Official Pioneer SC-05 and SC-07 Owners Thread - Page 339 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10141 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CHP_VR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newport Zoo
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
MacFan;

Thanks for being so patient with us..
Really appreciate the insight you provide.

I still think we need to convince ccotenj to "volunteer" for us to check with a scope...

Quote:


I really should have one of those things; it would keep me entertained for a year just playing with every one of the options.

It definitely keeps me entertained!

"you're just jealous 'cause the voices only talk to me"
Questions about the SC-07 or SC-05? start here
CHP_VR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10142 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
aseer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHP_VR View Post

Very strange issue aseer...

Please keep us informed of how it proceeds..

Hope you can get it resolved it soon!

Will do, at least with my 07 I can listen to content and at lower volume it sounds great (SACDs- DSOTM, New Favorite (Krauss), Brothers in Arms, Time Out (Brubeck), Rachel Podger (anything); DVD-A Fleetwood Mac (Rumors), Grateful Dead (American Beauty); BD: both Botti concerts, the new Diana Krall BD... all sound awesome, as long as my system does not shut down (going to get my hands on a decent Network Analyzer soon to see if there is a frequency dependent load/short I am missing - though I still cannot figure out why my prior Elites have no issues).

For now I listen at -15 or better.
aseer is offline  
post #10143 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 02:17 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by focker View Post

I listened to the Chris Botti in Boston Blu Ray again last night on the PS3/SC-07 and it is a masterpiece!

I'm a big fan of Chris Botti. and have had the great pleasure of seeing Botti in concert at the Blue Note Jazz Club several times. Take a look at two more Chris Botti BDs, "Chris Botti Live and on the Tony Bennett BD, "Tony Bennett" Botti has a beautiful piece.

Chris Botti is the best up and coming jazz trumpeter of today who's gentle and full resolution horn technical expertise is mesmerizing.

Enjoy the Hollywood and concert arts on BD it's astonishing.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #10144 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
aseer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

I'm a big fan of Chris Botti. and have had the great pleasure of seeing Botti in concert at the Blue Note Jazz Club several times. Take a look at two more Chris Botti BDs, "Chris Botti Live and on the Tony Bennett BD, "Tony Bennett" Botti has a beautiful piece.

Chris Botti is the best up and coming jazz trumpeter of today who's gentle and full resolution horn technical expertise is mesmerizing.

Enjoy the Hollywood and concert arts on BD it's astonishing.

-Robert

Agreed, the Botti BD's are very well done (especially the audio). And his accompaniment is great, the drum work in Why Not is stunning. Actually, Hit Man also is a decent demo BD, if you can handle the Vegas class schlock, well recorded, very good video and some good music (the Bocelli/McPhee for example was very nice).
attached is a shot of my cats enjoying Botti Live (Mark Whitfield in that shot, listening on RBH MC-6C's).
LL
aseer is offline  
post #10145 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
aseer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHP_VR View Post

Very strange issue aseer...

Please keep us informed of how it proceeds..

Hope you can get it resolved it soon!



EDIT:
Particularly interested in what changing the EQ does..

I notice on page 49 it mentions changing it if you see "OVER" indicated...



Nope, eq did not help (off/on, no eq overages). What gets me is that I have helped friends install upwards of 30 systems that I fully spec'd, in addition to many of my own (and of those 30 many were SC's, most purchased from the same vendor where I got mine so it is not a distributor issue). I have never seen this.

I'll work with Pioneer to figure out what is going on.
aseer is offline  
post #10146 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 03:59 PM
Member
 
kelseyhorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello

Just wondering if this is normal, whenever i put in a Dts-hd master bluray the pioneer sc-05 always gives it a DialogNorm +4 right before it reads dtshd master. I dont remember seeing this ever. Also what does Dialnorm do anyway? and is there a way to turn it off

thanks for the answers
kelseyhorne is offline  
post #10147 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 04:03 PM
Member
 
kelseyhorne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
found the answer!!
kelseyhorne is offline  
post #10148 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 05:41 PM
Member
 
Bengali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,

when I set the SC-05 to Pure Direct, with my Samsung blu ray
it will say TrueHD. When I try and play Phantom of the Opera in HD
with my Toshiba HD-A30, it always says PCM.

I checked the toshiba HD setup, it is set for bitstream and hdmi is set for Auto, there are two other options PCM or Downsample PCM aside from Auto.

in the menu while playing, I set it to HDAUDIO and it still says PCM.

