The "official" The Onkyo TX-SR706 Owners Thread - Page 91 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2701 of 2825 Old 06-18-2011, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WhskyTangoFoxtrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by primetimeguy View Post

True, but can that built in sub really handle 20hz or lower LFE?

Probably not at the location that the speaker will need to produce the higher frequencies optimally. Compromise will have to be made at the expense of clarity or bass reproduction.

A Nice Radio Station with Great Music. For Those That Like That Sort of Thing: RadioParadise.com

WhskyTangoFoxtrt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2702 of 2825 Old 06-20-2011, 08:54 AM
Newbie
 
nosfed2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am getting ready to buy a 3D tv and a 3D Blu ray player and just wanted to know if this receiver will still work with all my HDMI cables going to it and than to the TV??
nosfed2 is offline  
post #2703 of 2825 Old 06-20-2011, 12:11 PM
Member
 
thx5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosfed2 View Post

I am getting ready to buy a 3D tv and a 3D Blu ray player and just wanted to know if this receiver will still work with all my HDMI cables going to it and than to the TV??

3D takes hdmi 1.4 this receiver is hdmi 1.3. You will have to bypass the receiver with the hdmi straight to the monitor and add an optical digital audio cable for sound.
thx5150 is offline  
post #2704 of 2825 Old 06-23-2011, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
efotonik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an Integra 6.9, was told that it is the same as the Onkyo SR706....sorry if I'm in the wrong place

I'm having an issue where I cannot get the audio listening modes to display (and potentially output) correctly from the receiver when using the PS3 as blu-ray/dvd player. I have the PS3 setup to bitstream but all I get out of the receiver is "multichannel".

Is this correctly processing the audio and giving me the best listening condition?

Another question - I noticed in the receiver settings I can only set the speaker type to either 4ohm or 6ohm....do these receivers not support 8ohm speakers? Do I just set to 6 and not turn things up?
efotonik is offline  
post #2705 of 2825 Old 06-23-2011, 11:23 AM
Member
 
thx5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by efotonik View Post

I have an Integra 6.9, was told that it is the same as the Onkyo SR706....sorry if I'm in the wrong place

I'm having an issue where I cannot get the audio listening modes to display (and potentially output) correctly from the receiver when using the PS3 as blu-ray/dvd player. I have the PS3 setup to but all I get out of the receiver is "multichannel".

Is this correctly processing the audio and giving me the best listening condition?

Another question - I noticed in the receiver settings I can only set the speaker type to either 4ohm or 6ohm....do these receivers not support 8ohm speakers? Do I just set to 6 and not turn things up?

To check what is being processed use the display for the ps3 and it will say 5.1,6.1,or 7.1. I have the same problem with the onkyo receiver. I set my receiver on thx and leave it. I look at the speaker display to see what is being processed whether it's 5.1 or 7.1. if it is a 5.1 i use a dts matrix to decode ton7.1. The manual I think states that the multi-channel display is all your going to get. It won't say dts hd or dd.
As far as 6 or 8 ohms go, I can't really remember what the manual says except that if you have 8 ohm speakers set to 6 ohms. I can check when I get home and make sure.
thx5150 is offline  
post #2706 of 2825 Old 06-23-2011, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tony Chick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA 91403
Posts: 851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosfed2 View Post

I am getting ready to buy a 3D tv and a 3D Blu ray player and just wanted to know if this receiver will still work with all my HDMI cables going to it and than to the TV??

No it won't, I just went through this and ended up reluctantly retiring my 706. I replaced it with the HT-R360 (NR609 minus PC input and THX cert) and the 3D works fine now.
Tony Chick is offline  
post #2707 of 2825 Old 06-24-2011, 03:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WhskyTangoFoxtrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by thx5150 View Post

3D takes hdmi 1.4 this receiver is hdmi 1.3. You will have to bypass the receiver with the hdmi straight to the monitor and add an optical digital audio cable for sound.

