Forum Jump: 

post #3721 of 5676 Old 08-06-2009, 05:25 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Watson View Post

My Amazon 989 arrived today. Like several weeks early. Not that I'm complaining! It shipped from some place in PA no less.

But now that I've got the thing unpacked I've got first hand knowledge of just how bad the manual is. I know, I know, y'all warned me! So it's not a surprise. But jeez. I spent at least 30 minutes just trying to figure out how to tune in a different FM station with the tuner. It's amazing how difficult they make some of this stuff.

Why does everything require steep learning curves? I'm an old engineer -- I've climbed enough learning curves for three or four (or five or six...) people now. I'm ready for something to be simple and intuitive for a change.

The sound quality is worth it though. Right? Gonna go read Batpig's manual now...

can always sell it to someone who missed the sale because he was at work...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #3722 of 5676 Old 08-06-2009, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Normally I'd agree with you, however, this ain't just any ordinary soundbar. In fact the CNET review indicates that Definitive suggests NOT using the Denon's AUTO SETUP feature, rather setting the speakers manually.

Well that's why I asked "WHY?".

Yes, I still like playing with Dalis.

post #3723 of 5676 Old 08-06-2009, 06:28 PM

I received my 989 today! Now I am just trying to understand everything before I start to set it up. I have a question about the A and B speaker inputs. From Batpigs manual it states you need an external amp to power zone 2 if you are using a 7.1 setup. Is it possible to listen to the same music on the A speakers and B speakers at the same time and not have the Amp? Is the external amp only needed if you want to listen to two different sources at once?