Harman Kardon AVR 7550HD (2008 announcement) - Page 54 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Receivers, Amps, and Processors > Harman Kardon AVR 7550HD (2008 announcement)

Receivers, Amps, and Processors

phantom52's Avatar phantom52
01:02 PM Liked: 83
post #1591 of 1616
08-18-2014 | Posts: 7,089
Joined: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
Well, my earlier problems really do seem to have been a speaker short. It has been operating flawlessly since switching to banana plugs.

It sounds great, is great, and I'm VERY pleased with my $500 H/K 7550HD!! Hopefully I'll have many years of flawless operation.

If I could make one complaint, the front power light is REALLY bright, and the HDMI board fan is REALLY loud, louder than my w1070 projector fan. No whining or anything, just loud.

Thanks everyone for all the hep, with me luck for continued good operation.
Front panel light is adjustable. Press setup, then select system settings. Front panel dimmer is first selection. Set it where you want and your'e good to go. As for the fan noise that's one of the reasons for adding the fans. Mostly that HDMI board fan won't come on.
akm3's Avatar akm3
09:57 AM Liked: 21
post #1592 of 1616
08-20-2014 | Posts: 1,185
Joined: Mar 2000
Fans are ordered, they are coming soon. Front panel set to 25% which helps, but the big white "I'M ON!!" light doesn't dim.
I will be relocating all equipment to a closet behind the seating position, so that should resolve the issue altogether. The fans in there will help keep it cool.

I run an external Adcom GFA-7400 Amp which will help keep the Harman Kardon cool.

Again, crossing my fingers for many many years of trouble free operation from the thing.
akm3's Avatar akm3
12:01 PM Liked: 21
post #1593 of 1616
08-27-2014 | Posts: 1,185
Joined: Mar 2000
Machine has continued to operate flawlessly.

QUESTION: On the EzSet/EQ II calibration, I want to mount the microphone on a tripod, with the mic where my head would go in the listening position (right?)

Which direction should the mic be pointing? I'm assuming either straight up at the ceiling, or straight at the center channel.

When doing the individual speakers, it seems clear it should be pointed straight at the speakers with the line through the bottom of the mic passing through my head in the listening position, correct?
M Code's Avatar M Code
12:38 PM Liked: 131
post #1594 of 1616
08-27-2014 | Posts: 9,953
Joined: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
Machine has continued to operate flawlessly.

QUESTION: On the EzSet/EQ II calibration, I want to mount the microphone on a tripod, with the mic where my head would go in the listening position (right?)
Did U get the extension rod? Adjust the height of the microphone on the tripod & extension rod to be @ about ear level when seated.

Quote:
Which direction should the mic be pointing? I'm assuming either straight up at the ceiling, or straight at the center channel.
For far-field measurements, microphone should be aimed toward the ceiling, for near-field do it close to the speaker(about 1.5' back) with the microphone aimed between the tweeter and mid-range for each speaker.

Suggestion..
Since the 7550HD has (2) EQ presets, try a couple of slightly different microphone positions. Then compare to see which one sounds better, often we reran the EQ a few times because there are differences...

Just my $0.01...
akm3's Avatar akm3
01:18 PM Liked: 21
post #1595 of 1616
08-27-2014 | Posts: 1,185
Joined: Mar 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
Did U get the extension rod? Adjust the height of the microphone on the tripod & extension rod to be @ about ear level when seated.


For far-field measurements, microphone should be aimed toward the ceiling, for near-field do it close to the speaker(about 1.5' back) with the microphone aimed between the tweeter and mid-range for each speaker.

Suggestion..
Since the 7550HD has (2) EQ presets, try a couple of slightly different microphone positions. Then compare to see which one sounds better, often we reran the EQ a few times because there are differences...

Just my $0.01...
Yes I have the extension rod. Because I have martin logan bi-polar speakers, does that change at all how I would use the EzSet/EQ II?
M Code's Avatar M Code
02:35 PM Liked: 131
post #1596 of 1616
08-27-2014 | Posts: 9,953
Joined: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
Yes I have the extension rod. Because I have martin logan bi-polar speakers, does that change at all how I would use the EzSet/EQ II?
BiPolar speakers, especially electrostatics can be tricky to set up...
The stats have incredible high frequency response, but have to be tweaked in position to get a balanced frequency response. I assume U already have them positioned for the best sound about 2-3' from the wall..
But since they work on a reflected sound principle, for the near-field mesurement U will need to do some trial & error. As mentioned previously, U want to capture the speaker's full response output so move within 2-3' of the speaker for the near-field but be prepared to try a couple of distances.

