"Official" Denon AVR 2809CI/989 Thread - Page 194 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5791 of 5795 Old 02-24-2017, 04:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 28,329
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3581 Post(s)
Liked: 3422
Johnny - The "Input Mode" command is not the same thing as "Input Select" where you pick a specific input name (like DVD, HDP, SAT etc).

Think of it like plumbing -- understand the distinction between the pipes coming in (inputs on the back) and the different "faucets" that come out (logical input names). When you assign inputs you are re-routing the plumbing.

Because of the multiple inputs and flexible input assignment options, you can have multiple input types associated with a specific name. For example you can have HDMI and optical and analog RCA input sources all connected to the "HDP" input. When you select that HDP input on your receiver, it's going to default to the "highest priority" input which is HDMI. The "Input Mode" setting you quoted above allows you to re-prioritize and force the optical or analog inputs to override the HDMI input. Following the plumbing analogy, you've got three pipes coming in (HDMI, optical, analog) and one faucet (the "HDP" input name) for output, but there's a valve that controls which of the three input pipes is actually connected to the faucet. The "Input Mode" command allows you to close the valve on the HDMI input and open it on the optical or analog input pipe.

That's totally separate from selecting a different faucet (i.e. switching from the "HDP" input source name to the "SAT" or "DVD" input).

So, back to your situation -- the optical feed back from your TV's smart apps should be thought of as a separate SOURCE that has it's own "faucet" (i.e. the "TV/CBL" input name). So you do NOT need any of those fancy Harmony commands to access it, you can simply switch your receiver to the "TV/CBL" input and it's now going to expect that optical input audio source.

I circled the TV/CBL input in yellow on this back panel image:

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AVR2809LARGEback.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	251.0 KB
ID:	1991529  

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5792 of 5795 Old 02-25-2017, 07:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Johnny Angell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by batpig View Post
Johnny - The "Input Mode" command is not the same thing as "Input Select" where you pick a specific input name (like DVD, HDP, SAT etc).

Think of it like plumbing -- understand the distinction between the pipes coming in (inputs on the back) and the different "faucets" that come out (logical input names). When you assign inputs you are re-routing the plumbing.

Because of the multiple inputs and flexible input assignment options, you can have multiple input types associated with a specific name. For example you can have HDMI and optical and analog RCA input sources all connected to the "HDP" input. When you select that HDP input on your receiver, it's going to default to the "highest priority" input which is HDMI. The "Input Mode" setting you quoted above allows you to re-prioritize and force the optical or analog inputs to override the HDMI input. Following the plumbing analogy, you've got three pipes coming in (HDMI, optical, analog) and one faucet (the "HDP" input name) for output, but there's a valve that controls which of the three input pipes is actually connected to the faucet. The "Input Mode" command allows you to close the valve on the HDMI input and open it on the optical or analog input pipe.

That's totally separate from selecting a different faucet (i.e. switching from the "HDP" input source name to the "SAT" or "DVD" input).

So, back to your situation -- the optical feed back from your TV's smart apps should be thought of as a separate SOURCE that has it's own "faucet" (i.e. the "TV/CBL" input name). So you do NOT need any of those fancy Harmony commands to access it, you can simply switch your receiver to the "TV/CBL" input and it's now going to expect that optical input audio source.

I circled the TV/CBL input in yellow on this back panel image:

I think that some of my confusion has been thinking that to watch and listen to the TV apps while optical sound is going to the receiver, that I would have to have the HDMI input of my DTV HR34 (which is HDMI 3 Sat) selected. But to watch the TV apps I don't need the HR34 at all. So hook up the TV optical out of TV/CBL and add a new named source for that to the receiver. When selected the TV apps video will not be sent to the receiver, but who cares. The audio will be sent via optical.

Do I have that right?
Johnny Angell is offline  
post #5793 of 5795 Old Yesterday, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Johnny Angell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by robusto400 View Post
Great information guys (better than from Denon). I agree the HDMI is overriding the optical signal. As JD suggested I switched Input mode to "Digital" under TV/CBL source and I did get the TV app audio through the optical connection BUT when I switched back to normal DTV connection the sound disappeared even though the HDMI connection was still there. I then switched Input mode back to AUTO, turned off the DTV box and powered up the TV and played the apps and the audio came through fine via the optical connection. So what I take away from this is what you both suggested, I will need to set up a separate SOURCE and set the assignment as HDMI IN as NONE and DIGITAL IN as OPT 1. I will then need to set up separate activity on my Harmony One to turn on TV and AVR only. Do you agree? Although somewhat inconvenient for switching back and forth from TV apps to DTV it will buy we some time to see what I want with ARC and other upgrades. Thanks so much.
My problem with using the Optical Out of the TV to replace the ARC which the 2809CI doesn't support was my thick skull. I'd read the above and kept wondering where the picture would come from. Then Batpig's last post finally penetrated the dark, deep recesses of my brain. When watching the Apps on a smart TV, the TV is supplying not only the sound but the picture. So I cabled up the optical and followed the above instructions and it works.

BTW, what level of sound is the optical cable capable of passing?
Johnny Angell is offline  
 
post #5794 of 5795 Old Yesterday, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66,726
Mentioned: 261 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12286 Post(s)
Liked: 5598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Angell View Post
My problem with using the Optical Out of the TV to replace the ARC which the 2809CI doesn't support was my thick skull. I'd read the above and kept wondering where the picture would come from. Then Batpig's last post finally penetrated the dark, deep recesses of my brain. When watching the Apps on a smart TV, the TV is supplying not only the sound but the picture. So I cabled up the optical and followed the above instructions and it works.

BTW, what level of sound is the optical cable capable of passing?
Capable of PCM 2.0 or DD 5.1 but what it actually can pass will depend on your TV.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5795 of 5795 Old Today, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 28,329
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3581 Post(s)
Liked: 3422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Angell View Post
I think that some of my confusion has been thinking that to watch and listen to the TV apps while optical sound is going to the receiver, that I would have to have the HDMI input of my DTV HR34 (which is HDMI 3 Sat) selected. But to watch the TV apps I don't need the HR34 at all. So hook up the TV optical out of TV/CBL and add a new named source for that to the receiver. When selected the TV apps video will not be sent to the receiver, but who cares. The audio will be sent via optical.

Do I have that right?
Correct, as far as the receiver is concerned the "TV Audio" is just another named source, no different than a DVD player or a PS3. Just another input, nothing to do with the DTV box.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off