Harman Kardon AVR 7550HD (2008 announcement) - Page 55 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1621 of 1641 Old 05-21-2015, 12:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,613
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 440 Post(s)
Liked: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30cabrio View Post
Seems HK is out of the real AVR business. I have been having a problem with actual surround modes working (PS3 set to a\uto s is the AVR3700) and I am getting 5 channel surround displayed. I called my contact and got a dead extension & emailed & got an auto responder he is no longer there.

There was an email address to messsage in his response I forwarded to a week ago & nada.

Calls to their "support" number got me nowhere.
HK has basically abandoned the AVR/audio component categories. Though Harman International is doing very well financially due to a strong OE 12V infotainment biz, the AVR marketing/development team was disbanded and handed off to China...

When the Harman family was active in the audio component biz before they retired in 2009, they had a passion to deliver butt-kickin audio stuff.. Now in place is a totally different management team with other priorities pushing other categories such as wireless BT speakers, headphones, pro-audio. A big reason is the financial collapse of the profit structure for the AVR category, with the tremendous impact of the internet sellers certain brands tried to build market share with aggressive entry-priced AVRs.. Instead of building and increasing the global AVR market size and delivering value, they cut down component quality, shortened the warranties and delivered a cheaper, lower performance product.. The strategy backfired, the market grew in terms of units sold but total $ and generated profits vaporized...
And now certain audio premier brands have failed financially and many have been bought out by other $ ventures groups... Check out Marantz, Denon, Onkyo, Pioneer and U can better understand what happened.
Thanks for listening... ☺️☺️

Just my $0.02...
dmb12679 likes this.
M Code is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1622 of 1641 Old 05-21-2015, 04:05 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmb12679 View Post
What is the problem with your 3700 processing? What are you trying to run?

I was getting whatever mode the disk(s) were set to (DTS, DD) etc.

Now with the PS3 set to auto via HDMI or optical I get 5 channel PCM, set to manual I get Logic 7.
e30cabrio is offline  
post #1623 of 1641 Old 05-21-2015, 04:06 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
HK has basically abandoned the AVR/audio component categories. Though Harman International is doing very well financially due to a strong OE 12V infotainment biz, the AVR marketing/development team was disbanded and handed off to China...

When the Harman family was active in the audio component biz before they retired in 2009, they had a passion to deliver butt-kickin audio stuff.. Now in place is a totally different management team with other priorities pushing other categories such as wireless BT speakers, headphones, pro-audio. A big reason is the financial collapse of the profit structure for the AVR category, with the tremendous impact of the internet sellers certain brands tried to build market share with aggressive entry-priced AVRs.. Instead of building and increasing the global AVR market size and delivering value, they cut down component quality, shortened the warranties and delivered a cheaper, lower performance product.. The strategy backfired, the market grew in terms of units sold but total $ and generated profits vaporized...
And now certain audio premier brands have failed financially and many have been bought out by other $ ventures groups... Check out Marantz, Denon, Onkyo, Pioneer and U can better understand what happened.
Thanks for listening... ☺️☺️



Just my $0.02...

Thanks for the informative post as usual.
e30cabrio is offline  
post #1624 of 1641 Old 05-22-2015, 06:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
dmb12679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30cabrio View Post
I was getting whatever mode the disk(s) were set to (DTS, DD) etc.

Now with the PS3 set to auto via HDMI or optical I get 5 channel PCM, set to manual I get Logic 7.
Try checking you audio settings on PS3, try sending it out to HK via bitstream or native I think. I don't have a gaming console, but I have an old HK BDP1(not able to decode DTS HD or True HD) and if I changed the settings on the bluray player to send native or bitstream, the AVR did the processing and I got it.

Denon 2113ci
Klipsch RF-7's II
Klipsch RC-64 II
Klipsch RB-51 II
Klipsch RS-42 II
Klipsch R-112SW
dmb12679 is online now  
post #1625 of 1641 Old 05-22-2015, 03:26 PM
Member
 
riv359's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
M Code
Thanks for the correction. My response was just copy and paste from the manual.
riv359 is offline  
post #1626 of 1641 Old 06-06-2015, 12:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
Incorrect..
The subwoofer size has to do with the amount of gain and natural roll-off within the EQ software for the sub. Typically the larger the subwoofer the higher its sensitivity for SPL output, has to do with the physics of moving more air...


