Onkyo PR-SC886P Pre/Pro Official thread - Page 100 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 3245 Old 11-18-2010, 12:51 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Glenee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MidWest
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Well I listed the 886 on Audiogon today. I had it listed in the Classified's here for 1-week and not one inquiry. I would of thought that a fellow AVS member would of wanted it. but so be it.

Nothing's Perfect So Stop Expecting It ! Glenee

Glenee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 3245 Old 11-19-2010, 03:09 AM
Member
 
brucest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do have both the digital and analog outputs hooked up to the 886. Its the 983 analog output I think I'm listening to when I do direct or pure audio, and when I'm listening to SACD surround. Its the latter I'm comparing to.

My understanding of what's going on is shaky enough that I'm not always sure about what is doing what, but I assume SACD is pure, and that what I'm comparing to.
brucest is offline  
post #2973 of 3245 Old 11-23-2010, 08:25 AM
Member
 
tt08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the opportunity to buy a one-year old 886 or the brand new receiver Pioneer SC-25 for roughly the same price. Which one would be a better choice? I already have a separate amplifier. Thanks for any advice.
tt08 is offline  
post #2974 of 3245 Old 11-23-2010, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beekermartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tt08 View Post

I have the opportunity to buy a one-year old 886 or the brand new receiver Pioneer SC-25 for roughly the same price. Which one would be a better choice? I already have a separate amplifier. Thanks for any advice.

If you already have an amplifier and have no plans of ever using the SC-25 as a powered receiver than I would recommend the 886.

Of course you are asking this in the 886 thread! I doubt anyone here would recommend the SC-25. I am extremely happy with the 886. It has worked perfectly and does everything I want it to extremely well.
beekermartin is offline  
post #2975 of 3245 Old 11-30-2010, 04:44 AM
008
Senior Member
 
008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kent England
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did Onkyo ever get around to a firmware update to allow an Audyssey installer to do the calibration ? if so how do you install it ?

Cheers
008 is offline  
post #2976 of 3245 Old 11-30-2010, 05:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by 008 View Post

Did Onkyo ever get around to a firmware update to allow an Audyssey installer to do the calibration ? if so how do you install it ?

Cheers

The 886 has always had the capability to use Audyssey Pro. As far as I know there was not a FW update to enable it as I believe the 886 was always installer ready. I'm not familiar with the process but I believe you need to buy the Pro kit and have an installer do it or you can do it yourself. You can contact Audyssey to get a more definitive answer. Below is a link of Pro istaller ready units with the 886 shown on that list.

http://www.audyssey.com/products/?f=all-installer-ready

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #2977 of 3245 Old 11-30-2010, 05:41 AM
Member
 
retate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post

The 886 has always had the capability to use Audyssey Pro. As far as I know there was not a FW update to enable it as I believe the 886 was always installer ready. I'm not familiar with the process but I believe you need to buy the Pro kit and have an installer do it or you can do it yourself. You can contact Audyssey to get a more definitive answer. Below is a link of Pro istaller ready units with the 886 shown on that list.

http://www.audyssey.com/products/?f=all-installer-ready

Bill

The 886 with the original shipping firmware did not support Audyssey Pro. The firmware update to support it was released a couple months after the first 886's shipped. I believe 1.04 firmware was the first to have Pro support. I have done a Pro calibration on my 886 with 1.05 firmware.

Bob
retate is offline  
post #2978 of 3245 Old 11-30-2010, 06:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by retate View Post

The 886 with the original shipping firmware did not support Audyssey Pro. The firmware update to support it was released a couple months after the first 886's shipped. I believe 1.04 firmware was the first to have Pro support. I have done a Pro calibration on my 886 with 1.05 firmware.

retate,

Thanks for correcting my mistake regarding the FW with the 886. I was able to update the FW of my 886 with the help of gurkey's Onkyo FW thread. Although I just checked gurkey's thread and I got an error when I tried to open the 1.04 FW. I just looked to see if I still had the 1.04 FW file but I must have deleted it. Maybe someone might still have a copy of the 1.04/1.05 FW that could post it if anyone needs it.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1016297
&highlight=gurkey

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #2979 of 3245 Old 11-30-2010, 08:39 AM
Member
 
nickwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a new 886 owner and I have a couple quick questions.

