The "Official" Denon Feature Pack Upgrade Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
techtvman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Des Monies, Iowa
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thought i should start this so that we could talk about the new features available Oct 1 2008 for $100, to upgrade users of the Denon 3808ci, 4308ci and 5308ci AVRs. (free upgrade to 5308ci users)

We can talk about how well the update works or how well it doesnt or whatever else pertaining to the upgrade

more information available here:
http://news.ecoustics.com/bbs/messag...81/511924.html

Most cool features:
Audyssey Dynamic Volume
Audyssey Dynamic EQ

other included features:
HDMI CEC
One Touch Play
Sirius radio ready
Rapsody streaming capability


are you going to upgrade?

-- TechTVMan

My Setup
techtvman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
st_o_p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sure I will upgrade. I have the 5308 so for me it's free
I'll get it for the Dolby Volume - something I wanted to have from get go
st_o_p is offline  
post #3 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 10:51 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Link to the official press release, courtesy of captavs:

http://www.dm-holdings.com/brandnews...rade.Final.pdf

I am definately going to upgrade. Volume control is on my wife's list of items she is willing to pay money to obtain.

cybrsage is offline  
post #4 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
techtvman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Des Monies, Iowa
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i think i will upgrade as well, i hope it works as well as Dolby Volume

-- TechTVMan

My Setup
techtvman is offline  
post #5 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 11:47 AM
Member
 
greenlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll definitely upgrade. Dynamic volume looks to be awesome for when the wife wants to sleep.
greenlock is offline  
post #6 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 02:25 PM
Member
 
smoothavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Depends is this a one time payment with other upgrades to follow?
smoothavs is offline  
post #7 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 02:35 PM
T2k
 
T2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by techtvman View Post

i think i will upgrade as well, i hope it works as well as Dolby Volume

Considering Dolby Volume isn't even available yet I am more than interested to hear what did you mean...
T2k is offline  
post #8 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 02:39 PM
QZ1
AVS Special Member
 
QZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. PA
Posts: 5,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoothavs View Post

Depends is this a one time payment with other upgrades to follow?

No, for now, what we know is that $100 gets you the upgrades listed. I doubt there will be any other upgrades. However, if there are, I doubt they will be free, but it's possible.
QZ1 is offline  
post #9 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
techtvman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Des Monies, Iowa
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by T2k View Post

Considering Dolby Volume isn't even available yet I am more than interested to hear what did you mean...

there are two AVRs that have them at the moment:
Harman Kardon AVR 7550HD and the Arcam FMJ AVR600

which are also not available so i guess we will have to wait till Jan 09 to test out which is better, but still makes be curious

-- TechTVMan

My Setup
techtvman is offline  
post #10 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by techtvman View Post

there are two AVRs that have them at the moment:
Harman Kardon AVR 7550HD and the Arcam FMJ AVR600

which are also not available so i guess we will have to wait till Jan 09 to test out which is better, but still makes be curious

I'll tell you right now the Audyssey stuff is superior

Like 80's rock? Add Pirate Radio KQLZ (updated 8/21/11): http://174.127.65.10:80 to your http://www.radiodenon.com

Firmware update? http://denon-firmware-tracking.wetpaint.com/
captavs is offline  
post #11 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ThePrisoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
How our we going to hook-up a Sirius antenna after the update. The XM antenna out is different from Sirius.

I'm most excited about Dynamic EQ and Volume. Can't wait for the 1st!

"The powerful will be ripped from their decadent nests. And cast out into the cold world that we know and endure. Courts will be convened. Spoils will be enjoyed!"

 

-Bane

ThePrisoner is offline  
post #12 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by QZ1 View Post

No, for now, what we know is that $100 gets you the upgrades listed. I doubt there will be any other upgrades. However, if there are, I doubt they will be free, but it's possible.

