Onkyo PR-SC886P Pre/Pro Official thread - Page 109 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3241 of 3270 Old 07-28-2014, 02:02 PM
Member
 
poolratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another question. Can I turn Audyssey off even though I've already run the speaker setup?
poolratt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3242 of 3270 Old 07-28-2014, 07:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 29,244
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by poolratt View Post
Another question. Can I turn Audyssey off even though I've already run the speaker setup?
Yes.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
post #3243 of 3270 Old 07-29-2014, 07:16 AM
Member
 
poolratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post
Yes.
Looked around quite a bit and can't find how to do it. Could you assist please?
poolratt is offline  
post #3244 of 3270 Old 07-29-2014, 07:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
John P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by poolratt View Post
Looked around quite a bit and can't find how to do it. Could you assist please?
See page 95 of the manual.

Download here: http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j..._TJpm6uR2MbgSA
John P is offline  
post #3245 of 3270 Old 07-29-2014, 08:46 AM
Member
 
poolratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by John P View Post
See page 95 of the manual.

Download here: http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j..._TJpm6uR2MbgSA
Thanks!
poolratt is offline  
post #3246 of 3270 Old 03-22-2015, 08:16 AM
Member
 
brucest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Phono Input 886

When using the analog phone input stereo and switch to a surround sound mode (THX neural) is the signal converted to digital for processing?
brucest is offline  
post #3247 of 3270 Old 05-09-2015, 06:15 AM
Member
 
tt08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
One or two HDMI port of my prepro is not working anymore. Does anyone know if this prepro is still under the Onkyo extending warranty of HDMI board issue? Thanks.
tt08 is offline  
post #3248 of 3270 Old 05-09-2015, 06:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 13,215
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1028 Post(s)
Liked: 1073
Quote:
Originally Posted by tt08 View Post
One or two HDMI port of my prepro is not working anymore. Does anyone know if this prepro is still under the Onkyo extending warranty of HDMI board issue? Thanks.
That's a good question. I would give Onkyo support a call and I'm sure they'll let you know.

Bill

My SACD collection and HRAudio.net Library, getting larger as my wallet gets smaller ;-).

Emotiva XMC-1, Wyred 4 Sound SX-500s, ST-500, ST-250, Oppo BDP-103/105D, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk 1801-TLs, Salk 1801b center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is online now  
post #3249 of 3270 Old 06-06-2015, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 3,356
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 390
Do these have the same HDMI board problem as the Onkyo receivers?

Yamaha CX-A5100, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, 4 JBL 8340As, 4 JBL 8320s, PS3, XBoxOne, 2 Intel NUCs, Monoprice speaker wire, and XLR cables, Redmere HDMI cables, Monster HTPS7000, 2 Furman filters, 2 DTS-10 subs, Panasonic AE8000, SeymourAV 195" diagonal scope screen, Panamorph UH-480, Darbee Darcet, Yamaha P7000s, (2) Crest Audio CM2208s, Yamaha XM-4080, (2) MiniDSP DDRC-88.
The Ellis Family Go Big or go Home HT
ellisr63 is offline  
post #3250 of 3270 Old 06-23-2015, 04:09 PM
Member
 
jakeabone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Comcast remote code for toggle on/off

I've had this prepro for a few years now but I haven't been able to turn off (standby) the unit with the comcast remote. I always have to use the onkyo remote to do this. I can turn it on but not off to standby. Has anyone been sucessful doing this? If so, please share the remote control setup... I really don't want to get a universal remote just so I can turn it off.
Thanks,
Eddy
jakeabone is offline  
post #3251 of 3270 Old 11-08-2015, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beekermartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I am starting to do some research about upgrading from the 886. Mine is still working perfectly but since there are so many good deals right now it might be a good time to upgrade. I was considering the 5508/5509 since they can be had for @1000 but then I realized with the Marantz 8802 being out there are ton of 8801's available for around the same price. I believe the 8801 was one of the highest rated processors around in the last few years. I know the 8802 is better but I'm not looking to spend $3000. Then there is the XMC-1. I have to do more research about it but it appears to be another great option.

I know this is an old thread and processor but if anyone has upgraded from the 886 I would love to hear your recommendations.