1) Should the volume overlay be visible with all inputs/resolutions? With my unit the volume overlay pops up sometimes but not others, but its seems very random. Even with the same input it will pop up sometimes and not others.

2) How long should input changes take? I'm coming from a UMC-1 which was suppose to be very slow, but I am seeing very similar drop out times with my 886. I would say it takes 3-4 seconds to reestablish a video lock after changing inputs or going into or exiting the 886's menu.

This unit is one of the b-stocks from shopoknyo.com and I just want to make sure its functioning properly.
nickwin is offline  
post #2980 of 3245 Old 11-30-2010, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beekermartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickwin View Post
I'm a new 886 owner and I have a couple quick questions.

1) Should the volume overlay be visible with all inputs/resolutions? With my unit the volume overlay pops up sometimes but not others, but its seems very random. Even with the same input it will pop up sometimes and not others.

2) How long should input changes take? I'm coming from a UMC-1 which was suppose to be very slow, but I am seeing very similar drop out times with my 886. I would say it takes 3-4 seconds to reestablish a video lock after changing inputs or going into or exiting the 886's menu.

This unit is one of the b-stocks from shopoknyo.com and I just want to make sure its functioning properly.
1. It will not overlay video when you are receiving a 1080p/24 signal. Every other signal will show OSD. If you display handles 1080p/24 well then you won't have OSD when you are using that. If your display does not handle 1080p/24 well then set up your BR player to output 1080p/60. Then you will have OSD all the time. Of course most people here will say to turn off OSD for the best picture quality. I have tried both on and off I don't see any PQ difference even on my 120" front projector. BTW, the OSD is called immediate display in the 886 setup menu.

2. It terms of speed of locking in when switching inputs it is fairly slow. Keep in mind that the 886 has to sync to the new input then your tv has to sync to the 886. My projector is very slow when switching inputs. So the combination of the 886 and my projector makes it very slow when switching inputs. This delay is caused because of the whole HDMI handshake issue that is undefeatable. If you set up the 886 to convert all incoming signals to 1080p/60 then that may help your display sync up faster. I have my 886 set to through mode and allow my projector to handle the scaling. Depending on your displays scaling ability you may be better off allowing the 886 to handle the scaling and upconverting. The 886's video upconversion and scaling is very good. It is better than most displays. My projector has the same video chip so I allow it to handle the scaling.
beekermartin is offline  
post #2981 of 3245 Old 11-30-2010, 10:19 AM
Member
 
nickwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok, thanks for the response. I have the 886 set to output 720p because that is my projectors native res. and the 886 has superior video processing, but it still passes 1080p24 without scaling when that format is present. My Pj doesn't display 1080p24 nativity, so is there a setting to force scaling 1080p24 to 720p?

This may sound stupid, but is the OSD suppose to be for more than just volume level? I assumed it was going to have a full OSD, with setup ect. overlayed, but all I have ever seen overlaid is the volume.
nickwin is offline  
post #2982 of 3245 Old 11-30-2010, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beekermartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The full OSD is only on when you are in the setup menu. The overlay is for volume and which sound mode you are selecting. If you change the sound mode you will see what I mean. I believe the UMC-1 overlays the entire menu. The 886 does not do that.

