*Official* Denon AVR 2309CI/889 Thread - Page 54 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1591 of 3197 Old 02-11-2009, 09:19 AM
Member
 
BoB/335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have skimmed through some of this thread and read the last two pages. I must say that I am pretty overwhelmed! I'm certainly not the brightest guy I know but I would think that these AVR's are too complicated for the average person to understand.

I purchased a 2309 just before Christmas. I have been using a pair of Polk Bookshelves while researching speaker choices. I thought I was understanding some of this set-up stuff but haven't paid a lot of attention because I didn't need to go through all that yet.

My full system consisting of towers, center, surrounds and sub will be here tomorrow or the day after and I figured it might be a good time to get a grip on this. Is it really possible to get a grip on this? Where do I start?
BoB/335 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1592 of 3197 Old 02-11-2009, 10:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,508
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1994 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
Unless you've got more than 2-3 audio/video sources the setup actually doesn't have to be that complicated at all. If you use the default input jacks and settings it's even easier. Although the manual can be somewhat confusing, you can still muddle your way through to get the system setup as many of us have done. If you need more help, trying reading batpig's guide.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1593 of 3197 Old 02-11-2009, 11:46 AM
Member
 
BoB/335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I mis-stated. I have the 2309 hooked up and working. Cable box and blu-ray player into an LCD TV. Everything is working fine. All HDMI cables.

CALIBRATING my speaker system is what I am inquiring about. I'll read through that link.
BoB/335 is offline  
post #1594 of 3197 Old 02-11-2009, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Bob,
Keep in mind that many, many people run autosetup just following the basic directions in the owners manual and are happy with the results. Those of us on the AVS threads are motivated to get the maximum SQ out of MultEQ. Thus, we (obsessively?) attend to the more detailed instructions which can be found in the Audyssey setup guide referenced here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...o_threadsearch

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #1595 of 3197 Old 02-11-2009, 01:46 PM
Member
 
lowmileage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Unless you've got more than 2-3 audio/video sources the setup actually doesn't have to be that complicated at all. If you use the default input jacks and settings it's even easier. Although the manual can be somewhat confusing, you can still muddle your way through to get the system setup as many of us have done. If you need more help, trying reading batpig's guide.

If I can figure (most of) it out, anyone can

lowmileage is offline  
post #1596 of 3197 Old 02-11-2009, 04:37 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,508
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1994 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoB/335 View Post


CALIBRATING my speaker system is what I am inquiring about. I'll read through that link.

As I implied in my previous post and as SoundofMind indicated, once you run AUTO setup, your speaker calibration is done. I would imagine the huge majority of owners, don't bother tweaking beyond that point.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1597 of 3197 Old 02-11-2009, 07:21 PM
Member
 
Cheeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Denver, Co
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings

I am ordering HDMI cables for my new Denon AVR. Do I need version 1.3a cables going from the PS3 to the Denon - then 1.3a from the Denon to the display?

Or can I stick with regular HDMI cables that are not 1.3a?

Thanks!

Imagination is more important than knowledge
Cheeze is offline  
post #1598 of 3197 Old 02-11-2009, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Gratings, cheese. Monoprice (see red & white link @ top of page) 1.3a is the way to go per many recommendations on these threads-inexpensive & reliable.

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #1599 of 3197 Old 02-11-2009, 08:45 PM
Member
 
Cheeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Denver, Co
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundofMind View Post

Gratings, cheese. Monoprice (see red & white link @ top of page) 1.3a is the way to go per many recommendations on these threads-inexpensive & reliable.

Yup - ordering from Monoprice.

I already have 'regular' HDMI cables, but now that I'm getting a HDMI 1.3a AVR, do i need to change out my existing HDMI cables for the 1.3a versions? I know my PS3 is HDMI 1.3a as well...

Am I making sense

Imagination is more important than knowledge
Cheeze is offline  
post #1600 of 3197 Old 02-11-2009, 10:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Well, cheeze, your IP indicated you were ordering, in which case it would only make sense to order 1.3a. Whether to bother replacing a perfectly good 1.3 is another, and debatable, matter. There is an entire thread on the topic:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post15476630

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #1601 of 3197 Old 02-11-2009, 11:51 PM
Member
 
cmanderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbaldwin View Post

Is anyone able to test this for me? Thanks.

