The "Official" Onkyo TX-SR876 Owners Thread - Page 173 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2015, 07:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
It looks like a thermostat connector.

Yes definitely. ...There are two of them inside your 876. ...I would contact Onkyo Part Service dept. and inquire there if you can easily fix it yourself, or if it would be simply better to get it fixed @ your local audio repair shop...it's a small part and should not require much time and trouble and money.

I found that Onkyo set those thermostats in tandem with their two fans to only kick in when the transistors attached to the heatsink get simply too hot; they should have set them so that the fans activate before the temperature get excessively hot. ...I believe.

But yes, it is a thermostat connector.
Thank you so much NorthSky -

I contacted Onkyo and regrettably they cannot sell the part to me, I need to go to an authorized dealer :-(. Problem for me is that I live in Miami, FL and the nearest dealer is in Tampa, FL - over 2.5 hrs away by car. Its such a small part and easy to fix which makes it frustrating. Whats worse is that I also have been having the issues of "No Signal" with this receiver, I removed the HDMI board and sent it to the dealer to repair (didnt want to send the receiver because it would have cost me a fortune in shipping because its so heavy). Anyway, supposedly they repaired it and sent it back, I installed it and it still does not work.....

For the interim I am using a Harmon Kardon AVR-354 which seems to be working well but I know it does not have all the same bells and whistles as the Onkyo.

I spoke to Onkyo also and they said I could trade my 876 in for a refurbished newer unit, a TX-NR838 for $513.00 which includes shipping and taxes...not bad I think since this unit is Dolby Atmos and network ready.....

Anyway - just venting my frustration - and helpful additional advice is most welcome...
frodo4eva is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2015, 11:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 16,195
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6636 Post(s)
Liked: 3242
Enjoy this great middle of the week. ...And best of everything in all your enterprises.

~ Bob
"And it stoned me to my soul"
- Van Morrison
NorthSky is offline  
Old 07-29-2015, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 3,717
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by frodo4eva View Post
Thank you so much NorthSky -

I contacted Onkyo and regrettably they cannot sell the part to me, I need to go to an authorized dealer :-(. Problem for me is that I live in Miami, FL and the nearest dealer is in Tampa, FL - over 2.5 hrs away by car.

Try living in Hawaii... The nearest Onkyo service center is in California...

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is online now  
Old 08-05-2015, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
radamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post
Try living in Hawaii... The nearest Onkyo service center is in California...
Wow, it must suck to live in Hawaii...
radamo is online now  
Old 08-11-2015, 08:22 PM
Member
 
thebrig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone have any luck getting their 876 fixed on the extended warranty? My 876 died over the weekend and my serial number failed. Curious if anyone has had luck with it...
thebrig is offline  
Old 08-11-2015, 10:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 16,195
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6636 Post(s)
Liked: 3242
Quote:
Originally Posted by radamo View Post
Wow, it must suck to live in Hawaii...
Surfing is excellent, the beaches gorgeous, the women always smiling, the food is good, and life is a peach by the beach on an island.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebrig View Post
Anyone have any luck getting their 876 fixed on the extended warranty? My 876 died over the weekend and my serial number failed. Curious if anyone has had luck with it...
Unfortunately the 876 ain't part of the deal. ...So far I didn't encounter a single soul with such good luck.

~ Bob
"And it stoned me to my soul"
- Van Morrison
NorthSky is offline  
Old 08-12-2015, 01:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Nope. But mine still works fortunately.
eaayoung is offline  
Old 10-21-2015, 12:41 PM
Newbie
 
iTimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey Everyone, been reading the tail end of this thread, sorry to hear about the problems folks have had with their 876's. I have a problem of a different sort, after a move it's just too big :-( If anyone is looking for a 1 owner, never serviced, never had a problem 876 with original box, manual, etc... Let me know. Not sure where to go from here, I've loved this thing and now I have to part ways with it.
iTimmy is offline  
Old 10-21-2015, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Yep, it's a gem of an AVR. I finally sold mine off a month ago.
audio4life is offline  
Old 10-22-2015, 06:57 AM
Newbie
 
iTimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What did you end up selling it for? I tried to PM you, but I'm too new :-) I don't want to give it away, nor do I want to price it to high.
iTimmy is offline  
Old 10-22-2015, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 291
$350, it went to a good home, a father wanting a theater in the basement for his kids.
audio4life is offline  
Old 10-23-2015, 05:49 AM
Member
 
sobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I recently sold mine for $340. It was still in perfect shape, but I don't have room for a 2nd HT and no one in my family expressed interest. That thing kicked out some really sweet audio!