Just my $0.02..
Do you happen to still have the software update via USB my local centers are telling me they can't get the jig tool to update the software from hk and hk want me to pay for a refurbished 7550 for an extra 324 dollars awful service from. Hk lately I am on 4.18 right now

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

Last edited by regg949; 06-06-2015 at 03:38 PM.
regg949 is offline  
post #1627 of 1641 Old 06-15-2015, 08:19 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmb12679 View Post
Try checking you audio settings on PS3, try sending it out to HK via bitstream or native I think. I don't have a gaming console, but I have an old HK BDP1(not able to decode DTS HD or True HD) and if I changed the settings on the bluray player to send native or bitstream, the AVR did the processing and I got it.

The PS3 no longer has a bitstream choice. I have tried every possible combination. It sounds great but says 5 Channel PCM.

I liked that it showed whatever the correct audio was.
e30cabrio is offline  
post #1628 of 1641 Old 06-16-2015, 06:48 AM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Finally figured it out.

https://support.us.playstation.com/a...utput-settings

It is a bit different because that refers to os 2.x.x.x and I am on 4.6.x.x but is in the DVD/BD area which I never saw or looked in. I changed it to Bitstream there and now get whatever the BRD is passing.

Harman never called back, I left a message for a Mike on a Connecticut number which was a response to an email 2 weeks prior to their "customer service" address after India dropped my call 2x & mis-transferred me 2x (to paraphrase): I have left two other messages, I have been a loyal customer having had your avrs since they were invented & prior your receivers starting when I had money in the late 70s, this 3700 which forced me to buy an external amp is the last, how about a response even if only to tell me to go to hell?

That was 2 weeks ago o response.

FU Harman International, I have a house full of your tech, as they die they will be replaced with someone else's pieces even if yours are a better value (not likely)


Last edited by e30cabrio; 06-16-2015 at 08:06 PM.
e30cabrio is offline  
post #1629 of 1641 Old 06-17-2015, 02:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
dmb12679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30cabrio View Post
Finally figured it out.

https://support.us.playstation.com/a...utput-settings

It is a bit different because that refers to os 2.x.x.x and I am on 4.6.x.x but is in the DVD/BD area which I never saw or looked in. I changed it to Bitstream there and now get whatever the BRD is passing.

Harman never called back, I left a message for a Mike on a Connecticut number which was a response to an email 2 weeks prior to their "customer service" address after India dropped my call 2x & mis-transferred me 2x (to paraphrase): I have left two other messages, I have been a loyal customer having had your avrs since they were invented & prior your receivers starting when I had money in the late 70s, this 3700 which forced me to buy an external amp is the last, how about a response even if only to tell me to go to hell?

That was 2 weeks ago o response.

FU Harman International, I have a house full of your tech, as they die they will be replaced with someone else's pieces even if yours are a better value (not likely)

So really it was your PS3 settings, not your HK?

Denon 2113ci
Klipsch RF-7's II
Klipsch RC-64 II
Klipsch RB-51 II
Klipsch RS-42 II
Klipsch R-112SW
dmb12679 is online now  
post #1630 of 1641 Old 06-17-2015, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 23
This issue was the PS3, Harman literally never offered any help, even telling me it was not their issue.

Tech support means looking at other manufacturer's settings and helping the user.

The PS3 is 8 years old was 200.00, the 3700 is 7 months old and was 999.99.
e30cabrio is offline  
post #1631 of 1641 Old 06-18-2015, 09:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
dmb12679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30cabrio View Post
This issue was the PS3, Harman literally never offered any help, even telling me it was not their issue.

Tech support means looking at other manufacturer's settings and helping the user.

