The "Official" Onkyo TX-SR876 Owners Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 5097 Old 11-11-2008, 02:11 PM
 
goneten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just to report back, same problem again. In the beginning when I first noticed the problem I thought it might be the cable. But it's been happening now on a regular basis so it seems to be getting worse.

The issue presented itself again so I disabled the subwoofer and changed to the second MFW-15. Same issue. No deep bass to speak of. Then I pressed the "setup" button and got out of the menu and the bass just reappeared again ! What on earth. . .

So it's not the subwoofer. I'm hoping that trying Audyssey will resolve the issue even though I would turn it off once I'm finished. Last thing I suppose I could do is to reset the receiver.

Regards,
goneten is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 5097 Old 11-12-2008, 01:07 AM
 
goneten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I tried Audyssey and still nothing. I did six points. Not sure what else to do besides a reset.

Regards,
goneten is offline  
post #273 of 5097 Old 11-12-2008, 01:52 AM
 
goneten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Spoke to the most technical Onkyo rep around and he told me that I have one of two issues. Either the processor locked up which could be causing this intermittent LFE issue.

Or that perhaps there is "under voltage" issues in my area. He asked me to check my voltage to see that it's 220-230 v. I told him that my previous receiver had no such issues and he said that the 876 has a much larger power supply.

So there you go. I think the processor locked up and in order to solve it I would need to reset it which I assumed early on. I'll try it later on. I'm not too sure about the voltage issues he was talking about.

Regards,
goneten is offline  
post #274 of 5097 Old 11-12-2008, 02:42 AM
Newbie
 
Oceanviewstudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi ggunnel,

thanks for that!

Looks like a 45 cm deep shelf is fine. My dealer measured the chassis without connectors, and it is 42 cm.

I place this baby on a top shelf, nothing above it and sufficient space all round.

Can't wait to hook it up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ggunnell View Post

Bear, according to the Onkyo manual downloaded fronm the USA site, which does mention the European models, the 876 is 18 1/16 inches or about 45.9 cm deep. Of course the shelf only has to support from the front of the front feet to the rear of the rear feet.

The real issue is, is there a back on this shelving? Does the 45cm shelf depth have to include room for cables to bend, or can they hang out the back?

Oceanviewstudio is offline  
post #275 of 5097 Old 11-12-2008, 09:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
lsdavinci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I bit the bullet and just bought mine last night. So far, so good. compaired to my old rx-v2095 yamaha, this beast sounds scary. deep, clear, crisp. I haven't eve begun to play with it yet but I do have 14 days to do so. The only thing I'm not sure about is the video. It looks good but coming from my samsung 500 with reon, I'm not sure if it's passing it thru or messing with it in some way. I guess I'm going to have to do an A B comparison. But so far so good.
lsdavinci is offline  
post #276 of 5097 Old 11-12-2008, 10:31 AM
 
goneten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Does anyone know how to reset the Onkyo 876 ? I completely forgot the procedure. I have to hold down two buttons but I forgot which ones.

Regards,
goneten is offline  
post #277 of 5097 Old 11-12-2008, 12:34 PM
Member
 
tyson1749's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hold down standby and vcr buttons at same time.
tyson1749 is offline  
post #278 of 5097 Old 11-13-2008, 12:50 AM
 
goneten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hey, thanks. I eventually figured out the reset procedure last night and it worked. The bass is back to normal after calibration, no drop outs. So I'll see if it's okay after work, if not I'll let you guys know.

Thanks.

Regards,
goneten is offline  
post #279 of 5097 Old 11-14-2008, 02:47 PM
Newbie
 
DanceMyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone successfully hooked up an Apple Mac? I can't get the display settings right on the Mac. Output is fine during the boot-up phase (monochrome Apple logo and spinning progress wheel), but then the signal goes out, probably as the Mac is switching over to the saved display configuration. I've tried various combinations of resolutions and number of colors, with no success. I can output directly from the Mac to the TV with no problem on any of the settings, but I can't get the signal to successfully go through the 876. Ideas?
DanceMyth is offline  
post #280 of 5097 Old 11-15-2008, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtv00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ill
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I jumped in for a silver refurb, at that price I had to take the chance. Hope to hell it was the right one. I was thinking of getting the 805 but the dual hdmi out's sealed it for me. I just hope to hell now they'll do what I want them to do or I'll be pissed.