Last edited by beekermartin; 11-08-2015 at 10:51 AM.
beekermartin is offline  
post #3252 of 3270 Old 11-09-2015, 09:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
rtart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by beekermartin View Post
I am starting to do some research about upgrading from the 886. Mine is still working perfectly but since there are so many good deals right now it might be a good time to upgrade. I was considering the 5508/5509 since they can be had for @1000 but then I realized with the Marantz 8802 being out there are ton of 8801's available for around the same price. I believe the 8801 was one of the highest rated processors around in the last few years. I know the 8802 is better but I'm not looking to spend $3000. Then there is the XMC-1. I have to do more research about it but it appears to be another great option.

I know this is an old thread and processor but if anyone has upgraded from the 886 I would love to hear your recommendations.
Hi. I've owned all of the Onkyo processors from the 885 to the 5508, now. The 886 was a big increase in sound quality from the 885, as I recall. The 5507 offered better Audyssey capability, which is why I upgraded to it a couple years ago. The difference between the 5507 and 5508 or 09 is minimal. The 5508 and 09 have the capability to send discreet calibration tones to each of two subwoofers, which sounds cool. (And is why I went to the 5508 from the 5507.) In actual use, the 'upgrade' was a moot point. Didn't make any difference that I could hear, and simply made the calibration process take a little longer. Other than that, the 5508 or 09 can do Audio Return, which I cannot see many if any folks using it in a higher end system. Basically, it allows you to use the 'smart TV' feature like Netflix streaming to return audio over the HDMI cabling. Of course, the audio quality available from the TV is not great, as one might imagine. But, the 08 and 09 will do it, if you care.

I wouldn't flip a coin between the 5507, 08 or 09 from a functionality perspective. And, of course, the 5507 is selling for less. I can share that the 08 and 09 have had some issues with the HDMI board failure/recall, and the 5507 has been mostly spared....haven't seen a 5507 complaint on this forum yet. In any case, the 5507 qualifies for the HDMI replacement program that Onkyo is administering, so a buyer has a long-term expended warranty on the HDMI board, which is the basic guts of the unit, until 2018, I think. Even though I was not the original owner, I was able to get my 5508 repaired with no questions and very little hassle. The shipped me a box for the unit, and a shipping label. Even a roll of tape to seal the box. Took about a week, they paid shipping both ways. Couldn't be happier...a real stand up company.

All that said, I'd recommend the 5507 based on price, reliability and performance. I really enjoyed mine and actually still have my 'old' one. It's been sort of promised to a friend who hasn't picked it up yet. It's been sitting in a closet for a few weeks, and if you have some interest I can ask him if he is serious, or...zap me a PM if you would like to talk.

Either way, you are doing the right thing by doing your research up front....there's an awful lot of hype and 'new-itis' around. What matters is what YOU need....

Good luck!

I'm finding that I'm smarter than I thought, but dumber than I need to be.
PSN ID: rtart, alt Ginsuyou2
rtart is offline  
post #3253 of 3270 Old 11-09-2015, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beekermartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thank you for the great response. From what I understand the 5507 doesn't have Audyssey XT32. I believe that was only added to the 5508/5509. I could be wrong of course. If I was to upgrade I would want XT32 or Yamaha's newest YPAO.

Did you notice an increase in sound quality going from the 886 to the 5507? Did you notice any going from the 5507 to the 5508?

From the research I've done so far it appears the Marantz 8801 or Yamaha CX-A5000 are the two best choices in the $1000 range. I have read many reviews on both and they seem to be a toss up. I haven't found any reviews that recommend the Onkyo over either one. I was surprised by that because I have been extremely happy with the 886.
beekermartin is offline  
post #3254 of 3270 Old 11-09-2015, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
rtart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 62
For sound quality, 886 to 5507, yes....5507 to 5508, no, not really. I think that Audyssey is like most other technologies....the first step is a real improvement, after that, much more subtle. XT32 on paper is an improvement, but I couldn't hear a noticeable difference like I did when I went from the 885 to the 886, or from the 886 to the 5507. XT32 has more sample points, but most rooms have a fairly pronounced frequency response 'bubble' or 'trough', if they have one at all, and pretty much anyone's calibration SW will smooth out the vast majority of it. There are better and worse SW offerings, of course, but there is a point of diminishing returns.

The prices of the 5507's are a good bit less than those of the 5508 and 09's. I wouldn't advise spending the extra $$ for the 5508 over the 5507 from a 'noticed' sound quality improvement. Of course, a lot of the decision has to be based on what you can find for sale.

