*Official* Denon AVR 1909/789 Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 10:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,497
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 1330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacklac View Post

What are you reading that says it will deinterlace an HDMI input?

OK, time to play everyone's favorite critical reasoning and reading comprehension game, "Decipher the Denon Manual!"

Hmmm, now that I read it more carefully I will retract that, I don't think it will touch a 480i HDMI signal at all.

On page 40, in the "i/p scaler" section, when it describes what turning the scaler on does, it states: "Use i/p scaler function for for analog video signal"

I guess that's pretty clear. I don't think it can touch an HDMI input at all. It's a little confusing because I don't see where they explicitly state that no video processing can be applied to an HDMI signal, but they do say that you can't go 720p->1080i or vice versa.... which implies that you CAN go 480i->480p... but I guess this is really just for analog inputs.

So, in conclusion, I take it back, the 1909 will do nothing to an HDMI video input signal.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 10:30 AM
Member
 
hearth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Carmichael, CA
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question: How many HD inputs does this receiver support? I notice that it has 3 HDMI inputs and 3 component inputs. Does that mean 6 total HD inputs, or are these inputs shared, such that you can either use HDMI1 or Comp1, etc? Also, how many digital audio inputs does this receiver have independent of the the above video connections?

My system has 3 DirecTV HD receivers, 1 Oppo DVD HDMI, 1 PS3, 1 Xbox 360, and 1 Wii that I need to connect into the system. How many of these devices will I be able to connect directly to the 1909/789?

Thanks!
Don
hearth is offline  
post #93 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 10:32 AM
Member
 
ryaneverett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if this receiver suffers from the same ATi video card "audio over hdmi" issue that many hdmi 1.3 receivers seem to be exhibiting?
ryaneverett is offline  
post #94 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HDMI_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by geodon005 View Post

HDMI_13 - it does indeed help, and thanks. After having listened to your 1909 for a while, how do you think your bass sounds? With MultEQ, does it sound/feel noticeably different than before?

I bought my subwoofer five years ago and after few months of usage , I packed it and kept in the storage room as I didn't like it. Bass was too boomy and I don't have any room treatments for bass etc..

My front speakers go all the way to 40hz, so they are talking care of the bass for time being.

Now again I brought back my subwoofer with Audyssey MultEQ, and set the crossover to 80hz.So far watched two movies, one blu-ray (DTS-HD) Golden Compass and Die Hard With A Vengeance movie (Dolby Digital) boradcasted by TBS-HD few days ago. Apart them, I heard lots of music. Every thing sounds quite good.

With Dynamic EQ enabled - I felt bass to be little boomy and it varies from movie to movie and CD to CD. Some are good and some are having little bit more bass to my taste.

But, I found a solution for the above. Enable the dynamic volume and set the dynamic volume mode to evening. Then increase the volume 3 to 5 points. And with these settings bass and every thing sounds fantastic.
HDMI_13 is offline  
post #95 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
templetun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdrex28 View Post

Very much looking forward to your review as many of us are looking at these two.

What speakers are you hooking it up to?

+1
templetun is offline  
post #96 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 11:21 AM
Senior Member
 
templetun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont understand why audio over hdmi is such a big deal. It allows you to view a volume bar on the tv when you adjust the volume on the receiver? Do I have that right? Whats the big deal?
templetun is offline  
post #97 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 11:52 AM
Member
 
hrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I understand it you can only get "Dolby TrueHD" and "DTS-HD Master Audio" from blu-ray movies when connected via HDMI.

And only when the audio is carried over HDMI will you get the DTHD or DTSHDMA, does not work when audio carried over toslink, optical or whatever.

Dont know about the volume bizness.

My last receiver Onkyo TX-SV717PRO.
NO HDMI, digital audio, component video, XM or Ipod.
NO problems.
hrin is offline  
post #98 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 12:24 PM
Member
 
SKaustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I connect my PC (dedicated HTPC) to the 1909 via HDMI, then out of the 1909 into my Samsung HLS6187 DLP TV, will the TV know the HDMI signal is coming from a PC? My problem is that the Samsung DLP will not accept a PC connected via HDMI/DVI ~ it only accepts a VGA connection. I'm looking for ways to get the video from my PC to the TV via HDMI, since VGA is not HDCP compatible for playing bluray. I'm hoping that the Denon will "mask" the original source.
SKaustin is offline  
post #99 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 12:35 PM
Member
 
solcris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm going to set it up now. They had them in at my local BB Magnolia store. I'll let you know how it goes.
solcris is offline  
post #100 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 12:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sterryo View Post

True, however MultEQ XT puts more focus on the lower bass and subwoofer than regular MultEQ. So it really is substantially better.