The PS3 is 8 years old was 200.00, the 3700 is 7 months old and was 999.99.
There customer service bad and getting worse, but their product was working properly, I posted on the 22nd to check your ps3 settings as I too had the same issue with my older bluray player. I have found it is always a better process to ask questions here before dealing with any electronic CS. There are some great knowledgeable people here that can answer a question faster and better than most CS

Denon 2113ci
Klipsch RF-7's II
Klipsch RC-64 II
Klipsch RB-51 II
Klipsch RS-42 II
Klipsch R-112SW
dmb12679 is online now  
post #1632 of 1641 Old 06-18-2015, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmb12679 View Post
There customer service bad and getting worse, but their product was working properly, I posted on the 22nd to check your ps3 settings as I too had the same issue with my older bluray player. I have found it is always a better process to ask questions here before dealing with any electronic CS. There are some great knowledgeable people here that can answer a question faster and better than most CS

Prior to posting I checked the PS3 and again several times. No one suggested looking at the disk menu.

My quarrel with HK is that I contacted them months ago and never got the courtesy of a pretend attempt at support.
e30cabrio is offline  
post #1633 of 1641 Old 10-28-2015, 04:18 PM
Member
 
Kevin S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ridgeway, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 7550 receiver has always had lost settings during a power outage, which is obviously quite frustrating. This appears to be somewhat of a common problem with HK receivers and I was wondering if anyone has replaced the culprit capacitor as discussed in this thread about another model:
http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/th...-eeprom.88574/


Previous conversations with HK told me the replacement capacitor is PN CCESDXJ5R5V334U, however they don't specify the location. This cross references to C4184 (CAP, DOUBLE LAYER (ELNA, 5.5V, 0.33F), DXJ5R5V334U in the Service Manual, however again it doesn't narrow down where it is.


I am comfortable replacing it if someone can point me to it's location within the receiver if anyone happens to have this information.


Or would I be better off just getting a backup UPS as a Band-Aid fix?














Kevin S is offline  
post #1634 of 1641 Old 11-18-2015, 02:19 AM
Senior Member
 
The Tophinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hopefully MCode will have an answer for you.


I haven't been on AVS for months, I don't know why but I decided it's been too long and came back.


My HK Model T is still running strong and has been very reliable. It's a shame that no longer make the same quality of AVR as in the past.


I see some are still having issues with the small fan on the side of the unit. A couple years ago I posted a fix that I did to give it more airflow and have not had to do anything to it since. 55 pages, it's somewhere between 1 and 55
The Tophinator is offline  
post #1635 of 1641 Old 11-18-2015, 03:02 AM
Senior Member
 
The Tophinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Here it is, more airflow.


Quote:
Originally Posted by The Tophinator View Post
Well it's been almost 7 months from my last post on the video fan making noise and it has returned. I decided since I have to pull it out of the cabinet again I would do what HK should have done in the first place. The location they placed the fan in has about 3/4 of it blocked by the cover so the air flow is severely blocked. I got my dremel and cut a nice square in it to improve the airflow. After lubing the fan I decided it was a little ugly and even though you can't see the reciever when it's in the cabinet I might as well make it look a little better. I cut out a piece of expanded metal from a computer case I was tossing out and made a little fan cover. I also cut out a tiny notch in the top so I can lube the fan from the top next time.





Quote:Originally Posted by The Tophinator

Last night I was watching TV and thought I heard a dying animal. I heard errp errp errp. I muted the sound and followed it to my 7550HD. I blew a can of air on the main fan and after seeing the dust on the side figured out where the smaller fan was. I blew it out too but the sound returned after a while.


This morning I pulled it out of the cabinet and removed the cover. It was surprisingly clean inside but the 30mm fan was still a little dusty. I cleaned and lubed it and now everything is back to normal. I took a couple of pics to make it easier for the next guy who gets a noisy fan.




The Tophinator is offline  
post #1636 of 1641 Old 12-25-2015, 01:54 PM
Member
 
House of Boom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have to bring this thread back from the dead for an update on my Harmon Kardon AVR 7550HD and my Volume knob skipping issue.

I finally (after years) got around to trying to fix the bouncing volume adjustment issue and the fix turned out REALLY easy.

Symptom I Had : Volume Knob Indication Jumps back and forth with any adjustment making it useless . Eg - 31 - 30 - 29 - 30 - 29 - 28 - 27 - 26 - 25 - 24 - 25 - 24 - 25 - 23 ETC .

