"Official" RX-V1900/RX-V3900 Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6043 Old 08-20-2008, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,766
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Yamaha is now shipping three new receivers for their fall line - The RX-V1900, the RX-V3900 and the RX-Z7.

(I did not mention the Z7 in this thread title, as I thought it probably deserves it's own thread. But it's similar enough to the 3900 to talk about it.)

The RX-V1900 adds (compared to the 1800,) HD Radio, Bluetooth A2DP (with dock), Sirius radio compatibility, and 8 point YPAO.

The RX-V3900 adds all of the above mentioned items. Additional features when compared to the RX-V3800 are SRS Circle Surround II, two HDMI outputs, Rhapsody, deinterlacing/scaling of HDMI, OSD over HDMI, HDMI audio to TV in standbye, and a number of video processing technologies due to the ABT 2010 chip

All receivers pass BTB/WTW according to initial user testing unlike the spring '08, fall '07 Yamaha receivers.

Reviews -

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8#post15012288

Official Product Links

RX-V1900 (MSRP - $1399.95 USD)
http://www.yamaha.com/yec/products/p...4&CTID=5000300
RX-V3900 (MSRP - $1899.95 USD)
http://www.yamaha.com/yec/products/p...3&CTID=5000300
RX-VZ7 (MSRP - $2699.95 USD)
http://www.yamaha.com/yec/products/p...2&CTID=5000300


RX-V3900/RX-V1900/Z7 key Features and Specs

Audio
--------
• Power Output 140x7 watts (20hz-20khz @8 ohms with .04% THD); 130 for the RX-V1900
• Dolby Digital Plus/TrueHD decoding
• DTS-HD High Resolution Audio/DTS-HD Master Audio decoding
• Neural Surround THX Technologies
• 192khz/24 bit Burr-Brown DACs
• Digital System Clock Isolator and Ultra Low Jitter PLL circuitry; RX-V1900 only mentions having Low Jitter PLL circuitry
• 8 channel input

Video
-------
• Scaling to 1080p; Analog only on 1900; 3900 allows HDMI to be scaled as well
• Four HDMI inputs
• One HDMI output on the 1900; Two HDMI outputs (simultaneous) on the 3900
• 24hz support
• Deep Color/xvYCC/Auto Lip Synch

Misc
-------
• iPod compatibility with YDS-11 dock
• HD Radio with iTunes tagging
• Bluetooth A2DP functionality
• Advanced multi-point YPAO
• Adaptive DRC (Dynamic Range Control) now enhanced with input source level compensation and YPAO speaker setup data
• Assignable amps for (up to three) zones

RX-V3900/Z7 only features
-------------------------------------
• WAV/MP3/WMA Internet Radio
• Windows Vista/DLNA supprt
• OSD over HDMI
• HDMI output in standbye mode
• Album art display on GUI
• Web browser control
• Zone 2 video output with OSD
• Zone mono
• USB port
• SRS Circle Surround II
• Anchor Bay VRS Technology with PReP™ (Progressive ReProcessing) (Via the ABT 2010 chip - see the ABT web page for details)

RX-Z7 only features
-------------------------------------
• Four zones
• Five HDMI inputs, with front input
• 38 vs 22 surround programs on the 1900/3900
• Multi-Point (w/Angle) (w/Angle appears to be the addition over the 1900/3900)
• Component video on zone2
• Optical out on zone 4

Q&A

* Do these receivers pass BTB/WTW over HDMI?
To the best of my knowledge, yes. The Z7 is unconfirmed as it's not been shipped.

* Do these receivers video process HDMI, or analog only?
The RX-V3900 and RX-Z9 will deinterlace and scale both analog and digital up to 1080p

* How do I get 6.1/7.1 from 5.1?
You can cycle through extended processing modes using the 'Ext Sur' button on the remote. Dolby Pro Logic IIx is a popular choice for processing 5.1 movies.

* Can I apply modes like Dolby Pro Logic IIx to HDMI/MPCM as when watching Blu-ray movies using a player set to output HDMI/MPCM?
Yes, it works swimmingly

* Can I use presence speakers at the same time as the rear surround speakers?
No. If you want to do that, save up, rob a bank or whatever, and get the Z11 (I think the Z9 also allows this.)

