NAD M15HD Surround Sound Processor - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 758 Old 10-21-2010, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ddingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Mahtomedi,Minnesota
Posts: 1,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nilsson114 View Post

Any news on new MDC cards? Are the 150 and 150x just for the t7*5's or are they going to have something for the m15hd with 1.4. Just hoping for something with maybe audyssey xt32 and 1.4 hdmi.

There should be some news on the M15HD by years end.
ddingle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 758 Old 11-22-2010, 11:30 AM
Member
 
Mr_Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Denmark, Esbjerg
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddingle View Post

There should be some news on the M15HD by years end.

http://nadelectronics.com/articles/H...r-NAD-Receiver

All the top recievers and amps will be opgradeable

Have the M25 with Dali Helicon series myself and have be waiting to replace my Denon AVR3808 out to the M15HD. I would also be sure it could be upgraded before I buy it.

Somebody knows where i can buy the mic and software for the Audyssey Pro calibration?
Mr_Anderson is offline  
post #453 of 758 Old 11-23-2010, 02:59 AM
Member
 
iNetRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't think there was ever any question that M15HD would not be updatable. Only the schedule is still open when the time comes for M15HD.. T175 and T7x5 where confirmed as coming Q1 next year or something.

For the kit you can try this online shop: Perfect Home Theater or one of Audyssey's international distributors.
iNetRunner is offline  
post #454 of 758 Old 12-21-2010, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
truwarrior22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Anderson View Post

http://nadelectronics.com/articles/H...r-NAD-Receiver

All the top recievers and amps will be opgradeable

Have the M25 with Dali Helicon series myself and have be waiting to replace my Denon AVR3808 out to the M15HD. I would also be sure it could be upgraded before I buy it.

Somebody knows where i can buy the mic and software for the Audyssey Pro calibration?

What's the Dali Helicon series?
truwarrior22 is offline  
post #455 of 758 Old 12-21-2010, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
golfugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
golfugh is offline  
post #456 of 758 Old 01-27-2011, 01:54 PM
Member
 
Svend P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am really growing fond of the NAD M15HD. It's an amazing processor.

A little history:
I came from a Yamaha RX-V1500. Never really liked that one. Way to harsh and crude. Then 3 years ago, I bought a NAD T175 with a M25. The jump in sound quality was huge compared to the Yamaha. I never thought surround sound could be that good. The idea was then to get the M15HD when it would be available.

I got tired of waiting, and got the opportunity to get the Denon AVP/POA-A1HD with a big discount, so I tried that. I didn't find it to be a jump in SQ, and actually didn't like the POA at first. Because of finacial needs, 2½ years later, I decided to sell the Denons, and mabye get an Onkyo PR-SC886. Luckily, I was offered a trade with the M15HD instead, and discovered how great it is. It doesn't have that many features, but sound quality wise, I find it to be better than the Denon AVP in my system. It sounds more at ease and relaxed. I friend called it to be more musical. He thought the Denon sounded more like electronic. If that makes sense.

Another great thing is, power consumption during normal operation is less than 45 W. The Denon used 120 W, and an Onkyo PR-SC886 used 75 W.

Does anybody have a picture of the inside of the M15HD, or do I need to take the lid of mine?
Svend P is offline  
post #457 of 758 Old 01-27-2011, 09:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr.SoftDome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svend P View Post
I am really growing fond of the NAD M15HD. It's an amazing processor.

A little history:
I came from a Yamaha RX-V1500. Never really liked that one. Way to harsh and crude. Then 3 years ago, I bought a NAD T175 with a M25. The jump in sound quality was huge compared to the Yamaha. I never thought surround sound could be that good. The idea was then to get the M15HD when it would be available.