I use a projector and 24 inch dell with dvi for displays. So instead of having to swap out cords all the time when I want to switch between displays. I figured dual hdmi out was key.

So for source I'll have a pc via dvi to hdmi cable running into the 876 and a sony ps3 running in also via hdmi. Then out to each display projector using hdmi cable, monitor using dvi to hdmi cable. I read on page 5 here that may not work using pc dvi to the hdmi in on the reciever. But some reason the adapter let's it work.

So I'll see in time but this should be a damn nice unit. I'll be moving up from an old onkyo 898 so I'm hoping for some nice improvement performance wise.

i7 4770K/16 gig 2133/GTX 680 840 PRO SSD

Paradigm Studio 100/570/20's/2200 Sub

Onkyo 809 42" LCD/Panny AE4000
 

hdtv00 is offline  
post #281 of 5097 Old 11-15-2008, 04:20 PM
Senior Member
 
toolwarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtv00 View Post

Well I jumped in for a silver refurb, at that price I had to take the chance. Hope to hell it was the right one. I was thinking of getting the 805 but the dual hdmi out's sealed it for me. I just hope to hell now they'll do what I want them to do or I'll be pissed.

......


Congrats.... I have been seeing a lot of activity with these referbs, but I just can't bring myself to buy something that may be all scratched up and/or abused by someone else. Referb only means they fix the functionality, not the cosmetics. Also, I am concerned that the mic and other important cables will not be there.

Could you report back with the condition you get your referb in and what stuff does come with it?

Thanks....... Rich
toolwarrior is offline  
post #282 of 5097 Old 11-15-2008, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackmax2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The refurbs are in new condition and come with all the cables, mic, manual.
blackmax2k1 is offline  
post #283 of 5097 Old 11-15-2008, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtv00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ill
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah I been following the condition of them and everyone has reported they could not tell they weren't new and they have all come with the cables, mic and manual. Least that's what I'm seeing.

Now one thing that does have me worried , is I ordered this monring and my CC still hasn't been charged or even a pending charge on it. It's like I didn't order it yet I did get the confirm email after I ordered. I went out on a limb to get this bad boy, so now I'm nervous I'll actually get it. They are bound to sell out of these things.

i7 4770K/16 gig 2133/GTX 680 840 PRO SSD

Paradigm Studio 100/570/20's/2200 Sub

Onkyo 809 42" LCD/Panny AE4000
 

hdtv00 is offline  
post #284 of 5097 Old 11-16-2008, 12:19 AM
Senior Member
 
toolwarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackmax2k1 View Post

The refurbs are in new condition and come with all the cables, mic, manual.

Thats actually good to hear.

Why do you suppose that shoponkyo has the disclaimer on the bottom of the page that states that referbs do not contain cables, batteries and labels?
toolwarrior is offline  
post #285 of 5097 Old 11-16-2008, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trekguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: West of Mt Diablo
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by toolwarrior View Post

Thats actually good to hear.

Why do you suppose that shoponkyo has the disclaimer on the bottom of the page that states that referbs do not contain cables, batteries and labels?

Some customers don't bother to return them, so the question becomes how much more will people pay to have someone ensure that these inexpensive/ non-essential parts are in the box, or replace them with new ones? Remotes OEM remotes can be expensive or hard to find, but batteries are everywhere.

At the price of the first batch of refurbished 906S's I would gladly buy batteries.

