*Official* Denon AVR 1909/789 Thread - Page 381 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11401 of 11412 Old 01-12-2015, 12:32 PM
JGM
Member
 
JGM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Mr. K and JChin.

One other question before I go look at this -- I assume the Audessy feature needs a microphone, and I need to ask the seller if they have it. If not, are these easy/cheap to find?

--

Edit: I checked with the seller, and they definitely don't have the original microphone. There seem to be plenty of Audessy microphones available on eBay, can anyone tell me which one is correct for this receiver (or if it doesn't matter)?

Last edited by JGM; 01-12-2015 at 01:41 PM.
JGM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11402 of 11412 Old 01-12-2015, 06:01 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,219
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2700 Post(s)
Liked: 1913
^^
Answered in my previous post.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11403 of 11412 Old 01-13-2015, 11:52 AM
JGM
Member
 
JGM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Answered in my previous post.
Found it, thanks.
JGM is offline  
post #11404 of 11412 Old 01-16-2015, 06:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all,
I'm a bit confused about the input auto-detection. If I connect analog surround to EXT. IN and a digital source via some other input, will it auto-detect which is playing and switch to it if the currently active source is silent? The 1909's manual doesn't explicitly exclude analog and EXT. IN from the list of auto-detectable sources, while those of several other AVRs I've looked at (including a few "lesser" Denons) do. This would definitely rank the 1909 highest in my list of potential AVRs to buy - but does it really have this feature, or am I misunderstanding the manual?
leromarinvit is offline  
post #11405 of 11412 Old 01-21-2015, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,836
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 471 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Hi there,


Sorry if this has already been asked, but is it possible to output the ext. IN (FL/FR) of the 1909 to Zone 2? Also how do you select the input mode for a source in zone 2? I can select the source, but I cant find a way to select the input mode on the remote, and the button on the front panel seems to work only for main one.


Thanks!
Manni01 is online now  
post #11406 of 11412 Old 01-21-2015, 07:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,219
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2700 Post(s)
Liked: 1913
There is only one input mode allowed for Zone 2 ..... "Analog" as in the stereo RCA inputs and not EXT IN.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11407 of 11412 Old 01-21-2015, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,836
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 471 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Thanks a lot JD, that will explain it!
Manni01 is online now  
post #11408 of 11412 Old 01-22-2015, 05:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry if this has already been dealt with but can anyone tell me if there is any way to 'pass through' a 3D Bluray signal from a 3D Bluray player through the 1909 onto a TV?
Stanley Marsh is offline  
post #11409 of 11412 Old 01-22-2015, 05:45 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,219
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2700 Post(s)
Liked: 1913
^^
If you set the resolution on the BDP to only 720p it should work, otherwise, you would need to connect the video straight to the TV with audio from the BDP to the 1909 either via a 2nd HDMI output or optical as the 1909 is only HDMI 1.3 and to pass full 1080p 3D requires an HDMI 1.4 AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11410 of 11412 Unread Today, 12:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just got a second-hand 789 on eBay today. I was super excited to start listening to real discrete 7.1 HD audio and HDMI switching that I didn't have with my old receiver. I hooked it all up, and set it up for about an hour to an hour and a half.

So far so good.

While setting up the Wii (my only RCA input) I switched to its input, and it was really loud. After menu digging to turn the input level down for a while (maybe 5-6 minutes after getting hit with the initial loud blast) the unit cut off abruptly and I got the dreaded flashing red light.

I've now reset the microprocessor twice, as well unplugged all speakers this last time. Right at the 30 minute mark from a cold start (I left it alone for about an hour prior) it cut off, same as before.

I still haven't tried plugging it into its own power outlet, but I don't know that it would help.

Anyone have any other thoughts? The seller will take returns, but I REALLY don't want to return/find a new one/listen to my TV speakers for two more weeks

Thanks for any help,
-Panik
Michael Panik is online now  
post #11411 of 11412 Unread Today, 01:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 48,219
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2700 Post(s)
Liked: 1913
^^
There's no reason there should have been a "sudden blast" from the Wii. Try plugging the AVR directly to a power outlet. If it still shuts down with nothing connected, return it.

As an aside, you may want to consider a Wii2HDMI.

http://www.amazon.com/Wii-Converter-.../dp/B007RKXN46

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; Call me --> 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor and dealer for AVRs and Speakers 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST
Call for info on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #11412 of 11412 Unread Today, 09:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Well, it wasn't a "sudden blast" it was just substantially louder than the HDMI inputs.

I'm gonna try your suggestion and see what happens.
Michael Panik is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 789 630 Watt 7 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off