I took this thing apart and tried to disassemble so I could inspect and clean the potentiometer or whatever was back there however it appeared to be all enclosed and I could not get into the mechanism or remove the knob without risking damage.

The fix : Spin the knob fast as you can about 40 times in each direction. Thats it.

It started getting a bit better after about 10 or so really good spins but took many many more to get the last of the odd skips ironed out when slow turning. The knob works great now and does not skip a beat.

Hope this helps someone else sometime.
dmb12679 likes this.
House of Boom is offline  
post #1637 of 1641 Old 12-29-2015, 08:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
dmb12679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 110
A reasonably priced 7550 popped up on ebay yesterday. It has best offer. I'd be on it if it weren't for recent events. Not affiliated with seller, just thought someone might be looking. I have't seen one pop up in a while

Denon 2113ci
Klipsch RF-7's II
Klipsch RC-64 II
Klipsch RB-51 II
Klipsch RS-42 II
Klipsch R-112SW
dmb12679 is online now  
post #1638 of 1641 Old 12-29-2015, 10:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fatshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by House of Boom View Post
I have to bring this thread back from the dead for an update on my Harmon Kardon AVR 7550HD and my Volume knob skipping issue.

I finally (after years) got around to trying to fix the bouncing volume adjustment issue and the fix turned out REALLY easy.

Symptom I Had : Volume Knob Indication Jumps back and forth with any adjustment making it useless . Eg - 31 - 30 - 29 - 30 - 29 - 28 - 27 - 26 - 25 - 24 - 25 - 24 - 25 - 23 ETC .

I took this thing apart and tried to disassemble so I could inspect and clean the potentiometer or whatever was back there however it appeared to be all enclosed and I could not get into the mechanism or remove the knob without risking damage.

The fix : Spin the knob fast as you can about 40 times in each direction. Thats it.

It started getting a bit better after about 10 or so really good spins but took many many more to get the last of the odd skips ironed out when slow turning. The knob works great now and does not skip a beat.

Hope this helps someone else sometime.
Thanks for the tip
I have the exact same problem so I will try it at my place and let you know if it fixes my unit
Thanks
Fatshaft is online now  
post #1639 of 1641 Old 01-12-2016, 11:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Radio81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmb12679 View Post
A reasonably priced 7550 popped up on ebay yesterday. It has best offer. I'd be on it if it weren't for recent events. Not affiliated with seller, just thought someone might be looking. I have't seen one pop up in a while
Just wanted to say thanks for posting about the 7550HD for sale on ebay. I waited until it got down to $400 and then I couldn’t resist. I’ve been on vacation out of state, so I just picked up the 7550HD yesterday and have only tested it with 2-channel stereo music, but the AVR looks brand new. The remote looks like it has been well-used but is in good condition.

Anyone know what size the rear fan is, and has anyone replaced it? It’s pretty loud.
Radio81 is offline  
post #1640 of 1641 Old 01-12-2016, 11:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
dmb12679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Glad you got it, and the price was right, I saw it sell shortly after. Not sure on the fan, you could always disable and buy some top fans. I recently did for my new avr. Dead quiet and avr runs almost cool to the touch. 25dlvd, I think the were infinity s5? fans on amazon

Denon 2113ci
Klipsch RF-7's II
Klipsch RC-64 II
Klipsch RB-51 II
Klipsch RS-42 II
Klipsch R-112SW
dmb12679 is online now  
post #1641 of 1641 Old 01-16-2016, 04:49 PM
Newbie
 
shanesworld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have not found anything that compares to the AVR-7550HD, especially for the sub out! I had an issue and was given the 3700, sold it immediately and found another 7550. So mine shuts off after about 5 minutes and I then have to turn it on again. Usually stays after that, not too bad I guess. When I try to use a second HDMI from my computer for audio only, the computer defaults the picture as well to the 7550, only seems to do it with this receiver. Tried everything, weird. Anyway, does anyone know how to update this guy? Anyone know what the newest update is? Mine says version 4.43 Thanks for any help!
shanesworld is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off