If all your display will show is 720p then set your BR player to either 1080p/60 or 720p. If you have a fairly high end BR player like the Oppo BD-83 then 720p might give the best results. If you have a lower end player selecting 1080p/60 and allowing the 886 to scale it to 720p should give the best results. Some BR players have a seperate setting for 24fps that you have to turn off in order to get 1080p/60. Most BR discs are encoded at 1080p/24 so you have to turn off 24fps in order for the player to output 1080p/60. There are a few BR encoded at 1080i/1080p60 but not many.
beekermartin is offline  
post #2983 of 3245 Old 01-03-2011, 04:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Here is an excellent deal on a 886 over at the Emporium on the Emotiva Lounge.

http://emotivalounge.proboards.com/i...&page=1#243049

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #2984 of 3245 Old 01-03-2011, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
 
ptlurking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post

I believe I might have stumbled onto something interesting. I had my house to myself this morning so I thought I would listen to some music. After an hour or so of listening with my Parasound 2100, BDP-83SE and Salk SongTowers I thought I would compare the 886 to the 2100. I tried the 886 in Stereo (using the HDMI input) with Audyssey and then switched back in forth between the 2100 (Stereo analog output of the 83SE) and much preferred the 2100. Then I tried the Pure Audio mode (HDMI) to the 2100 and of course the 2100 sounds better as I lose the sub when in Pure Audio mode.

Now I did not find the soundstage or imaging was askew with the 886 just that the overall SQ was better with the 2100. The vocals were still centered but the dispersion was not as wide and deep as with the 2100. When using Audyssey in the Stereo mode I found the SQ was congested and imaging overall was not as good as with the 2100. In the Pure Audio mode it was somewhat better but not by much.

Now I'm thinking that testing the analog inputs of the 886 would be a good idea but I did not feel like changing the Stereo outputs from the 2100 to the 886. I have the 5.1 output of the 83SE connected to the 886 so I figured I would compare the 5.1 analog input of the 886 to the 2100. Well I have to say I am shocked at how good the 5.1 analog input of the 886 sounds. I have been listening to Patricia Barber's Verse CD and I'm quite surprised how good the 886 sounds.

The biggest surprise for me is that when comparing the 5.1 analog of the 886 to the 2100 is that the sub plays in both Direct and Pure Audio. At first I thought the sub signal was coming from the 2100 but I powered off the 2100 and sure enough I have my sub playing. I even disconnected the HDMI cable and sure enough the sub is still playing.

So several things surprise me with this comparison. First is how good the 886 sounds when using the 5.1 analog input. Second is that the sub is playing when listening to a 2CH CD with the 5.1 analog input. I assumed there was no bass management when using the 886's 5.1 analog input but I guess the bass management is being done by the 83SE. I'm also hearing how good the multichannel DACs are with the 83SE.

I'm sitting here listening and I still can't believe how good the 886 sounds. I kept thinking well I must have something wrong here but I checked and double checked and only the 886, 83SE, BA A7200 amp and my Anti-Mode 8033 are active in the signal path.

So if there are any other 885/886 owners looking for better analog SQ I would strongly suggest you try using the 5.1 analog input if you have the 83SE or the stock 83 for that matter. I hope someone else tries this so I will know that I'm not mistaken. I just started Beck's Sea Change HDCD and the SQ is excellent!

In the end I still prefer the SQ of the 2100 as the SQ just seems to have a little more space to it but it is very close. I wanted to add that although I have all the 5.1 cables connnected between the 83SE and the 886 all the above listening/comparison was with just my Front R&L speakers and my Rythmik F12SE sub.

Bill

Hey Bill,

I come back to this 886 thread every few weeks looking for helpful tips on how to improve the great performance I am already getting from my 886.
Your posts have been extremely valuable!

As I read your SQ tip above...I couldn't help thinking that you may be totally bypassing the 886's DACs in the scenario you describe.
(Oppo BDP-83SE MCH output to Onkyo 886 MCH input with Onkyo Listening Mode set set to "Pure Audio" or "Direct")

As I understand it, when the "Pure Audio" or "Direct" listening mode is selected on the 886, the analog inputs are being output totally "untouched" by the 886's audio processing circuits. Isn't this correct?