OK, so I checked and the "Queen Live in Montreal" Blu-ray disc has a 96khz DTS-HD Hi Res audio track, in addition to the default 2 channel LPCM. Sorry, no John Mayer in my collection. At any rate, my Sony BDP-S500 is in PCM output mode, so it is performing the decoding of this 96/24, but lossy, audio track.

My Denon AVR-889 shows Multi Channel PCM @ 96khz and I have 7.1 with "MULTI +Dolby EX" mode on the display. This should hold true for any audio codec @ 96khz, I would think.
cmanderson is offline  
post #1602 of 3197 Old 02-12-2009, 02:18 PM
Newbie
 
kenyh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2309CI

I am using a DVI to HDMI cable and it seems to be ruining the audio output. The vidieo is fine. I have spent hours researching (here mostly) and working on the setup itself. batpig's link has been very helpful.

In an effort to simply get this thing working, I am going to change to composite video & optical audio. The manual says 3-RCA with OPT1 is a default setting so I'll give it a try.

Thoughts or better idea?

Will I lose much quality-wise with this connection?
kenyh is offline  
post #1603 of 3197 Old 02-12-2009, 02:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,020
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1150 Post(s)
Liked: 1593
Can you be more specific? DVI doesn't carry audio so if that's all you are using it's no wonder you get no audio output!! It's hard to say what the problem is with no details: is the DVI/HDMI cable coming from the source, or going to the display???

Can you specify exactly:
1. what your source is
2. how it is connected to the receiver
3. how the receiver is then connected to the display

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #1604 of 3197 Old 02-12-2009, 02:34 PM
Newbie
 
kenyh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks batpig,

1. PS3
2. HDMI
3. DVI/HDMI cable

I am getting some audio, but with a lot of static. This set-up is in my basement for the kids to play Rock Band and watch DirecTv. If it was my main setup, I'd ditch the TV......but it's a 65" Sony (unfortunately with a DVI connector).
kenyh is offline  
post #1605 of 3197 Old 02-12-2009, 03:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,020
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1150 Post(s)
Liked: 1593
gotcha. so it's an HDMI/DVI conflict with the display. Then I would suggest going component video from PS3 to receiver, but leaving the HDMI in place for audio, i.e. instead of [component + optical] go with [component + HDMI]. As long as you configure your inputs correctly this should work out and I doubt you will see much loss in video quality. You could also run the component video straight to the display for video, and HDMI to the receiver for audio.

I think it's worth sticking with the HDMI for audio as you get the lossless audio on Blu Rays and some PS3 games.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #1606 of 3197 Old 02-12-2009, 03:07 PM
Newbie
 
kenyh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks again, I will give it [component + hdmi audio] a try.
kenyh is offline  
post #1607 of 3197 Old 02-12-2009, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmanderson View Post

OK, so I checked and the "Queen Live in Montreal" Blu-ray disc has a 96khz DTS-HD Hi Res audio track, in addition to the default 2 channel LPCM. Sorry, no John Mayer in my collection. At any rate, my Sony BDP-S500 is in PCM output mode, so it is performing the decoding of this 96/24, but lossy, audio track.

My Denon AVR-889 shows Multi Channel PCM @ 96khz and I have 7.1 with "MULTI +Dolby EX" mode on the display. This should hold true for any audio codec @ 96khz, I would think.

Thanks very much for trying this. It sounds like DPLIIx overlay should work with 96 kHz Dolby TrueHD too (hopefully ). I can only get this to work with my current receiver by setting my Sony S350 to decode the TrueHD internally which causes it to output 48 kHz multi-channel PCM for some reason.
crbaldwin is offline  
post #1608 of 3197 Old 02-12-2009, 06:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,020
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1150 Post(s)
Liked: 1593
as far as I know there are no limitations for post-processing on the Denon AVR's, so you should be fine.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #1609 of 3197 Old 02-13-2009, 09:53 AM
Newbie
 
kenyh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2309CI - connected [component for display + hdmi audio]

Audio still has a bunch of static. It only works without static on "Stereo". Other audio options are static. My next step (before returning this receiver) is connecting audio with optical. Then i'll try the RCA's for audio.

Very discouraged.

Original post:

2309CI - Thanks batpig,

1. PS3
2. HDMI
3. DVI/HDMI cable

I am getting some audio, but with a lot of static. This set-up is in my basement for the kids to play Rock Band and watch DirecTv. If it was my main setup, I'd ditch the TV......but it's a 65" Sony (unfortunately with a DVI connector).
kenyh is offline  
post #1610 of 3197 Old 02-13-2009, 10:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,020
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1150 Post(s)
Liked: 1593
is it ONLY the PS3 that is giving you audio static? do all other sources work fine in surround sound?

