*Official* Denon AVR 2309CI/889 Thread - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 3190 Old 09-10-2008, 09:58 AM
Newbie
 
OldFilmFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Batpig, sorry to be such a noob. I assigned the input to RCA-3 and I connected the component video to RCA-3 per the manual. I get audio, but I get "No Signal Found" error. I double checked the connections and everything seems OK. Do I need to change anything else? Thanks!
OldFilmFan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 3190 Old 09-10-2008, 09:58 AM
Newbie
 
jldupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Batpig, thanks for your reply.

I should have added the TV/CBL one as well... I actually didn't realize that you could stack them...

Using BalekFekete's setup as an example, he could connect his PS3 on HDMI4, his wii on the HPD audio input and component 1, assign the HDP input setting to HDMI4 and component 1 so that the PS3 takes precedence over the WII and rename HPD to GAME Clever...

WHich reminds me: Read my next post for a follow up question...
jldupont is offline  
post #213 of 3190 Old 09-10-2008, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
jldupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have tried understanding all these various audio codes and which settings I should use on my 2309.

I also just bought a S350 blue ray disk player and I want to make sure I am optimizing my connections and settings.

I have 5 speakers and the blue ray disk player is connected via HDMI. What settings should I use on either to allow me to get maximum sound quality. Specifically, I am having trouble grasping the bitstream vs PCM vs 5.1/7.1 analog output that people are talking about. I understand that the 2309 should "understand" how that works.

Also, would a PS3 provide comparable quality? SHould I really keep my S350?
jldupont is offline  
post #214 of 3190 Old 09-10-2008, 10:06 AM
Newbie
 
jldupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OldFilmFan,

Make sure your video source setting for that input is set to component 3 (I forgot the exact name). It is probably trying to find the video on the default video source (yellow connector) not the component.

I am at work right now so I will check later on to see if that helped you.
jldupont is offline  
post #215 of 3190 Old 09-10-2008, 10:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 894
jldupont - I am not familiar with that specific blu ray player.

however, the 2309 has EVERYTHING in terms of HDMI audio, so it is flexible enough to handle any HD audio.

I believe the S350 can bitstream the HD audio, so I would set it to bitstream everything and let the 2309 do all the decoding. Check out the blu ray forums (I'm sure there is an S350 thread) to verify that you have all the settings right. Since it can bistream, what you would want to see is the display light up with the correct codec (i.e. if you pop in a blu ray and select "Dolby TrueHD" as the soundtrack, the display should light up "Dolby TrueHD")

The PS3 cannot bitstream HD audio, it must decode it internally first and pass it out as multichannel PCM over HDMI. The sound quality will be identical to bistreaming (the only difference is where the raw audio gets "unzipped", at the player or at the receiver). Your display should light up as "MULTI CH IN" when using a PS3 for HD audio on blu ray.

I highly recommend taking some time to read, and then re-read, the AVR FAQ at the top of this forum. MichaelJHuman did a great job assembling it and it does a nice job explaining all the new codecs and options.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #216 of 3190 Old 09-10-2008, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
OldFilmFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am such a knucklehead. I forgot that every time I change something on the cable box; HDMI> Component, I have to reboot the cable box
All is right with the world!!(Knock on wood)
OldFilmFan is offline  
post #217 of 3190 Old 09-10-2008, 10:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 894
awesome, glad you got it working. with most "problems" the solution is usually something silly like that.

hopefully that will eliminate the video dropouts entirely. you may also notice faster channel changes...

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #218 of 3190 Old 09-11-2008, 08:48 PM
Member
 
mwardncsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question which I've not yet been able to answer reading through the thread.... what flexibility is there in assigning video inputs.

That is, even through there are "lables" on the HDMI, component, composite/S-video inputs for certain things like "DVD", "HDP", "VCR", etc - what level of flexiblity is really provided.

I know (believe?) you can change the name displayed on the received, but what I'm asking is if I use an HDMI port labled "DVD", can I then use a Composite video input labled "DVD" for another input source? I'm trying to understand the actual flexibility here for inputs to determine if the 2309 would work for me, or if I'd be pushed up into the 2809.

My input sources would be
- DirecTV HD DVR (HDMI)
- PS3 (HDMI)
- upscaling DVD player (to later become a dedicated BluRay player) (HDMI)
- Wii (Component)
- future spot for an AppleTV or similar streaming media device (likely HDMI, but could be component)
- want to save a composite or potentially component for a video camera
- if there was an extra S-Video/Composite still avail I might use it for something else, but not critical

thanks
Mike
mwardncsu is offline  
post #219 of 3190 Old 09-11-2008, 09:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 894
you didn't try THAT hard, answered only 1 page back the simple answer is "yes"

Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

anyway, to your first question, you can hook up more than 4. there are five unique video inputs (HDP, VCR, TV/CBL, DVD, V-AUX) which are all assignable, then two additional audio-only inputs (CD and CDR/TAPE), plus of course the dedicated PHONO input. So that's seven unique inputs, five of them video, plus PHONO and TUNER.