EZSet/EQ II was one of the best room EQ schemes available, and was the 1st to actually run separate LF sweeps for Sub 1 & 2. But now it is 5 years old and later EQ schemes have caught up and/or cloned some its features. But as I tell my customers, run the software and check its sound, then decide. If not satisfied, reposition the microphone and rerun the software, then take another listen.

Room EQ schemes are a significant development, but can deliver mixed results...
In many of our installs using Audyssey, certain listeners prefer the EQ turned off.

Just my $0.01...
akm3's Avatar akm3
10:21 AM Liked: 21
post #1597 of 1616
08-29-2014 | Posts: 1,185
Joined: Mar 2000
M Code, I looked back at some of my posts from years ago and there you were, providing the same extremely detailed, extremely useful, extremely insightful advice.

I just want to thank you, you have been an INVALUABLE resource on these forums through the years. I'm sure you get tired answering the same stuff over and over, but I hope you keep doing it!

My 'new' 7550HD continues to run flawlessly. I'm *extremely* pleased with it.
akm3's Avatar akm3
12:06 PM Liked: 21
post #1598 of 1616
08-29-2014 | Posts: 1,185
Joined: Mar 2000
Volume Question:

I've never had a TrueHD receiver before. I'm finding that movies with TrueHD need to be turned up to between -25 and -20 be 'loud' but CD's or other 2 channel PCM stuff is VERY loud at -35.

I know that it depends on how compressed things are, and I'm assuming TrueHD has a wider dynamic range so is less compressed (not bit stream compressed but compressor compressed) so sounds quieter? This is compared to CD's (Especially recent CD's) that are mixed HOT HOT HOT and compressed to the bleeding edge of 0db without clipping.

Is there some other factor I'm not aware of?
akm3's Avatar akm3
12:09 PM Liked: 21
post #1599 of 1616
08-29-2014 | Posts: 1,185
Joined: Mar 2000
How do the various levels of subwoofer sizes (8", 10", 12", 15") correlate to Hz crossover on the speaker crossover settings page?

The auto-eq is correctly detecting both subwoofer 1 and 2 as Ten Inch subs (which matches reality) but I don't know how or why it is determining that and what it is doing with the information.


ALSO:

It detects my main speakers as "Large" even though they are somewhat bass shy below 50hz. Should I leave them as Large?
M Code's Avatar M Code
03:04 PM Liked: 131
post #1600 of 1616
08-29-2014 | Posts: 9,953
Joined: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
Volume Question:

I've never had a TrueHD receiver before. I'm finding that movies with TrueHD need to be turned up to between -25 and -20 be 'loud' but CD's or other 2 channel PCM stuff is VERY loud at -35.

I know that it depends on how compressed things are, and I'm assuming TrueHD has a wider dynamic range so is less compressed (not bit stream compressed but compressor compressed) so sounds quieter? This is compared to CD's (Especially recent CD's) that are mixed HOT HOT HOT and compressed to the bleeding edge of 0db without clipping.

Is there some other factor I'm not aware of?
Thats reality...
Digital sources and their levels can/will vary greatly...
Suggest U try the Dolby Volume but use the Leveler part, its helps to balance the levels between sources. The Modeler part has to do with the various Loudness curves..
Dolby Volume is the best Dynamic Range Control post-processor available, try various settings it helps significantly.
Here is a link for more info..

http://www.dolby.com/us/en/technolog...data-sheet.pdf

Just my $0.01...
e30cabrio's Avatar e30cabrio
07:00 AM Liked: 14
post #1601 of 1616
09-04-2014 | Posts: 285
Joined: Aug 2006
Soooooo damn thing is back at it. Shutting down after 5-10 minutes. I have left it on since Sunday and it works properly. WTF?

J.D. is going to send me a 3700 which I really don't want, anyone know when the next model release will be? Maybe I'll leave the damn thing on until January if they stick to a new year roll out.

I so wish this fix had worked.
akm3's Avatar akm3
10:21 AM Liked: 21
post #1602 of 1616
09-04-2014 | Posts: 1,185
Joined: Mar 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30cabrio View Post
Soooooo damn thing is back at it. Shutting down after 5-10 minutes. I have left it on since Sunday and it works properly. WTF?