* What is Cinema 3D DSP?
You tell me. It does not make much of an impact in my setup. But to try it out, you will need to hookup presence speakers

* Why don't my TrueHD or DTS-HD Master Audio lights light up?
You have a PS3 or you are not sending bitstream.

* Which DSP mode is best?
That's a personal decision. In many people's opinions, Dolby Pro Logic IIx movie or music are as good as anything else. But if you paid a lot for the 3900, why not try them out yourself?

* How does HDMI standbye mode work?
Really well I suggest using fixed, set to your TV source. Make sure you have selected the correct HDMI input and HDMI output. Hit the standbye power button and after a few seconds, your receiver will be off, but your TV will be getting both audio and video over HDMI. Potentially useful for people wanting to watch TV with the receiver off.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6043 Old 08-20-2008, 06:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom_Bombadil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Old Forest
Posts: 3,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
For pics and specs:
http://www.newhivi.com/news_html/2008-8-9/_2469.htm

Click on Page 2 for V1900 info.
Tom_Bombadil is offline  
post #3 of 6043 Old 08-20-2008, 06:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,655
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 742 Post(s)
Liked: 833
Would have been nice if they threw in HD Radio on the 3900.

Hold on, those specs say it does have HD Radio. Does anyone know if that's true?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #4 of 6043 Old 08-20-2008, 06:50 PM
Member
 
Rudeross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wales WI
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The RX-V863 has HD radio tuner for about $1K , they better include it in the upper midrange line. I suspect it will be included and is the feature I'm waiting for.
Rudeross is offline  
post #5 of 6043 Old 08-21-2008, 04:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,655
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 742 Post(s)
Liked: 833
Well keep in mind the 3800 didn't have HD Radio.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #6 of 6043 Old 08-21-2008, 04:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,655
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 742 Post(s)
Liked: 833
I wonder if this Anchor Bay chip is better than the last. The last one in the 3800 certainly didn't get great reviews.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #7 of 6043 Old 08-21-2008, 06:58 PM
Member
 
Rudeross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wales WI
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ya, the 3800 didn't have HD radio, nor will the non US 3900's, however Yamaha will include HD Radio on USA 1900/3900 models. They set the bar with the 863.
Rudeross is offline  
post #8 of 6043 Old 08-22-2008, 03:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,766
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

I wonder if this Anchor Bay chip is better than the last. The last one in the 3800 certainly didn't get great reviews.

I know that the RX-V2700 had the Anchor Bay 1010, a basic scaler chip. It's deinterlacer chip though, a key component of the video processing solution, was not an Anchor Bay chip. If you look at the HQV benchmarks, deinterlacing performance is a very big part of the tests, and I don't think we can blame Anchor Bay for the 2700/3800's poor performance in this area.

According to T2K's thread (http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...ght=anchor+bay), the 3800 uses the same solution. The 2010, on the other hand, is an all-in-one video processor.

I would hope would could expect a high level of performance from the 3900 over the 3800/2700.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #9 of 6043 Old 08-22-2008, 06:19 PM
Member
 
lvbeethoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A little more info on the new Yamahas including the Z7. Looks like October release, but you know how things get released before the actual date. Some info on the Z7's image enhancement abilities although Yamaha does not consider them calibration

http://www.twice.com/article/CA6589512.html
lvbeethoven is offline  
post #10 of 6043 Old 08-22-2008, 07:35 PM
Member
 
fastek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was just on Yamaha site and notice that they just posted all the new AV receivers...RX-Z7, RX-V3900 and RX-V1900 very nice. Only issue is that they have not posted the owners manuals yet..but the back pannel images are impressive...http://www.yamaha.com/hometheater I posted this link on the wrong thread...put it on the offical 3800/1800 by mistake LOL....
fastek is offline  
post #11 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 06:42 AM
Newbie
 
brotherd80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had the RX-V1500 for 3 years now. Looking forward to the 1800's price to go down. Did a comparison on the web site, don't need the bluetooth, sirius and HD radio tuner. But the upgraded YPAO looks tempting.
brotherd80 is offline  
post #12 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamZX11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by brotherd80 View Post

I've had the RX-V1500 for 3 years now. Looking forward to the 1800's price to go down. Did a comparison on the web site, don't need the bluetooth, sirius and HD radio tuner. But the upgraded YPAO looks tempting.