You can also (as you mention) "stack" the inputs, so for example you could rename "VCR" as "VIDEO GAME", and then have the PS3 hooked to HDMI, the 360 hooked up via component, and the Wii hooked up via S-video, and it will "prioritize" and just automatically pick the highest-priority one that is turned on.


batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #220 of 3190 Old 09-11-2008, 09:27 PM
Member
 
mwardncsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks batpig.... I did lose steam somewhere before getting to page 7 (i did read all of what was on page 8 at the time )

I think I'm good - 5 in total probably works and the "stacked" input is probably a good trick that I could use - need to give that some thought.... now to decide if the 2809 is that much more valuable than the 2309 since I don't have any other good excuse.... and to convince myself that the Yamaha 1800 is as good an option....
mwardncsu is offline  
post #221 of 3190 Old 09-12-2008, 07:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
ab2ab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrian457 View Post

Thanks Batpig.

To me I notice no difference between RGB and Ycbcr with BD or Sat but you get conflicting posts of what should and shouldn't be used. Reading all BDs are done in Ycbcr that would be most logical but then reading if you have problems with black detail use RGB.

I had a Yamaha 1800 which clipped BTB & WTW and some said it didn't matter and some said it did so I was so confused with the whole thing that I sold it. Only lost about $100 on the sale but I had it for a year so I look at it as a 1 yr rental fee. Then reading more about BTB & WTW really upset me because I felt I made a bad decision selling my 1800. Then I purchased the 1909 and was amazed at the sound quality and thumpness of the LFE using Audyssey. I wanted the 4 HDMI so I ordered the 2309 and returned the 1909. I am very happy with it. Now I don't regret selling the Yammy at all as the 1800 never gave me LFE like the Denons do, it sounded rather flat. The 1800 I sold paid for the 2309. Plus the 2309 passes BTB & WTW.

BTW, I find it quite funny that they have a HDMI input labeled VCR. I understand the DVD/VCR combo but still.

So do you get that same "thumpness" of the 1909 with the 2309?
ab2ab is offline  
post #222 of 3190 Old 09-12-2008, 08:22 AM
Newbie
 
OldFilmFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The bad penny has turned up again. I tried playing a CD for the first time today. The CD starts up, but I get no sound. I am using an Oppo
983H as my player. I have it connected to the HDMI port. DVD's play fine, but no joy with CD's. I think I don't have the proper inputs setup for playing CD's. I have went through the manual so many times, it is almost worn out Thanks!
OldFilmFan is offline  
post #223 of 3190 Old 09-12-2008, 09:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 894
OK, step by step:

Oppo is connected to the Denon via HDMI -- you assigned it correctly (I'm assuming to the "DVD" input) and when you go to the "DVD" input and play a DVD, you get sound.

Then, you take out the DVD, put in a CD, and try to play music, and nothing happens? I don't know what you mean by "I don't have the proper inputs setup for playing CD's", it should work fine there shouldn't be anything special to set up. You are you leaving it on the "DVD" input, right? Does the display show as receiving any signal?

You should be getting 2-channel PCM over HDMI no problem, that's weird.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #224 of 3190 Old 09-12-2008, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
OldFilmFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Batpig, I guess I wasn't very clear, imagine that! Cd's will play OK if I have the display turned on. What I would like to do is play CD's without the display being on.
OldFilmFan is offline  
post #225 of 3190 Old 09-12-2008, 10:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 894
ahhh.... hmmm.... that might be an issue with HDMI, I think I've heard of stuff like that before where it won't work when the TV is turned off... hmmm... maybe give Oppo a call and see what they suggest?

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #226 of 3190 Old 09-12-2008, 10:24 AM
Member
 
adrian457's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ab2ab View Post

So do you get that same "thumpness" of the 1909 with the 2309?

Yes I do. It's not like a car with 15" subwoofers booming thump but I can actually hear a thump and not a thud which is what I got from the Yamaha 1800.
adrian457 is offline  
post #227 of 3190 Old 09-12-2008, 10:31 AM
Newbie
 
OldFilmFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Batpig, I will do that and let you know what they say.
OldFilmFan is offline  
post #228 of 3190 Old 09-12-2008, 11:49 AM
Member
 
mwardncsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have the Denon (yet), but one thing to check on both the TV and I assume the Denon is the HDMI-CEC (I think that's the name) - basically the "control over HDMI" - Samsung calls this "AnyNet" and I think it is BraviaLink in Sony vernaculary. I thought this was vendor specific, but running over HDMI, but I wonder if there is some level of multi-vendor support that could be causing some negotiation between the receiver and the TV (or the lack thereof since the TV is off).

Perhaps you can disable this option on the receiver, TV and/or player and see if this helps....
mwardncsu is offline  
post #229 of 3190 Old 09-12-2008, 06:17 PM
Member
 
bigspur1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any reason to pay the extra money for the 2309?

Does anyone know a place online to buy either one of these for a discount, thanks.
bigspur1984 is offline  
post #230 of 3190 Old 09-12-2008, 07:05 PM
Newbie
 
pastmaster1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldFilmFan View Post

Batpig, I guess I wasn't very clear, imagine that! Cd's will play OK if I have the display turned on. What I would like to do is play CD's without the display being on.