J.D. is going to send me a 3700 which I really don't want, anyone know when the next model release will be? Maybe I'll leave the damn thing on until January if they stick to a new year roll out.

I so wish this fix had worked.
I'm REALLY sorry to hear that. Not sure why yours is just not behaving.
e30cabrio's Avatar e30cabrio
04:21 PM Liked: 14
post #1603 of 1616
09-04-2014 | Posts: 285
Joined: Aug 2006
He is as shocked as I am. It is ok, he is sending a 3700 & I am going to get a real amp. Leaning towards an Emotiva UPA 700.
phantom52's Avatar phantom52
05:08 PM Liked: 83
post #1604 of 1616
09-04-2014 | Posts: 7,089
Joined: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30cabrio View Post
He is as shocked as I am. It is ok, he is sending a 3700 & I am going to get a real amp. Leaning towards an Emotiva UPA 700.
Check out the Outlaw 7125 first. It's made by ATI. Made in USA.

https://outlawaudio.com/products/7125_about.html
e30cabrio's Avatar e30cabrio
05:12 PM Liked: 14
post #1605 of 1616
09-04-2014 | Posts: 285
Joined: Aug 2006
I looked at the Outlaw, it is 999, that is more than I am looking to spend.

Thanks
M Code's Avatar M Code
06:10 PM Liked: 131
post #1606 of 1616
09-04-2014 | Posts: 9,953
Joined: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30cabrio View Post
Soooooo damn thing is back at it. Shutting down after 5-10 minutes. I have left it on since Sunday and it works properly. WTF?

J.D. is going to send me a 3700 which I really don't want, anyone know when the next model release will be? Maybe I'll leave the damn thing on until January if they stick to a new year roll out.

I so wish this fix had worked.
No new HK AVRs this year...
Their 1st Atmos AVRs (2 models) are targeted for CES 2015 intro, shipping March-2015..

Just my $0.01...
e30cabrio's Avatar e30cabrio
05:21 PM Liked: 14
post #1607 of 1616
09-05-2014 | Posts: 285
Joined: Aug 2006
Thanks M.

I ordered an Emotiva UPA 500 for the 3700. It has a 30 day return if not happy deal and was on sale for 349 shipped. I figured since I only have a 5.2 system it was enough & if I don't like it I'll get something else.


2MuchHT's Avatar 2MuchHT
03:28 PM Liked: 20
post #1608 of 1616
09-08-2014 | Posts: 117
Joined: Sep 2005
Don't count the amp in the 3700 out until you hear it. The amp design has not changed, from what I understand only the power supply. From a feature perspective, the AVR 3700 has many more contemporary things, though admittedly the EzSet version is not as sophisticated as int he 7550HD. However, does have WiFi, AirPlay, Streaming, etc. Also more HDMI and 4K scaling using the latest ADI chip for that instead of the older Torino in the 7550HD. A few years do make a difference.
M Code's Avatar M Code
06:39 PM Liked: 131
post #1609 of 1616
09-08-2014 | Posts: 9,953
Joined: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2MuchHT View Post
Don't count the amp in the 3700 out until you hear it. The amp design has not changed, from what I understand only the power supply. From a feature perspective, the AVR 3700 has many more contemporary things, though admittedly the EzSet version is not as sophisticated as int he 7550HD. However, does have WiFi, AirPlay, Streaming, etc. Also more HDMI and 4K scaling using the latest ADI chip for that instead of the older Torino in the 7550HD. A few years do make a difference.

A few clarifications..
1. The 3700 uses an SMPS (switch-mode-power-supply) whereas the earlier AVRs used a traditional EL transformer, linear type power supply. We designed the SMPS about 6 years ago and now HK is finally using it...
2. The 7550HD is now outdated as it was developed in 2007, over 7 years ago..

