"Official" Onkyo TX-SR806 Reciever thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1842 Old 11-14-2008, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
shoponkyo has the 906 back in stock, $454 more from an 806 to 806. Hmmmm.... is it worth the jump?
blackmax2k1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1842 Old 11-14-2008, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Just got mine as well, I haven't open it, not double box as mentioned above.One of my corner looks like it took a hit, slightly folded in..Hope all is well though.

DJoel
Djoel is online now  
post #93 of 1842 Old 11-14-2008, 02:24 PM
Senior Member
 
RobBas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just got the refurb 806 in the mail. I have a couple of questions:

1. Heat: Just playing music the things get hot, not warm but hot, but from reading abut Onkyo's this is normal?

2. My subwoofer used to be a lot louder on the old marantz sr7000, this one is about half the volume, and yes I did run the auto speaker setup... any ideas? I can manually adjust it, but is that the correct solution?

3. With a 5.1 system you do not hook up to the back surround inputs correct, they go on the normal surrounds right?

-Rob
RobBas is offline  
post #94 of 1842 Old 11-14-2008, 02:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes

yes

yes
blackmax2k1 is offline  
post #95 of 1842 Old 11-14-2008, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
RobBas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks

It set my sub to -15...
RobBas is offline  
post #96 of 1842 Old 11-14-2008, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got mine. Not double boxed but box is in great shape. Why did they go cheap with the remote? I mean really how much of a cost is that. 5, 6, or maybe even 7 series, but not 8!
blackmax2k1 is offline  
post #97 of 1842 Old 11-15-2008, 05:40 AM
Senior Member
 
RobBas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackmax2k1 View Post

Got mine. Not double boxed but box is in great shape. Why did they go cheap with the remote? I mean really how much of a cost is that. 5, 6, or maybe even 7 series, but not 8!

Same here, not double boxed and mine had a tons of dirt on it... weird, but the receiver looks to be in very good condition, no visible marks, scratches, etc. Audyssey did a good job except for my sub, its next to the couch but said it was 9ft away, but all other measurements were nearly accurate. My wife did comment it looks like something out of the 70's

In any case let us know what sort of adjustments and what not people are doing. There seems to be quite a bit of options with this receiver.
RobBas is offline  
post #98 of 1842 Old 11-15-2008, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 219
I've posted this question on the other 806/706 thread just thought I would get some insight here..thanks


I just purchased an 806 I hooked my Oppo 980 Thur HDMI, Tosh XA2 Thur HDMI,Panny BD30 Thur hdmi, Pio 5070 to monitor out also HDMI...

I was getting the on screen display, until a little will ago (might have changed some setting inadvertently). Now I can't access the OSD?:EDIT (I got OSD again!)

Also I my not able to get any audio signal using the HDMi's, I plugged L/R analog to my XA2 and I'm getting an audio signal but just from the right side speaker, and center when I changed the sound fields....Wtf!

Oh I'm using it thing as a pre, with external amps...I've checked the connections several times...Switched the toggled switch on the amp, from XLR, to RCA's..I don't want else to try.

Thanks

DJoel
Djoel is online now  
post #99 of 1842 Old 11-15-2008, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Well my dumb luck I got a busted 806 with a bad left amp section( I thought at least that would work), or what ever is going inside this thing...Just tried the internal amps as well, did the whole switching thing with the speakers, and nothing! A gimp AVR is what I have...Unf*&@#!believable.URGH!
Djoel is online now  
post #100 of 1842 Old 11-15-2008, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got about 3.25" above this bad boy in a rack. Think that is enough?
blackmax2k1 is offline  
post #101 of 1842 Old 11-15-2008, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to hear that Djoel. I'm guessing you didn't try the internal amps before hooking up the external.
blackmax2k1 is offline  
post #102 of 1842 Old 11-15-2008, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackmax2k1 View Post

Sorry to hear that Djoel. I'm guessing you didn't try the internal amps before hooking up the external.

Thanks blackmax

No I wanted to avoid using the externals, I tried the surrounds and they seemed to be bad as well. What' working are the Front right,and center so far...I'm just going to pack it up and ship it to Onkyo and see what happens..

I've gone down this road with them before, and it's never a good experience sorry to say.

I'm glad there aren't one reporting with a duds, or other issues.

Djoel
Djoel is online now  
post #103 of 1842 Old 11-15-2008, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackmax2k1 View Post

I've got about 3.25" above this bad boy in a rack. Think that is enough?