OldFilmFan, Go into "Manual Setup" - "HDMI Setup" - "HDMI Audio Out" setting is set to "TV" change setting to "AMP" You can listen to music with the TV off. The only problem with that is it won't pass anything with your 2309 turned off. SO i guess you need to decide which one is more important. Hope this helps


Dave
pastmaster1993 is offline  
post #231 of 3190 Old 09-13-2008, 08:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 894
dave - I think you misunderstood the problem. everything works fine with the TV on, but he's NOT playing it through the TV speakers. his receive is almost certainly set to AMP on the HDMI settings. There is some HDMI communication going on between Denon - Oppo - TV where it wants the TV to be on to play sound from the normal speakers....

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #232 of 3190 Old 09-13-2008, 09:48 AM
Newbie
 
pastmaster1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

dave - I think you misunderstood the problem. everything works fine with the TV on, but he's NOT playing it through the TV speakers. his receive is almost certainly set to AMP on the HDMI settings. There is some HDMI communication going on between Denon - Oppo - TV where it wants the TV to be on to play sound from the normal speakers....

batpig, i just purchased this reciever, i had the same problem, my DVD player is hooked up with HDMI to the TV, i could only play cd's with the TV on with my DVD player. when i changed these settings i now can listen to cd's "without" the TV on.


Dave
pastmaster1993 is offline  
post #233 of 3190 Old 09-13-2008, 10:13 AM
Newbie
 
pastmaster1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
batpig, just to clarify, I am talking about sound to my theater speakers not the TV speakers.

Dave
pastmaster1993 is offline  
post #234 of 3190 Old 09-13-2008, 02:44 PM
Newbie
 
Nants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone,
I'm trying to do what the salesperson told me I could do with the 2309ci and that is listen to speakers in another room using the zone 2 feature without a 2nd amp. I've connected all of the speakers - 5.1 in the main zone and stereo in the kitchen, connected to the surround back left & right and set all of the menu setting as recommended in the manual. No sound out of the zone 2. The speakers were used fine as B speakers with my old receiver, so I know those connections are ok. I hope it is merely a setting and was wondering first if this is possible without another amp and second, what are the proper settings? Ideally I'd like to choose an alt source in the kitchen than the main zone (as advertised) but would settle for hearing the same source out of my zone 2 speakers. Anyone?
Nants is offline  
post #235 of 3190 Old 09-13-2008, 03:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 23,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 894
you cannot output any digital audio to zone 2, you have to also run a set of analog RCA (red/white) cables for any sources you'd like to output to zone 2. see the note in the manual in the multizone operation section. it sounds like you have everything hooked up correctly so I'm assuming this is the problem...

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
post #236 of 3190 Old 09-13-2008, 05:56 PM
Newbie
 
Nants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bingo! Wasn't aware that I couldn't use just digital, so when I added the analog connection presto! Thank you ever so much - now we'll have tunes for our card parties!

Nants
Nants is offline  
post #237 of 3190 Old 09-14-2008, 12:21 PM
Newbie
 
Chenthil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Monroe, NJ
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

After much contemplation between 2808CI and 2309CI, I decided to go with 2309CI. Hooked up my receiver yesterday and ran the auto setup. Dynamic Volume doesn't work as advertised. I still could hear the volume go up during commercials and main movie sounded low compared to commercials. Red light in the front panel is ON indicating DV is ON. What is the experinece of others? I emailed Denon and waiting for a response. If there is a issue with DV, I might just return and go with 2808CI which is still a nice receiver but no DV.


thanks
Chenthil
Chenthil is offline  
post #238 of 3190 Old 09-14-2008, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
egore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The red light indicates DV is off and DEQ is on. Green light indicates that both DV and DEQ are on.
egore is offline  
post #239 of 3190 Old 09-15-2008, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
OldFilmFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey All, I talked to Oppo and we finally fiqured out it was a input conflict
between the DVD player and the receiver. I had to omit assigning the CD input and use DVD only. Now I can play CD's without the display on.
Batpig, I got my handshaking problem between my cable box and receiver fixed. It was the cable box. I swapped the PACE box for a Scientific Atlanta and now I get a picture right away. Thanks all for your advice
OldFilmFan is offline  
post #240 of 3190 Old 09-15-2008, 02:51 PM
Member
 
Mayhemm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Great White North
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post

I connect my HD DVD player with HDMI for the lossless sound, but for things like a cable box I don't really understand the rush for everyone to go all-HDMI with everything... the marketing guys have done a good job getting consumers on the bandwagon there....

The "one cable does it all" thing was what originally sold HDMI for me. Dealing with a minimum of 4 cables for a single component video connection seemed cumbersome by comparison.

However, I recently had my STB quit on me after over a year of perfect operation because the provider updated their firmware which introduced "handshake" issues.

I mean, HDMI has been out for how long now? Long enough this kind of BS shouldn't happen. That's the problem with a constantly changing "standard".
Mayhemm is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr 2309ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off