Maybe. Maybe not.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1234061

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI#ref_3dJ

A Nice Radio Station with Great Music. For Those That Like That Sort of Thing: RadioParadise.com

WhskyTangoFoxtrt is offline  
post #2708 of 2825 Old 06-24-2011, 05:31 AM
Member
 
thx5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


I don't have 3d just know what I read somewhere that the new hdmi 1.4 was for the 3d signal. And judging what member Tony chick said it wouldn't.
thx5150 is offline  
post #2709 of 2825 Old 06-24-2011, 06:15 AM
Member
 
thx5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thx5150 View Post


I don't have 3d just know what I read somewhere that the new hdmi 1.4 was for the 3d signal. And judging what member Tony chick said it wouldn't.

I read wikipodea. An hdmi 1.3 cable at a high frequency can display 3d information but if the receivers output is only at a lower frequency, I'm thinking that's where the problem comes in. If you don't want go upgrade to a higher receiver then you have to just bypass the hdmi on the receiver and connect directly to the monitor. Then connect a digital audio cable from the 3d blu ray player to the receiver input.
thx5150 is offline  
post #2710 of 2825 Old 06-24-2011, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
efotonik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thx5150 View Post

To check what is being processed use the display for the ps3 and it will say 5.1,6.1,or 7.1. I have the same problem with the onkyo receiver. I set my receiver on thx and leave it. I look at the speaker display to see what is being processed whether it's 5.1 or 7.1. if it is a 5.1 i use a dts matrix to decode ton7.1. The manual I think states that the multi-channel display is all your going to get. It won't say dts hd or dd.
As far as 6 or 8 ohms go, I can't really remember what the manual says except that if you have 8 ohm speakers set to 6 ohms. I can check when I get home and make sure.

Thanks for the info. This works fine during a movie or Netflix playback but there is no on screen display from the PS3 during games which is a tad unfortunate. It's not a HUGE deal, just one of those things you pay for and would like to see on the read-out if possible

Thanks again!
efotonik is offline  
post #2711 of 2825 Old 06-30-2011, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
efotonik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know the specifications for the "Phones" output on the front end of the receiver?

I'm looking to get nice headphones and have been reading up on those and ability to drive comes up quite frequently with some of the phones. Any idea what output levels are?
efotonik is offline  
post #2712 of 2825 Old 06-30-2011, 08:57 AM
Member
 
thx5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by efotonik View Post

Does anyone know the specifications for the "Phones" output on the front end of the receiver?

I'm looking to get nice headphones and have been reading up on those and ability to drive comes up quite frequently with some of the phones. Any idea what output levels are?

Don't know. I don't use headphones.
thx5150 is offline  
post #2713 of 2825 Old 06-30-2011, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
efotonik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if there is any Dolby processing that happens out of the port?
Is "Dolby Headphone" applied or some other matrix/3D interpretation of the 5.1/7.1 signals?
efotonik is offline  
post #2714 of 2825 Old 07-01-2011, 07:39 AM
Senior Member
 
efotonik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another question:
Per the manual the receiver is capable of passing audio OUT through the Optical Out port on the backside. Is this only available when the audio is sent via optical IN or would it pass audio received over HDMI to the Optical Out?

The wording in the manual is a bit confusing and I don't have any optical cables around to try sadly
efotonik is offline  
post #2715 of 2825 Old 07-01-2011, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,431
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by efotonik View Post

Another question:
Per the manual the receiver is capable of passing audio OUT through the Optical Out port on the backside. Is this only available when the audio is sent via optical IN or would it pass audio received over HDMI to the Optical Out?