I've not had a chance to try another HD disc yet. any ideas?


thanks!
Bengali is offline  
post #10149 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
aseer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bengali View Post

Hi,

when I set the SC-05 to Pure Direct, with my Samsung blu ray
it will say TrueHD. When I try and play Phantom of the Opera in HD
with my Toshiba HD-A30, it always says PCM.

I checked the toshiba HD setup, it is set for bitstream and hdmi is set for Auto, there are two other options PCM or Downsample PCM aside from Auto.

in the menu while playing, I set it to HDAUDIO and it still says PCM.

I've not had a chance to try another HD disc yet. any ideas?


thanks!

I thought the A35 bitsreamed HD codecs but the A30 did not, did I get that wrong?
aseer is offline  
post #10150 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CHP_VR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newport Zoo
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
aseer,

One last grasp at a straw....

have you reset your SC per page 100 of the manual?


Resetting the system
Use this procedure to reset all the receiver's settings to
the factory default. Use the front panel controls to do this.
Set MULTI-ZONE to OFF.
1 Switch the receiver into standby.
2 While holding down HOME MENU on the front
panel, press  STANDBY/ON.
The display shows RESET  NO .
3 Press ENTER on the front panel.
4 Select RESET' using /, then press ENTER on
the front panel.
The display shows RESET? OK.
5 Press ENTER to confirm.
OK appears in the display to indicate that the receiver
has been reset to the factory default settings.
Note that all settings will be saved, even if the
receiver is unplugged.

"you're just jealous 'cause the voices only talk to me"
Questions about the SC-07 or SC-05? start here
CHP_VR is offline  
post #10151 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 06:05 PM
Senior Member
 
aseer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Definitely worth trying, I'll give it a shot and recalibrate.

Thanks for checking in.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHP_VR View Post

aseer,

One last grasp at a straw....

have you reset your SC per page 100 of the manual?


Resetting the system
Use this procedure to reset all the receiver's settings to
the factory default. Use the front panel controls to do this.
Set MULTI-ZONE to OFF.
1 Switch the receiver into standby.
2 While holding down HOME MENU on the front
panel, press  STANDBY/ON.
The display shows RESET  NO .
3 Press ENTER on the front panel.
4 Select RESET' using /, then press ENTER on
the front panel.
The display shows RESET? OK.
5 Press ENTER to confirm.
OK appears in the display to indicate that the receiver
has been reset to the factory default settings.
Note that all settings will be saved, even if the
receiver is unplugged.

aseer is offline  
post #10152 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LaoChe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by aseer View Post

I thought the A35 bitsreamed HD codecs but the A30 did not, did I get that wrong?

Nope, you got it right. The A30 will not bitstream, that's why he is only seeing PCM. The decoding of the audio codec is being done on the A30 rather than the SC-05.
LaoChe is offline  
post #10153 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 08:40 PM
Member
 
Bengali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


The A30 will not bitstream, that's why he is only seeing PCM. The decoding of the audio codec is being done on the A30 rather than the SC-05.

Hi,,

would you mind further clarifying? so the A30 is decoding the HD audio
internally and sending it as bitstream to the SC-05?

or there is really no true HD audio capability with the A30?

thx
Bengali is offline  
post #10154 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 08:46 PM
Member
 
DavidJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bengali View Post

Hi,,

would you mind further clarifying? so the A30 is decoding the HD audio
internally and sending it as bitstream to the SC-05?

or there is really no true HD audio capability with the A30?

thx

No, the A30 decodes the True HD and sends it to the receiver as PCM. When they say it won't bitstream, they mean it won't pass the stream to the receiver to let the receiver do the decoding. It has to be decoded in the player first and passed as PCM. It'll sound just as good, but you don't get to see True HD light up on the receiver.
DavidJ is offline  
post #10155 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 09:17 PM
Member
 
Bengali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


No, the A30 decodes the True HD and sends it to the receiver as PCM. When they say it won't bitstream, they mean it won't pass the stream to the receiver to let the receiver do the decoding. It has to be decoded in the player first and passed as PCM. It'll sound just as good, but you don't get to see True HD light up on the receiver.

Hi,

I see now thanks for the clarification.

is there a difference when playing HD audio either the PCM or the
bitstream method and switching between PURE DIRECT vs. DIRECT?

should it be PURE DIRECT?

thx
Bengali is offline  
post #10156 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 10:26 PM
 
optivity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Unfortunately, when I tried to power on my SC-07 tonight it powered off right away and will not power back on... the advanced macc light is flashing.