Do you remember where you read this?
ymarker is offline  
post #101 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
templetun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrin View Post

As I understand it you can only get "Dolby TrueHD" and "DTS-HD Master Audio" from blu-ray movies when connected via HDMI.

And only when the audio is carried over HDMI will you get the DTHD or DTSHDMA, does not work when audio carried over toslink, optical or whatever.

Dont know about the volume bizness.

Right. So any receiver cable of DTS-MA, DD HD decoding, must accept audio via hdmi. Seems like a no-brainer here.
templetun is offline  
post #102 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Naxray's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoami View Post

i picked up a 1909 tonight.. i had to test a denon 09!
i'm looking forward to a/b 'ing this against the pioneer 1018 which i'm returning tomorrow if i like the denon better!

Very interested in your comparison of the 2.

Thanks in advance!

Brad
Naxray is offline  
post #103 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by templetun View Post

Right. So any receiver cable of DTS-MA, DD HD decoding, must accept audio via hdmi. Seems like a no-brainer here.


Seems like a no-brainer...correct. But until recently, a decent number of receivers would only accept video via HDMI.
skro is offline  
post #104 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 05:48 PM
Member
 
whoami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naxray View Post

Very interested in your comparison of the 2.

Thanks in advance!

Brad

Disclaimer: This is highly subjective, so please don't let my experience make your decision!

Overall I'm pretty happy with it.
I haven't messed with any up-conversion yet.

I had similar experiences to most with Audyssey. It seemed to lower the bass and give a hi-end curve for my speakers. The volume leveling works as advertised, seems pretty good! The EQ I'm not super hype on.. I'd rather make the decisions!

I absolutely can't stand the denon OSD/Setup..It's a real PITA! The pioneer OSD looks like a commodore 64, but it's 100 times easier for me to use/navigate. Compared to the new sony and H/K OSD gui's, both the denon and pioneer are such a joke..

The Denon definitely sounds good.
This would be "the" receiver for me if it had pre-outs.
I'm going to give it another day and see if it grows on me..
Overall I think either this or the Pioneer 1018 are the best choices for the $$, you can't go wrong with either IMHO. I was too afraid to go near the 606 & 254 due to the issues and the 663 just didn't cut it for my needs.
whoami is offline  
post #105 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 07:12 PM
Senior Member
 
nosferatu2xlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
will pioneer be batter choice for thouse of us that want to have pre out ?
nosferatu2xlc is offline  
post #106 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
nosferatu2xlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
also looking on a back of the 1909 it has Zone 2 out can i use that to drive my front speakers 1909> 2ch.amp> front speakers ?
nosferatu2xlc is offline  
post #107 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 08:14 PM
Member
 
whoami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosferatu2xlc View Post

will pioneer be batter choice for thouse of us that want to have pre out ?

yes, unless you're willing to pay for a 2809!
whoami is offline  
post #108 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
nosferatu2xlc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoami View Post

yes, unless you're willing to pay for a 2809!

no not really , its like chain here ,waiting for Pioneer 51Fd to come out and see how well it does over analog , if it does well i will stick to what i have now and buy 2ch. amp if not i get new HD avr and amp.
nosferatu2xlc is offline  
post #109 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 09:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cal1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan TN View Post

It appears to me from reading this thread and the manual that if you connected a bluray player such as the Panasonic BD50 using the HDMI cable you would have to use the BD50 to upscale the SD 480i to 1080p rather than using the upscaler in the 1909.

If that is true the upscaler in the 1909 is pretty much irrelevant for improving the appearance of standard dvd's. Am I missing something?

I would imagine that most BR players do a good enough job of upscaling SD-DVDs so that you wouldn't want the AV receiver to do it. I have a Phillips 7200 BR player that uses the same upscaler chip that the Pannys do. It does upscaling to 1080P extremely well through the Denon (and the Onkyo before it) so I leave its HDMI input on conversion off.
Cal1981 is offline  
post #110 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 09:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Bugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sunshine State
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received an email on 7/23 from Big River stating that they shipped the 1909 I had pre-ordered on 7/14 and it will arrive 7/25. Seems really odd that they still haven't restored the 1909 listing on their web site. I guess I'll believe it when/if it arrives on Friday.
Bugs is offline  
post #111 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 09:50 PM
Member
 
solcris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use my PS3 for all my BluRay's. I noticed that I had it set to PCM over HDMI. The front of the 1909 said "multi channel in". It sounded great but the disk was "DTS-HDMS. Shouldn't the front of the 1909 say "DTS-HD"? Should I be on PCM or bitstream on the PS3?
solcris is offline  
post #112 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 09:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by solcris View Post

I use my PS3 for all my BluRay's. I noticed that I had it set to PCM over HDMI. The front of the 1909 said "multi channel in". It sounded great but the disk was "DTS-HDMS. Shouldn't the front of the 1909 say "DTS-HD"? Should I be on PCM or bitstream on the PS3?