You can already get the 1800 from 6th avenue at a very good price, check the 1800 thread. I picked one up last week.
WilliamZX11 is offline  
post #13 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 07:11 AM
Member
 
BBQmyNUTZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Northern VA, USA
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very excited about the 3900. Its the first receiver I've seen that seems to have everything I'm looking for without any compromises.
BBQmyNUTZ is offline  
post #14 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 07:26 AM
Newbie
 
brotherd80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamZX11 View Post

You can already get the 1800 from 6th avenue at a very good price, check the 1800 thread. I picked one up last week.

I'm from Toronto, Canada. Thxs anyway
brotherd80 is offline  
post #15 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,766
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Until this post a manual link on the 3900 page, here's a link to the 3900 manual. Changing the URL to '1900' does not seem to work. I have not tried too many permuations.

I read through the manual, and there were no surprises. I did not fully understand how the HD tuner memories worked from the desription. I think it will be obvious once I have hands on access.

http://www2.yamaha.co.jp/manual/pdf/...RX-V3900_U.pdf

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #16 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 3900 manual still says that you can not upconvert 1080p component to 1080p HDMI. I wonder why it has that requirement?

Old Xbox 360 owners are still screwed!
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #17 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What exactly would compel you to upgrade to either any of these x900 series receivers over an RX-V663 and over a grand of extra cash? I still fail to see what these new receivers actually offer.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #18 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,766
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post

What exactly would compel you to upgrade to either any of these x900 series receivers over an RX-V663 and over a grand of extra cash? I still fail to see what these new receivers actually offer.

To name a few things both the 1900/3900 have over the 663

* HD Radio
* Four HDMI Inputs (vs. two for the 663)
* More power
* Adaptive DRC

To name a few things the 3900 has over the 663 (and the 1900)

* HDMI video scaling
* Potentially superior video processing using ABT's 2010 VP; The deinterlacer, in particular, should be excellent, we will have to see
* The 3900 has internet radio which is useful for parties or for a change of pace
* The 3900 has various internet related music streaming options

I don't see the 1900 as a big step up from the 1800. I don't see why a 663 owner would buy one either. That would be a waste of money for many people. HD Radio and extra HDMI inputs may not be a compelling reason to fork over a lot of hard earned jack.

The 3900 on the other hand adds a lot of useful features over even the 3800.

I own the RX-V2700, and the 3900 offers a lot over the 2700. The 2700 meets my needs, but I am seriously considering the 3900. It adds HBR decoding, in case that becomes useful at some point. It adds an HDMI input which I want. It adds HD Radio which could be nice. It adds WMA to internet radio capability which should increase the number of usable stations by a lot. It's video processor looks excellent as mentioned above. I don't think a quality deinterlacer as necessary in a receiver, but it gives me options for potentially improving my video quality. It adds Adaptive DRC which could be welcome, I have to test it out to see.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #19 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 10:19 AM
Member
 
lvbeethoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post

What exactly would compel you to upgrade to either any of these x900 series receivers over an RX-V663 and over a grand of extra cash? I still fail to see what these new receivers actually offer.

For me:
- 4 HDMI inputs - absolute must. I could use more.
- Upscaling / de-interlacing - don't know the quality yet.
- Networking with other components such as your PC (which can actual interface with receiver) and online FW updates (nice if this ever happens).
- Sound quality - tbd
- Cosmetic - I prefer the hidden front control panel
- Advanced multipoint YPAO
- GUI (don't know if the 663 has this)
- Remote - I'm looking at the Harmony One, but hoping that the remote with the 3900 is good enough. It does have Macro and looks similar to the Z11's. Can anyone comment how good the remote is on the Z11?
- All other extra features are just gravy.

I'm not on a tight budget so the extra features outweigh the price for me. Deal breaker will be the clipping issue.
lvbeethoven is offline  
post #20 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,766
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 99
My guess - If this thing clips, Yamaha will sell fewer than if it does not clip. Yamaha should probably know this. It's sorta irrelevant whether they are doing the correct thing or not if sales suffer.

My RX-V2700 remote is ok for basic tasks. Don't expect the 2700's remote to be a Harmony. Powering on your TV, playing and stopping DVDs etc. will probably all work fine.

With my Tivo, I can't abide even using my Harmony (which I use in the bedroom.) The Tivo remote is too perfect and can be operated in darkness by touch alone (why does that sound dirty?)

