12v Triggers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-12-2008, 09:02 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
akopperl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have two external amps that I would like to turn on using their 12v trigger capability. Unfortunately, my receiver does not have any 12v triggers to activate the amps. Is there any reasonably priced, easy to use device that I can use as a trigger for the amps?

Thanks
akopperl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-12-2008, 09:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RoboRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If your receiver has a switched power outlet in the back that's only activated when the receiver is turned on, you can probably rig up something using an AC to 12VDC converter from Radio Shack.
RoboRay is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-23-2008, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
akopperl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The amp I want to trigger on does not accept a plug. There is a connection on the back for bare wire with one slot for + (positive) and one for - (negative).

If I purchased a 500mA AC to 12VDC Adapter from Radio Shack, can I cut the wire and hook it up to the +/- on my amp? How would I know what wire to connect to the positive and which to the negative? Also, is 500mA safe?

Thanks
akopperl is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-23-2008, 11:17 AM
Member
 
skrubol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Generally the positive side of the wire will have a stripe on it (assuming it's a figure-8 type wire, and not a cable made of 2 individual wires in a sheath.) You might want to pick up a cheap multimeter so you can test stuff like this.
500mA should be fine, as that's just the maximum current it can provide. I wouldn't think the trigger port would pull much. One other thing you might want to get a meter for is to test the open circuit voltage of the adapter you pick up. Some are very poorly regulated, and with very light loads may be considerably higher than 12v.
skrubol is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-23-2008, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
mdk2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
whats the best way to set-up a trigger from the receiver to the amp? given they both have the outlets....
mdk2007 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off