sobi is offline  
Old 10-23-2015, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
iTimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks guys, this is a big help!
iTimmy is offline  
Old 11-08-2015, 06:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Anyone know if the 876 has the ability to pass thru the HDMI when in Standby mode? Looked in the manual and can't find where's it's address. So assuming it can't. Wish it could. Mine is still going after all these years.
eaayoung is offline  
Old 11-08-2015, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 291
No, it can't. I was almost shocked when the replacement Denon did it.
audio4life is offline  
Old 11-08-2015, 06:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio4life View Post
No, it can't. I was almost shocked when the replacement Denon did it.
Thanks. You still have your 876? Can't believe mine is still going after following this thread for all these years. Count myself lucky. But as bad a my hearing is getting and as good as it sounds with my Def Tech 1000 speaker (compared to my soundbar) I may start using it more with my regular TV viewing. But will keep it on top of my TV cabinet.

Last edited by eaayoung; 11-08-2015 at 09:14 PM.
eaayoung is offline  
Old 11-08-2015, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 291
No sir, I recently sold it. I used it for TV/movies/music in our theater system for 6 years. It was bullet proof, but got long in the tooth technology wise.
audio4life is offline  
Old 11-10-2015, 09:32 AM
Newbie
 
iTimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I sold mine yesterday, it was such a great unit and served me so well for so many years I almost had a tear in my eye. Thankfully the new owner seemed like he was going to take care of it, felt good it found a great home. For reference for others, sold it for $330 :-(
iTimmy is offline  
Old 11-10-2015, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ChrisW6ATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hayward, Collie-fornia USA
Posts: 4,240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
My 876 is still working fine, too. When I upgrade to a 4K display and related equipment, I may have to replace it.

I used my Pioneer VSX-D1S receiver as my home theater centerpiece for about 15 years, including adding a Dolby Digital decoder years later, so "only" 7-8 years from the Onkyo would be short for me.

Chris

"It's [expletive] lame to watch Jaws, a film that uses the 2.40 ratio as well as any ever produced, in the wrong format on HBO." -Steven Soderbergh, Oscar-winning director

ChrisW6ATV is offline  
Old 11-16-2015, 08:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i am in seek of some advice with this particular receiver that I cannot find any information on, on the internet. I recently inherited a tx-sr876 that at times shuts back off immediately after its turned on. And I have been told this is more inherent when its been sitting off overnight or for extended periods. After it stays on, it successfully operates without a problem, other than the initial turn on. I took it to my authorized service center here in st louis, and they said they found a problem with the microprocessor board. And they also said that Onkyo no longer produces the part. So I'm guessing that this receiver is destined for the scrap heap? Does anyone know where else I might be able to source such a component? I was told the part number was 1B170575-1AG
celery952 is offline  
Old 11-18-2015, 07:24 AM
Newbie
 
PhanofPhunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up this tank from Craigslist. 35 freaking dollars. This beats my best ever CL score, a oppo BDP-93 for $70.00.

I think this unit beats out my Marantz sr7001 in sound quality. I have A few questions though. How do I figure out the firmware ver. And how or where would I take it to update if needed?

Also, I can't find any instructions for programing the remote. Any insight is greatly appreciated.

Mike
PhanofPhunk is offline  
Old 11-18-2015, 07:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
eaayoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhanofPhunk View Post
Just picked up this tank from Craigslist. 35 freaking dollars. This beats my best ever CL score, a oppo BDP-93 for $70.00.

I think this unit beats out my Marantz sr7001 in sound quality. I have A few questions though. How do I figure out the firmware ver. And how or where would I take it to update if needed?

