Harman Kardon AVR 7550HD (2008 announcement) - Page 45 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1321 of 1616 Old 02-27-2012, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 133
My preference is to unmount the fan..
Then invert the fan and let a small amount of oil drip down to the center of the fan hub. Just a little is required, don't over oil it.
Use a lite oil like sewing machine oil, most hardware/building supply stores sell this in an applicator. Also once you have oiled the fan, we run the fan for a few minutes unmounted with the top cover off so that any extra oil is kicked out. Wipe the exposed blades well and reinstall...


Just my $0.02...
M Code is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1322 of 1616 Old 02-28-2012, 02:39 AM
Member
 
The Tophinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS650 View Post

Question:
From the photo, the fan is facing/blowing to the side. The blades facing outside. Since the shaft and the body of the fan under the circuit board, how do I oil it? Do I just drop a drop of oil on the center of the blades, where the axis tip is?

The shaft is not obvious but it is on the inside of the case. The easiest way is to use a propellant like WD-40 or whatever you have access to. A light blast will lubricate it and make it happy. I would use a can of air to clean it first then lube it.
I don't think they did a good job with that fan. The case design did not let the fan work very well. Half of it's output is blocked by the design of the cover. If mine has a problem with it's outflow in the future I will modify the outer case to give it a full flow.
The Tophinator is offline  
post #1323 of 1616 Old 03-10-2012, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
redsandvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HI
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by aditya112 View Post

I have had the 7550HD for a few months...recently I am experiencing problems similar to Surfcane. I power on the receive and in a few seconds it turns off...I press power again and it come on an stays on.

Called the tech support, according to them (1) your speakers could be bad - disconnect and reconnect one at a time, (2) connection to components could be bad - disconnect and reconnect a/v components one at a time, (3) and finally reset the HK machine if nothing works.

I have tried 1, and 2...still same problem...hesitant to do a reset...any suggestions or advice? Thanks in advance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zmaximus View Post

I am afraid #3 wont help either...I had to send it back and got a new unit (same exact issue of shutting down...gets worse as time goes by),

Z

Just in case anyone else has or starts having this problem, I'd also suggest getting an exchange from HK. As Zmaximus said, it gets worse. After a while it won't stay on, even after powering on multiple times. That's what happened to mine. Seems like a number of people in this thread have had this problem. Anyone been able to find out the cause?


I want Ed on DVD/Blu-ray!
redsandvb is offline  
post #1324 of 1616 Old 03-10-2012, 11:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
jtenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post






As I posted previously...
After the 7550HD/760/660 were approved for MP start the original design team was terminated and everything shifted to China. And I have seen & heard that certain OE components were revised for less expensive ones to save $...






Just my $0.02..

So are newer refurbished ones they're selling now more likely to have problems or suffer any degradation in sq? I've been looking forward to purchasing one but if the quality is being reduced then maybe I should consider something else.

jtenn is offline  
post #1325 of 1616 Old 03-11-2012, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtenn View Post

So are newer refurbished ones they're selling now more likely to have problems or suffer any degradation in sq? I've been looking forward to purchasing one but if the quality is being reduced then maybe I should consider something else.

Its like a crap shoot..
If built before May 2010 most likely you should be OK. Also make sure to get the HDMI 1.4 firmware update as well..

Just my $0.02..
M Code is offline  
post #1326 of 1616 Old 03-11-2012, 12:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
jtenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post

Its like a crap shoot..
If built before May 2010 most likely you should be OK. Also make sure to get the HDMI 1.4 firmware update as well..

Just my $0.02..

So some of the refurbs are receivers made before 2010? I figured all of them would be newer models. I'm just afraid of spending $1100+ and ending up having problems. It seems people are still having problems with the fans. You would think that a refurbished model would have upgraded fans that would eliminate the problem people are having.

jtenn is offline  
post #1327 of 1616 Old 03-11-2012, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtenn View Post

So some of the refurbs are receivers made before 2010? I figured all of them would be newer models. I'm just afraid of spending $1100+ and ending up having problems. It seems people are still having problems with the fans. You would think that a refurbished model would have upgraded fans that would eliminate the problem people are having.

