The "Official" Onkyo TX-SR876 Owners Thread - Page 170 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5071 of 5078 Old 07-25-2014, 06:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - Coast Island: Vancouver South
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by punkwax View Post
Hey everyone, sorry to quote an old post but I too have an issue with my TX-SR876 producing very low volume. Currently in stereo mode as I'm in a new house and haven't run 7.1 yet. Just front towers and a sub. The chap I quoted simply reset his as it was a 2nd hand unit whereas mine is brand new out of box (sat in storage for 4-5 years )

When I play with db settings, the tone out of my JBL Studio 10 towers is very loud and my subwoofer literally shakes my house. However, when I watch tv or listen to music on my cable box I can literally crank it all the way to +4 and it doesn't produce anything like my Harman Kardon did. I couldn't hear lyrics over my wife's vaccuuming a couple of rooms away Is +4 the max volume, or is that where my problem lies?

I'm sure there is something I can do since this is quite a complex unit. I did use the Audyssey mic to set it up, can tell the receiver and my speakers are able to produce a lot of sound, and have checked my blu ray HDMI input and the output is also quiet.

Any help would be appreciated!
Some settings to check:

1. IntelliVolume - For your sources (each individual one): Page 110 in your manual.
2. Volume Setup (Volume Display - Muting Level - Maximum Volume): Page 115 in your manual.
3. Adjusting Speaker Levels: Page 71 from your manual.
4. Using the Late Night Function: Page 109 (manual).
(5) Rerun Audyssey.

* You couldn't hear lyrics...wife's vacuuming? --> An audio cable may be picking up interference.
Try re-positioning your cables.

Good luck & Bienvenu @ AVS Forum.
punkwax likes this.

Last edited by NorthSky; 07-25-2014 at 06:22 PM.
NorthSky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5072 of 5078 Old 07-26-2014, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you for the reply.

Did all of those and while it helped a little, there is still no way I'm hearing what this receiver is capable of. As previously mentioned, my receiver maxes out at +4 and the manual says it should reach +18 - that said, I don't think the extra 14 is going to make a big difference..

There has to be something else I'm missing?? I wanna crank it up!
punkwax is offline  
post #5073 of 5078 Old 07-26-2014, 05:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - Coast Island: Vancouver South
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Rerun Audyssey. ...That's why your Relative Volume (Master Level) maxes out @ +4.0 dB instead of +18.0dB.

Audyssey right now in your 876 is most likely set to counter-balance the amount of +EQ it has done (in your previous place?).
You have to follow the Audyssey settings: proper mic positioning, subwoofer(s) level, etc. ...Many important rules to follow in order to get the best sound performance.

* When I had my 876 my max volume was about +11.0dB, but I was never going over +3.0dB in normal listening.

Anyway check that, and if you have more to share that you forgot, it would help.
NorthSky is offline  
post #5074 of 5078 Old 07-27-2014, 07:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok, I will run again for the 3rd time later today. I was following proper direction the other two times except for using a tripod as I dont have one. Just used a box to get proper height.

Not forgetting anything else, I opened the box for the first time the other day after sitting in storage so no prior settings to deal with.

Thanks again.
punkwax is offline  
post #5075 of 5078 Old 07-28-2014, 07:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
crakarjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 19
There is a setting in your receiver for limiting the max volume. Perhaps it is set to +4?
crakarjax is offline  
post #5076 of 5078 Old 07-28-2014, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by punkwax View Post
Ok, I will run again for the 3rd time later today. I was following proper direction the other two times except for using a tripod as I dont have one. Just used a box to get proper height.

Not forgetting anything else, I opened the box for the first time the other day after sitting in storage so no prior settings to deal with.

Thanks again.
You should never put the mike on a box... The flat surface of the box will affect the acoustic Audyssey response big time in a bad way...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #5077 of 5078 Old 07-28-2014, 03:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - Coast Island: Vancouver South
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by punkwax View Post
Ok, I will run again for the 3rd time later today. I was following proper direction the other two times except for using a tripod as I dont have one. Just used a box to get proper height.

Not forgetting anything else, I opened the box for the first time the other day after sitting in storage so no prior settings to deal with.

Thanks again.
That's a problem for sure right there. Putting the mic on top of a box is not the proper way.
At the very least use a camera tripod, and a microphone stand is the very best for top measurement performance.
* A mic stand (with a boom); you can get for $15-25 only. ...Get one, it's worth it.

<<>> I am quite sure that using that box to put your mic on is your main issue. Please, correct that.

Last edited by NorthSky; 07-28-2014 at 03:15 PM. Reason: On (not 'in') - typo
NorthSky is offline  
post #5078 of 5078 Old 07-29-2014, 08:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks all - I will invest in a tripod and update the thread.

Appreciate the feedback!
punkwax is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off