Even the Harmony can't control a PS3, or I would consider one for the living room setup. At the moment I am juggling 5 remotes.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #21 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post

To name a few things both the 1900/3900 have over the 663

* HD Radio
* Four HDMI Inputs (vs. two for the 663)
* More power
* Adaptive DRC

To name a few things the 3900 has over the 663 (and the 1900)

* HDMI video scaling
* Potentially superior video processing using ABT's 2010 VP; The deinterlacer, in particular, should be excellent, we will have to see
* The 3900 has internet radio which is useful for parties or for a change of pace
* The 3900 has various internet related music streaming options

I don't see the 1900 as a big step up from the 1800. I don't see why a 663 owner would buy one either. That would be a waste of money for many people. HD Radio and extra HDMI inputs may not be a compelling reason to fork over a lot of hard earned jack.

The 3900 on the other hand adds a lot of useful features over even the 3800.

I own the RX-V2700, and the 3900 offers a lot over the 2700. The 2700 meets my needs, but I am seriously considering the 3900. It adds HBR decoding, in case that becomes useful at some point. It adds an HDMI input which I want. It adds HD Radio which could be nice. It adds WMA to internet radio capability which should increase the number of usable stations by a lot. It's video processor looks excellent as mentioned above. I don't think a quality deinterlacer as necessary in a receiver, but it gives me options for potentially improving my video quality. It adds Adaptive DRC which could be welcome, I have to test it out to see.

The RX-V663 has ADRC and it works extremely well.

This may just be me but the following things are all useless to me. I would never use any of them so I certainly would not pay for them.

* HD Radio (The name is so misleading. This is just crappy compressed "Hybrid digital" radio. Utterly useless to me.

* Four HDMI Inputs (vs. two for the 663). My Monoprice switch gives me a total of 5 HDMI inputs. That is all I will ever need. I will run out of power outlets before I use up 5 HDMI inputs.

* More power - My Rotel amp gives me all the power I need. In fact my RX-V663 gives me all the power I will ever need.

Unfortunately, Internet radio is handcuffed in terms of adding stations. The internet radio licensing fees will destroy that industry. Plus I already have a computer hooked to my receiver via HDMI with 7.1 Channel PCM audio. Anything I want on the net is right there for me.

I don't believe in scalers for HD material and I don't watch SD material. The ABT scaler would never get used in my house.

Now there are a few things I would like to see in a new Yamaha receiver. I wish they would finally fix all of the bugs in their lower end receivers! They fixed the BTB/WTW issue for the Z11. Why can't they do that for the other models?

If the new models work perfectly with a computer(pass BTB and can do 7.1 Channel PCM with an ATI card) out of the box then that would be worth the price of admission!
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #22 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,766
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Out of curiosity, if you have already decided these features are useless to you, a point which I would never dispute why were you looking at the thread? Did you want to be convinced they added a lot, or did you feel it was your moral right to discourage others?

My thoughts on your points -

Perhaps HD radio is not very useful. I think it's nice to have the option to actually check it out though, as I have yet to hear it.

I find external switches to be clunky and they add more wiring clutter; I have enough.

It would be great to not have to watch any SD source. But impractical. Even if you had a DVD player with a great VP, there's still SD cable. Anything that could make Speed TV look better would be welcome. Cinnamax still has a lot of SD movies. Not every movie is getting shown on their HD channel.

They have not killed of internet radio yet. Some feeds are regular broadcast stations which have been around for what? Eight years? If they were going to kill them off, they would have. And then there's indepedent material. I think alternate distribution channels could likely increase for artists rather than decrease, and internet radio is one way for bands to get their music out to people.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #23 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post

Out of curiosity, if you have already decided these features are useless to you, a point which I would never dispute why were you looking at the thread? Did you want to be convinced they added a lot, or did you feel it was your moral right to discourage others?

My thoughts on your points -

Perhaps HD radio is not very useful. I think it's nice to have the option to actually check it out though, as I have yet to hear it.

I find external switches to be clunky and they add more wiring clutter; I have enough.

It would be great to not have to watch any SD source. But impractical. Even if you had a DVD player with a great VP, there's still SD cable. Anything that could make Speed TV look better would be welcome. Cinnamax still has a lot of SD movies. Not every movie is getting shown on their HD channel.

They have not killed of internet radio yet. Some feeds are regular broadcast stations which have been around for what? Eight years? If they were going to kill them off, they would have. And then there's indepedent material. I think alternate distribution channels could likely increase for artists rather than decrease, and internet radio is one way for bands to get their music out to people.

