"Official" RX-V1900/RX-V3900 Thread - Page 203 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #6061 of 6063 Old 03-26-2015, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 219
^ The 3900 Receiver Manager software is different from the 1900, and it uses a network connection rather than RS-232. I uploaded it here: link

There are no instructions, but it's pretty self-explanatory. Async Mode lets you set things up first then download to the receiver later. Real Time mode lets you make changes immediately.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6062 of 6063 Old 03-26-2015, 07:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post
^ The 3900 Receiver Manager software is different from the 1900, and it uses a network connection rather than RS-232. I uploaded it here:

There are no instructions, but it's pretty self-explanatory. Async Mode lets you set things up first then download to the receiver later. Real Time mode lets you make changes immediately.
Thanks very much for posting that link.

I appreciate it.

Cheers
besty22 is online now  
post #6063 of 6063 Unread Today, 07:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
YDS12 Dock & other questions

Hi All,

I recently purchased the RX-V3900 ($450 AUD) and installed firmware 1.23.

Its a fantastic machine. So many options. I'm very impressed with it considering its age.
I'm even more impressed with Yamaha still providing firmware updates.

Anyway , I have connected it all up and calibrated it using the YPAO. Calibration reported my front speakers were wired incorrectly , I double checked every connection and they are all correct. I assume its something to do with running the front through a separate amplifier. (I have used a pioneer previously using mcacc which reported no wiring issues)
I am using an old Yamaha CR-840 as an amp for the main speakers purely because it was my late fathers and I really like the sound it produces and of course the look of it . (He was an electrical engineer and rebuilt the reciever).

I then bought a YDS 12 dock and hooked it up running Mode B for compatibility with the RXV3900 as per the instructions. The receiver displays unknown ipod for every ios device i plugged in. 5 in total. Ipod touch 2nd , 3rd gen, ipod nano touch, iphone 4 , iphone 4s.

I rolled back one of the ipods to ios 4.2 , still no good. All the devices charge and they all recognise they are in a dock. The receiver also displays ipod disconnected when i remove the ipod.

I am wondering if anyone else uses the YDS12 dock with the latest firmware 1.23? or with any other firmware version.

One other question i have, Is there any way to shuffle play all songs on a connected usb device? I have a 500GB drive which works great but I cant work out how to shuffle all songs, if this is an option. I worked out how to shuffle all songs in an album but thats about it.

I also wondered if anyone has any luck using a mac as a music server? All the info I can find is for windows machines. I have an apple tv connected but I find that its always requiring an update or some other issue

Cheers

Chris
besty22 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off