When HK refurbs AVRs they accumulate for a minimum qty lot...
Then they set up a mini-line which goes through each AVR for a functional checkout. What production date on each AVR is random, could be later or earlier..

IMHO..
I don't think they will replace either fan unless it is noisy @ the time of doing the functional checkout. But those are good questions which only HK can answer..

Just my $0.02..
M Code is offline  
post #1328 of 1616 Old 03-12-2012, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
CHRIS650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update!

Previously, I had fan noise. Talked to the HK support. They are sending out another unit to replace. It's on the way.

For the past few days, I had new problems:
Sometimes, when I switch from one hdmi to another or the input resets, the image the receiver puts out is weid: all purple color on everything. I have to reset the input or switch to another hdmi and switch back. That solves the problem. Question: what is that? a sign of video processor about to be burned out? or....

What else to watch out when I receive the replacement unit in a few days?

(The HK support tech promised me to have the warehouse double check quality before they send out the replacement unit).
CHRIS650 is offline  
post #1329 of 1616 Old 03-12-2012, 06:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
jtenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So what would the 7550HD compare to in other manufactures current line ups?

jtenn is offline  
post #1330 of 1616 Old 03-12-2012, 08:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
E55 KEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtenn View Post

So what would the 7550HD compare to in other manufactures current line ups?

How about:

Elite SC-57 - http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU...eceivers/SC-57

or

Integra line - http://www.integrahometheater.com/index.cfm

or

NAD line http://nadelectronics.com/home

Click For My Website - www.E55AMG.com

E55 KEV is offline  
post #1331 of 1616 Old 03-13-2012, 04:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Last summer after buying the hk avr 7550hd as an upgrade for my four year old hk avr 745 and not being fully happy with it, I got a NAD T775HD for $1299 on sale and love it. It forgoes some of the bells and whistles that the hk has biter I love the sound quantity and the customer service.
bommai is offline  
post #1332 of 1616 Old 03-13-2012, 09:50 AM
Senior Member
 
CHRIS650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by E55 KEV View Post

How about:

Elite SC-57 - http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU...eceivers/SC-57

or

Integra line - http://www.integrahometheater.com/index.cfm

or

NAD line http://nadelectronics.com/home

I love the bluetooth, airplay built in for Elite SC-57! What's the street price?
However, i still love the sound and the look of HK!!!!
CHRIS650 is offline  
post #1333 of 1616 Old 03-13-2012, 10:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
E55 KEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS650 View Post

I love the bluetooth, airplay built in for Elite SC-57! What's the street price?
However, i still love the sound and the look of HK!!!!

about $1500.

Click For My Website - www.E55AMG.com

E55 KEV is offline  
post #1334 of 1616 Old 03-13-2012, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
CHRIS650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now, if I want to abandon the ship... HK.... 7550HD, comparing with those like SC-57, what are the disavantages of HK 7550HD?

Or, I might be a die hard HK... Still, I want to be a happy "victim."
CHRIS650 is offline  
post #1335 of 1616 Old 03-13-2012, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
CHRIS650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bommai View Post

Last summer after buying the hk avr 7550hd as an upgrade for my four year old hk avr 745 and not being fully happy with it, I got a NAD T775HD for $1299 on sale and love it. It forgoes some of the bells and whistles that the hk has biter I love the sound quantity and the customer service.

I had 745 for about 5 years. At the beginning, I switched for twice (three units)-- for all kinds of problems. Since then, it had been problem free.

I just sold it for $420. Is that a good price for me? or for the buyer?

Yes, owning an HK top of the line unit is like marrying to a high maintenance girl -- well more like courting a high class lady: hell of trouble of getting her right. Then, once she is yours, everything will be just as good as you imagine.
CHRIS650 is offline  
post #1336 of 1616 Old 03-13-2012, 05:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 4,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS650 View Post


I had 745 for about 5 years. At the beginning, I switched for twice (three units)-- for all kinds of problems. Since then, it had been problem free.

