair of the unit.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11349 of 11355 Old 08-20-2014, 07:48 AM
Member
 
ochsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Don't know although if there is no cost to you to replace the HDMI board, moot point. Personally, I would have used that $300 towards a newer networking model for not much more and would certainly not recommend investing any more money for repair of the unit.
It seemed to make sense to have the HDMI board replaced two years ago, as the unit was only about 2 1/2 years old and I was already out $100.00 for the bench fee. I certainly don't plan to spend the same amount to have the HDMI board replaced a second time.
ochsfan is offline  
post #11350 of 11355 Old Yesterday, 07:05 AM
Member
 
Uber12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,
My 1909 started having some problems a few days ago. It will work fine for 1-5 minutes and then the sound will cut out. This is sometimes preceded immediately by loud popping and crackling noises. This happens with both my PVR and PS3 as sources. If I switch inputs and then back again, the sound will return for a few minutes until it happens again. I did a microprocessor reset, but the problem persists. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!.
Uber12 is online now  
post #11351 of 11355 Old Yesterday, 07:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,288
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 1203
Unfortunately this probably means the HDMI board is starting to fail. Sounds like you've already done the proper troubleshooting. As a last resort try several MP resets in a row but it sounds bad

Time to think about replacing it; it's long out of warranty and repair cost would probably be the same as just buying something new. Newer comparables will have better sound (MultEQ XT), networking, nicer GUI, etc.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
post #11352 of 11355 Old Yesterday, 07:29 AM
Member
 
Uber12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the quick reply. I was hoping there was some magical fix, but I guess it's time to go shopping. It's been a good receiver for the last 6 years, although I was hoping to get a few more more years out of it.
Uber12 is online now  
post #11353 of 11355 Old Yesterday, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Uber12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It just occurred to me that if the problem is just with HDMI audio, I could work around it for now by using optical or coaxial digital audio. What I'm wondering though, is how much longer it might be until the HDMI board might fail completely. Right now, I could get a Denon AVR-X3000 for under $600, but I don't really want to spend the money right now. My fear is that if I wait I might miss out on the clearance of last year's models and end up paying much more. Decisions, decisions.
Uber12 is online now  
post #11354 of 11355 Old Yesterday, 10:10 PM
Newbie
 
bleachigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys. Having a bit of a problem with my Denon AVR-1909. I have it setup for 7.1 and last night while watching a movie I noticed that there wasn't any sound coming out of the rear back right surround. So I did the noise test and even when I turn up the level, nothing happens. Checked the connections on the back of the receiver and everything was fine. I also did a swap with the other speakers and no sound as well. I also noticed that the sound coming from the rear back left surround is much fainter compared to the other speakers at the same level. Is this an indication of the receiver failing. Is there a solution for this or is it time to do an upgrade? Any help is appreciated.

Main Home Theater
Pioneer Elite KURO Pro-111FD
Pioneer Elite SC-68
Definitive Technology Mythos 5.1
HTPC w/ i5 3570k,MSI Z777A-GD65
PS3
bleachigo is offline  
post #11355 of 11355 Old Today, 05:14 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44,353
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 1491
^^
If you have confirmed the issue is not with the speaker, try resetting the microprocessor (p. 64 Owner's manual) which will erase Audyssey settings and return all settings to mfr defaults.

---------------------------------
"JD" –
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 

Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Parasound
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 789 630 Watt 7 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off