I'm finding that I'm smarter than I thought, but dumber than I need to be.
PSN ID: rtart, alt Ginsuyou2
rtart is offline  
post #3255 of 3270 Old 11-09-2015, 10:30 AM
Member
 
jakeabone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've thought about the Marantz as well but since it doesn't come with THX, I've refrained from buying - even though it's a great buy.
Ive been looking at the Integra 60.7. It's around $2000. I haven't read the forums about this pre/pro yet but seems to have a lot of upgrades plus it is very similar to Onkyo.
jakeabone is offline  
post #3256 of 3270 Old 11-09-2015, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beekermartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
What does THX really bring to the table besides and extra sticker on the front???
beekermartin is offline  
post #3257 of 3270 Old 11-09-2015, 12:12 PM
Member
 
jakeabone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by beekermartin View Post
What does THX really bring to the table besides and extra sticker on the front???
Good question! I don't really know for sure... But I do know that it does add a uniform equalization of frequencies that are handled by each speaker position. E.g. Sub gets 80 Hz and below, and no other speaker does...
I'm sure this is discussed in another forum.
Eddy
jakeabone is offline  
post #3258 of 3270 Old 11-09-2015, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
beekermartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakeabone View Post
Good question! I don't really know for sure... But I do know that it does add a uniform equalization of frequencies that are handled by each speaker position. E.g. Sub gets 80 Hz and below, and no other speaker does...
I'm sure this is discussed in another forum.
Eddy
The Marantz can do that. Almost any decent receiver/processor can do that.

All THX gives you is their approval on that particular product. Which the manufacturer has to pay THX to get. A lot of very high end processors don't have a THX approval.
beekermartin is offline  
post #3259 of 3270 Old 11-10-2015, 05:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
rtart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by beekermartin View Post
What does THX really bring to the table besides and extra sticker on the front???
As I recall, THX is verification that the gear can provide a certain level of volume to a room of a specific size. Doesn't have anything to do with sound quality, just volume.

At one point (a decade ago) it was a pretty good indicator of gear quality and capabilities, but today pretty much any AVR will meet the standards....which is why the manufacturers have mostly stopped paying the royalties to use it.

I'm finding that I'm smarter than I thought, but dumber than I need to be.
PSN ID: rtart, alt Ginsuyou2
rtart is offline  
post #3260 of 3270 Old 11-10-2015, 07:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 13,215
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1028 Post(s)
Liked: 1073
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtart View Post
At one point (a decade ago) it was a pretty good indicator of gear quality and capabilities, but today pretty much any AVR will meet the standards....which is why the manufacturers have mostly stopped paying the royalties to use it.
I agree with the above and haven't considered THX as a needed feature in any processor I've bought for a number of years.

Bill

My SACD collection and HRAudio.net Library, getting larger as my wallet gets smaller ;-).

Emotiva XMC-1, Wyred 4 Sound SX-500s, ST-500, ST-250, Oppo BDP-103/105D, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk 1801-TLs, Salk 1801b center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is online now  
post #3261 of 3270 Old 02-20-2016, 10:34 AM
Member
 
poolratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AC Outlet

The ac outlet is always hot on my unit. I tried disabling HDMI audio with no luck. What am i doing wrong? Thanks!
poolratt is offline  
post #3262 of 3270 Old 02-20-2016, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beekermartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I know for sure there is a way to have it turn on and off with the 886. I forget where the setting is but I am positive it can be set that way. I had a fan and an antenna plugged into the 886 and they powered on and off with the 886 power.
beekermartin is offline  
post #3263 of 3270 Old 02-20-2016, 12:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
KenWH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Medina,TN
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by poolratt View Post
The ac outlet is always hot on my unit. I tried disabling HDMI audio with no luck. What am i doing wrong? Thanks!
Taken from online manual:

Notes:
•When the “HDMI Control” setting is set to “Enable” (page 111), the AC outlet are on all the time regardless of whether the AV controller is set to On or Standby, or Ready mode in this case, so any components connected to them cannot be turned on or off automatically.
KenWH is offline  
post #3264 of 3270 Old 02-20-2016, 02:44 PM
Member
 
poolratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenWH View Post
Taken from online manual:

Notes:
•When the “HDMI Control” setting is set to “Enable” (page 111), the AC outlet are on all the time regardless of whether the AV controller is set to On or Standby, or Ready mode in this case, so any components connected to them cannot be turned on or off automatically.
Thanks for the response Ken. I've disabled that and it still does not help. Any Ideas?
poolratt is offline  
post #3265 of 3270 Old 02-20-2016, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
KenWH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Medina,TN
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by poolratt View Post
Thanks for the response Ken. I've disabled that and it still does not help. Any Ideas?
I'm looking in my print manual so I want to clarify, you mentioned that you disabled HDMI Audio...under HDMI, there is "Audio TV Out". Is that what you turned off? If so, that has nothing to do with the power outlet control. According to my manual, there's is another menu option labeled under HDMI and that is "Control". Under "Control" you will find RIHD settings(for controlling other Onkyo gear) and you should also find "Power Control". "Power Control" is where the A/C outlet settings will be located.