The fact that an opinion has been widely held is no evidence whatever that it is not utterly absurd.
-Bertrand Russell
trekguy is offline  
post #286 of 5097 Old 11-16-2008, 07:22 PM
Member
 
PrutikJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I have my SR-876 and JBL CS480 speakers setup where I like it.
BUT, there still one thing that kind of annoys me:
Getting up and dialing my subwoofer up for movies (DVD or BRay)
that I play thru PS3. PS3 audio is setup for linear PCM.
My DirecTV DVR is setup to play doulby digital if available
and subwoofer is pretty good at default level, but when I
switch to DVD/BRay via PS3-the bass is weak so have to raise sub
volume...
And if I forget to dial down my sub back when going from ps3 to directTV
then CNN (and most other TV content) sound like Star Wars !!

FYI:
After Audessey setup my CS480 5.1 speakers
were set Sub=yes, Front=120, Center=150, Surround=150 Hz.
I set my Sub to 120 so as not to have any gaps.
Center -3, L. front +0.5, R. front 0, Surround R 0, Surround L. -1, Sub -7 .
PrutikJr is offline  
post #287 of 5097 Old 11-17-2008, 09:43 AM
Member
 
garrettmoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have people been using this with HTPC's successfully?

I have an HTPC with HDMI out which is currently driving my Pioneer Kuro 50" (1360x768). I'm considering getting this receiver to run both the TV and my Mitsubishi HD1000 projector (1280x720).

Will the receiver send the right EDID information to the HTPC when I switch the hdmi output back and forth?


edit:
Also, what kind of speaker setups have people been driving with this? Will it be able to drive the following ok? My current receiver is a Sony STRDG720 and I'm killing it, and can't turn it up very high or I risk getting distortion and don't want to damage my speakers.

2x Paradigm 11Se Mk2 mains (4ohm, 10w - 160w)
Paradigm CC-450 center (6ohm?)
2x AKAI 2-way sides (8ohm, 50w)
2x Paradigm Atom rears (8ohm)
garrettmoore is offline  
post #288 of 5097 Old 11-17-2008, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtv00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ill
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Who knows with that not really in spec off HD res of that 50 inch. I know people have said setting pc to 1920x1080 res for pc it see's it as 1080p fine and passes it. So either it will with that res or it might be close enough to 720p for it to unchange it.

It will handle your speakers just fine without any issues it's rated to handle 4ohm although seem's only your fronts are 4ohm. With this things ability to bi amp or bridge channels I don't think they'll ever be an issue with power.

I can relax now my order for mine did go through this morning. Guess they don't take orders on the weekend from onkyo. But mine is now on the way.....can't wait.

I have paradigm studio's and we also have the same projector the mits as well. We're in for some real fun.

i7 4770K/16 gig 2133/GTX 680 840 PRO SSD

Paradigm Studio 100/570/20's/2200 Sub

Onkyo 809 42" LCD/Panny AE4000
 

hdtv00 is offline  
post #289 of 5097 Old 11-17-2008, 06:09 PM
Newbie
 
joeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just hooked up my second 876 as I had to return my first one due to a faulty remote. Nontheless when switching between some satellite TV station I get a message that appears on the receiver display that says Dialog Norm -4db. It only appears for a second or two and then the surround mode appears. This also happens when switching between satellite TV and DVD as when the DVD movie starts to play I get the same brief message but it only says Dialog Norm -2db. I only question this as I never saw this message flash on my first 876 and the Onkyo tech I spoke to has never heard of the message. Has anyone seen this on their receiver display if so what does it mean and is is normal? Thanks
joeboy is offline  
post #290 of 5097 Old 11-17-2008, 06:27 PM
Member
 
ajbuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've read most of the posts on this thread (and others about the 876) but can't find the answer I am looking for. I need to make sure that I can use the 876 to run a 7.1 setup and also simultaneously power 2 speakers in a 2nd zone (in the bar next to the HT area) with different audio sources (DVD/Satellite in HT and FM Radio in the 2nd zone). Can anyone confirm if this is possible or not?

Also, I have seen some posts talking about buying a refurb 876...what site can you purchase these at? Can't seem to find it online.