Is my receiver toast?
optivity is offline  
post #10157 of 17104 Old 06-06-2009, 10:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
zryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St Paul MN
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
does anyone have any opinion on if an external amp will provide much benefit in a theater room, being driven by my SC-05 and pushing a set of Infinity Beta 50/20/c360's?

"The satisfaction of a great price will be overshadowed by the bitterness of poor quality."

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO Abear
You still measure your TV in "inches"? Thats so cute! :D
zryder is offline  
post #10158 of 17104 Old 06-07-2009, 12:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Thebarnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 3,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
On Jeff's first visit Sept 2008, he did a full calibration on my 60 Pioneer Pro-151FD Kuro and an audio calibration. At that time, he pointed out a problem I was having with the lower audio frequencies and how it could be corrected with a second subwoofer and/or additional audio equipment. Even though I still don't have a 2nd subwoofer, I did however buy a new receiver...the Pioneer SC-07. Being aware of the adjustability of my new receiver, I couldn't wait to see what adjustments Jeff would do with my new equipment during his 2nd visit.

With my highly anticipated late December 2008 purchased of the Pioneer SC-07, I knew I would be getting closer to the audio performance I desired. Even so, reaching maximum audio performance didn't come without a hitch. I first had to deal with getting the correct wiring from REL to get a proper ground for my new class "D" receiver.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post16599598

That took about two months. After that, I let the Pioneer SC-07 set up it's own audio calibration via it's MCACC program and the supplied microphone. I felt that the audio sounded "better" and the sound stage was much more "solid", however it sounded overall too bright particularly when compared to my older pre-amp amplifier combination.

Now I was ready for Jeff's arrival. When I checked his schedule, I saw he was already booked for my area. However, I did notice he was taking requests in case of cancellations so I sent him an email. It turned out he was able to fit me into his schedule so I was set.

On May 27th, 2009 9am sharp, Jeff came by for a 2nd visit to do a "simple" audio calibration...at least that was his first impression. What ended up being an issue (and taking up more time) had almost everything to do with how my REL sub bass system was hooked up. To correct most of the problems I was having, Jeff suggested an RCA to XLR (three pin) converter so I could take advantage of the SC-07s crossover (I hope Im saying that right!) And to make sure we were getting the correct connection/equipment, we called around and both ended up traveling to a local music store. I bought the converter and back to my place we went. Overall, his visit was about five hours (about two or three more hours than he anticipated).

When the work was done, I was thrown back into amazement. I've never heard my audio system sound as good as it does today. With a term I like to use, it simply sounds like showroom quality! And what's amazing, is how great it sounded in a room (my room) that is about as bad of a listening environment as it can get. Jeff would never tell me (his client) how much my listening environment sucks, however I took his well meaning descriptive words while he was listening to the differences of the much improved audio and could tell he was surprised how good it sounded in such a bad acoustical environment. We looked at each other at the same time and just started laughing! All I knew, is that the audio was smooth, (something I'm not used to hearing) balanced, detailed, open, realistic, much more depth in the low end and not colored in anyway. On top of that, I was really impressed on how Jeff was able to improve the performance of my older model REL Stadium II. Older yes, however still a fine product and it simply just needed a little help.

If you checked out the link in this story, I want you to know, that the digital cable from Sumiko is still hooked up (for proper grounding) along with the RCA to XLR converter (for the low level hookup).

The bass is now much more detailed, smooth, much more even and the bass produces the same audio levels throughout the lower audio range (there was a lot missing before he worked on it) and I hear much more liveliness in the music.

Jeff put a lot of work into my system. Like I had mentioned when I contacted him, he was simply figuring on a simple calibration, something that would normally maybe only take a couple hours. He ended up being here for five hours because of the audio problems he encountered. Jeff wanted to make sure that all the audio equipment could be brought out to perform at their maximum ability.

The improvement in audio quality was worth much more than I paid. Even though the price ended up being a little bit more than was quoted, it was more than well worth it. There were problems along the way and a lot of time spent sorting them out. HOWEVER, the improvement was as if I had just spent tens of thousands of dollars on new audio equipment. It sounds like I have new speakers, a new subwoofer and I can tell for the first time that the purchase of my new Pioneer SC-07 was well worth the money.