So, could it be that the great sound you are hearing is actually the un-altered output of Oppo's superior DACs? (As the 886's audio circuitry is being bypassed)

Interested in hearing your thoughts on this.

Thanks again for you informative input.
Pete
ptlurking is offline  
post #2985 of 3245 Old 01-08-2011, 01:25 PM
Member
 
brucest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The remote control codes I have don't seem to provide control of my Direct TV receiver. The last on the list is 1886. Has there been an update.
brucest is offline  
post #2986 of 3245 Old 01-08-2011, 02:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptlurking View Post

Hey Bill,

I come back to this 886 thread every few weeks looking for helpful tips on how to improve the great performance I am already getting from my 886.
Your posts have been extremely valuable!

As I read your SQ tip above...I couldn't help thinking that you may be totally bypassing the 886's DACs in the scenario you describe.
(Oppo BDP-83SE MCH output to Onkyo 886 MCH input with Onkyo Listening Mode set set to "Pure Audio" or "Direct")

As I understand it, when the "Pure Audio" or "Direct" listening mode is selected on the 886, the analog inputs are being output totally "untouched" by the 886's audio processing circuits. Isn't this correct?

So, could it be that the great sound you are hearing is actually the un-altered output of Oppo's superior DACs? (As the 886's audio circuitry is being bypassed)

Interested in hearing your thoughts on this.

Thanks again for you informative input.
Pete

Pete,

Thanks for the kind words. I have not had the time to listen in length to the 886 as described in my post but I hope to in the near future. But I think you are correct in that the DACs in the 886 are bypassed when using the 5.1/7.1 input. I will most likely be getting the new Oppo 95 which has the same DACs (ES9018 SABRE 32-bit Reference) for the 7.1 output as the stereo outputs. I would assume that the SQ will be even better when comparing the 95 to the 83SE's M/C DACs.

http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-bdp-95/

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #2987 of 3245 Old 01-25-2011, 10:16 AM
Member
 
GAX279's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Woodstock, IL
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post

Here is an excellent deal on a 886 over at the Emporium on the Emotiva Lounge.

http://emotivalounge.proboards.com/i...&page=1#243049

Bill

I missed out on this so if anyone knows of one or wants to sell theirs, please send me a PM.
GAX279 is offline  
post #2988 of 3245 Old 02-10-2011, 03:28 AM
Newbie
 
Suckyboyfriends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

I have tried to use the guide to update but the links are to old.

Anyone who can help upgrade my 886 so i can pro callibrate?
Suckyboyfriends is offline  
post #2989 of 3245 Old 02-10-2011, 03:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
rtart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GAX279 View Post

I missed out on this so if anyone knows of one or wants to sell theirs, please send me a PM.

Asking $900 on the 'Gon. No affiliation. http://www.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls....nkyo-PR-SC886-

I'm finding that I'm smarter than I thought, but dumber than I need to be.
PSN ID: rtart, alt Ginsuyou2
rtart is offline  
post #2990 of 3245 Old 02-10-2011, 07:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suckyboyfriends View Post

Hi

I have tried to use the guide to update but the links are to old.

Anyone who can help upgrade my 886 so i can pro callibrate?

Do you realize that to do a Audyssey Pro calibration, you also need a $550 Audyssey Pro Installers kit plus a $150 unlock key for the 886? The Audyssey Pro calibration option on the 886, is not something that is available from just a firmware update.
Johnla is offline  
post #2991 of 3245 Old 02-11-2011, 04:25 PM
Newbie
 
Suckyboyfriends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnla View Post

Do you realize that to do a Audyssey Pro calibration, you also need a $550 Audyssey Pro Installers kit plus a $150 unlock key for the 886? The Audyssey Pro calibration option on the 886, is not something that is available from just a firmware update.