The wording in the manual is a bit confusing and I don't have any optical cables around to try sadly

Hi efotonik, optical out will not work with HDMI in. Only works with optical in or coaxial in.
JChin is offline  
post #2716 of 2825 Old 07-01-2011, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
lvtdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The receiver only outputs stereo signals through the headphone jack. If you are listening to any other setting it automatically switches to stereo when you plug in the phones. Also, the headphone output is very good. It drives my Sennheiser HD-540's very well, and I saw another person had very good results with his Beyerdynamic phones. My cousin tried out his Grado Signatures on my receiver, and they did quite well, too. Unless you get some ridiculous phones, I don't think you'll have any problems.

The specs on the headphone jack should be in the manual. I'd look, but I'm at work right now.

lvtdude is offline  
post #2717 of 2825 Old 07-05-2011, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
efotonik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Hi efotonik, optical out will not work with HDMI in. Only works with optical in or coaxial in.

Thanks for the verification, was doing a bit of brainstorming with a few other AVS'ers and the thought was to have the PS3 do video over HDMI and force audio over Optical. I would drop out the HD audio formats from Blu-ray media but I don't have a ton of that so it seems like an acceptable compromise.

Optical in(to) the receiver should let me run Optical out into another device (Mixamp or otherwise) to gain Dolby Headphone or whatever else.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lvtdude View Post

The receiver only outputs stereo signals through the headphone jack. If you are listening to any other setting it automatically switches to stereo when you plug in the phones. Also, the headphone output is very good. It drives my Sennheiser HD-540's very well, and I saw another person had very good results with his Beyerdynamic phones. My cousin tried out his Grado Signatures on my receiver, and they did quite well, too. Unless you get some ridiculous phones, I don't think you'll have any problems.

The specs on the headphone jack should be in the manual. I'd look, but I'm at work right now.

Thanks for the feedback on the phones output, very useful! (and confidence inspiring ).
It has been driving my dad's HD595's very well (to my ears) so it's cool to know that it has to gusto to push a few others too

I paged through the manual but couldn't find an actual specification output for that port, I may have missed it.
efotonik is offline  
post #2718 of 2825 Old 07-05-2011, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
lvtdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by efotonik View Post

Thanks for the verification, was doing a bit of brainstorming with a few other AVS'ers and the thought was to have the PS3 do video over HDMI and force audio over Optical. I would drop out the HD audio formats from Blu-ray media but I don't have a ton of that so it seems like an acceptable compromise.

Optical in(to) the receiver should let me run Optical out into another device (Mixamp or otherwise) to gain Dolby Headphone or whatever else.



Thanks for the feedback on the phones output, very useful! (and confidence inspiring ).
It has been driving my dad's HD595's very well (to my ears) so it's cool to know that it has to gusto to push a few others too

I paged through the manual but couldn't find an actual specification output for that port, I may have missed it.

I looked in the manual, and it isn't there. I'm a bit surprised.

lvtdude is offline  
post #2719 of 2825 Old 07-06-2011, 05:01 AM
Senior Member
 
efotonik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lvtdude View Post
I looked in the manual, and it isn't there. I'm a bit surprised.
Glad I didn't just miss something obviously printed. With my luck it would have been its own chapter heading in bold, 36 font

Despite not having the actual specs it certainly sounds like the output is sufficient for even large, high-ohm headphones so I'll take that to heart and enjoy.

Thanks for all of the help!
efotonik is offline  
post #2720 of 2825 Old 07-09-2011, 03:33 PM
Member
 
jlm86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had this unit for about 2 years. My paradigm monitor fronts/sub, klipsch center/rear have never given me the "huge" theater sound that i would like.

Good sound, but not the enormous ground shaking i crave....

Have 52" Samsung LCD....

What are some good 5.1/7.1 packages i could get for around 1200.00 or so?

thanks
jlm86 is offline  
post #2721 of 2825 Old 07-11-2011, 11:27 AM
Member
 
thx5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlm86 View Post

I have had this unit for about 2 years. My paradigm monitor fronts/sub, klipsch center/rear have never given me the "huge" theater sound that i would like.

Good sound, but not the enormous ground shaking i crave....

Have 52" Samsung LCD....