Thanks!
ajbuster is offline  
post #291 of 5097 Old 11-17-2008, 06:43 PM
Senior Member
 
eggman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeboy View Post

Just hooked up my second 876 as I had to return my first one due to a faulty remote. Nontheless when switching between some satellite TV station I get a message that appears on the receiver display that says Dialog Norm -4db. It only appears for a second or two and then the surround mode appears. This also happens when switching between satellite TV and DVD as when the DVD movie starts to play I get the same brief message but it only says Dialog Norm -2db. I only question this as I never saw this message flash on my first 876 and the Onkyo tech I spoke to has never heard of the message. Has anyone seen this on their receiver display if so what does it mean and is is normal? Thanks

It's metadata embedded into AC3 tracks that allows the receiver to adjust the db level of the audio. Or something like that

More info:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dialnorm

egg
eggman51 is offline  
post #292 of 5097 Old 11-17-2008, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trekguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: West of Mt Diablo
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajbuster View Post

I've read most of the posts on this thread (and others about the 876) but can't find the answer I am looking for. I need to make sure that I can use the 876 to run a 7.1 setup and also simultaneously power 2 speakers in a 2nd zone (in the bar next to the HT area) with different audio sources (DVD/Satellite in HT and FM Radio in the 2nd zone). Can anyone confirm if this is possible or not?

There are two ways to do that using zone 2. You can use the the back channel amps to power the 2nd zone speakers; when you do this the main zone is limited to 5.1.

To have 7.1 in the main zone, you will need separate integrated or pre/power amplifiers or a receiver. You use the L/R pre-outs on the 906/876 to drive the other amps and listen to a different program source than in the main zone.

Quote:


Also, I have seen some posts talking about buying a refurb 876...what site can you purchase these at? Can't seem to find it online.
Thanks!

Shoponkyo.com

The fact that an opinion has been widely held is no evidence whatever that it is not utterly absurd.
-Bertrand Russell
trekguy is offline  
post #293 of 5097 Old 11-17-2008, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtv00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ill
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This setup allows 5.1-channel playback in your main
room and 2-channel stereo playback in Zone 2, with a
different source in each room. This is called Powered
Zone 2, as the Zone 2 speakers are powered by the AV
receiver. Note that when Powered Zone 2 is turned off,
you can enjoy 7.1-channel playback in your main room.

i7 4770K/16 gig 2133/GTX 680 840 PRO SSD

Paradigm Studio 100/570/20's/2200 Sub

Onkyo 809 42" LCD/Panny AE4000
 

hdtv00 is offline  
post #294 of 5097 Old 11-17-2008, 08:40 PM
Member
 
ajbuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks trekguy and hdtv00! Any idea if this receiver also comes with a remote to control the 2nd powered zone? A friend of mine who has a receiver powering multiple zones received a remote for each zone...I didn't see anything about that with this receiver. If not, then I assume the 2nd zone must be either controlled from the main remote? Thanks again!
ajbuster is offline  
post #295 of 5097 Old 11-17-2008, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trekguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: West of Mt Diablo
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajbuster View Post

Thanks trekguy and hdtv00! Any idea if this receiver also comes with a remote to control the 2nd powered zone? A friend of mine who has a receiver powering multiple zones received a remote for each zone...I didn't see anything about that with this receiver. If not, then I assume the 2nd zone must be either controlled from the main remote? Thanks again!

One remote is all that you get. But there are a number of after market multi-room IR control kits that you can buy. One of those and a cheap universal remote should do it.

The fact that an opinion has been widely held is no evidence whatever that it is not utterly absurd.
-Bertrand Russell
trekguy is offline  
post #296 of 5097 Old 11-19-2008, 05:00 AM
Member
 
m4carbine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Miami
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickardl View Post

Ok, time for this one about the Onkyo TX-SR876 receiver!
Allthough much about the TX-SR876 is similar to the TX-NR906 which is
covered in http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1059348,
there might be need for a dedicated thread about the 867 without any questions/issues about:
1) NET/USB Mode:
• Ethernet port: Network Capability for Streaming Audio Files and Internet Radio (vTuner Portal)
• USB Port for a Mass USB Strage Device (Audio Only)
2) B Speakers

which are the only functional differences between the 876 and the 906.