That's the spirit. Doubt further upgrades and be pleasantly surprised if they show up

Like 80's rock? Add Pirate Radio KQLZ (updated 8/21/11): http://174.127.65.10:80 to your http://www.radiodenon.com

Firmware update? http://denon-firmware-tracking.wetpaint.com/
captavs is offline  
post #13 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 03:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePrisoner View Post

How our we going to hook-up a Sirius antenna after the update. The XM antenna out is different from Sirius.

I'm most excited about Dynamic EQ and Volume. Can't wait for the 1st!

I read somewhere using the rs232 port an adapter.

Like 80's rock? Add Pirate Radio KQLZ (updated 8/21/11): http://174.127.65.10:80 to your http://www.radiodenon.com

Firmware update? http://denon-firmware-tracking.wetpaint.com/
captavs is offline  
post #14 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ThePrisoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
^^^Thanks!

How our we going to pay for this update. Will we have to call Denon with a CC?

"The powerful will be ripped from their decadent nests. And cast out into the cold world that we know and endure. Courts will be convened. Spoils will be enjoyed!"

 

-Bane

ThePrisoner is offline  
post #15 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePrisoner View Post

^^^Thanks!

How our we going to pay for this update. Will we have to call Denon with a CC?

The USA press release cybrsage kindly posted a few posts back says the upgrade will be purchased on Denon's web site. The upgrade will be applied by the end user via the GUI interface firmware upgrade option.

Like 80's rock? Add Pirate Radio KQLZ (updated 8/21/11): http://174.127.65.10:80 to your http://www.radiodenon.com

Firmware update? http://denon-firmware-tracking.wetpaint.com/
captavs is offline  
post #16 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 08:46 PM
Member
 
DeathtoToasters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by captavs View Post

I read somewhere using the rs232 port an adapter.

Any more info on this?
DeathtoToasters is offline  
post #17 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 10:59 PM
Member
 
whiffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: irvine, ca
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Audyssey Dynamic Volume can't get here soon enough. i'm looking forward to not having to pick up the remote every time a commercial comes on.
whiffer is offline  
post #18 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 11:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
dreamstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Out of all the upgrades that come with this update I'm only interested in the Dynamic EQ. No wifey here and I don't have cable TV.
dreamstate is offline  
post #19 of 930 Old 09-12-2008, 11:29 PM
Senior Member
 
DarkAdept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll definitely be jumping on the update right away. Dynamic Volume sounds like a godsend for DVR-acquired material, and I may even tinker with it for late-night movie watching if it can be fine tuned more effectively than the dynamic range compression scheme currently available.

Dynamic EQ? I'm curious to see how it works in practice. My listening environment is far from ideal and cannot be acoustically treated (large primary living space opens up into the kitchen - vaulted ceilings, hardwood floors and so forth. Thank goodness for Audessey's ability to tame the beast somewhat already.)
DarkAdept is offline  
post #20 of 930 Old 09-13-2008, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gonzalc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pretoria, South Africa
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I will definetely upgrade... For me the most interesting feature will be the dynamic eq...
Dynamic volume seems to be more useful for watching broadcast material and I typically use my gear to watch movies and to listen to music

Christian

My DVD and Blu Ray collection

JVC RS65, ST 130, B&W 803 Diamonds mains, B&W HTM2 Diamond center channel,B&W 805 Diamond surrounds, B&W DB1 subwoofer, Anthem D2v, Parasound Halo A51+A21,Oppo BDP 103,PS Audio Power Plant Premier,Darbee Darblet
gonzalc3 is online now  
post #21 of 930 Old 09-13-2008, 07:24 AM
Newbie
 
mravn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't recall seeing this mentioned but doesn't the 2809 have hardware designed specific for the Eq and volume vs a firmware change that will control hardware that wasn't designed for that purpose. Since Denon is offering this, I'm sure they have made it work, but I wonder how well. I work in the electronics field and it just makes me think, a firmware change can and does correct bugs, but changing the function of the electronis in such a drastic way....hmmmm. Anyway I guess having that function avail (even if it's only working partially as good) is better than not having it at all.
mravn is offline  
post #22 of 930 Old 09-13-2008, 07:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mravn View Post

I don't recall seeing this mentioned but doesn't the 2809 have hardware designed specific for the Eq and volume vs a firmware change that will control hardware that wasn't designed for that purpose. Since Denon is offering this, I'm sure they have made it work, but I wonder how well. I work in the electronics field and it just makes me think, a firmware change can and does correct bugs, but changing the function of the electronis in such a drastic way....hmmmm. Anyway I guess having that function avail (even if it's only working partially as good) is better than not having it at all.

