Arcam AVR600 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1286 Old 11-23-2008, 07:52 PM
Newbie
 
Marlin Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All,

I see this discussion about the new Arcam and it has some features that are quite interesting to me. I'm in the process of replacing my AVR300 right now because quite honestly it can't drive my Beethoven Concert Grand main speakers in stereo much less handle them in 5.1 mode with the rest of my speakers adding load. Have others of you had issues with getting enough current out of the Arcam receivers? I otherwise really like this unit. Yes, the VA speakers really like a lot of current, but I love them so they are staying. I'm considering getting some Primare amps and then a separate pre-pro. I'm considering the Integra DHC-9.9. Have any of you listened to this Integra in comparison to any of Arcams AVRs? How about and Arcam pre-pros? I'm looking for a reference as its hard for me to audition Arcam these days.
Marlin Frederick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1286 Old 11-23-2008, 09:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by markabuckley View Post

just sold my Arcam

amazing as it was - no EQ was a killer for Home Theatre duties IMO

Which Arcam did you sell, and how much did you get, if you don't mind?

I'm thinking of selling my AVP700 and P1000. Been drooling over Parasound Halo lately, but this thread has me reconsidering.

Thanks

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
post #93 of 1286 Old 11-24-2008, 04:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ribalding View Post

1. There will be a network card available as an add-on. (Rep said "I'm guessing around $200, but that's a guess.")

You'll be glad to know that your rep is slightly behind the curve on this one.


I can confirm, with 100% certainty, that the network connectivity is now included as standard.

That information is direct from Arcam, not reps or dealers.

Hope this helps.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #94 of 1286 Old 11-24-2008, 04:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
what will the network card allow ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by coldmachine View Post

You'll be glad to know that your rep is slightly behind the curve on this one.


I can confirm, with 100% certainty, that the network connectivity is now included as standard.

That information is direct from Arcam, not reps or dealers.

Hope this helps.

markabuckley is offline  
post #95 of 1286 Old 11-24-2008, 04:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
coldmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waiting in the weeds
Posts: 5,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by markabuckley View Post

what will the network card allow ??

It allows internet radio. Arcam are working on a site for this that will be regularly updated and maintained. Its not been confirmed whether this will also allow user URLs to facilitate subscription services.

Im still waiting on confirmation on other features, such as software updates.

--------------------------------------------
"Wow, do you think you are Adonis"...... "Baby, I'm not A-donis, I'm THE-donis"
coldmachine is offline  
post #96 of 1286 Old 12-02-2008, 07:43 AM
Senior Member
 
bhaaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: OC
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
On a side note. Arcam released new firmware for their HT equipment last week. The new firmware is 3.50.
bhaaf is offline  
post #97 of 1286 Old 12-28-2008, 01:36 PM
Newbie
 
ghancock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was forwarded an email from Arcam to one of their rep's regarding the AVR-600's network capability. Here is the quote:

"Using the 600's ethernet connection gives the owner:
1. Internet Radio: You can save internet station addresses in the 600, of these (or FM) are quickly accessible from the remote.
2. Streaming from NAS drives on the same network. The 600 will decode/play all file types (except of course the Apple proprietary codices).
3. The USB port on the front of the 600 reads all supported file types, (the Solo-Mini's USB port only decodes MP3 and WMA files). Like with the Mini, when you choose USB as the source, the 600's remote navigates the music on the USB drive and the 600's display shows the information.
4. Firmware/Software upgrades will be done over the internet.
5. Control over I.P.

One of the input selections on the 600 is Network and I understand that all of these functions (except the USB port) will be accessed through the Network input." -- end email.

Now, I'm not sure what he really means by "all file types supported". Does that mean support for both audio and video files? If the 600 can decode AVI/DivX, then that would be a great feature.
ghancock is offline  
post #98 of 1286 Old 12-28-2008, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhaaf View Post

On a side note. Arcam released new firmware for their HT equipment last week. The new firmware is 3.50.

Hi bhaaf:

Do you know what the new firmware does?


______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
post #99 of 1286 Old 12-31-2008, 10:24 PM
Senior Member
 
rded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: CHITOWN
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rumor has it the the price has jumped again and now its $6000 I know the economy is bad but a 1k jump in price is just insane! Can anyone confirm this?
rded is offline  
post #100 of 1286 Old 01-01-2009, 06:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,421
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Might be explained by the weak pound? I mean it's almost 1:1 with Euro now!! Rumour has it that GB is thinking about switching to Euro, after all...
madshi is online now  
post #101 of 1286 Old 01-01-2009, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ehlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Central New Jersey
Posts: 2,241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

Might be explained by the weak pound? I mean it's almost 1:1 with Euro now!! Rumour has it that GB is thinking about switching to Euro, after all...

The value of the dollar vs. the pound has been going up. If anything this should make the Arcam cheaper.

"Nature Abhors a Vacuum Tube" -  J. R. Pierce
ehlarson is offline  
post #102 of 1286 Old 01-01-2009, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,421
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 113
You're right. I think I need some sleep...
madshi is online now  
post #103 of 1286 Old 01-04-2009, 12:50 AM
aus
Senior Member
 
aus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone think they'll come out with a lower end Reciever to replace the existing units? I'd be happy with the existing units if they had 2 more HDMI inputs and did sound over HDMI. $5-6k is WAY more than I want so spend on a reciever.

Is there going to be a scaling chip?
aus is offline  
post #104 of 1286 Old 01-04-2009, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Filthy McNasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I notice that both the AVR350 and 280 are available in England at less than 1/2 msrp - perhaps an omen
Filthy McNasty is offline  
post #105 of 1286 Old 01-04-2009, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
Blimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got confirmation of the price in the Netherlands. Its 3990,-

Thats about $5550,- and 3880,- pound.
Blimp is offline  
post #106 of 1286 Old 01-10-2009, 10:44 AM
Senior Member
 
ixion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been a fan of Arcam and was considering this unit. I own the Integra DTC-9.8 and I've been happy with it.

