Official Pioneer SC-05 and SC-07 Owners Thread - Page 571 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17101 of 17116 Old 07-30-2014, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
redjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,826
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by jslaten View Post
yes I have on the remote multiple times, there is not a button on the front panel that I am aware of. I have never messed with the dimmer before and dont have the user manual I press display on the remote and then #3 for dimmer and the remote says dimmer on the lcd but nothing happens. Its either the motherboard or one part of the power circuit/transformer failed.
I'm very late to this conversation, but was your SC-05 plugged into a UPS, or other surge protection device before you left? If not, it's very possible you had a lightening strike while away. Any other devices off, clocks flashing, etc. that would indicate this when you got home? I've had this happen before and a computer PSU was taken out. Same thing happened to a cable DVR. Lesson learned. Now I unplug expensive gear before leaving! Did you get your 05 working (or replaced) yet?

redjr...
Pioneer Elite - A-20, DV-79AVi, BDP-HD1, SC-05

redjr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17102 of 17116 Old 08-09-2014, 08:42 AM
Member
 
-Kevin-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I may have a problem on my hands!
First off let me mention that I have been a very happy owner of this unit and a Kuro for a while now!

Here is the issue:
I just moved to my a new house this past week. My remotes may be lost. If that is the case how would I go about replacing them?
Thanks!
-Kevin- is offline  
post #17103 of 17116 Old 08-11-2014, 08:55 AM
Member
 
-Kevin-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Disregard that last question! I found the answer on the pioneer electronics site. Hopefully I won't have to order replacements!
-Kevin- is offline  
post #17104 of 17116 Old 08-16-2014, 11:10 PM
Member
 
BinaryJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1) After much much much farting around, I discovered that this SC-05 I have here will ONLY play back any audio in PURE DIRECT mode AND setting speakers to LARGE.

2) Analog sources when set as above seem to be fine.

3) Digital sources ... are hit or miss. Sometimes I have to turn the unit on/off multiple times before it will start working with digital sources even in PURE DIRECT... when it's not working, it will just play a split second of the source, cut out, play a split second of the source, cut out... repeat forever.

Obviously surround sound, room correction, thx loudness plus, use of subwoofer just about everything is completely broken on this thing. Was told that a whole board needs to be replaced (mainboard???), seems like a classic DSP problem that others have had even from other makes (Onkyo comes up a lot for this...) in that I can sort of get stuff working when bypassing most everything in pure direct mode.

So... big question is, has anybody had this issue and figured out a definitive DIY - I mean, if I knew exactly which board housed all of this dumb stuff that controls the digital processing for sure then I suppose I can put on a brave face and disassemble it and try baking the PCB in an oven for a while to attempt a reflow - if bad solder joints is indeed usually the cause of such nonsense.

For the moment the thing is still pretty useless to me as I can't reliably even get it to spit out two channel audio from any digital input source including HMG. For the longest time I couldn't get any audio out of it at all no matter what until I read some diagnostic steps in the service manual which mentioned setting speakers to large. Even so, I still can't get the headphone jack to output even a peep - I'm guessing headphone output is permanently tied into DSP and pure direct has nothing to do with it.

What a piece of junk, Pioneer is off my list now and to think I always thought they made reliable stuff. I would like to save this thing from becoming just another piece of e-waste but so far everything I've been told is the repair cost would exceed the value of the thing to begin with - what a shame.

I have a Pioneer A-8 under my desk right here that is 30+ friggin' years old and still going strong.

Edit: It seems that with a lot of fiddling like power cycling the receiver multiple times in rapid fire/changing inputs back and forth etc. that it can be coaxed into playing digital sources until it is powered off or the input is changed again. Still will only work in this case in pure direct mode and two channels only - though I suspect if one resorted to using the analog multi-ins from some source that can do all of the decoding itself that might work for surround.

It's a real shame because even temporarily hooked up to a small pair of Polk RTi4 bookshelves and without any EQ at all it sounds great and can really pump. Still, it's a bit of a behemoth just for use as a tempermental stereo power amplifier.

