The "Official" Onkyo TX-SR876 Owners Thread - Page 174 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5191 of 5206 Old 02-10-2016, 01:36 PM
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 297
If that doesn't work, guys have had success in soldering caps of another value across several regulators. I can't remember where I found that, but google should know, it's what brought back the picture in my case.
audio4life is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5192 of 5206 Old 02-10-2016, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
mapson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Back in service. The two fuses were the culprit. I might have blown them when I reconnected the 5 wire cable the first time, I recall one of the leads bent, might have touched the wire next to it.

If anyone else runs into a similar issue, no hdmi video or audio after soldering or even before repairing, check the two fuses and also any other fuses. When I was looking around I saw 3 other glass fuses along with these 2, and 4 more that were white/ceramic. Not sure if there were more but for certain these 9 are what I saw in the 876.

While it would have been nice to upgrade to newer tech, I'm more happy the 876 will continue to serve our use and I don't have to spend hundreds for a new receiver.

A big thanks for everyone who documented and showed the way to repair this problem. Especially the pictures, videos, part numbers, and other little details.
mapson is offline  
post #5193 of 5206 Old 02-10-2016, 08:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver Island, BC - Canada
Posts: 16,402
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6721 Post(s)
Liked: 3324
Good show ↑ ... always check the fuses first...when encountering a transmission problem...picture or/and audio.

Of course after you checked the connections and cables and if the AC power cord is connected.

~ Bob
"And it stoned me to my soul"
- Van Morrison
NorthSky is offline  
post #5194 of 5206 Old 02-11-2016, 12:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
remote lost

Hello People and good day everyone

I bought online a 876 but surprisingly it came without remote control. Seller says it is lost and was not part of the deal (I am wondering, but yes, it was not mentioned specifically).

It is hard to find a spare one. Any tips?

Can somebody of you (prefer european countries) make me a payable copy of basic functions to a General Remote? With basic functions i mean:

on/off
input selection
Audio theme selection
Volume control

for all the rest I dont mind to get my lazy ass off the couch.

Or can I get a General Remote and set it up by any code without having the original one? Sorry my lack of knowledge...

Thanks in advanve for any help.
Pascal
Pascal Wedam is offline  
post #5195 of 5206 Old 03-23-2016, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I have been having (No Signal) issues with my 876 for several months now, and it has been getting progressively worse, so I decided to do the capacitor replacement.
I changed the 13, 100uf 4v caps with, 100uf 16v high temp caps, but the results are the same as before, no difference.
Does anyone know what else I can do to repair the HDMI issue. I have read through the forums, but found little info on the 876 board.
russrm is offline  
post #5196 of 5206 Old 03-23-2016, 01:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver Island, BC - Canada
Posts: 16,402
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6721 Post(s)
Liked: 3324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pascal Wedam View Post
Hello People and good day everyone
I bought online a 876 but surprisingly it came without remote control. Seller says it is lost and was not part of the deal (I am wondering, but yes, it was not mentioned specifically).
It is hard to find a spare one. Any tips?
Can somebody of you (prefer european countries) make me a payable copy of basic functions to a General Remote? With basic functions i mean:
on/off
input selection
Audio theme selection
Volume control
for all the rest I dont mind to get my lazy ass off the couch.
Or can I get a General Remote and set it up by any code without having the original one? Sorry my lack of knowledge...
Thanks in advanve for any help.
Pascal
Call Onkyo to get a remote. Or check online.
And yes a universal remote from Harmony (for example) will get all the main functions of the original. You simply enter the model number of your receiver in the Harmony setup page (PC). If you are not familiar with programming a Harmony remote using your computer just google Harmony remotes and setups, to learn about their features. I use a Harmony myself, it's perfect.

Universal has remotes too, another good company. Check if you can enter the code of the 876 without using a computer.

~ Bob
"And it stoned me to my soul"
- Van Morrison
NorthSky is offline  
post #5197 of 5206 Old 03-29-2016, 05:47 PM
Newbie
 
aim-n-shoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pascal Wedam View Post
Hello People and good day everyone

I bought online a 876 but surprisingly it came without remote control. Seller says it is lost and was not part of the deal (I am wondering, but yes, it was not mentioned specifically).

It is hard to find a spare one. Any tips?

Can somebody of you (prefer european countries) make me a payable copy of basic functions to a General Remote? With basic functions i mean:

on/off
input selection
Audio theme selection
Volume control

for all the rest I dont mind to get my lazy ass off the couch.

Or can I get a General Remote and set it up by any code without having the original one? Sorry my lack of knowledge...