Yup more than enough, these thing get so hot!
I was running my external amp, and my amp was cool to the touch..The Onkyo was devilishly hot!


Djoel
Djoel is online now  
post #104 of 1842 Old 11-15-2008, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have pretty much had it with Onkyo too. I just noticed that one part of the display is dimmer then the rest. The part that says "Volume" when you turn it up and down is dim and if I have a name (PS3/Bluray) that goes to that part of the display its also dim. The ray in that name is dim. Quality just sucks with Onkyo. I had the same thing happen with an 805. I wish Denon wasn't so expensive.
blackmax2k1 is offline  
post #105 of 1842 Old 11-15-2008, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackmax2k1 View Post

I have pretty much had it with Onkyo too. I just noticed that one part of the display is dimmer then the rest. The part that says "Volume" when you turn it up and down is dim and if I have a name (PS3/Bluray) that goes to that part of the display its also dim. The ray in that name is dim. Quality just sucks with Onkyo. I had the same thing happen with an 805. I wish Denon wasn't so expensive.


I can't understand why they can't get their Sh!t together, I'm sure they more worried about the pile of cash than quality of their gear. Yup I agree on that one as well, I like Denon they just happen to be a bit expensive..This was supposed to be a back up AVR, until Cary rolled out their units, and they where debugged and all..I don't know, about this..

Sorry to hear you having issues with your screen display,man I thought being that these were refurbished units that they gone through some quality control more than once!

Djoel
Djoel is online now  
post #106 of 1842 Old 11-17-2008, 06:01 AM
Senior Member
 
RobBas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I think we all got caught up in the price, and deservedly so, I mean $440 shipped was/is an incredible price for an 806. I wanted a Denon 2309 or another Marantz, but their intro stuff is like 700 bucks... And yes, Onkyo's customer service is horrible, I had a few questions and both reps I spoke too acted like I was a bother to them. So far, so good, with my receiver , sucks to hear about your issues though, I hope they get resolved... refurbs FTW
RobBas is offline  
post #107 of 1842 Old 11-18-2008, 07:28 AM
Member
 
toolie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Orford, NH
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any new word on the lip syncing performance of the 806? Based on the video performance of the 806 I'm temped to go with the 805 but poor syncing would drive me nuts. If I can simply pass video through the 806 with no processing and the audio is otherwise okay I think I'm definitely in the market for the 806.
toolie is offline  
post #108 of 1842 Old 11-18-2008, 08:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
USMCGrunt0307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Illinios
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ive had this reciever for....awhile....and ive never had any lip syncing issues with it. Ive used it for: TV (duh), gaming on PS2, PS3, Wii, and as a HTPC monitor. All my audio has synced up with onscreen action just fine. I havent seen it mentioned in awhile but the screen jitter I used to get while upscaling has gone away. I also dont have any issues with the Wii...especially nothing like I saw in pictures in a previous post.

Ive got:
Dish Sat box hooked HDMI (1080i-->reciever upconvert.)
Playstation 3 (1080P-->reciever)
Playstation 2 (Composite-->reciever upconverted 1080p)
Wii (Component 480p-->reciever upconverted 1080p)
PC (Multichannel input for audio only)


Only possible issue is i have mine turned up to about -40 to -35 db for normal television watching....I dont remember if ive always had to turn it up that much for sound or if 1) my speakers are slowly dying? or 2) The amp is slowly dying? I dont know how possible any of that can be but if someone has any ideas on that let me know.

Be careful of the people around...they might know how to use their pinky in the worst of ways...
USMCGrunt0307 is offline  
post #109 of 1842 Old 11-18-2008, 08:36 AM
Member
 
toolie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Orford, NH
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info, USMCG.
toolie is offline  
post #110 of 1842 Old 11-20-2008, 07:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
USMCGrunt0307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Illinios
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Went in and checked my settings, ive got my HD upconversion set to Full instead of Auto. When I changed it to auto and started my Wii up it crushed the image and made the colors all funky likep previously posted. Makes me think that the upconvert. chip isnt even doing anything...thats upsetting..