I just sold it for $420. Is that a good price for me? or for the buyer?

Yes, owning an HK top of the line unit is like marrying to a high maintenance girl -- well more like courting a high class lady: hell of trouble of getting her right. Then, once she is yours, everything will be just as good as you imagine.

You got a better price than me. I sold it on eBay for $320 an included a perfectly working TC30 remote too. I still feel bad about letting it go for that cheap.
bommai is offline  
post #1337 of 1616 Old 03-13-2012, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
CHRIS650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bommai View Post

You got a better price than me. I sold it on eBay for $320 an included a perfectly working TC30 remote too. I still feel bad about letting it go for that cheap.

wow, lucky the other guy.... also, ebay takes a percentage.

I don't want to pay commission.
CHRIS650 is offline  
post #1338 of 1616 Old 03-13-2012, 09:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kemitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well unfortunately I think my 745 died tonight. I was watching TV and all of a sudden the screen went blank, I heard a noise like a plane flying by, and then I noticed a burnt odor. I powered the 745 down all the way, waited a few minutes and powered it back up and it made that noise again and still no picture. It served me well for almost 5 years.

If this would have happened last year I would have been all over one of those clearance 7550's from 6th ave. but now I'm not so sure. Looks like I'd have to pay quit a bit more to get one of the refurbs off eBay and with all of the problems I'm reading about I'm afraid I'm going to have to consider going with another manufacturer.

~kyle
kemitchell is offline  
post #1339 of 1616 Old 03-21-2012, 03:43 PM
Senior Member
 
CHRIS650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i got a replacement 7550hd.

What's the latest firmware? is it 4.43?
CHRIS650 is offline  
post #1340 of 1616 Old 03-23-2012, 12:23 PM
Member
 
riv359's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CHRIS650
Yes, that's the lates firmware. 4.43

riv359 is offline  
post #1341 of 1616 Old 03-23-2012, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
CHRIS650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
heard any rumors about the successor to 7550hd?
CHRIS650 is offline  
post #1342 of 1616 Old 03-29-2012, 10:23 PM
Member
 
xftman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Getting my new HK7550 delivery tomorrow from J&R. Actually is not new it is open box. This will replace my 7 years old HK 235. 3 weeks ago I picked up an Onkyo 709 to replace my 235 but I will return it after my 7550 arrive. beside major upgrade on video (HDMIs in and out) SQ is almost same as my 235. (110 Onkyo watts = 50 HK watts). To the 7550 experts here, what should be aware when setting up this new beast? any firmware update? Do I need a seperated amp to drive a pair of Energy RC70? looking to upgrade my Klipsch VF36 to RC70 if no need extra power amp.

Thanks
Joe
xftman is offline  
post #1343 of 1616 Old 03-31-2012, 09:15 PM
Senior Member
 
CHRIS650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xftman View Post

Getting my new HK7550 delivery tomorrow from J&R. Actually is not new it is open box. This will replace my 7 years old HK 235. 3 weeks ago I picked up an Onkyo 709 to replace my 235 but I will return it after my 7550 arrive. beside major upgrade on video (HDMIs in and out) SQ is almost same as my 235. (110 Onkyo watts = 50 HK watts). To the 7550 experts here, what should be aware when setting up this new beast? any firmware update? Do I need a seperated amp to drive a pair of Energy RC70? looking to upgrade my Klipsch VF36 to RC70 if no need extra power amp.

Thanks
Joe

big fan noise..
CHRIS650 is offline  
post #1344 of 1616 Old 03-31-2012, 11:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by xftman View Post

Getting my new HK7550 delivery tomorrow from J&R. Actually is not new it is open box. This will replace my 7 years old HK 235. 3 weeks ago I picked up an Onkyo 709 to replace my 235 but I will return it after my 7550 arrive. beside major upgrade on video (HDMIs in and out) SQ is almost same as my 235. (110 Onkyo watts = 50 HK watts). To the 7550 experts here, what should be aware when setting up this new beast? any firmware update? Do I need a seperated amp to drive a pair of Energy RC70? looking to upgrade my Klipsch VF36 to RC70 if no need extra power amp.

