Questions about the Marantz av8003. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 01-10-2009, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Mantis10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pa
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hello everyone???
I have spent a lot of time going though all the different threads on the Av8003 and I have some question unanswered. Most of my questions have been answered by reading all that (Phew....Gasp for air)
1) I noticed the 8003 only has 4 total video inputs. I want to know if the HDMI inputs are seperate from the main inputs like Pioneer Elite does? So what I'm asking is If I have 6 video sources and 4 of them are HDMI and 2 of them are component, can I use all 6 or do the inputs allow for 1 video connection?
Example: HDMI on the Marantz is labled cable. Ok I'm sending HDMI to that input. Now if I want to use lets say a DVD player in component, can I use the cable "component" input as well? Follow me???

Ok reason I ask because it's not clear on this. I would think one would run out of inputs quickly on this preamp. 4 total sucks.

So has someone run into this?

On a side note I love the way it looks and my Marantz dealer near me does not have one on display so no testing of my issues can be done.

Talk to me people

Dan
Mantis10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 01-10-2009, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You will have 4 HDMI inputs 2 Component inputs. If you select "Auto" in Video setup the active input will be selected. In other words if you have a BD player on the DVD HDMI input and a SD DVD player on the component DVD input
the active unit will be selected with digital taking preference.

CD

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 01-10-2009, 06:02 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Mantis10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pa
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So the HDMI inputs are Assigned to there respective names correct?

I kinda have a problem with this. It seems to me that as nice and as almost perfect this is for me, it's light on inputs. I can easily max it out and have sources left on connected.

So check it out,

1) Cable HD HDMI
2) Blu Ray HDMI
3 )Xbox 360 HDMI
4)DVD SACD/DVD AUDIO HDMI
5) Apple TV HDMI
I would have to get a HDMI switcher to run all of my gear.

Then I also got
1) WII Composite or Component
2) CD player Balanced or Single ended
3) Ipod Dock S video or composite and analog in single ended.
4) Apple Airport Express. I can substitute the Ipod or run both. I prefer both but I don't see enough analog inputs. I could use Optical but where am I going to assign it???

So I'm also beat on this. If the HDMI inputs lived on there own like Pioneer ELite, I would be golden with this preamp. Then I could run the Wii in component, the Ipod on S. I could run the Apple Tv on component IF I had to or get a switch.

Cd is cool I like the balanced inputs.

So I gotta assume someone else is a gear nut like me and has a few sources??? Again I feel it's a bit light on input unless someone else has a work around thats bullet proof.

Dan
Mantis10 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 01-10-2009, 06:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well first of all you have 5 HDMI inputs so you are limited there. You have a total of 8 video inputs with the AV8003 going out to HDMI. You also have 2 component outs. S-video and composite don't enter into my realm.

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 01-10-2009, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may be something to consider.

http://www.accessories4less.com/make...-remote/1.html

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 01-11-2009, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Mantis10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pa
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I can't seem to find the "right" preamp for me. I wish Pioneer Elite would make a preamp. I also wish B&k would have had internal processing, zone 2 or more, Room EQ and THX. I would be sold on it.

To top this off, I'm having problems going to find one to listen to. My music is more important then movies but I'm a movie fan. So building a theater with 2 channel is a must. The Integra is not for me for music abilities, theater it's pretty damn nice.

Dan
Mantis10 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 01-11-2009, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dan, if music is your first consideration then I would definitely consider the Marantz. Don't know if you've seen this:
http://hometheatermag.com/preampproc...mar/index.html

I bought my AV8003 and MM8003 from AVS. They will treat you right!

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 01-11-2009, 01:11 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Mantis10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pa
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cattledog View Post

Dan, if music is your first consideration then I would definitely consider the Marantz. Don't know if you've seen this:
http://hometheatermag.com/preampproc...mar/index.html

I bought my AV8003 and MM8003 from AVS. They will treat you right!

Yes I did I have the mag. Thanks. Tell me about your setup. Who is AVS???
Mantis10 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 01-11-2009, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mantis10 View Post

Who is AVS???

Huh????

AVS runs this site. Go to the top and click on AV Science Store. Give them a call.

CD

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 01-11-2009, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cattledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mantis10 View Post

Tell me about your setup.

AV8003 connected via XLR
MM8003
BD8002
Oppo 980H for CD and SACD via DSD over HDMI
NHT Classic Three FL C FR
NHT Classic 3 Sub 10
NHT in wall 2 for surrounds
Monster HTS 5100 MKII Power center
Directv HR23 DVR
Apple TV
Toshiba 52LX177

Reality Based.
Cattledog is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 01-11-2009, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Mantis10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pa
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
LOL Thats what I thought but had to make sure.

Nice system you got there. I'm digging it.
Mantis10 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 03-05-2009, 05:52 PM
Newbie
 
love7point1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my AV8003 and MM8003 and started setup per manual. I have 7.1 speakers but when I play 5.1 material (tv, or movies... blu ray included) rear surrounds are not playing material like side surrounds which I prefer. Is there a setting for this that someone can share?
(av8003, mm8003, Denon 2900 sacd, Denon BD3800, JVC HD1) comcast
love7point1 is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 06-25-2013, 01:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
vcrpro3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Flogging a very tired, but not quite dead horse....On a Pioneer forum, the question was put forth as to how much one should pay for a used SC-09tx AVR..Well my question is; How much is a fair price for a used AV8003 Pre/Pro? It came out in 2008. Has been superceded by 3 newer Marantz units and a refurbed AV7005 can be had for $799.00... I'm financially embarassed, so i'm asking the collective thoughts on this...Thanks...tongue.gif
vcrpro3 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off