*Official* Denon AVR 2309CI/889 Thread - Page 107 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3181 of 3208 Old 03-28-2014, 04:15 AM
Senior Member
 
JimWinVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 38

Thanks for the info. Seems like a lot of trouble to go through versus just switching to PCM.
JimWinVA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3182 of 3208 Old 03-28-2014, 08:32 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,761
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3410 Post(s)
Liked: 2097
^^
Sure. However, some folks like seeing the bitstream audio display on the front panel vs. just "MULT CH IN". Whichever you prefer. smile.gif

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3183 of 3208 Old 03-29-2014, 01:20 PM
Member
 
Cinemafreak1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So the wife said we need a home theater Receiver in living room for music and TV. So movie Denon 2309 up and replace main HT downstairs Or get a more basic one for living room, 200-300? Would a new 500-600 receiver be that much better than my old Denon?
Cinemafreak1 is offline  
post #3184 of 3208 Old 03-29-2014, 02:34 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,761
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3410 Post(s)
Liked: 2097
^^
The newer X2000 would provide networking and a higher version of Audyssey MultEQ XT.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3185 of 3208 Old 05-20-2014, 05:05 PM
Member
 
Folsom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a MULTI CH IN question, and I wanted to post a question here first before posting in the home computer section..

My PC is connected to my 889 from my video card, and MULTI CH IN lights up. I have found some two channel sources like VLC only output sound on the front speakers, but some sources like google play music and youtube have surround sound.

It could be possible that VLC is outputting five channels (2 music and 3 silence) while the other two are only outputting two channels. Could the 889 be converting the two channels to a surround format? If so, I would like to turn it off. If not, then I have something configured incorrectly on the PC.

I looked at page 69 in the 889 manual, and I see different settings for MULTI CH IN. I would also like to know how to select MULTI CH DIRECT and PURE MULTI CH DIRECT.

Thanks,
Folsom
Folsom is offline  
post #3186 of 3208 Old 05-20-2014, 05:19 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,761
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3410 Post(s)
Liked: 2097
^^
If you have a 5.1 setup then a MULTI CH IN signal is already 5CH so there is nothing to change, rather if audio is only heard from the FL/FR speakers than a 2CH audio track is being passed over a 5CH signal. Select DIRECT by pressing the D/ST button on the back of the remote while to select PURE DIRECT, press the PURE button on the back of the remote.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3187 of 3208 Old 05-20-2014, 07:01 PM
Member
 
Folsom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I press the D/ST button, sound only comes from the front speakers, and "STEREO" is displayed. This is the sound I want when listening to 2 channel music from google play. I'd rather not have to switch the 889 mode depending on the source. The sound is much different, it doesn't sound like it's just muting the surround channels. There is a large loss of bass when going away from stereo back to multi ch direct.

Does this mean that the computer is outputting 5 audio channels from the PC when I want only two channels? I want to ensure I have the 889 not doing any processing and the PC is adding extra channels before asking in the home computer section.

Thanks,
Folsom
Folsom is offline  
post #3188 of 3208 Old 05-21-2014, 04:20 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,761
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3410 Post(s)
Liked: 2097
^^
Refer to p. 37 in your Owner's manual for more information on DIRECT mode. Unless there is a separate 0.1 (LFE) channel, there would be no audio going to the subwoofer.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3189 of 3208 Old 05-22-2014, 05:54 PM
Member
 
Folsom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all the help. It's good to know all the direct modes. I figured out that Firefox is upmixing the stereo audio to 5.1 and not the receiver. If I use Chrome then stereo sounds fine.

Regards
Folsom
Folsom is offline  
post #3190 of 3208 Old 05-23-2014, 03:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,761
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3410 Post(s)
Liked: 2097
Keep in mind that using DIRECT or PURE DIRECT, in addition to disabling any bass management, Audyssey is also disabled.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3191 of 3208 Old 07-29-2014, 03:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey everyone,

New guy here. I have a Denon 2309ci that just today started acting strange while in surround sound. I can't hear any voices. Switching to 5 channel stereo brings the voices back. I tried the reset sequence which flashed all the lights on the display a few times but the surround issue isn't resolved. Anyone hear of this before? Any ideas as to what I can do to fix it?

Edit: I have young kids so it's very possible that one of them played with the control panel.

I appreciate your help!

Last edited by voltrons_head; 07-29-2014 at 03:45 PM.
voltrons_head is offline  
post #3192 of 3208 Old 07-29-2014, 03:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Silly me. One of the kids had bumped the center channel and knocked the wire loose. All fixed.
voltrons_head is offline  
post #3193 of 3208 Old 08-14-2014, 08:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My Denon is not playing sound from the left or right front speakers. I thought it was the left/right outputs on the receiver so I connected my center cables to both left and right and sound was coming out. Then I thought is was my cables for the left/right speakers so I connected them to the center outputs and sound was coming out.