I got tired of waiting, and got the opportunity to get the Denon AVP/POA-A1HD with a big discount, so I tried that. I didn't find it to be a jump in SQ, and actually didn't like the POA at first. Because of finacial needs, 2½ years later, I decided to sell the Denons, and mabye get an Onkyo PR-SC886. Luckily, I was offered a trade with the M15HD instead, and discovered how great it is. It doesn't have that many features, but sound quality wise, I find it to be better than the Denon AVP in my system. It sounds more at ease and relaxed. I friend called it to be more musical. He thought the Denon sounded more like electronic. If that makes sense.

Another great thing is, power consumption during normal operation is less than 45 W. The Denon used 120 W, and an Onkyo PR-SC886 used 75 W.

Does anybody have a picture of the inside of the M15HD, or do I need to take the lid of mine?
Outstanding and awesome for you. I have/had the original M15 and I never understood why it didn't get more love. I am placing an order for a new pre/pro and went up a bit in funds but the NAD Masters was fantastic for HT and Stereo and I have no doubt its M15HD big brother is nothing but a great choice.

Enjoy your new toy. Great choice and I would love to hear more about user experience with this unit.

Mr.SoftDome is offline  
post #458 of 758 Old 02-01-2011, 07:14 AM
Member
 
Svend P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So far installing and calibrating Audyssey MultEQ Pro has been a horrible experience.

It is nothing like the plug and play of the normal XT.

You have to have a computer present. Then you need to install the Audyssey program. Then a driver for the RS232-USB converter. Then restart the computer for it to work. And then it turns out, that if you use your HTPC for it, the M15 turns off the screen while calibrating, so you need a monitor that goes directly from the pc. Then you need to enter the licence.

Then I got an error, saying the level was to low. It turns out, the microphone wasn't in the right input. Funny thing was, it didn't say in the manual where to put it. Audyssey said to put it in the phono inputs in the front(there are none) or in the "rear left 1" on the back. Well, the M15HD doesn't have this, so I had to try all analog inputs, one by one. Turns out it goes in "audio 1" left channel.

After doing 8 measurements, I thought it was about time to enjoy the results. It wouldn't show the results on the computer screen though, and I can't hear a difference weither I turn Audyssey on or off in the NAD. I did press the "save" button, so thats not it. Dynamic volume does make an audioble difference, so something must be right.

The NAD always makes a small clicking noise when you change something in the settings that has an effect. But it doesn't click when I turn Audyssey on or off, so something is not right.

I will have to investigate further. Just had to get this off my chest. I miss MultEq XT. Why couldn't they just have given us a better microphone for that?
Svend P is offline  
post #459 of 758 Old 02-01-2011, 09:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,486
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 141
What manual are you reading?

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #460 of 758 Old 02-01-2011, 04:25 PM
Member
 
Svend P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

What manual are you reading?

Both! The manual for the M15HD and the online manual that "pops" up when running Audyssey.

I will be investigating more tomorrow, but from a quick try, I think Audyssey works on dolby digital now(or the "direct" setting in the NAD), but not in stereo. When I switched it on after my first try, Audyssey was turned off, despite me turning it on before I swithed it off.

I'm sure it's just some settings, and I'll just have to learn how to use it.
Svend P is offline  
post #461 of 758 Old 02-02-2011, 03:09 AM
Member
 
iNetRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Svend P: Are you using presets for different inputs? You can have the DSP settings stored in a preset (on/off etc.) and every time you change a input the preset will get loaded and turn off Audyssey.

In the case you have different presets and you have set your source table to use presets for inputs then you would need to store the presets again with correct options.

Regarding the result report i.e. "certificate", the Audyssey Pro software should open your browser (apparently IE works best, others might not display the page correctly) with a before and after pictures of you correction. Not sure how realistic the outcome is in the after pictures, since in my case those where pretty damn flat (of course the graphs pictures are small and they are drawn with 1:1 or 1:3 smoothing). Then you have the option of saving the html page, printing it out, you might have a pdf or XPS printer driver, so you could print it to a file, or store the certificate in you Audyssey installer account website.