Also, I can't find any instructions for programing the remote. Any insight is greatly appreciated.

Mike
You can search this thread for figuring out the firmware version. But here's the link to the manual in pdf. BTW, good score.

http://www.intl.onkyo.com/downloads/...6_manual_e.pdf
eaayoung is offline  
Old 11-18-2015, 10:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 16,195
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6636 Post(s)
Liked: 3242
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhanofPhunk View Post
Just picked up this tank from Craigslist. 35 freaking dollars. This beats my best ever CL score, a oppo BDP-93 for $70.00.

I think this unit beats out my Marantz sr7001 in sound quality. I have A few questions though.
1. How do I figure out the firmware ver.
2. And how or where would I take it to update if needed?

3. Also, I can't find any instructions for programing the remote. Any insight is greatly appreciated.

Mike
1. https://www.avforums.com/threads/onk...#post-12778689
2. The "Official" Onkyo TX-SR876 Owners Thread
3. Starting from page 137 - from the link of the above post ( http://www.intl.onkyo.com/downloads/...6_manual_e.pdf ).

~ Bob
"And it stoned me to my soul"
- Van Morrison

Last edited by NorthSky; 11-18-2015 at 11:00 PM.
NorthSky is offline  
Old 12-14-2015, 10:29 AM
Member
 
abeirnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Digital Input Button Harmony Hex Codes

Hello, all.

On the front panel of the TX-SR876 there is a button labeled 'Digital Input' that allows you to cycle through all the Optical and Coaxial inputs even though your Input is an HDMI port. This button does not seem to be duplicated on the Remote Control.

I can't seem to find it in the Hex codes found here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post16549421

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Aaron
abeirnes is offline  
Old 12-14-2015, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,370
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by abeirnes View Post
Hello, all.

On the front panel of the TX-SR876 there is a button labeled 'Digital Input' that allows you to cycle through all the Optical and Coaxial inputs even though your Input is an HDMI port. This button does not seem to be duplicated on the Remote Control.

I can't seem to find it in the Hex codes found here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...1#post16549421

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Aaron
I believe what you are looking for is listed under "Audio Selector" in the Onkyo spreadsheet and "Audio Selection" in the txt file I had attached to my post you had linked. The "cycle" command you are looking for is the "Wrap" command in the lists. There are also discrete commands to directly select analog, optical/coax, HDMI and multichannel instead of cycling (more useful for macros or startup sequences).

AUDIO SELECTION

AudioSelectAuto
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0020 0619 0156 0056 0020 0E54

AudioSelectAnalog
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0020 0619 0156 0056 0020 0E54

AudioSelectMultiCh
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0020 0619 0156 0056 0020 0E54

AudioSelectHDMI [whichever is assigned to currently selected logical input]
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0020 0619 0156 0056 0020 0E54

AudioSelectCoaxOpt [whichever is assigned to currently selected logical input]
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0020 0619 0156 0056 0020 0E54

AudioSelectWrap [aka "Audio" on OE remote][in Standard Harmony Database]
0000 006D 0022 0002 0156 00AB 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 05F6 0156 0055 0015 0E47

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6

Last edited by jcalabria; 12-14-2015 at 01:49 PM.
jcalabria is offline  
Old 12-14-2015, 03:14 PM
Member
 
abeirnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcalabria View Post
I believe what you are looking for is listed under "Audio Selector" in the Onkyo spreadsheet and "Audio Selection" in the txt file I had attached to my post you had linked. The "cycle" command you are looking for is the "Wrap" command in the lists. There are also discrete commands to directly select analog, optical/coax, HDMI and multichannel instead of cycling (more useful for macros or startup sequences).

