Help with using my Pioneer VSX-92TXH's IR IN jack, and the IR OUT - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 11-13-2008, 09:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bentradio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Pioneer Elite VSX-92TXH which is partially obscured by the cabinet it sits in. Oddly enough the cabinet door is partially glass, but the beam of wood which runs in the middle of it obscures the IR receiver on the front.

So, I'd like to run an external IR receiver out of the cabinet near the TV. Now I thought this would be pretty easy, since the receiver provides an IR IN jack in the back in the form of a 3.5mm plug. So I bought a SpeakerCraft IRC-2.0 since it's nice and small and relatively cheap. It has a four conductor 3.5mm jack. However, this doesn't work at all to control the receiver. It does not receive any commands, and it does not even shut off the front panel input (something the manual indicated it would, or at least take precedence over).

I also happen to have a Smarthome IR linc:

http://www.smarthome.com/2411R/IRLin...nverter/p.aspx

This also happens to have a 3.5mm 3 conductor IR receiver attached to it, so I tried that one on the VSX-92TXH as well. No luck there either.

Pioneer was NO help in this matter, the CS agent would not even tell me what the correct pin out for the jack was (!?) and could not tell me any particular brand or model of IR receiver that would work.

I know I could go all out and get a IR terminator block and repeaters and probably get it working that way, but that seems like a lot of extra cost and clutter I could avoid of I could just get my receiver to function as it does in the manual.

Anyone have any advice they could give me? Does ANYONE use this feature on their Pioneer receiver? Thanks for your help!
bentradio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 11-14-2008, 11:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bentradio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No replies...I guess I was right in thinking that few people use this capability of their amp?

One interesting thing is the guy from Pioneer CS said that they used to make an IR receiver called the MR-100 which worked...but it looks like that's been out of production for about 10 years! So no luck there trying to find one.
bentradio is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 11-15-2008, 05:40 AM
Senior Member
 
bandphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The main in ir jack should work with an ir receiver, im not sure what your issues are from

“Consider the daffodil. And while you're doing that, I'll be over here, looking through your stuff.”
bandphan is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 11-15-2008, 12:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bentradio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bandphan, are you saying this because you have one set up and working? Or just because that's your understanding from looking at the manual?

Anyone who has this working I'd be thrilled if you could tell me which IR receiver you're using.

Of course, there's the possibility that my receiver is defective, and my jack is broken. But when I have absolutely no way to test that theory, it's really difficult to tell.
bentradio is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 11-17-2008, 10:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bentradio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I tried a Xantech receiver this time...still a no go. That seems odd as Xantech is a brand which is mentioned by name in the manual.

I have a few more things to try, but has anyone else got any ideas?
bentradio is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 05-28-2009, 07:43 AM
Newbie
 
CJPheneghan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey

I read your post.

I have a pioneer vsx-816.

I could NOT get any of the IR emitter's to work my 816.

Reading your post, I thought, "Hey, why not try the IR IN jack on the back of the unit?"
So, I took a TWO conductos MONO 3.5 mm jack and stripped it.
Connected the two wires to the Flasher terminals on my Niles IRP 2 + and
VOILA !

It worked

I am quite psyched about this and hope that this works for you too.

Remember, use a MONO 3.5 mm Male jack, NOT a stereo one!

C
CJPheneghan is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 05-28-2009, 09:36 AM
TJ7
Senior Member
 
TJ7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MA Southcoast
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am using Harmony 890s and have the RF receiver plugged directly into my 92 downstairs and the same way into my SC-07 upstairs. They both work perfectly using a 3.5 stereo (never tested mono) male to male.

It sounds like you are trying to just plug in the emitter and not going 3.5 male to 3.5 male from a receiver/extender. The IR plug in the back needs to be fed a signal from another electronic device. An emitter requires power to work - it is an output device, not an input device.

Radio Shack Catalogue Archive 1939-2005

Does your system seem to have a mind of its own?
Turn HDMI Control OFF!!!
TJ7 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 05-28-2009, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 5,643
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 395 Post(s)
Liked: 231
I have this working with my MX-600 remote and MRF-100 RF/IR extender. The MRF-100 output is 2.5mm mono. The 92 input is 3.5mm so I have a 2.5 to 3.5 mono cable.