It appears that the board that needs to get replaced to at least resolve some of these issues is the motherboard assembly which the lowest cost I have seen on the net for is direct from pioneer USA for $250+ USD before taxes or shipping costs so really not worth it.

Last edited by BinaryJay; 08-18-2014 at 09:31 AM.
BinaryJay is offline  
post #17105 of 17116 Old 08-26-2014, 02:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
redjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,826
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by BinaryJay View Post
1) After much much much farting around, I discovered that this SC-05 I have here will ONLY play back any audio in PURE DIRECT mode AND setting speakers to LARGE.

2) Analog sources when set as above seem to be fine.

3) Digital sources ... are hit or miss. Sometimes I have to turn the unit on/off multiple times before it will start working with digital sources even in PURE DIRECT... when it's not working, it will just play a split second of the source, cut out, play a split second of the source, cut out... repeat forever.

Obviously surround sound, room correction, thx loudness plus, use of subwoofer just about everything is completely broken on this thing. Was told that a whole board needs to be replaced (mainboard???), seems like a classic DSP problem that others have had even from other makes (Onkyo comes up a lot for this...) in that I can sort of get stuff working when bypassing most everything in pure direct mode.

So... big question is, has anybody had this issue and figured out a definitive DIY - I mean, if I knew exactly which board housed all of this dumb stuff that controls the digital processing for sure then I suppose I can put on a brave face and disassemble it and try baking the PCB in an oven for a while to attempt a reflow - if bad solder joints is indeed usually the cause of such nonsense.

For the moment the thing is still pretty useless to me as I can't reliably even get it to spit out two channel audio from any digital input source including HMG. For the longest time I couldn't get any audio out of it at all no matter what until I read some diagnostic steps in the service manual which mentioned setting speakers to large. Even so, I still can't get the headphone jack to output even a peep - I'm guessing headphone output is permanently tied into DSP and pure direct has nothing to do with it.

What a piece of junk, Pioneer is off my list now and to think I always thought they made reliable stuff. I would like to save this thing from becoming just another piece of e-waste but so far everything I've been told is the repair cost would exceed the value of the thing to begin with - what a shame.

I have a Pioneer A-8 under my desk right here that is 30+ friggin' years old and still going strong.

Edit: It seems that with a lot of fiddling like power cycling the receiver multiple times in rapid fire/changing inputs back and forth etc. that it can be coaxed into playing digital sources until it is powered off or the input is changed again. Still will only work in this case in pure direct mode and two channels only - though I suspect if one resorted to using the analog multi-ins from some source that can do all of the decoding itself that might work for surround.

It's a real shame because even temporarily hooked up to a small pair of Polk RTi4 bookshelves and without any EQ at all it sounds great and can really pump. Still, it's a bit of a behemoth just for use as a tempermental stereo power amplifier.

It appears that the board that needs to get replaced to at least resolve some of these issues is the motherboard assembly which the lowest cost I have seen on the net for is direct from pioneer USA for $250+ USD before taxes or shipping costs so really not worth it.
Not that it matters, but did you buy this unit new, or on the used market. Seems like something is drastically wrong with it. Instead of completely junking it, or trying save it by re-baking it (gad), can you use the power amps by themselves. Are they still operational when you power it up? I have an SC-05 too, although it's been packed away for over a year now due to a move, but I believe it has main-in jacks. Can't check so not sure, but I believe it does.

redjr...
Pioneer Elite - A-20, DV-79AVi, BDP-HD1, SC-05

redjr is offline  
post #17106 of 17116 Old 09-25-2014, 09:29 PM
Member
 
BinaryJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redjr View Post
Not that it matters, but did you buy this unit new, or on the used market. Seems like something is drastically wrong with it. Instead of completely junking it, or trying save it by re-baking it (gad), can you use the power amps by themselves. Are they still operational when you power it up? I have an SC-05 too, although it's been packed away for over a year now due to a move, but I believe it has main-in jacks. Can't check so not sure, but I believe it does.
Anything that goes through the DACs or DSP results in silence. Well, sometimes the DAC will work with digital inputs (HDMI from my PC, or the internet radio for example) if I power cycle the receiver rapidly a few times it will "take" and continue to work until it is turned off for some time. If I don't do the power cycling, the digital inputs will cut in and out every second or so forever like ... "ah eh ah eh ah oh eh " just outputting a split second of the sound each time. Extremely annoying. And yes, I would say that what is wrong with it is dramatic but it probably boils down to failed/failing solder joints.