The 3808 and up can get Audyssey Pro (which also includes Dynamic EQ) calibration. Denon is simply making available Dynamic EQ and Dynamic volume (and a few other new features) to the 3808 and 4308 which can be installed by the end user versus having to pay an installer for Audyssey Pro calibration to get Dynamic EQ (The latest Audyssey Pro additionally provides for a much finer calibration and other capabilities such as editing curves). Dynamic volume is something new which the 3808 and upper models were already built to handle.

Note: I am not saying the October upgrade pack includes Audyssey Pro. It does not.

Like 80's rock? Add Pirate Radio KQLZ (updated 8/21/11): http://174.127.65.10:80 to your http://www.radiodenon.com

Firmware update? http://denon-firmware-tracking.wetpaint.com/
captavs is offline  
post #23 of 930 Old 09-24-2008, 08:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
liltalkm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Coral Springs,FL, USA
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Is it Oct 1 yet?

I am very excited about this upgrade.


Later

Speakers: Martin Logan Montis, EM C2, Dual Depth I Subs, JBL S38 surround (upgrading soon) | Processor: Yamaha CX-A5000 | Amp: Sunfire TGA-5400 | Sources: DirecTV HR34, HTPC, Mac Mini, Oppo BDP-103, PS4, PS3, Xbox One, Wii U | Television: Panasonic 65VT50 | Remote: Logitech Harmony Ultimate
liltalkm is offline  
post #24 of 930 Old 09-24-2008, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
techtvman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Des Monies, Iowa
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1 week

one person has said that they see one of the add-ons already, his post was on denon firmware thread

-- TechTVMan

My Setup
techtvman is offline  
post #25 of 930 Old 09-24-2008, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by techtvman View Post

1 week

one person has said that they see one of the add-ons already, his post was on denon firmware thread

Yes, the upgrade feature pack shows now when selecting 'add new feature' in the GUI. Denon USA technical said to visit their web site begining Oct 1 for information how to register (and pay if 3808/4308) for the upgrade.

Like 80's rock? Add Pirate Radio KQLZ (updated 8/21/11): http://174.127.65.10:80 to your http://www.radiodenon.com

Firmware update? http://denon-firmware-tracking.wetpaint.com/
captavs is offline  
post #26 of 930 Old 09-24-2008, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
citico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pay with credit card at Denon web site and furnish the ID number we received in the last FW update(1.95)???

ED
citico is offline  
post #27 of 930 Old 09-24-2008, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by citico View Post

Pay with credit card at Denon web site and furnish the ID number we received in the last FW update(1.95)???

All Denon technical said was to visit their web site for info beginning Oct 1.

Like 80's rock? Add Pirate Radio KQLZ (updated 8/21/11): http://174.127.65.10:80 to your http://www.radiodenon.com

Firmware update? http://denon-firmware-tracking.wetpaint.com/
captavs is offline  
post #28 of 930 Old 09-24-2008, 01:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Brucemck2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Any inidication when / whether new units will be shipping with the upgrade already installed?
Brucemck2 is online now  
post #29 of 930 Old 09-24-2008, 01:03 PM
Member
 
Issac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am getting mine today, I will post if it does.
Issac is offline  
post #30 of 930 Old 09-24-2008, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
techtvman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Des Monies, Iowa
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brucemck2 View Post

Any inidication when / whether new units will be shipping with the upgrade already installed?

yes i read that new buyers of 38 43 and 53 owners will get the new preinstalled at no cost, now when this is i cant say, id guess after the 1st

-- TechTVMan

My Setup
techtvman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off