"Official" Denon AVR 2809CI/989 Thread - Page 190 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5671 of 5676 Old 06-07-2014, 01:51 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,806
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
^^
1. Possible
2. Unplug the power over night and then try multiple Deep resets (press/hold UP/DOWN arrow keys). Do you have another amp or AVR that you could connect to the 2809 via the FL/C/FR pre-outs?
3. Depends on whether you want to take advantage of the newer features (eg. networking) on the newer models or not as you may be better served putting the $300-$400 repair cost into a newer model.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5672 of 5676 Old 06-07-2014, 02:47 PM
Newbie
 
tjb1661's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
1. Possible
2. Unplug the power over night and then try multiple Deep resets (press/hold UP/DOWN arrow keys). Do you have another amp or AVR that you could connect to the 2809 via the FL/C/FR pre-outs?
3. Depends on whether you want to take advantage of the newer features (eg. networking) on the newer models or not as you may be better served putting the $300-$400 repair cost into a newer model.


Thanks. It doesn't look like "deep reset" works on this model. What would testing the pre-outs tell me?

Are repair costs really $300+??
tjb1661 is offline  
post #5673 of 5676 Old 06-07-2014, 03:02 PM
Newbie
 
tjb1661's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjb1661 View Post

Thanks. It doesn't look like "deep reset" works on this model. What would testing the pre-outs tell me?

Are repair costs really $300+??
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
1. Possible
2. Unplug the power over night and then try multiple Deep resets (press/hold UP/DOWN arrow keys). Do you have another amp or AVR that you could connect to the 2809 via the FL/C/FR pre-outs?
3. Depends on whether you want to take advantage of the newer features (eg. networking) on the newer models or not as you may be better served putting the $300-$400 repair cost into a newer model.

Just tested the Pre-Outs and they are sending a signal.
tjb1661 is offline  
post #5674 of 5676 Old 06-07-2014, 03:44 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,806
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
A deep reset does work on that model. You press/hold the UP/DOWN arrow buttons on the front panel while powering on the AVR, releasing them after about 4-5 seconds. Using the pre-outs would be a work around to getting the 2809 repaired. Repair costs are only estimated. If you have a repair center in your area you might want to check with them to get a better estimate.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5675 of 5676 Old 06-08-2014, 09:41 AM
Newbie
 
tjb1661's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

A deep reset does work on that model. You press/hold the UP/DOWN arrow buttons on the front panel while powering on the AVR, releasing them after about 4-5 seconds. Using the pre-outs would be a work around to getting the 2809 repaired. Repair costs are only estimated. If you have a repair center in your area you might want to check with them to get a better estimate.

Is there any indication that the "deep reset" has happened? I've tried the UP/DOWN buttons with both the On/Standby button and the main power button. With the On/Standby button the unit does nothing at all until you release the arrow buttons. Using the power button with the arrows seems to do nothing - the unit just turns on.

Do the three front channels have a single component in common that is separate for the rears?
tjb1661 is offline  
post #5676 of 5676 Old 06-08-2014, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjb1661 View Post

Is there any indication that the "deep reset" has happened? I've tried the UP/DOWN buttons with both the On/Standby button and the main power button. With the On/Standby button the unit does nothing at all until you release the arrow buttons. Using the power button with the arrows seems to do nothing - the unit just turns on.

Hi tjb1661, are we talking about microprocessor reset? If so here are the steps:

- Turn off the (make sure to turn power off by pressing the ON/OFF power button (small button) and not the ON/STANDBY button (larger button)

- Press while simultaneously pressing and buttons all together

- Once the display starts flashing at intervals of about 1 second, release the two buttons
JChin is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off