Thanks
Joe

There was a firmware update released last year, that has a few S/W tweaks for the EQ and takes the HDMI to 1.4 so that you get 3-D compatibility..


Just my $0.02...
M Code is offline  
post #1345 of 1616 Old 04-07-2012, 03:50 PM
Member
 
xftman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally got my 7550HD. Thanks M Code it does come with the latest firmware 4.43. But now I'm running into a problem not sure it is defected and set up problem. I lost the sound after 5 minutes of play and is getting shortter now down to about 1 minute untill i switch the surround mode to didferent mode to get the sound back. Does anyone has the same problem before? I really love the SQ. Thanks in advance!

Joe
xftman is offline  
post #1346 of 1616 Old 04-09-2012, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
CHRIS650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xftman View Post

Finally got my 7550HD. Thanks M Code it does come with the latest firmware 4.43. But now I'm running into a problem not sure it is defected and set up problem. I lost the sound after 5 minutes of play and is getting shortter now down to about 1 minute untill i switch the surround mode to didferent mode to get the sound back. Does anyone has the same problem before? I really love the SQ. Thanks in advance!

Joe

Check your speak wire connection..
HK is very sensitive to short circuit of speaker wire
CHRIS650 is offline  
post #1347 of 1616 Old 04-18-2012, 03:49 PM
Member
 
Kevin S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ridgeway, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally got a hold of one of these... with the help of a board member, I was able to track down a B1 unit (for those that aren't familiar, see attached document), which is basically a unicorn since these things are long out of production. It's a long story that is still ongoing, but JAM Industries literally stole my B1 unit (that was sent in for a simple firmware upgrade) and replaced it the first time with a beat up completely unpackaged piece of junk (loose receiver and accessories thrown in a box), then later replaced it with a much nicer (still had to polish out scratches from the face) refurbished unit despite the fact I made it very clear that would not be acceptable - they were dumb enough to leave a repair work order slip on the box (which was literally broke open when left on my door step). It's a long story and I am trying to communicate with the vendor on how to resolve this (ie. partial refund since I did not get what I paid for), but surprise surprise he's not getting back to me.

Anyways, the question I have is has anyone else had issues with their unit intermittantly refusing to output any sound on startup? It's happened 3-4 times in the ~3 weeks I've had the unit where you turn it on and there is no sound output no matter what you try (internet radio, network, TV, FM, BluRay etc.). The only thing that fixes it is turning the unit off/on, sometimes several times before it will work again. I'm trying to figure out if this is related to the network/internet features as I've only ever noticed it happening when "starting up" in one of these modes (internet radio or network). I am wondering if I should send this thing back once and for all since the repair work order noted that they "fixed the surround board and adjusted the bias". Is this possibly the same "surround board" issue it was sent back for in the first place? It also makes me nervous that they claimed to have "fixed" it rather than replaced it.


Long story short: AVOID ANYTHING TO DO WITH JAM INDUSTRIES AT ALL COSTS! I should have never bothered having the firmware upgraded. Next time (if I ever buy HK again) I will buy one in the US and not worry about the warranty as it's completely worthless since JAM is the only option for the entire country.

 

Demo_Stock_Classification_(B-stock)_-_Erikson_Consumer.pdf 30.505859375k . file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Demo_Stock_Classification_(B-stock)_-_Erikson_Consumer.pdf (30.5 KB, 20 views)
Kevin S is offline  
post #1348 of 1616 Old 04-18-2012, 06:48 PM
Member
 
IslandHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Vancouver Island - BC, Canada
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sure you thought of this but did you try a hard factory reset?