Thanks in advanve for any help.
Pascal
Hi did you get the remote issue sorted . .. If not the 606 very remote works okay. I have a spare one u can have for free. You will just have to sort out poastage .
aim-n-shoot is offline  
post #5198 of 5206 Old 03-29-2016, 05:51 PM
Newbie
 
aim-n-shoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by russrm View Post
<font face="Arial">I have been having (No Signal) issues with my 876 for several months now, and it has been getting progressively worse, so I decided to do the capacitor replacement.<br />
I changed the 13, 100uf 4v caps with, 100uf 16v high temp caps, but the results are the same as before, no difference.<br />
Does anyone know what else I can do to repair the HDMI issue. I have read through the forums, but found little info on the 876 board.<br />
</font>
<br />
<br />
Hi mate I have just fixed a second hand one I got for free.<br />
<br />
I changed the all the 100 uf and 220 uf capacitors. 3 out of the 4 out puts works fine now.<br />
<br />
One that doesn't work is mainly due to me damaging one of the 24uf cap ( really small ones) mountinh points for one of the caps.
aim-n-shoot is offline  
post #5199 of 5206 Old 03-29-2016, 09:59 PM
Member
 
haloguy628's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pascal Wedam View Post
Hello People and good day everyone

I bought online a 876 but surprisingly it came without remote control. Seller says it is lost and was not part of the deal (I am wondering, but yes, it was not mentioned specifically).

It is hard to find a spare one. Any tips?

Can somebody of you (prefer european countries) make me a payable copy of basic functions to a General Remote? With basic functions i mean:

on/off
input selection
Audio theme selection
Volume control

for all the rest I dont mind to get my lazy ass off the couch.

Or can I get a General Remote and set it up by any code without having the original one? Sorry my lack of knowledge...

Thanks in advanve for any help.
Pascal
http://www.electronicadventure.us/Me..._code=24140690

http://www.remotecontrols.com/product/24140690.html

http://www.remotecontrolwarehouse.co.../24140690.html

http://www.remotes-express.com/Onkyo/24140690.html

Last edited by haloguy628; 03-29-2016 at 10:03 PM.
haloguy628 is offline  
post #5200 of 5206 Old 05-24-2016, 02:20 PM
Newbie
 
ferga100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malacandra View Post
<div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>CBdicX</strong> <a href="/forum/post/15529384"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a><br><br>
The 876 sold in Europe has no power outlet on the back !<br>
Thats why i use the Master/Slave trick........</div>
</div>
<br>
That's odd. I did try Googling for master/slave A/C power strips, and pretty much exclusively got Chinese sites (which use different plugs)... or patent filings. Or porn.
what is the master /slave trick for the 12v trigger ? many thanks
as the unit runs a bit hot
ferga100 is offline  
post #5201 of 5206 Old 05-24-2016, 02:20 PM
Newbie
 
ferga100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malacandra View Post
<div class="quote-container"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>CBdicX</strong> <a href="/forum/post/15529384"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a><br><br>
The 876 sold in Europe has no power outlet on the back !<br>
Thats why i use the Master/Slave trick........</div>
</div>
<br>
That's odd. I did try Googling for master/slave A/C power strips, and pretty much exclusively got Chinese sites (which use different plugs)... or patent filings. Or porn.
what is the master /slave trick for the 12v trigger ? many thanks
as the unit runs a bit hot
ferga100 is offline  
post #5202 of 5206 Old 05-24-2016, 02:23 PM
Newbie
 
ferga100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what is the master /slave trick for the 12v trigger ? many thanks
as the unit runs a bit hot
ferga100 is offline  
post #5203 of 5206 Old 06-02-2016, 01:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello,


I'm new to AVS and I know it's been sometime since anybody posted here, but I'm looking to update my Onkyo TX-SR876' firmware from version 1.01 to 1.04/1.05.


Can anyone please help ??
Mikohay is offline  
post #5204 of 5206 Old 06-02-2016, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jcalabria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,391
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 77
PM sent.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikohay View Post
Hello,


I'm new to AVS and I know it's been sometime since anybody posted here, but I'm looking to update my Onkyo TX-SR876' firmware from version 1.01 to 1.04/1.05.


Can anyone please help ??

Commercial AV Design Engineer, CTS-D Certified
TWC-Charlotte, 8640HDC/ODN 7.3.1_6
jcalabria is offline  
post #5205 of 5206 Old 07-07-2016, 09:05 PM
Member
 
Ronman79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Memphis area
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Hey folks. I have an upstairs, dedicated home theater in the works. Wasn't really even considering a different receiver until recently. Have been very happy with my 876! What's it worth to the educated person (like AVS peeps on the 876 thread...)!? Lol. Anyone interested in a very clean, powerful receiver?

Sent from my XR6P10 using Tapatalk

2016 Vizio P50 4K HDR Display (working on dedicated projection HT upstairs!)/ Onkyo TX-SR876 Rec / Polk Audio RTiA9 Towers / Polk CSiA6 Center / Polk FXi5 Bipole Surrounds / (4) Polk PSW505 12" Subs / Sony BDP-S790 Blu-ray / Dish Hopper with sling / PS4 / Harmony Elite & One / Xfinity Cable Internet & secondary TV provider / Custom AV Console Table-Stand / (Vizio E60 & Vizio Surroundbar in MBR)
Ronman79 is offline  
post #5206 of 5206 Old 07-10-2016, 01:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hi guys, has anybody got firmware files to upgrade my stock firmware for main, dsp and hdmi in my my 876? bought it for guestroom couple of days ago, have got usb adapter but all links on web are dead. help plz
beney is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off