Here's the deal with the PS3....

The PS3 does not bitstream the new HD codecs, but you can set it to decode them and send as PCM over HDMI. Basically, your PS3 is already decoding the audio, and sending the output to the receiver. The receiver then plays the sound, but it can't know which compression source was originally used. So, your receiver only shows multi channel.

Don't worry though, most people agree that it shouldn't matter where the audio is decoded (DVD player or receiver). The only downside is that the cool little light won't shine on the our AVRs.

If the PS3 could bitstream these codecs, then you could send the compressed audio to the AVR, it would see it which codec it was...the corresponding DTSMA, DolbyTrueHD light would shine, and it would decode the audio.

Long story, short..... nothing is wrong with your setup, and that is how it works with the PS3 (and it is no worse than using bistream).
skro is offline  
post #113 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 09:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HDMI_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by solcris View Post

I use my PS3 for all my BluRay's. I noticed that I had it set to PCM over HDMI. The front of the 1909 said "multi channel in". It sounded great but the disk was "DTS-HDMS. Shouldn't the front of the 1909 say "DTS-HD"? Should I be on PCM or bitstream on the PS3?

PS3 will not send DTS-HD and DOLBY-HD as bitstream. PS3 converts them internally and sends them to receiver as multichanel PCM.

If you choose bitstream, PS3 will send the regualr DTS or DOLBY track embedded in the DTS-HD and DOLBY-HD codec. That defeats the purpose.
HDMI_13 is offline  
post #114 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 10:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoami View Post

yes, unless you're willing to pay for a 2809!

A lot of people use the 3808 as a preamp, so the price of the 2809 is no big deal when you consider someone might have several thousand dollars of external amplifiers in their home theater setup. Some people feel it is more unusual to use a top end receiver just as a pre-amp such as the 5308.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is offline  
post #115 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 10:26 PM
Member
 
70runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those who have snagged one of these at BB...what was the price?
70runner is offline  
post #116 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 10:29 PM
Member
 
enkur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked one up this evening for $649 at BB. I am having problems setting it up.. not able to get the auto setup going... I hooked up the mic but nothing happens. Cant figure out from the manual what I am doing wrong.
enkur is offline  
post #117 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 10:52 PM
Member
 
dynamos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMI_13 View Post

PS3 will not send DTS-HD and DOLBY-HD as bitstream. PS3 converts them internally and sends them to receiver as multichanel PCM.

If you choose bitstream, PS3 will send the regualr DTS or DOLBY track embedded in the DTS-HD and DOLBY-HD codec. That defeats the purpose.

If you push "display" on your PS3 remote, DTS-HD or DOLBY-HD will show on your TV screen so that you can confirm that you are hearing the HD audio soundtrack.

DaveG
dynamos is offline  
post #118 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 10:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HDMI_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by enkur View Post

I picked one up this evening for $649 at BB. I am having problems setting it up.. not able to get the auto setup going... I hooked up the mic but nothing happens. Cant figure out from the manual what I am doing wrong.

Denon will not start the autosetup automatically, when one plugs the mic in. One needs to enter into the menu to start the autosetup.

plug the mic and then open the remote back door. Press on A.menu

There you will see autosetup. presss ENT button.

Follow the menu from there.
HDMI_13 is offline  
post #119 of 11355 Old 07-23-2008, 11:46 PM
Member
 
enkur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
alright call me newbie or whatever.... While setting up the receiver I put my 1/4" headphone adapter without the headphones connected to it into the Denon. So I guess the receiver detected the plug and turned off the main speakers. In my previous receiver (pioneer) it would not turn off the speakers until it detected actual headphones connected to it.

I spent over an hour trying to debug this. I guess there should have been some sort of indicator on the display to let you know that the headphones are plugged in.

now its late and I am going to bed... will give you all an update tomorrow on how the rest of the setup worked out.
enkur is offline  
post #120 of 11355 Old 07-24-2008, 05:51 AM
Member
 
ikaden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by enkur View Post

I picked one up this evening for $649 at BB. I am having problems setting it up.. not able to get the auto setup going... I hooked up the mic but nothing happens. Cant figure out from the manual what I am doing wrong.

Are you saying the 1909 can be found at certain BBs? Pardon me if this has already been announced.
ikaden is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 789 630 Watt 7 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off