What are some good 5.1/7.1 packages i could get for around 1200.00 or so?

thanks

You could try definitive technology. I put together used and new speakers for about that price.
thx5150 is offline  
post #2722 of 2825 Old 07-11-2011, 11:37 AM
Member
 
thx5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlm86 View Post

I have had this unit for about 2 years. My paradigm monitor fronts/sub, klipsch center/rear have never given me the "huge" theater sound that i would like.

Good sound, but not the enormous ground shaking i crave....

Have 52" Samsung LCD....

What are some good 5.1/7.1 packages i could get for around 1200.00 or so?

thanks

I have 2 def tech. Bp 2002TL's and CLR2300 center and 4 bp 1.2x surrounds. The center and towers are powered with subs in them. They give very big sound. You can search on eBay or craigslist for the older models speakers.
thx5150 is offline  
post #2723 of 2825 Old 08-01-2011, 01:40 PM
Member
 
Hatboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Tampa
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What 2.1 setting is everyone using to listen to music? What do you find works best?

TIA

"We chase misprinted lies"
Hatboy is offline  
post #2724 of 2825 Old 08-01-2011, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 3,664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatboy View Post

What 2.1 setting is everyone using to listen to music? What do you find works best?

TIA

stereo
primetimeguy is online now  
post #2725 of 2825 Old 08-01-2011, 06:33 PM
Member
 
Hatboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Tampa
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Easy enough. Thank you.

"We chase misprinted lies"
Hatboy is offline  
post #2726 of 2825 Old 08-11-2011, 06:19 AM
Newbie
 
junyab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an Onkyo 706 receiver with video problems.

Any video source (TV, PS3, BR Player) that runs through the receiver (via HDMI) while it is on shows as a foggy/fuzzy/white/washed out picture. I can kind of see the screen behind the fogginess, but can't really make the picture out.

If I turn the receiver off, the picture still seems to be able pass through the receiver and comes out clean.

I tried switching out the HDMI cables, but to no avail.

Is this the same kind of HMDI board failure others have experienced? I ask because this fogginess seems to be a different symptom than the video/audio cutting out sporadically.
junyab is offline  
post #2727 of 2825 Old 08-11-2011, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WhskyTangoFoxtrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
You might try a hard reset.

Unfortunately, it sounds like it may need to be serviced.

A Nice Radio Station with Great Music. For Those That Like That Sort of Thing: RadioParadise.com

WhskyTangoFoxtrt is offline  
post #2728 of 2825 Old 08-22-2011, 01:09 PM
Newbie
 
junyab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hard reset worked! *phew*

Thanks WTF!
junyab is offline  
post #2729 of 2825 Old 08-22-2011, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WhskyTangoFoxtrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by junyab View Post

Hard reset worked! *phew*

Thanks WTF!

Sure - no problem.

Enjoy.

A Nice Radio Station with Great Music. For Those That Like That Sort of Thing: RadioParadise.com

WhskyTangoFoxtrt is offline  
post #2730 of 2825 Old 08-31-2011, 09:27 AM
Newbie
 
moverdear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way for me to update the firmware on the ONKYO TX-SR706? I had my LCD go bad, and when they replaced the main board, it had a newer version of firmware on it. My ONKYO has problems with that version and they told me I can not go back on the TV. Was wondering if I could try and update the ONKYO.
thx

UPDATE: I guess I should specify what issue I am having. It started out that the video would go away on the TV and not come back. The audio stayed on. I would have to turn the TV off for a few minutes and then it would work again. Did this a lot. After the power supply was replaced, same thing. Switched the main board on the TV and it fixed it, but created a hand shake problem. The video will go away for about 5 seconds and then come back. So, was wanting to update firmware if possible.
moverdear is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo , Onkyo Tx Sr706 7 1 Channel Home Theater Receiver Black , Onkyo Tx Sr605 Receiver , Toshiba , Toshiba 52hm84 120 Watt Tv Lamp Replacement
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off