Yea I was just shocked to see what they added and how much more they are charging. Just trying to give a different perspective that is all. So many people just assume that you can't get a feature rich receiver for under $1000. That was the case 1-2 years ago. However, now it seems that the extra $$$s don't really buy you that much.

Each person gets to state their case and each person gets to make up their own mind based on that information. Boy isn't the internet great? I bought my first receiver(Yamaha HTR-5660 4 years ago). I bought it solely based on a recommendation from the guy at Best Buy because I didn't know where to look for AV information. It turned out to be a great receiver. However, I definitely would have appreciated more opinions than the one teenager at BB.

I seriously don't watch it unless it is in HD! Also I wouldn't be so sure internet radio won't get killed off.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #24 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,766
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post

However, now it seems that the extra $$$s don't really buy you that much.

The devaluation of the features these receivers bring to the table, especially the 3900 is very much a function of the features you personally value.

Obviously people will differ in how much they value certain features.

Many of the 3900s features are not available in a cheaper model.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #25 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 03:24 PM
Newbie
 
M_M_P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to manual RX-V1900 doesnt have USB port
M_M_P is offline  
post #26 of 6043 Old 08-25-2008, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the 1900 have an updated GUI? Now that would be a feature worth paying for.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #27 of 6043 Old 08-26-2008, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
GGKoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJHuman View Post

I own the RX-V2700, and the 3900 offers a lot over the 2700. The 2700 meets my needs, but I am seriously considering the 3900. It adds HBR decoding, in case that becomes useful at some point. It adds an HDMI input which I want. It adds HD Radio which could be nice. It adds WMA to internet radio capability which should increase the number of usable stations by a lot. It's video processor looks excellent as mentioned above. I don't think a quality deinterlacer as necessary in a receiver, but it gives me options for potentially improving my video quality. It adds Adaptive DRC which could be welcome, I have to test it out to see.


I'm like you... I have the 2700 and while it does everything I can presently do now. The 3900 has everything that I can do now PLUS everything I could do in the future. Plus its 1.3, extra HDMI port and has a Sirius built in. Hmmm...
GGKoul is offline  
post #28 of 6043 Old 08-26-2008, 05:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,766
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I don't really have the money for it, but I will likely buy it. I was hoping to maybe sell my 2700 and a few other items.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is online now  
post #29 of 6043 Old 08-26-2008, 05:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
uni_panther's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be buying this. I have been on the fence for 3 years now on upgrading my my entire home theatre situation. It has been put off due to many circumstances but alas, this is the year. I initially started my salivating back when the 2700 was getting ready to come out. I have an older receiver not even worth mentioning. No HDMI, no optical audio, a real old out of date one for sure. This will be my new receiver. Always been a fan of Yamaha and this has everything I am looking for and everything that I don't even need.

The biggest thing I like about the 3900 is the 2 HDMI outs. This is important to me. This gives me the ability to have my PS3 coming out of 1 port specifically calibrated to that particular tv input for Blu-Ray. Then I can also have the other output going to an input calibrated for an entirely different purpose. This is a major plus feature to me.
uni_panther is offline  
post #30 of 6043 Old 08-26-2008, 06:00 PM
Senior Member
 
GGKoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hamilton, ON
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uni_panther View Post

I will be buying this. I have been on the fence for 3 years now on upgrading my my entire home theatre situation. It has been put off due to many circumstances but alas, this is the year. I initially started my salivating back when the 2700 was getting ready to come out. I have an older receiver not even worth mentioning. No HDMI, no optical audio, a real old out of date one for sure. This will be my new receiver. Always been a fan of Yamaha and this has everything I am looking for and everything that I don't even need.

The biggest thing I like about the 3900 is the 2 HDMI outs. This is important to me. This gives me the ability to have my PS3 coming out of 1 port specifically calibrated to that particular tv input for Blu-Ray. Then I can also have the other output going to an input calibrated for an entirely different purpose. This is a major plus feature to me.


Yep, I'll be listed my 2700 on ebay in a week or so.

Didn't even notice the 2 HDMI out. Too bad I can't do 1 HDMI out to Zone 1 Video and another for Zone 2 video. As I'm having a hard time reasoning why I would need 2 HDMI outs to the same source?
GGKoul is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off