So yeah, I am torn right now... it makes for a hell of a straight stereo amp still but god damn it's frigging huge just for that purpose and I bought it expecting to use it in a home theater.

Last edited by BinaryJay; 11-24-2014 at 05:08 PM.
BinaryJay is offline  
post #17107 of 17116 Old 09-26-2014, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
redjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,826
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 41
That's a bummer that it won't work right. At least you were refunded. That's an indication right there that the seller knew there was something wrong and didn't reveal it. eBay has it's problems, but there can be good stuff too. I bought a brand new Pioneer Elite A20 last year (NIB) from a seller and have been quite happy with it.

Do you plan to buy another new Elite receiver, or has this experience soured your opinion of Pioneer? Will you buy another brand? IMO you can't beat the sound of the B&O ICE Power class D amps. I've had nothing but positive experiences with Pioneer gear - going back 30+ years with various equipment of theirs.

redjr...
Pioneer Elite - A-20, DV-79AVi, BDP-HD1, SC-05

redjr is offline  
post #17108 of 17116 Old 10-15-2014, 12:23 PM
Member
 
hrr0b29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
not sure if anyone will see this post, but is it possible to have audio pass through with the SC-07? Would like to have the options to watch movies with surround sound but at time just use the TV speakers without the AVR - particularly when the wife and kids are watching TV. Basically dont' want to have to turn on the AVR all the time. If it matters, here's my setup: Pioneer SC-07, Pioneer Kuro 5020FD, PS3 for blu-ray play back. Not sure of the brand of Cox cable box but it's a HD DVR box. Thanks
hrr0b29 is offline  
post #17109 of 17116 Old 10-18-2014, 03:33 PM
Member
 
AnthonyJS02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just recently hookedup 7.1 setup to my SC05. I want to know which surround sound setting I should be using for the best possible sound? I listen to everything through a htpc xbmc setup. Should I be using THX or direct sound or some other setting? thanks
AnthonyJS02 is offline  
post #17110 of 17116 Old 10-26-2014, 10:08 AM
Member
 
kgeorge78's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey can I get some help.

I havent used my 05 in a while. For now (and for a few weeks) I only have 1 HDMI to my TV and need the SC05 basically as a HDMI switcher (and to convert 1 component input to HDMI). I DONT have speakers hooked up.

How Do I "passthrough" audio to the TV speakers? I assume it wont be a problem with HDMI inputs but will the component / optical input work?


Also I have never upgraded the software and purchased this in 2010? Are there any updates that I should try to do?

Thanks
kgeorge78 is offline  
post #17111 of 17116 Old 10-26-2014, 02:35 PM
Member
 
hdcrack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgeorge78 View Post

Also I have never upgraded the software and purchased this in 2010? Are there any updates that I should try to do?

Thanks
I bought mine 6-2009 & discovered it will not decode DTS HD MA 2.0. Had to switch the BD player from bitstream to PCM to hear anything. Pioneer said there are several FW updates & that should fix this as well as other potential issues. Needed to bring it in to an authorized Pioneer service center.
Pioneer says their newer AVRs can be updated by the owner & do not need to go into service center. Some users have attempted to update FW on the SC05/SC07 & have bricked their units!


http://forum.blu-ray.com/receivers/9...-thread-4.html

“This fw should also fix the remote power on issue where the unit will not respond to power button from the remote. But do not perform the upgrade by yourself, it will void the warranty.”