I know.. I am only missing the upgrade

Anyone who knows how to ugrade?
Suckyboyfriends is offline  
post #2992 of 3245 Old 02-11-2011, 05:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Johnla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 11,511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Look in the Onkyo/Integra firmware thread.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1016297


And see if this D/L link that is in that thread still works for the 886 v1.05 firmware.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...postcount=3860
Johnla is offline  
post #2993 of 3245 Old 02-18-2011, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
pg_rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtart View Post

Asking $900 on the 'Gon. No affiliation. http://www.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls....nkyo-PR-SC886-

Looks like a good price but unfortunately a bit above my price range... are you open to offers?

LSA One Monitors, LSA LCR Center, LSA On Wall surrounds, dual Hsu VTF-3 subs, Denon AVR-X4000, Adcom GFA-6000 amp, UTurn Orbit turntable
pg_rider is offline  
post #2994 of 3245 Old 02-21-2011, 04:42 PM
Member
 
3dishes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wondering if anybody has a set of rack ears that they would be willing to sell?

Thanks
3dishes is offline  
post #2995 of 3245 Old 03-04-2011, 07:55 AM
Member
 
brucest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure how this forum is organized. The only way I can see to post is per reply. If I should be doing something else please let me know.

Two additional questions.

1. I believe there has been an exchange discussing the merits of two channel with THX neural or other simulation algorithms. My experience is that such playback typically improves the spaciousness and location of a two channel recording so that it rivals native SACD multichannel. Is this others experience? Why would this be?

2. I don't seem to be subscribed to this thread. How do I do that?
brucest is offline  
post #2996 of 3245 Old 03-08-2011, 01:59 PM
Member
 
brucest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having trouble getting the Oppo 95 analog multichannel set up on the Onkyo.

I have hooked up the 95 analog output directly to an amp verifying that it is outputting an analog signal as well as digital.

On the Analog Audio Input, I've selected CD for multich, no for Balance, and Stereo. I've also tried Aux 2. (Aux 1 is a two channel line input.) Playing multichannel SACD on HDMI, I switch to CD and get nothing.

Any thoughts?
brucest is offline  
post #2997 of 3245 Old 03-08-2011, 02:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
rtart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pg_rider View Post
Looks like a good price but unfortunately a bit above my price range... are you open to offers?
Not my posting...that's why I said "No affiliation."

BTW, it was a great price.....a few days after I posted it here, I bought it. I wasn't even in the market for one, but couldn't pass it by.

I'm finding that I'm smarter than I thought, but dumber than I need to be.
PSN ID: rtart, alt Ginsuyou2
rtart is offline  
post #2998 of 3245 Old 03-08-2011, 02:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by brucest View Post
I'm having trouble getting the Oppo 95 analog multichannel set up on the Onkyo.

I have hooked up the 95 analog output directly to an amp verifying that it is outputting an analog signal as well as digital.

On the Analog Audio Input, I've selected CD for multich, no for Balance, and Stereo. I've also tried Aux 2. (Aux 1 is a two channel line input.) Playing multichannel SACD on HDMI, I switch to CD and get nothing.

Any thoughts?
Bruce,

Have you made the MultiCH input the default for the CD input (I assume you have)? Try the CD input again with the 95 playing and press the AUDIO SEL button on the bottom of the 886 remote. When you press the AUDIO SEL button does it cycle through Analog then MultiCH. Even though you assigned the MultiCH to the CD input it might be defaulting to Analog. So press the AUDIO SEL once and the MultiCH should be selected. I just checked my 886 and my CD input has choices of analog or Coax3. If I want to use the Coax3 input I have to select that with the AUDIO SEL button.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #2999 of 3245 Old 03-08-2011, 03:05 PM
Member
 
brucest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally read the little but very important direction about pressing audio select. Its working fine now.
brucest is offline  
post #3000 of 3245 Old 03-08-2011, 03:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by brucest View Post
I finally read the little but very important direction about pressing audio select. Its working fine now.
Excellent. I only new that step as I had the same trouble you were having awhile back with my 83SE. I would be interested in your thoughts on how the 95 sounds with the 886.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off