Sorry for what is probably a dumb question but I've been on Onkyo's site for over 20 minutes trying to D/L the manual but the links are not working for me to try and figure it out myself....

What does one gain or lose by having the "B speakers" on the 906 vs not having them on the 876?
m4carbine is offline  
post #297 of 5097 Old 11-19-2008, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtv00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ill
Posts: 1,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well you gain a 2nd pair of front speakers I guess in the main room or wherever you run the wires. But being that it's 2 room capable I don't see a massive benefit.

At first I thought 906 was a waste, really internet radio, but I read more and having the ability to decode flac,ogg and other lossless formats. It also has a better amp than the 876. So lossless ability and better amp are the two main reason's, some would use the streaming ability but that's what I have a pc for thanks.

Here is what manual says about multi rooms....

Speakers A: Enjoy up to 7.1-channel surround-sound playback (see page 23).
You can enjoy the various listening modes, such as Dolby, DTS, and THX (see pages 81–91).
*While Powered Zone 2 is being used, playback is reduced to 5.1-channels (see page 130).
Speakers B: Use a pair for stereo speakers for serious music listening in main room (see page 23).
*Can be used with the subwoofer, center, surround, or surround back speakers as required (see page 98).
Zone 2: Enjoy 2-channel stereo playback and video playback in a second room (see page 130).
*The listening modes cannot be used with Zone 2 and Zone 3.
*External power amplifier required if Speakers B is used.
Zone 3: Enjoy 2-channel stereo playback in a third room (see page 131).
*The listening modes cannot be used with Zone 2 and Zone 3.
*External power amplifier required.

I can't freaking wait my unit gets here on friday....is it friday yet.

i7 4770K/16 gig 2133/GTX 680 840 PRO SSD

Paradigm Studio 100/570/20's/2200 Sub

Onkyo 809 42" LCD/Panny AE4000
 

hdtv00 is offline  
post #298 of 5097 Old 11-19-2008, 10:19 AM
Member
 
tyson1749's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajbuster View Post

I've read most of the posts on this thread (and others about the 876) but can't find the answer I am looking for. I need to make sure that I can use the 876 to run a 7.1 setup and also simultaneously power 2 speakers in a 2nd zone (in the bar next to the HT area) with different audio sources (DVD/Satellite in HT and FM Radio in the 2nd zone). Can anyone confirm if this is possible or not?

Also, I have seen some posts talking about buying a refurb 876...what site can you purchase these at? Can't seem to find it online.

Thanks!

The dialogue message you are seeing is telling you that the specific channel, media source is either +/- your reference. If you see - 4, it means that you need to bump the volume up by 4 and same goes for + 4 means you need to dial it down by 4. This is totally normal.
tyson1749 is offline  
post #299 of 5097 Old 11-19-2008, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trekguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: West of Mt Diablo
Posts: 2,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyson1749 View Post

The dialogue message you are seeing is telling you that the specific channel, media source is either +/- your reference. If you see - 4, it means that you need to bump the volume up by 4 and same goes for + 4 means you need to dial it down by 4. This is totally normal.

I think that the prvious post about it being Dolby Dialnorm is not quite correct. Dialnorm tells you high or low the dialog is relative to the rest of the material. It is not directly related to the user reference level. The Dialnorm variance can be used to reset the dialog level, but not I think by our end user equipment.

Turning the gain up or down will not "correct" it as that only raises or lowers all of the program material, and not just the dialog. An explanation can be found here.

The fact that an opinion has been widely held is no evidence whatever that it is not utterly absurd.
-Bertrand Russell
trekguy is offline  
post #300 of 5097 Old 11-19-2008, 12:18 PM
Newbie
 
Seagreeneyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to let you guys know that Newegg.com has new 876 for $999 right now.
Seagreeneyes is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off