There are threads on AVS on this issue. I think Sc05 manufactured late 2010 already had the FW applied, not sure. There is a way to check to see which FW versions you have installed.
hdcrack is offline  
post #17112 of 17116 Old 11-07-2014, 07:58 AM
Senior Member
 
9179mhb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Hi guys, I hope someone can help me out. I'm trying to get the Netflix Smart Hub App w/my 64F8500 to send a DD 5.1 audio signal w/the optical output connection to my AVR; which is a Pioneer SC-07.

Try as I might, the Pioneer receiver will only see a (2) channel stereo signal.

I verified the Netflix streaming content has 5.1 audio w/my PS3 --> HDMI --> to SC-07.

The SC-07 does not support ARC.

I'd like to move the PS3 to another TV but can't do so unless I get the Smart Hub audio working.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?
9179mhb is offline  
post #17113 of 17116 Old 11-12-2014, 10:38 AM
Member
 
askeptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the Pioneer SC-07 have enough power give the Polk Monitor 75T floor standing speakers the love they require if used in a bi-amp configuration by using the surround speakers along with the normal Left/Right speakers?

the SC-07 manual reads the following:
Surround Power - 140w x 7 (20Hz - 20kHz, .09% THD@ 8ohms, All Channels Driven)
Stereo Power - 140W x 2 (20Hz - 20kHz, .09% THD@ 8ohms)

Polk says the recommended amp power be 40 - 275 W / Channel.

Does anyone in here run the Monitor 75T's with their SC-07 in a bi-amp configuration that can comment on sound quality?

Thanks!
askeptic is offline  
post #17114 of 17116 Old 12-03-2014, 08:05 PM
Member
 
jacksonwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It now seems that I have changed the settings on my compact disc playback: it now sounds better using "Direct" than "Pure Direct" lately. My CD player is not bad, it is the Sony CDP-XA7ES. I was always worried that the Pioneer would be digitally sampling the Sony sampling, and I wanted the best sound possible. But after years using the "Pure Direct", I am now using the "Direct" selection and it sounds great.
jacksonwalker is online now  
post #17115 of 17116 Old 12-12-2014, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
redjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,826
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacksonwalker View Post
It now seems that I have changed the settings on my compact disc playback: it now sounds better using "Direct" than "Pure Direct" lately. My CD player is not bad, it is the Sony CDP-XA7ES. I was always worried that the Pioneer would be digitally sampling the Sony sampling, and I wanted the best sound possible. But after years using the "Pure Direct", I am now using the "Direct" selection and it sounds great.
You are feeding the SC with the analog out of the CD player - right? I don't have my SC-05 manual in front of me, but I believe Pure Direct turns off all signal processing and passes the analog signal straight through. In one of my earlier incarnations of my SC setup, music always sounded phenomenal using Pure Direct. Only a slight edge over Direct though.

redjr...
Pioneer Elite - A-20, DV-79AVi, BDP-HD1, SC-05

redjr is offline  
post #17116 of 17116 Old Today, 07:18 AM
Member
 
jacksonwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redjr View Post
You are feeding the SC with the analog out of the CD player - right? I don't have my SC-05 manual in front of me, but I believe Pure Direct turns off all signal processing and passes the analog signal straight through. In one of my earlier incarnations of my SC setup, music always sounded phenomenal using Pure Direct. Only a slight edge over Direct though.
Yes, the analog outputs. And since day one I have been using Pure Direct because it bypasses all signal processing. But as I said, lately I have been preferring the sound of Direct: maybe because it uses the room acoustics and the internal DAC, or maybe because I have gotten older and my hearing isn't as good as it used to be. I will continue to play with it.
Something else has also happened lately. I used to have to play vinyl pretty loud to get good bass response from my subwoofer (like about 6 to 4 on the readout). Now however I can not turn it up past 12, or the bass is so strong it vibrates by turntable causing feedback. I have not changed any controls on the SC-07 or the subwoofer, so I am confused as to why this is. I may have to recalibrate the setup.
jacksonwalker is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off