Some shortcomings, IMO, of the AVR600:

- no Audyssey (as discussed at length in this thread)
- only 1080i on component input/output
- single global lipsync delay, not per input
- high price

Unknown:
- are both HDMI outputs active at the same time so it can be sent to a display and a projector?

The lack of Audyssey is a show stopper for me. I've really enjoyed this feature in my Integra, it has made a big difference, especially in intelligibility of movie dialog and boundary compensation.
ixion is offline  
post #107 of 1286 Old 01-14-2009, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
jjtoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SRQ
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blimp View Post

Just got confirmation of the price in the Netherlands. Its 3990,-

Thats about $5550,- and 3880,- pound.

Please remember; VAT is included in the prices!

NL 19%
UK 17.5%

Carbon Credits, the next great snake oil!
jjtoma is offline  
post #108 of 1286 Old 01-14-2009, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Magnus_CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjtoma View Post

Please remember; VAT is included in the prices!

NL 19%
UK 17.5%

So we can expect pricing to come in about $4600 in the US?
Magnus_CA is offline  
post #109 of 1286 Old 01-16-2009, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Robbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Any further word on a processor-only version to replace the AVP700?

XBL Gamertag: Robbo67
Robbo is offline  
post #110 of 1286 Old 01-16-2009, 10:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Filthy McNasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Filthy McNasty is offline  
post #111 of 1286 Old 01-17-2009, 05:44 AM
Member
 
acopeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chatham, ON
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filthy McNasty View Post

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...940065&page=21

That sucker looks like a replacement for the AV9. Either way, still out of my price range. I was waiting impatiently for them to announce a new AVR and was crushed when I saw the price tag for the AVR600. Looks like the AV888 is the FMJ pre/pro version.

I assume Arcam are releasing their flagship stuff first with the trickle down stuff to follow. My local dealer was at CES and he said the the Arcam guys were hinting that the upgraded 'lesser' models were on the way. That's good news for me. I would have bought an AVR350 a year ago if it had HDMI 1.3 and decoded the new audio formats. One would assume their wont be too much new stuff on them as they still need to be distanced from the FMJ models.

The only thing that scares me is Arcam seems to be discontinuing almost all of the Diva range.....which gives me the "i'll believe it when i see it" feeling.

And again.....I wait.
acopeman is offline  
post #112 of 1286 Old 01-17-2009, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
moonhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Madera, New Mexico
Posts: 3,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I think this may be it--IOW there will be no replacement for the AVP700 other than this. (I own it and the P1000)

This from conversations with my dealer, but could be wrong.

______________________

__________

Dave

moonhawk is offline  
post #113 of 1286 Old 01-17-2009, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Magnus_CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't think Arcam was maintaining similar products (ie FMJ and Diva) at different price points anymore.
Magnus_CA is offline  
post #114 of 1286 Old 01-17-2009, 04:51 PM
Member
 
acopeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chatham, ON
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnus_CA View Post

I didn't think Arcam was maintaining similar products (ie FMJ and Diva) at different price points anymore.

That's disappointing.
By eliminating the Diva range they are essentially eliminating a group of would-be buyers for that price point.....i.e. ME.
The FMJ range is just too pricy for modest fellas like myself.
acopeman is offline  
post #115 of 1286 Old 01-18-2009, 07:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Filthy McNasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


That's disappointing.

No kidding - guess I'll have to look at NAD T175 or Masters 15HD. BTW, Target HiFi in London is still planning on getting the AVR600 to demo. They plan on setting it up in the same room as NAD Masters series.
Filthy McNasty is offline  
post #116 of 1286 Old 01-18-2009, 08:05 AM
Member
 
acopeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chatham, ON
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filthy McNasty View Post

No kidding - guess I'll have to look at NAD T175 or Masters 15HD. BTW, Target HiFi in London is still planning on getting the AVR600 to demo. They plan on setting it up in the same room as NAD Masters series.

Nice. Thanks for the heads up.

I was hoping it would show up somewhere around. Next time I'm in London i'll have to check it out....i've never been there.
I also see from the CES reports that Cambridge Audio has the "version 2" 640R receiver on its way. Perhaps that might be another alternative.
It sucks when you have your heart set on something and they make it out of reach.
All I know is my Denon 2807 isn't a good match for my speakers and has to go.
acopeman is offline  
post #117 of 1286 Old 01-24-2009, 11:42 AM
Member
 
vikes88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
vikes88 is offline  
post #118 of 1286 Old 01-24-2009, 11:43 AM
Member
 
vikes88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is what the Arcam site says about video. I wonder what sort of processor it has? and 1080p24?

Video
5 HDMI inputs (up to 1080p, Deep Colour)
2 HDMI outputs (up to 1080p, Deep Colour)
5 Component inputs, one monitor output (up
to 1080i)
5 S-video inputs, one monitor output, 2 tape
outputs
5 Composite video inputs, one monitor
output, 2 tape outputs
Full video up/down conversion & frame rate
conversion of all inputs where technically
allowed
Video enhancements: Edge enhancement,
Mosquito noise reduction, Random noise
reduction, Block noise reduction
vikes88 is offline  
post #119 of 1286 Old 01-25-2009, 08:56 PM
Member
 
valvaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It uses class G amplifiers.... what are those? Some type of proprietary digital topology? Anyone?
valvaholic is offline  
post #120 of 1286 Old 01-25-2009, 10:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
golfugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
golfugh is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off