*Official* Denon AVR 1909/789 Thread - Page 381 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11401 of 11421 Old 01-12-2015, 11:32 AM
JGM
Member
 
JGM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Mr. K and JChin.

One other question before I go look at this -- I assume the Audessy feature needs a microphone, and I need to ask the seller if they have it. If not, are these easy/cheap to find?

--

Edit: I checked with the seller, and they definitely don't have the original microphone. There seem to be plenty of Audessy microphones available on eBay, can anyone tell me which one is correct for this receiver (or if it doesn't matter)?

Last edited by JGM; 01-12-2015 at 12:41 PM.
JGM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11402 of 11421 Old 01-12-2015, 05:01 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,364
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2177
^^
Answered in my previous post.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11403 of 11421 Old 01-13-2015, 10:52 AM
JGM
Member
 
JGM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Answered in my previous post.
Found it, thanks.
JGM is offline  
post #11404 of 11421 Old 01-16-2015, 05:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all,
I'm a bit confused about the input auto-detection. If I connect analog surround to EXT. IN and a digital source via some other input, will it auto-detect which is playing and switch to it if the currently active source is silent? The 1909's manual doesn't explicitly exclude analog and EXT. IN from the list of auto-detectable sources, while those of several other AVRs I've looked at (including a few "lesser" Denons) do. This would definitely rank the 1909 highest in my list of potential AVRs to buy - but does it really have this feature, or am I misunderstanding the manual?
leromarinvit is offline  
post #11405 of 11421 Old 01-21-2015, 06:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,989
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 556 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Hi there,


Sorry if this has already been asked, but is it possible to output the ext. IN (FL/FR) of the 1909 to Zone 2? Also how do you select the input mode for a source in zone 2? I can select the source, but I cant find a way to select the input mode on the remote, and the button on the front panel seems to work only for main one.


Thanks!
Manni01 is online now  
post #11406 of 11421 Old 01-21-2015, 06:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,364
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2177
There is only one input mode allowed for Zone 2 ..... "Analog" as in the stereo RCA inputs and not EXT IN.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11407 of 11421 Old 01-21-2015, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,989
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 556 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Thanks a lot JD, that will explain it!
Manni01 is online now  
post #11408 of 11421 Old 01-22-2015, 04:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry if this has already been dealt with but can anyone tell me if there is any way to 'pass through' a 3D Bluray signal from a 3D Bluray player through the 1909 onto a TV?
Stanley Marsh is offline  
post #11409 of 11421 Old 01-22-2015, 04:45 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,364
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2177
^^
If you set the resolution on the BDP to only 720p it should work, otherwise, you would need to connect the video straight to the TV with audio from the BDP to the 1909 either via a 2nd HDMI output or optical as the 1909 is only HDMI 1.3 and to pass full 1080p 3D requires an HDMI 1.4 AVR.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11410 of 11421 Old 01-28-2015, 11:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just got a second-hand 789 on eBay today. I was super excited to start listening to real discrete 7.1 HD audio and HDMI switching that I didn't have with my old receiver. I hooked it all up, and set it up for about an hour to an hour and a half.

So far so good.

While setting up the Wii (my only RCA input) I switched to its input, and it was really loud. After menu digging to turn the input level down for a while (maybe 5-6 minutes after getting hit with the initial loud blast) the unit cut off abruptly and I got the dreaded flashing red light.

I've now reset the microprocessor twice, as well unplugged all speakers this last time. Right at the 30 minute mark from a cold start (I left it alone for about an hour prior) it cut off, same as before.

I still haven't tried plugging it into its own power outlet, but I don't know that it would help.

Anyone have any other thoughts? The seller will take returns, but I REALLY don't want to return/find a new one/listen to my TV speakers for two more weeks

Thanks for any help,
-Panik
Michael Panik is offline  
post #11411 of 11421 Old 01-29-2015, 12:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,364
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2177
^^
There's no reason there should have been a "sudden blast" from the Wii. Try plugging the AVR directly to a power outlet. If it still shuts down with nothing connected, return it.

As an aside, you may want to consider a Wii2HDMI.

http://www.amazon.com/Wii-Converter-.../dp/B007RKXN46

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11412 of 11421 Old 01-29-2015, 08:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well, it wasn't a "sudden blast" it was just substantially louder than the HDMI inputs.

I'm gonna try your suggestion and see what happens.
Michael Panik is offline  
post #11413 of 11421 Old 04-14-2015, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,989
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 556 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Hi everyone.


I have a silly question about my 1909.


I'm using it to power the heights in my Atmos 7.2.4 setup, and I've enabled setup lock so that the remote of my X5200W doesn't interfere with it too much (I'm using iRule most of the time so not really an issue).


Problem is, my 1909 remote doesn't seem to seem to work properly, and when I press setup or menu nothing happens. If I press enter or another function, I get the setup locked! message, but no way to access setup, so no way to unlock.


The menu button on the AVR itself doesn't do anything either. If I press on the rotating selection dial, I get the setup locked message, but no way to unlock from there.


I can't remember how I got out of that last time. I guess I could reset the whole thing and set it up again, but I'm sure I'm missing something and there is a way to unlock it.


Thanks for your help!
Manni01 is online now  
post #11414 of 11421 Old 04-14-2015, 01:56 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,364
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2177
^^
Just reset the microprocessor. You're using it in DIRECT mode anyway, so no real loss.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11415 of 11421 Old 04-14-2015, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,989
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 556 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Just reset the microprocessor. You're using it in DIRECT mode anyway, so no real loss.