The Audyssey Pro NAD manual is not specific to nor does it list M15HD, so that is why it does not list the correct connector to use. I myself guessed correctly on my first try -> front input = analog input 1 in the back. In general the manual is pretty detailed, at least in describing the simple use case.
iNetRunner is offline  
post #462 of 758 Old 02-03-2011, 11:31 AM
Member
 
Svend P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
@iNetRunner
I think you were right about the presets turning Audyssey off. It looks like the prievious owner has made some settings like you describe.

I still can't get it to work though. Or mabye not to work. Mabye Audyssey is on, and I just can't switch it off. All I know is, that there's no difference when I toogle between "off" and "Audyssey" (or any of the other options). DynEq still makes a big difference in the sound.

And I use Firefox, wich looks like a mistake now. I'll try again when I have found a used M25 and need to calibrate again.

That's two problems solved. Thanks! :-)

PS. I still think it's a great preamp, and the remote is the best I have ever tried. It feels like it is made out of a solid piece of aluminum.
Svend P is offline  
post #463 of 758 Old 02-03-2011, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
golfugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try doing a factory reset on the M15HD, I can't get the manual to open on the NAD site or I'd explain further. Then you can start fresh with the original factory settings; save your Audyssey pro calibration to the laptop and then reinsert after reset to factory defaults.
golfugh is offline  
post #464 of 758 Old 02-03-2011, 12:25 PM
Member
 
Svend P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mabye that's a good idea.

But somehow Audyssey started working now. I don't know what I did, I just tried switching it off again while in pro logic mode. Suddenly it worked for all modes.

There's really a huge difference in the sound with Audyssey on. It seems like it's a lot more than with the Denon, which might just be my imagination. Or should Pro be so much better than XT?
Svend P is offline  
post #465 of 758 Old 02-03-2011, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
golfugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pro is much better than XT
golfugh is offline  
post #466 of 758 Old 02-03-2011, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
anyone actually able to do a 2ch analog OUT comparison between M15HD and T175HD (or T175)?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #467 of 758 Old 02-04-2011, 05:57 AM
Member
 
iNetRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
WestCoastD: I don't know about a comparison, but I used to have a T175 (non-HD) and switched to M15HD almost a year ago. Simply put (can't do much else; did not run them at the same time), the difference was huge. More than I expected.

Most notably the DAC appears to be better, so all DD and DTS content sound better. The difference between T175HD and M15HD might be slightly less. Analog in - analog out is also more clear / holographic.
iNetRunner is offline  
post #468 of 758 Old 02-08-2011, 12:14 PM
Member
 
astep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everybody!
A am new to this forum and I am a happy owner of M15HD/M25 combo. Could you please help me with it?
When listening to Dolby TrueHD 5.1 track I can select Dolby PLIIx mode to fully use my 7.1 system, same happens when listening to Dolby Digital 5.1 track. As for DTS 5.1, I can select DTS NEO 6, but when I play DTS HD Master/DTS HD HR 5.1, I am limited to only Direct and Stereo Downmix mode is this OK or it is some sort of malfunction? Moreover, when listening to DTS HD MA 5.1 in Direct mode, all my 7.1 speakers are operational. How is this possible without post processing?
astep is offline  
post #469 of 758 Old 02-08-2011, 08:46 PM
Member
 
jbua5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone interested in a lightly used M15HD? I may sell mine if the price is right.
jbua5150 is offline  
post #470 of 758 Old 02-08-2011, 08:50 PM
Member
 
jbua5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by astep View Post

Hello everybody!
A am new to this forum and I am a happy owner of M15HD/M25 combo. Could you please help me with it?
When listening to Dolby TrueHD 5.1 track I can select Dolby PLIIx mode to fully use my 7.1 system, same happens when listening to Dolby Digital 5.1 track. As for DTS 5.1, I can select DTS NEO 6, but when I play DTS HD Master/DTS HD HR 5.1, I am limited to only Direct and Stereo Downmix mode is this OK or it is some sort of malfunction? Moreover, when listening to DTS HD MA 5.1 in Direct mode, all my 7.1 speakers are operational. How is this possible without post processing?