I'd be tempted to cut my losses - sadly.....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin S View Post

I finally got a hold of one of these... with the help of a board member, I was able to track down a B1 unit (for those that aren't familiar, see attached document), which is basically a unicorn since these things are long out of production. It's a long story that is still ongoing, but JAM Industries literally stole my B1 unit (that was sent in for a simple firmware upgrade) and replaced it the first time with a beat up completely unpackaged piece of junk (loose receiver and accessories thrown in a box), then later replaced it with a much nicer (still had to polish out scratches from the face) refurbished unit despite the fact I made it very clear that would not be acceptable - they were dumb enough to leave a repair work order slip on the box (which was literally broke open when left on my door step). It's a long story and I am trying to communicate with the vendor on how to resolve this (ie. partial refund since I did not get what I paid for), but surprise surprise he's not getting back to me.

Anyways, the question I have is has anyone else had issues with their unit intermittantly refusing to output any sound on startup? It's happened 3-4 times in the ~3 weeks I've had the unit where you turn it on and there is no sound output no matter what you try (internet radio, network, TV, FM, BluRay etc.). The only thing that fixes it is turning the unit off/on, sometimes several times before it will work again. I'm trying to figure out if this is related to the network/internet features as I've only ever noticed it happening when "starting up" in one of these modes (internet radio or network). I am wondering if I should send this thing back once and for all since the repair work order noted that they "fixed the surround board and adjusted the bias". Is this possibly the same "surround board" issue it was sent back for in the first place? It also makes me nervous that they claimed to have "fixed" it rather than replaced it.


Long story short: AVOID ANYTHING TO DO WITH JAM INDUSTRIES AT ALL COSTS! I should have never bothered having the firmware upgraded. Next time (if I ever buy HK again) I will buy one in the US and not worry about the warranty as it's completely worthless since JAM is the only option for the entire country.

IslandHT is offline  
post #1349 of 1616 Old 04-18-2012, 08:26 PM
Member
 
xftman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin S View Post

I finally got a hold of one of these... with the help of a board member, I was able to track down a B1 unit (for those that aren't familiar, see attached document), which is basically a unicorn since these things are long out of production. It's a long story that is still ongoing, but JAM Industries literally stole my B1 unit (that was sent in for a simple firmware upgrade) and replaced it the first time with a beat up completely unpackaged piece of junk (loose receiver and accessories thrown in a box), then later replaced it with a much nicer (still had to polish out scratches from the face) refurbished unit despite the fact I made it very clear that would not be acceptable - they were dumb enough to leave a repair work order slip on the box (which was literally broke open when left on my door step). It's a long story and I am trying to communicate with the vendor on how to resolve this (ie. partial refund since I did not get what I paid for), but surprise surprise he's not getting back to me.

Anyways, the question I have is has anyone else had issues with their unit intermittantly refusing to output any sound on startup? It's happened 3-4 times in the ~3 weeks I've had the unit where you turn it on and there is no sound output no matter what you try (internet radio, network, TV, FM, BluRay etc.). The only thing that fixes it is turning the unit off/on, sometimes several times before it will work again. I'm trying to figure out if this is related to the network/internet features as I've only ever noticed it happening when "starting up" in one of these modes (internet radio or network). I am wondering if I should send this thing back once and for all since the repair work order noted that they "fixed the surround board and adjusted the bias". Is this possibly the same "surround board" issue it was sent back for in the first place? It also makes me nervous that they claimed to have "fixed" it rather than replaced it.


Long story short: AVOID ANYTHING TO DO WITH JAM INDUSTRIES AT ALL COSTS! I should have never bothered having the firmware upgraded. Next time (if I ever buy HK again) I will buy one in the US and not worry about the warranty as it's completely worthless since JAM is the only option for the entire country.

I'm not sure if is the same problem. I lost the audio from day 1 i hooked up after hour or two of playing until switch mode to get the audio back for about 1 - 5 minutes. I could just return but I planning keeping it or should I? According to H/K website 7550HD problem qualify for a refurb replacement if i activate my warranty instead of return to store within 30days. But I will have to pay for shipping back to H/K for a B-stock replacement. I love the sound when it works.
any advise please!
xftman is offline  
post #1350 of 1616 Old 04-18-2012, 08:29 PM
Member
 
xftman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS650 View Post

heard any rumors about the successor to 7550hd?

any news on this one?
xftman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off