Thanks, that's what I ended up doing. Yes I'm using them in direct mode but I have programmed a few quick select to be able to switch between Front Height (speakers A), Top Front (Speakers B). As you can't control Speakers A/B with IP/IR, I'm using Quick Select 1/2 to change the speaker layout with iRule when I'm testing various combinations.


So I was just hoping there would be a way to avoid having to reprogram a few things like this (I also set all the speakers to large, all the levels to zero and all the distances to zero in the 1911 so that the distances displayed in the X5200W after calibration are the actual measured distances), but not the end of the world!


I don't understand why the user guide says that using menu/setup you can change the setup lock option, and why it doesn't work for me.
Manni01 is online now  
post #11416 of 11421 Old 04-18-2015, 09:35 AM
Member
 
Brad_P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys

I have a question on multi-zones. I currently have Polk Monitor 75s on Speaker A and bi-amped from the back surrounds. I also have rears and a center. There seems to be a debate on bi-amping as to whether it really provides more power to the speakers. I occasionally crank it so I figured it can't hurt to bi-amp it. I just ordered a pair of Polk Monitor 45s to hook up in another room in my house that I pre-wired for speakers. It seems I can't use Speaker B for a second zone and I can't change Speaker A and B with the remote (I'm setting up a Harmony RF remote).

I may have to ditch the bi-amping to set up a Zone 2. The Monitor 75s are 275W each and the 789 is 90W per channel. I was assuming with bi-amping I was getting 180w per channel. My question is could I overload the receiver if I ditch the b-amping? Or any recommendations on setting up speakers in another room using the 789?

Thanks

Edit: May as well delete this post. I wanted to run HDMI audio to Zone 2 but that doesn't seem possible from what I read. It seems I need a second receiver to do what I want. Can I use any source for Zone 2 if running Zone 2 through the pre-amp?

Last edited by Brad_P; 04-18-2015 at 10:12 AM.
Brad_P is offline  
post #11417 of 11421 Old 04-18-2015, 12:28 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,364
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad_P View Post
I may have to ditch the bi-amping to set up a Zone 2. The Monitor 75s are 275W each and the 789 is 90W per channel. I was assuming with bi-amping I was getting 180w per channel. My question is could I overload the receiver if I ditch the b-amping? Or any recommendations on setting up speakers in another room using the 789?

Thanks

Edit: May as well delete this post. I wanted to run HDMI audio to Zone 2 but that doesn't seem possible from what I read. It seems I need a second receiver to do what I want. Can I use any source for Zone 2 if running Zone 2 through the pre-amp?
1. The Monitor 75 speaker has a max capacity of 275W input ... on average it's drawing <10W/CH so the 789 has more than enough power for these speakers.
2. 180W? Not even close ... actually < 90W as the 90W/CH value is with 2 speakers only .... with 5 speakers it's closer to about 55W/CH. There's only one power supply so the speakers will draw whatever power is required to reach the volume level you choose. This is one of the reasons why "passive" bi-amping using an AVR provides no real benefit.
3. Zone 2 on the 789 will pass analog sources only whereas the newer X3000/X3100W has a dedicated Zone 2 HDMI monitor output which can pass either the same or a different HDMI audio source playing in the main zone. You can also pass PCM 2.0 HDMI audio to the Zone 2 speaker posts/pre-outs as well.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11418 of 11421 Old 04-19-2015, 12:12 PM
Member
 
Brad_P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
1. The Monitor 75 speaker has a max capacity of 275W input ... on average it's drawing <10W/CH so the 789 has more than enough power for these speakers.
2. 180W? Not even close ... actually < 90W as the 90W/CH value is with 2 speakers only .... with 5 speakers it's closer to about 55W/CH. There's only one power supply so the speakers will draw whatever power is required to reach the volume level you choose. This is one of the reasons why "passive" bi-amping using an AVR provides no real benefit.
3. Zone 2 on the 789 will pass analog sources only whereas the newer X3000/X3100W has a dedicated Zone 2 HDMI monitor output which can pass either the same or a different HDMI audio source playing in the main zone. You can also pass PCM 2.0 HDMI audio to the Zone 2 speaker posts/pre-outs as well.
Thanks for the reply. I hadn't planned onto but found a refurbished X3100W last night on newegg for $479. Couldn't resist so I got it. What a deal!
Brad_P is offline  
post #11419 of 11421 Old 04-19-2015, 12:33 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,364
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2177
^^
Newegg is not an authorized Denon dealer, so unless the seller is providing their own warranty, confirm the seller is an authorized dealer of refurbished units otherwise the 1 year Denon warranty will not apply in which case you'll want to consider a SquareTrade extended warranty.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11420 of 11421 Old 04-20-2015, 09:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
wallstreet123456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am looking to get a wireless headset for this receiver AVR 789. Any recommendations? Not looking to buy anything super expensive just something reliable to use at knight when family is asleep so I don't wake them up.
gpzbc likes this.
wallstreet123456 is offline  
post #11421 of 11421 Old 04-20-2015, 10:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,364
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3706 Post(s)
Liked: 2177
Sennheiser makes a good product. If connected to the Zone 2 pre-outs and the source is connected with analog audio cables (in addition to HDMI), you'll be able to simply mute the main zone audio and listen with the Zone 2 headphones.
wallstreet123456 and gpzbc like this.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 789 630 Watt 7 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off