Official Pioneer SC-05 and SC-07 Owners Thread - Page 198 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #5911 of 17105 Old 03-12-2009, 02:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
ok, got home about 40 minutes ago... i didn't get a chance to stay home and watch jeff do his calibration, i just stopped by at lunch to see a few things...

first in the cd player was a live performance of beethoven's 5th (maazel: vienna philharmonic)... this is my current favorite piece of music, and i'm very familiar with it, as i listen to it just about every day...

i didn't think it could get any better, but it has... the imaging is even better than before, without taking a soundstage hit... and the the overall quality is improved... as usual, i'm not good with audiophile terms, but my ears (and, just as important, swmbo ears) are VERY happy. well worth the price (and that's ignoring the job he did on my display, which is spectacular).

disclaimer: non-scientific test, so i cannot discount the possibility of placebo effect. however, like i said, i'm very familiar with the piece in question. ymmv.

- chris

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #5912 of 17105 Old 03-12-2009, 02:51 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Headspace View Post

Is the new Class D ICE amplifier in the 05/07 is solid as the Mosfet amplifier on the older series VSX-56TXi Elite receivers? I see the new Elite receivers weigh quite a bit less.... My old 56 is built like a rock.

I see the new Onkyo SR-876 can handle a 4 ohm load. Can the new Elite?