If you have a manual or find it online...look on pages 111 & 112.

Hope this helps.

-Ken
KenWH is offline  
post #3266 of 3270 Old 02-23-2016, 09:58 AM
Member
 
poolratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenWH View Post
I'm looking in my print manual so I want to clarify, you mentioned that you disabled HDMI Audio...under HDMI, there is "Audio TV Out". Is that what you turned off? If so, that has nothing to do with the power outlet control. According to my manual, there's is another menu option labeled under HDMI and that is "Control". Under "Control" you will find RIHD settings(for controlling other Onkyo gear) and you should also find "Power Control". "Power Control" is where the A/C outlet settings will be located.

If you have a manual or find it online...look on pages 111 & 112.

Hope this helps.

-Ken
Thanks again Ken. I wander if I have an older unit because I can't find anything in the manual or in the Onkyos menu about RIHD?
poolratt is offline  
post #3267 of 3270 Old 02-23-2016, 04:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
KenWH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Medina,TN
Posts: 779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by poolratt View Post
Thanks again Ken. I wander if I have an older unit because I can't find anything in the manual or in the Onkyos menu about RIHD?
Is there a "CONTROL" menu mentioned in your unit's manual at all? If not then you may very well have an earlier/different version.

Sorry I can't be of more help,
Ken
KenWH is offline  
post #3268 of 3270 Old 04-07-2016, 04:13 PM
Member
 
brucest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This processor, which I've been very happy with, developed a glitch displaying to the TV. The picture failed for longer and longer periods of time. I had to engage in a factory default reset which corrected the problem. That of course meant I needed to redo the Audyssey set up. That is giving me a repeated Speaker Detect Error. I have a 5.0 set up with the my subwoofer run by a separate crossover (Linkwitz Orion speakers). I list the front speakers as biamped (actually triamped) which sets up a 5.1 setup. As I go through the setup procedure, the front, center and surround speakers get the setup signal. The rear surround do not which seems appropriate. The setup seems to try to activate a sub, but of course the outputs are not hooked to any amp. In the speaker setup, I indicate no sub. Then I get a Speaker Detect Error, but no speaker is indicated with the yellow triangle.
The center speaker doesn't seem to appear on the screen even though I heard the setup signal from that speaker, the rear surrounds and sub icons are dark.

I did previously go through the setup procedure with this speaker setup, so I'm at a loss as to why it doesn't work this time.

Brucest1 online
Posts: 1Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 12:16 pm

brucest is offline  
post #3269 of 3270 Old 05-30-2016, 06:03 AM
Member
 
LabLuvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ROKU 3 & Comcast DVR: No Audio???

HELP... After playing a Netflix movie last night via my ROKU 3, I switched back to a live broadcast via my Comcast STB (RNG200N). Everything was fine except NO audio. I tried switching to the "Tuner" and bingo: I had audio. I tried turning everything off then on again, thinking it might be a simple "handshake" issue but nada. Frustrated after checking for loose connections, etc. I went to bed and decided to try again this morning, but nothing has changed. FWIW:, the ROKU is connected to my Onkyo pre-pro PR-SC886 via HDMI and my Comcast HD/DVR is also connected via HDMI. Strangely, my OPPO BD-83 is also connected via HDMI and it's audio is fine. Apparently my amp (Emotiva XPA-5) is working. So, does anyone have a solution, as it is a holiday weekend and we really want to enjoy our home theater set up! Oh, we also never could get the closed captions on the Netflix show to turn off even though the ROKU settings menu said that they were off. FWIW, the Onkyo doesn't offer CC, and my Pioneer Kuro Elite PRO-111 FD was also off for CC. Thanks in advance for any help!
LabLuvr is offline  
post #3270 of 3270 Old 05-30-2016, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
beekermartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I would try to connect the roku or comcast box to the HDMI port that the Oppo is working with. Also try the Oppo in one of the ports that aren't working with the Roku or Comcast. If they both work in the port that works with the Oppo and the Oppo doesn't work with the other two ports I assume your HDMI board is failing. I don't know if the the 886 is part of the warranty extension with Onkyo but I don't believe it is.
beekermartin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off