Also toolie, there is an option in the setup menus to adjust A/V sync if you do have sync problems btw

Be careful of the people around...they might know how to use their pinky in the worst of ways...
USMCGrunt0307 is offline  
post #111 of 1842 Old 11-23-2008, 02:02 PM
Member
 
savior sound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by toolie View Post

Any new word on the lip syncing performance of the 806? Based on the video performance of the 806 I'm temped to go with the 805 but poor syncing would drive me nuts. If I can simply pass video through the 806 with no processing and the audio is otherwise okay I think I'm definitely in the market for the 806.

According to this review http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/proce...-receiver.html the 806 effects the video somewhat even when set to pass thru.
savior sound is offline  
post #112 of 1842 Old 11-23-2008, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mn_hokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 2,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by savior sound View Post

According to this review http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/proce...-receiver.html the 806 effects the video somewhat even when set to pass thru.

i read this review prior to buying my 806 and decided that I'd just send it back to Crutchfield if I had a problem. 1 month in, video is pristine and I haven't had to bother with even turning on the lip sync function.
mn_hokie is offline  
post #113 of 1842 Old 11-23-2008, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
RobBas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey all, I need some help as I have tried everything I know but I can't get this to work. I have a Panasonic Bluray player DMP-BD35, when the DVD player is set to output bitstream I get no audio from the receiver, when I set it to PCM, I get audio in 2.1... and multi channel is displayed on the receiver. From what I read, the Blu Ray player should be sending over bitstream and the receiver should be able to decode that... I hope this is a silly setting I over looked.
RobBas is offline  
post #114 of 1842 Old 11-23-2008, 09:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
USMCGrunt0307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Illinios
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you have your BD player hooked up, through HDMI? Check settings in your BD player maybe. I just checked that out using my PS3 in Bitstream and the receiver is getting 5.1 DTS to the reciever.

Be careful of the people around...they might know how to use their pinky in the worst of ways...
USMCGrunt0307 is offline  
post #115 of 1842 Old 11-24-2008, 06:20 AM
Senior Member
 
RobBas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I kept reading post after post and found this not the same problem but I figure I would try it, and it worked! I have no idea why it worked but I did double check the player, it is sending bitstream, and I am getting audio now. So I assume all is well.

If anyone knows why the this
Quote:
sorted! Was Option 3 -> Audio Setup Then Dolby Digital Ex Needed Setting To Manual Not Auto As It Re-configures To 6.1 Configuration!

worked, I would like to know.

If this is the correct solution, I hope I save one person the entire day of frustration I went through.
RobBas is offline  
post #116 of 1842 Old 11-26-2008, 07:55 PM
Member
 
prometheis_78063's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobBas View Post

Just pulled the trigger on a refurb 806... as mentioned price was too good to pass up... did anyone get the extended warranty? If so, how much is it, and is it worth it? IMO extended warranties are only useful 10% of the time, the other 90% you never use it.

I too pulled the trigger on the 806, ($440+tax) and did not opt for the 2 year extended warranty $85. I ordered it 11/25 pm and have yet to hear from them, but then it's only been a day. You can go to their website and enter your order# and zip code to track your order.

What I haven't heard about the 806 is the need for external (additional internal?) fans due to overheating? Does this unit run cooler than the 805 counterpart? What if any fan(s) are recommended?
prometheis_78063 is offline  
post #117 of 1842 Old 11-28-2008, 05:11 PM
Member
 
snguyen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a pair of Magnepan MC1s for the front and MMGWs for the rear speakers. No centers. Powered sub. Can I drive these speakers to home theater volume safely? The Maggies are supposedly a consistent 4 OHM load.

Thanks, Steve
snguyen is offline  
post #118 of 1842 Old 11-29-2008, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
THe_Flash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Harrisburg
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I'm really on the fence about this receiver given its video out issues. I'm considering the Denon 2309 instead. Any thoughts?
THe_Flash is offline  
post #119 of 1842 Old 11-29-2008, 04:03 PM
Senior Member
 
ViperVenom18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So I was going to buy this receiver until I read about how crappy it really is.

I was going to get the 805, but the main reason I'm buying a new receiver is for HD experiences aka gaming and blu ray, etc. If I was getting it just for the audio purposes, I'd get the 805, but it seems the 805 isn't the best for video sourcing either.

I guess I gotta spend the big bucks...
ViperVenom18 is offline  
post #120 of 1842 Old 11-30-2008, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mn_hokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 2,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
All of this negative press and people calling the receiver "Crappy" really amuses me. I've had 0 problems with my 806. Just goes to show you how a few disgruntled users can really affect the masses.
mn_hokie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off