BTW the SpeakerCraft 2.0 won't work without an amplifier like the Speakercraft AT 1.0. The devices you listed are pretty expensive. All you need is one of these $35 devices http://www.smarthome.com/8211/Powerm...9-PEX03/p.aspx and get a 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable. Plug one end into the back of the Powermid and the other into the 92 and everything will work fine.

The MRF-100 I have works exactly the same as the on Powermid.

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 02-03-2010, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bentradio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In summary, what I eventually did was get the block/power supply/blah blah and wire it up that way. I don't believe the IR IN is intended to be used with an IR receiver, I believe it's intended to be used with just a 3.5mm cable coming out of the a IR receiver block. I tried hooking it up this way, and it worked, but not reliably. Putting a blaster in front of the IR window on the front of the receiver did work reliably, so that's currently the set up I'm using.
bentradio is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 02-06-2010, 09:52 PM
Member
 
fsullivan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Pio receivers have a "control out" 3.5mm jack as well, and the manual says you can connect it to another device to be controlled by the infrared signals received by the receiver. Anybody tried this?

It could potentially cut down on the number of emitters you would have to run to your devices.
fsullivan3 is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 04-24-2012, 10:29 PM
Newbie
 
djelucid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fsullivan3 View Post

My Pio receivers have a "control out" 3.5mm jack as well, and the manual says you can connect it to another device to be controlled by the infrared signals received by the receiver. Anybody tried this?

It could potentially cut down on the number of emitters you would have to run to your devices.

Did anyone ever answer this? I'm curious how this would work also. I'm currently using an IR extender for my cable box and will be hiding my receiver behind a door also. I hope I only have to use 1 extender.
djelucid is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 09-28-2015, 09:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Solved

Ok so I have great news, this should be a definitive answer for many questions.

I have a Kuro 111FD which has an IR Repeater Out, SR Control Out, and of course through the HDMI CEC the Kuro Link controls.

I have an SC-77, BDP-23FD, an Apple TV (not the new CEC one) and the black Dish VIP211k in the cabinet.

I have this IR Repeater also which is dual band and so, when the emitter is positioned absolutely perfectly down to the nanometer, works even with the dish receiver (it's one of the few that does) http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ilpage_o00_s00

I use the KURO remote since it has the nice red LED feedback on the bottom.

I have the SR Control Out going to the BDP and that has always worked fine.

KURO Link works fine except that it always switches the receiver to optical in when they turn on together because of ARC. Nothing I can do about that except manually switch the input afterwards.

The IR was interesting, and confusing. I had your problem. Anything but the dish VIP worked when the 3rd party IR setup had an emitter in front of it, whether the signal being emitted originated from the TV or 3rd party IR receiver. Also, everything but the dish receiver worked when those emitters were only emitting the IR repeater passed through to them from the IR out on my SC77. But I couldn't get the SC77 itself to respond to any IR command except that coming in the receptor in the front of it (via a 3rd party IR emitter or the remote directly). The infrared from the TV and Repeater going into 1 and 2 IR ins on the SC77, and the IR out on the SC77 was going into the IR box as an extra IR receiver. So while components responded to the IR when the emitter was in front of the respective device's receiver (the Apple TV and the Dish box), where the receiver is passing the IR through, the SC77 wouldn't respond to IR commands. It was weird that it would receive the commands and pass them through, but not respond. It doesn't have an SR Control in, and the volume is adjusted quicker using IR than KURO Link which adjusts a half decibel every two seconds, so I had to ether stick the emitter in front of it or figure out how to get the built in to work.

I have the cable from the TV IR Repeater Out going into IR input 1 now, no other IR cable going into the receiver's other IR in, and nothing coming out of the receiver's IR out. IT WORKS

That means that either it's because the Pioneer TV is the exclusive sender and their IR repeating is somehow different, or because when you are using IR Out on the receiver it does not absorb the commands itself.

Hope that helps, and if anyone wants me to try a configuration to figure it out more I'll give it a shot.
Ilbisonte is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off