Just my $0.02...
e30cabrio's Avatar e30cabrio
07:56 PM Liked: 14
post #1610 of 1616
09-08-2014 | Posts: 285
Joined: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2MuchHT View Post
Don't count the amp in the 3700 out until you hear it. The amp design has not changed, from what I understand only the power supply. From a feature perspective, the AVR 3700 has many more contemporary things, though admittedly the EzSet version is not as sophisticated as int he 7550HD. However, does have WiFi, AirPlay, Streaming, etc. Also more HDMI and 4K scaling using the latest ADI chip for that instead of the older Torino in the 7550HD. A few years do make a difference.
I had a 3700. It had no soul & went into protection at levels the 7550 laughed at & kept going.
2MuchHT's Avatar 2MuchHT
10:32 PM Liked: 20
post #1611 of 1616
09-08-2014 | Posts: 117
Joined: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
A few clarifications..
1. The 3700 uses an SMPS (switch-mode-power-supply) whereas the earlier AVRs used a traditional EL transformer, linear type power supply. We designed the SMPS about 6 years ago and now HK is finally using it...
2. The 7550HD is now outdated as it was developed in 2007, over 7 years ago..

Just my $0.02...
The SMPS in the most recent AVRs is a different design done by their ODM. The amplifier section is more or less the same.

Yes, the 7550HD is old and somewhat outdated, but the amp is indeed a brute and for those who still want composite and component and can put up with on older HDMI version it is a good buy on the used market at the right price.

Curious that NONE of the Harman brands were mentioned as Atmos licensees in the press announcement this morning. It will be interesting to see if/when they come out with a new round of AVRs as they have sat out the current cycle.

But, as you say, just my $0.02
e30cabrio's Avatar e30cabrio
04:25 PM Liked: 14
post #1612 of 1616
09-10-2014 | Posts: 285
Joined: Aug 2006
3700 came yesterday, Emotiva not until tomorrow so I heve been using it & it is 100% different than the last one I had. It sounds fine & is not going into protection at high volumes.

Can't wait for the Emotia
Fatshaft's Avatar Fatshaft
08:23 PM Liked: 210
post #1613 of 1616
10-26-2014 | Posts: 1,406
Joined: Feb 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
How do the various levels of subwoofer sizes (8", 10", 12", 15") correlate to Hz crossover on the speaker crossover settings page?

The auto-eq is correctly detecting both subwoofer 1 and 2 as Ten Inch subs (which matches reality) but I don't know how or why it is determining that and what it is doing with the information.


ALSO:

It detects my main speakers as "Large" even though they are somewhat bass shy below 50hz. Should I leave them as Large?
I noticed that everyone is completely ignoring your question regarding the 8" to 15" subwoofer selection question...
I'll answer for you...
It does NOTHING! again absolutely NOTHING!
I have taken sweeps of all of them and the frequency responses are ALL THE SAME!

I strongly suggest you cross your speakers at 80HZ to your subs.
Anything above 80HZ crossover DOES NOT WORK!
Believe me I have tried everything!
I've reset it 1000 times, I have brought it in to fix and they can't fix it!
I have an insane amount of bass here and I'd like to have it go to at least 100HZ but it won't.

It severely drops like a rick at 80HZ up

Don't get me wrong..it's a fantastic receiver but it has it's flaws.

Aside from it's flaws...
The HK7550HD sound is just awesome...I had bought a Denon 3313CI and it was a big pile of poo-poo compared to the 7550

Enjoy your unit cause it dishes out some dam good sound!
riv359's Avatar riv359
12:02 AM Liked: 10
post #1614 of 1616
10-27-2014 | Posts: 38
Joined: Dec 2008
akm3
Just to elaborate on the sub/EQ question. This is what page44 of the manual reads.
Specify the size of the subwoofer’s transducer as 8,10, 12 or 15
inches. The AVR always sets the subwoofer crossover to 100Hz, but
uses the transducer size for equalization.”
akm3's Avatar akm3
10:51 AM Liked: 21
post #1615 of 1616
11-10-2014 | Posts: 1,185
Joined: Mar 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by riv359 View Post
akm3
Just to elaborate on the sub/EQ question. This is what page44 of the manual reads.
Specify the size of the subwoofer’s transducer as 8,10, 12 or 15
inches. The AVR always sets the subwoofer crossover to 100Hz, but
uses the transducer size for equalization.”
I think my best choice then is to buy 4x 12" subwoofers
Ckreiter's Avatar Ckreiter
08:07 PM Liked: 10
post #1616 of 1616
Yesterday | Posts: 15
Joined: Jan 2005
The cooling fan on my 7550HD is making some awful growling noises. The nearest repair shop is a 2 hour drive (one way and they don't have weekend hours) for me. Has anyone created a how-to on how to replace the fan? I've taken the cover off and it seems buried under a bunch of boards. If I can't replace the fan, then I'll probably look for a new receiver. HK customer service has been less than responsive or helpful regarding this.

Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3