AUDIO SELECTION

AudioSelectAuto
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0020 0619 0156 0056 0020 0E54

AudioSelectAnalog
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0020 0619 0156 0056 0020 0E54

AudioSelectMultiCh
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0020 0619 0156 0056 0020 0E54

AudioSelectHDMI [whichever is assigned to currently selected logical input]
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0020 0619 0156 0056 0020 0E54

AudioSelectCoaxOpt [whichever is assigned to currently selected logical input]
0000 006c 0022 0002 0156 00ac 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0041 0015 0016 0015 0016 0020 0619 0156 0056 0020 0E54

AudioSelectWrap [aka "Audio" on OE remote][in Standard Harmony Database]
0000 006D 0022 0002 0156 00AB 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 003F 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 05F6 0156 0055 0015 0E47
Yeah, it's weird, but these are not the same as the Digital Input button results. Cycling through the Digital Input button, when the main input is set to HDMI2, you get COAX1, COAX2, COAX3, OPT1, OPT2, OPT3 & HDMI2.

While the AudioSelectWrap code cycles through Multich, Analog, HDMI2 & Auto(Opt1).

Now this actually works for me, since I have my xbox one hooked up with an optical cable into optical 1 and my whole goal is to have the picture come from my pvr (HDMI2) and audio come from my xbox One (Optical 1). So I can listen to music from the Xbox and see the picture from the pvr.

Not sure how the 'Auto' thing is working, but the AudioSelectAuto command is selecting my Optical 1, and its discrete, and the AudioSelectHDMI, is selecting HDMI2, and it is also discrete.

So I can set up a activity accordingly.

Thanks for all your help!
abeirnes is offline  
Old 01-08-2016, 12:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,

recently i got a 876 from my brother.
Yesterday i fixed the HDMI problems by changing 13 100µf capacitors.

After that i did some tests with the following results:
- 3 devices are successfully recognized with HDMI handshake (PS3, notebook (Intel HD graphics), office-pc (AMD 5450))
- changing Inputs takes 4-5 seconds until picture is on screen (is that ok?)
- my htpc (AMD 4670) is still not recognized, there is no HDMI handshake und no picture on screen in Windows 8.1 (BIOS and bootscreen are visible)
- the htpc directly connected to my Mitsubishi HC5 without the Onkyo works flawlessly
- changed the graphics card between office-pc and htpc => htpc with AMD 5450 did successful HDMI handshake

So is there any specific issue with my AMD 4670 and the Onkyo? Or does it mean that there are additional faulty capacitors on the HDMI board?


And i realized another problem with the Onkyo.
Outputting 1080p video with 59.94 or 60.00 hz is resulting in flickering horizontal lines on the projector (looks like if you overdrive your monitor with wrong frequencies). Checked the display fps with teamviewer in the madVR debug overlay, it says 59.94 or 60.00 hz, so the htpc is doing right.

If i connect the htpc directly to my projector the same material is doing well with 1080/59.94 or 1090/60.00. Tested with different cables, so thats not the fault.

Is this another problem due to faulty capacitors on the HDMI board?

Please help.
Statler is offline  
Old 02-08-2016, 08:03 PM
Senior Member
 
mapson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess it's my turn to run into the syncing hdmi issue. Just order the caps and will probably attempt to repair over the next week or so. Hoping I don't run into anything else. The 876 has been a workhorse aside from this issue.
mapson is offline  
Old 02-08-2016, 11:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 291
The one thing I found, when you are pulling off the old caps, do so carefully. I think twisting pressure as you begin to pull may be the best technique. The thing to avoid is pulling up part of the circuit off the daughter board.

Just out of curiosity, did you have a fan on the 876?
audio4life is offline  
Old 02-10-2016, 12:49 PM
Senior Member
 
mapson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio4life View Post
The one thing I found, when you are pulling off the old caps, do so carefully. I think twisting pressure as you begin to pull may be the best technique. The thing to avoid is pulling up part of the circuit off the daughter board.

Just out of curiosity, did you have a fan on the 876?
Never had a fan, 876 is in basement, not in a cabinet, had a dvr on top but the dvr was on four 2" spacers to give ventilation.

Replaced 13 caps but no audio or video through hdmi now. I see a couple blown fuses (4 A / 125V) on the lower board that the 5 pin black ribbon connects from the hdmi board. Not sure when they blew but I will try to track down the replacement fuses, hoping it's related to my issue.
mapson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
taboola here
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off