Do you have another HDMI device that you could test to see if it can do audio-over-HDMI without static? It would be nice to isolate the problem to the PS3 specifically.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #1611 of 3197 Old 02-13-2009, 11:57 AM
Newbie
 
kenyh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BP - I'll try the DirecTv and see what happens. I've tried the Tuner with the new PS3 connection [component + hdmi audio) but the Tuner audio was acting the same way......audio static except when on "Stereo" (only FR, FL & Sub - no SR/SL)
kenyh is offline  
post #1612 of 3197 Old 02-13-2009, 08:15 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,508
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1994 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenyh View Post

My next step (before returning this receiver) is connecting audio with optical.

Hmmm .. did you read the last line in my sig?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1613 of 3197 Old 02-13-2009, 09:48 PM
Newbie
 
ISpoilMyself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys how come the receiver be turning off, well the screen goes dark for like 3-5 seconds when watchin a movie or playing COD on my PS3
ISpoilMyself is offline  
post #1614 of 3197 Old 02-13-2009, 10:11 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,508
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1994 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
It seems you've had the Denon for a few weeks now. Is this the first time you're experiencing the loss of video? Do you lose audio as well? If you're connected via HDMI from the PS3 to the Denon, it might be a handshaking problem which can be prevented by running a component cable for video.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1615 of 3197 Old 02-14-2009, 06:57 AM
Newbie
 
ISpoilMyself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

It seems you've had the Denon for a few weeks now. Is this the first time you're experiencing the loss of video? Do you lose audio as well? If you're connected via HDMI from the PS3 to the Denon, it might be a handshaking problem which can be prevented by running a component cable for video.

I've had it for almost a month now. But this started occurring last week. Yesterday this happened 2-3 times. And yes both loss of video and sound. Both my PS3 and DirecTV are connected thru HDMI but I've only experienced this on the PS3 *knocks on wood*. thanks
ISpoilMyself is offline  
post #1616 of 3197 Old 02-14-2009, 12:46 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,508
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1994 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
Could just be a loose cable. Try swapping cables around and see what happens.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1617 of 3197 Old 02-14-2009, 01:00 PM
Member
 
tdog4871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys I need help. I'm stuck between the Denon 2309 and the Marantz 5003. Seems to me most things are the same EXCEPT: 4 vs. 3 HDMI and the availability to add an amp in the future. I feel like I've read every post on them both and still am confuse (or even more than when I started!).

I can't imagine there is that much difference even when I read the Marantz is superior in music sound at this price range. I'm leaning to the 2309 b/c of the 4th HDMI.

Thoughts???
tdog4871 is offline  
post #1618 of 3197 Old 02-14-2009, 01:02 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,508
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1994 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
Pretty much boils down to a requirements and budget issue.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1619 of 3197 Old 02-14-2009, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundofMind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SE MI
Posts: 7,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdog4871 View Post

Guys I need help. I'm stuck between the Denon 2309 and the Marantz 5003. Seems to me most things are the same EXCEPT: 4 vs. 3 HDMI and the availability to add an amp in the future. I feel like I've read every post on them both and still am confuse (or even more than when I started!).I can't imagine there is that much difference even when I read the Marantz is superior in music sound at this price range. I'm leaning to the 2309 b/c of the 4th HDMI.Thoughts???

dog, you missed a vital difference IMHO. I posted in this thread in response to the identical question just a few days ago:

"I took a quick look at the AVS Marantz thread here http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...?t=1060855page and the immediate issue in the first few posts is NO DynEQ. I didn't have to read any further to find any other potential issues. No way I'd buy a new AVR without that huge upgrade in Audyssey which is in the '09 Denons.
As to model of Denon, I'm not sure why you selected 2309(which is a fine choice), but... if you are very discerning on SQ, have (or will have) good speakers and a few more bucks in the budget, also consider the 2809 (the "best sounding amp for my money"). "
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...7#post15741857

The 2809 also has preouts so you can add an amp later, but the vast majority of owners find that unnecessary as it is a pretty beefy amp. I agree with you that it's unlikely you would be giving up SQ with either of those Denons (and with the 2809 in particular).

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

SoundofMind is offline  
post #1620 of 3197 Old 02-14-2009, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Also, apparently Audyssey is disabled when listening to DTS MA signals on the Marantz.
crbaldwin is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 2309ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off