I believe that is correct.
jbua5150 is offline  
post #471 of 758 Old 02-08-2011, 09:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by iNetRunner View Post

I used to have a T175 (non-HD) and switched to M15HD almost a year ago. Simply put (can't do much else; did not run them at the same time), the difference was huge. More than I expected. Analog in - analog out is also more clear / holographic.

this is good, thanks
WestCoastD is offline  
post #472 of 758 Old 02-08-2011, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbua5150 View Post

Anyone interested in a lightly used M15HD? I may sell mine if the price is right.

not too happy (be honest)?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #473 of 758 Old 02-08-2011, 09:25 PM
Member
 
jbua5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am unhappy with the unit. Sound quality is superb! Use-ability and functions are less than favorable.
jbua5150 is offline  
post #474 of 758 Old 02-08-2011, 09:28 PM
Member
 
jbua5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The NAD build quality is second to none. Sound quality is exceptional for the
price. One would have to pay many time more to get as good/ slightly better sound.
jbua5150 is offline  
post #475 of 758 Old 02-08-2011, 09:33 PM
Member
 
jbua5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I find analog performance better on the 175HD. I have had 175, 175HD, M15HD.
175 vs 175HD the HD model wins.
M15HD has no TRUE analog. ALL ANALOG INPUTS GO THROUGH DSP.
Except for the 7.1 analogs.
Sooooo you have a-d then d-a conversion! Yay!
jbua5150 is offline  
post #476 of 758 Old 02-08-2011, 09:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,131
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbua5150 View Post

I find analog performance better on the 175HD. I have had 175, 175HD, M15HD.
175 vs 175HD the HD model wins.
M15HD has no TRUE analog. ALL ANALOG INPUTS GO THROUGH DSP.
Except for the 7.1 analogs.
Sooooo you have a-d then d-a conversion! Yay!

Wow, that's certainly a little strange. I didn't pick up on that at all from the thread or manual.

____________________

Build Thread: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is online now  
post #477 of 758 Old 02-09-2011, 12:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbua5150 View Post

I find analog performance better on the 175HD

wow, that's hard to believe. You're speaking of 2ch analog here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbua5150 View Post

I have had T175, T175HD, M15HD. T175 vs T175HD: the HD model wins

2ch analog? I'm curious, is there upgraded analog circuitry in T175HD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbua5150 View Post

M15HD has no TRUE analog. ALL ANALOG INPUTS GO THROUGH DSP. Except for the 7.1 analogs. Sooooo you have a-d then d-a conversion!

yeah, this is common scenario with many new-generation AVR's and pre-pro's: re-digitizing (to provide various DSP modes of operation), while the 5.1ch/7.1ch multi-channel OUT's are usually pure analog. But I would think the M15HD would have a 2ch "Pure Direct" path that is analog? I guess not?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #478 of 758 Old 02-09-2011, 01:21 AM
Member
 
jbua5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sorry mis-stated there.
175HD>175 via digital connections.
I do however prefer analog into 175HD vs M15HD.
175 & 175HD have analog bypass which turns off sub and bypasses DSP.
There is no analog bypass on M15HD. Which means to listen to stereo without sub you have to go several menu levels deep to disable sub.
And still stereo signal is fed through DSP.
Not acceptable to me.
jbua5150 is offline  
post #479 of 758 Old 02-09-2011, 01:27 AM
Member
 
jbua5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The fact that it's not openly stated is part of what bothers me. If is purely digital, cool. Just tell me before hand. Why even put analog inputs on it then?
jbua5150 is offline  
post #480 of 758 Old 02-09-2011, 01:43 AM
Member
 
jbua5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to restate that the M15HD is a wonderful sounding, superbly built, piece of gear. I am just going a different direction with my theater. (I like features)
For critical music listening I will keep improving on my dedicated 2ch set-up.
jbua5150 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Nad

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off