Anyone having this issue?????
HometheaterAddict is offline  
post #3194 of 3208 Old 08-14-2014, 09:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,548
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1564 Post(s)
Liked: 1838
Check if you haven't accidentally selected "B" front speakers.
batpig is online now  
post #3195 of 3208 Old 08-14-2014, 09:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It is all connected under A outlets
HometheaterAddict is offline  
post #3196 of 3208 Old 08-14-2014, 09:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,548
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1564 Post(s)
Liked: 1838
Right, but if you accidentally selected "B" speakers the "A" outlets would be muted.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #3197 of 3208 Old 08-14-2014, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
gotcha...how would i un-mute the A speakers or switch back to A speakers?
HometheaterAddict is offline  
post #3198 of 3208 Old 03-13-2015, 08:48 AM
Member
 
HotBBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Framingham, MA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone here attempted the firmware update and had success? I haven't had any luck getting the executable to communicate with the receiver. I'm using a USB to Serial cable (since it's, you know, 2015 and not a single person I know has a laptop or desktop with a serial port) on a Windows 7 desktop. The update tool recognizes the COM port but it just won't connect to the receiver. I also tried setting up Windows XP in a virtual machine, but that didn't help. It's bugging the heck out of me that I can't figure this out.
HotBBQ is online now  
post #3199 of 3208 Old 03-13-2015, 09:02 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,761
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3410 Post(s)
Liked: 2097
^^
When I stopped counting a couple of years ago, there were "66" 2309 owners who had updated without issue. Did you read through the instructions in their entirety to include the following caution?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	66
Size:	27.7 KB
ID:	600217  

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 03-13-2015 at 09:22 AM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3200 of 3208 Old 03-13-2015, 09:23 AM
Member
 
HotBBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Framingham, MA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I tried the various Windows XP compatibility modes and tried all COM ports 1-16. I tried different baud rates, FIFO buffers, flow control settings, etc. I also completely disabled Windows UAC just to be safe. I held the INPUT MODE + SPEAKER buttons when turning it on and the entire display flashes (side note, this was the first time I ever saw the blue bitstreaming light turn on) and everything was at the default settings. I also tried putting it in recovery mode, but nothing seemed to happen. Not sure what else to try at this point.
HotBBQ is online now  
post #3201 of 3208 Old 03-13-2015, 09:31 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,761
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3410 Post(s)
Liked: 2097
^^
Did you try the Countermeasure listed in item 2.6? It may also be an issue with the cable you are using if there is a required driver for it to work.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3202 of 3208 Old 03-13-2015, 12:09 PM
Member
 
HotBBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Framingham, MA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Did you try the Countermeasure listed in item 2.6? It may also be an issue with the cable you are using if there is a required driver for it to work.
Yes, I did. I had to get my wife to help because I am red/green colorblind and I couldn't tell if the light was red. Don't think it matters, but here is the cable I used. I have the drivers installed.
HotBBQ is online now  
post #3203 of 3208 Unread Today, 05:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a couple simple question relating to the 2309ci I bought new back in 2009. It was worked flawlessly over the years but I finally broke down and purchased a Samsung UD 4K television. Wow...after staring at our old Toshiba DLP for so many years, I can't even begin to describe the picture. The Samsung model is a UN55HU6840F


Ideally I would upgrade the 2309 but after doing some research I'm going to wait at least until the next model year in the hope that Denon embraces the HDCP 2.2 protocol.


My questions are in regards to the Denon and the pass through of the video signal. Right now I just plugged the HDMI cable that was attached to the old Toshiba into the new Samsung. Is the video signal being bypassed now?? I didn't make any changes the Denon input settings. If it isn't, would it be best to bypass the Denon all together and have the Samsung manage the video and the Denon take care of just the Audio.


FYI...I read nearly this entire thread. That was a exercise in patience but I did gain a lot of insight.


Thanks


Bill
Bill_in_PDX is online now  
post #3204 of 3208 Unread Today, 05:23 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,761
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3410 Post(s)
Liked: 2097
^^
As HDCP 2.2 has now been released, the vast majority of the 2015 models from every mfr will be HDCP 2.2. As long as you're not trying to pass a 4k signal, there is no reason not to continue passing the video through the AVR.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3205 of 3208 Unread Today, 06:00 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Wow..that was quick!!


As far as the 4K single goes, the only program that I'm aware of right now that is 4K is House of Cards on Netflix. Please correct me if I'm wrong.


Another question regarding the Samsung Smart Hub. When I start Netflix, the sound is from the satellite box and doesn't switch to the audio feed from Netflix. I have a optical cable attached from the Samsung's digital audio out to the Denon's audio in 1TV/CBL.


Figuring there is something I need to reassign within the Denon's inputs. Help there would be appreciated.


Thanks


Bill
Bill_in_PDX is online now  
post #3206 of 3208 Unread Today, 06:13 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,761
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3410 Post(s)
Liked: 2097
^^
The 2809CI is only HDMI 1.3 and therefore does not support HDMI(ARC) which didn't come until 2 years later with HDMI 1.4. Continue using the optical cable.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 

Last edited by jdsmoothie; Today at 06:23 PM.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3207 of 3208 Unread Today, 06:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
The 2809CI is only HDMI 1.3 and therefore does not support HDM(ARC) which didn't come until 2 years later with HDMI 1.4. Continue using the optical cable.

Thanks...I figured it wasn't ARC compatible. Any idea what input assignment I need to change in order to get the audio correct for the smart hub?


Thanks again...


Bill
Bill_in_PDX is online now  
post #3208 of 3208 Unread Today, 06:24 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 49,761
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3410 Post(s)
Liked: 2097
^^
Correct? You simply select the optical audio input you have it plugged in to on the AVR.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 2309ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off