I'll definitely be having Jeff over again when I purchase a new subwoofer and/or center channel speaker. He even said by that time my Pioneer Pro-151FD would be ready for a quick calibration update. And that he would (at no additional cost) go ahead and do that for me. Since he had already calibrated my Kuro and is familiar with this Pioneer product, he assured me that the differences would be small and would not take long at all. It would be interesting to see if my 60 Kuro would need any adjusting at all since I rarely have time to sit and watch TV anymore.

In any case, for those sitting on the sidelines wondering if a TV and or Audio calibration is worth the money or not, I cannot say in enough words how much more value you will get from your equipment when it's set up properly. My own abilities with this hobby can get me further than mosthowever no matter how much I keep up, I simply don't have the background, education and knowledge that Jeff has. His visits to my home has given me lots of confidence in knowing when I listening to music and/or watch a movie, either by myself or with friends, the performance will be better than most have experiencedalmost anywhere!

http://www.accucalhd.com

Movies must be OAR, sports and movies must also have 5.1 audio, No EE or NO SALE!
Thebarnman is offline  
post #10159 of 17104 Old 06-07-2009, 01:43 AM
Member
 
focker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aseer View Post

Agreed, the Botti BD's are very well done (especially the audio). And his accompaniment is great, the drum work in Why Not is stunning. Actually, Hit Man also is a decent demo BD, if you can handle the Vegas class schlock, well recorded, very good video and some good music (the Bocelli/McPhee for example was very nice).
attached is a shot of my cats enjoying Botti Live (Mark Whitfield in that shot, listening on RBH MC-6C's).

That sure put a smile on my face, really great photo

Scott
focker is offline  
post #10160 of 17104 Old 06-07-2009, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
graphicguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ohio Valley
Posts: 3,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by optivity View Post

Unfortunately, when I tried to power on my SC-07 tonight it powered off right away and will not power back on... the advanced macc light is flashing.

Is my receiver toast?

Try a reset and see if that takes care of it (owners manual). If not, call Pioneer service. That's kind of hit and miss, though. I've had times when they were very helpful, and other times when they seemed clueless. Depends on who you get on the line.

I just spoke to them regarding the FW update for my BDP51. Pioneer guy was obviously a HT enthusiast and we spoke for about 10 minutes regarding the BDP51 and my SC 05 (his exact set-up). Eventually, he had to turn me over to the parts dept to get the FW sent to me, though.

Music so high you can't get over it....music so low you can't get under it!
graphicguy is offline  
post #10161 of 17104 Old 06-07-2009, 06:29 AM
Member
 
will0775's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: miami,fl
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Oh my God I've been reading this forums for about a year now, a few months back I decided to get my first receiver, so I settled for pio elite VSX-03 , cause that was all I could afford, my wife told me to wait for my birthday so along with my brother they would buy it for me so I waited patiently for this past few months meanwhile I was reading nothing but good things about the pioneer elite receivers. I was well aware of the difference those ICE amps make but there was no way I could even dream to ask for more knowing it was an expensive gift as it was and besides this is my first setup what more could I want. Today at about 8:18 in the morning while my mom was calling me to wish me Happy Birthday (she lives overseas) my father and my brother showed up at my door carrying the pio SC-05 in tow
I could not believe my eyes even as I write this I'm still in amazement and feel really bless for this wonderful gift. I don't even know how they knew I wanted this receiver, I never mentioned to anybody, there is a God is all I can say. And one more thing HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME
will0775 is offline  
post #10162 of 17104 Old 06-07-2009, 06:31 AM
Member
 
RudigerS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: SW FL
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Happy Birthday indeed!

It Was Like That When I Got Here...
RudigerS is offline  
post #10163 of 17104 Old 06-07-2009, 06:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by will0775 View Post

Oh my God I've been reading this forums for about a year now, a few months back I decided to get my first receiver, so I settled for pio elite VSX-03 , cause that was all I could afford, my wife told me to wait for my birthday so along with my brother they would buy it for me so I waited patiently for this past few months meanwhile I was reading nothing but good things about the pioneer elite receivers. I was well aware of the difference those ICE amps make but there was no way I could even dream to ask for more knowing it was an expensive gift as it was and besides this is my first setup what more could I want. Today at about 8:18 in the morning while I my mom was calling me to wish me Happy Birthday (she lives overseas) my father and my brother showed up at my door carrying the pio SC-05 in tow
I could not believe my eyes even as I write this I'm still in amazement and feel really bless for this wonderful gift. I don't even know how they knew I wanted this receiver, I never mentioned to anybody, there is a God is all I can say. And one more thing HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME

Wow, that was a nice story and good luck! Tell em they picked a good one!
NismoZ is offline  
post #10164 of 17104 Old 06-07-2009, 06:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
welcome to the ice club will...

happy birthday and thanks for sharing that story, it got my day off to a really good start...

pictures are always welcome...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #10165 of 17104 Old 06-07-2009, 06:46 AM
Member
 
will0775's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: miami,fl
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the kind words all of you,but don't go too far I'm sure I'll be needing your knowledge as I set this baby up. Nothing but smiles today
will0775 is offline  
post #10166 of 17104 Old 06-07-2009, 07:16 AM
 
optivity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

welcome to the ice club will...

happy birthday and thanks for sharing that story, it got my day off to a really good start...

pictures are always welcome...

No one responded to my previous post. Is there anything you can do to help me troubleshoot my SC-07's inability to power on?

I purchased the receiver only (4) months ago from Huppin's OneCall (for $1600) and I'm very unhappy it died after such a short period of time.

I live in Albany, NY and the nearest "authorized" service dealer is located ~75 miles from here.
optivity is offline  
post #10167 of 17104 Old 06-07-2009, 07:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by optivity View Post

No one responded to my previous post. Is there anything you can do to help me troubleshoot my SC-07's inability to power on?

I purchased the receiver only (4) months ago from Huppin's OneCall (for $1600) and I'm very unhappy it died after such a short period of time.

I live in Albany, NY and the nearest "authorized" service dealer is located ~75 miles from here.

You could call Pioneer support and have them troubleshoot on the phone. See what they say. People on the thread, anything else to help this guy out?
NismoZ is offline  
post #10168 of 17104 Old 06-07-2009, 08:09 AM
 
optivity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by NismoZ View Post

You could call Pioneer support and have them troubleshoot on the phone. See what they say. People on the thread, anything else to help this guy out?

Thanks for the response. I won't be able to contact Pioneer until tomorrow. I purchased this receiver from Huppin's OneCall less than (4) months ago and someone did answer their phone today. As expected they "blew" me off so I won't be shopping there again anytime soon.

I hope Pioneer doesn't try to give me some jazz regarding warranty coverage based upon the Internet seller I purchased their receiver from because OneCall does not "explicitly" state they are an "authorized" seller of Elite equipment.

I could have sworn that OneCall "claimed" to be an authorized seller of Pioneer equipment when I purchased the SC-07 last February, but I have seen OneCall carry and/or not carry Pioneer Elite AVRs, on & off, from time to time.

Hopefully Pioneer will provide warranty coverage considering I also purchased a PRO-150FD from them in Sept. 07 and have spent nearly $10,000 for Elite products during the past two years.
optivity is offline  
post #10169 of 17104 Old 06-07-2009, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
alerion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by optivity View Post

No one responded to my previous post. Is there anything you can do to help me troubleshoot my SC-07's inability to power on?

I purchased the receiver only (4) months ago from Huppin's OneCall (for $1600) and I'm very unhappy it died after such a short period of time.

I live in Albany, NY and the nearest "authorized" service dealer is located ~75 miles from here.

graphicguy's response said about all there is to say. Unfortunately the manual is pretty clear: MCACC flashing = call service now. To my recollection this has come up once before and the response was the same, so that's about the whole knowledgebase to share.

It is a major pain to get one of these out and shipped. Best of luck!!
alerion is offline  
post #10170 of 17104 Old 06-07-2009, 10:19 AM
Member
 
Bengali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


does anyone have any opinion on if an external amp will provide much benefit in a theater room, being driven by my SC-05 and pushing a set of Infinity Beta 50/20/c360's?

your Infinity Beta have the perfect specs for the SC-05. 8 ohm load
and 91db Sens. You only need an external amp if you speakers
have a 4ohm load and low sens. I'm using an Emotiva XPA-5
since I'm driving magnepans, rated 4ohms 86dB. the ice amps just
cannot drive this maggies properly.

I've had the infinity overatures and intermezzo line for H.T. I've
always found the their tweeters to be overly bright and the sound
very forward. this combined with an ice amp may sound too bright
depending your ears and setup. power wise with the ICE amps,
you are fine. you should have room filling sound and some left over.

hope this helps!
Bengali is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off