"OFFICIAL" Pioneer MCACC thread - Page 185 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5521 of 5548 Old 07-03-2014, 02:32 PM
Member
 
JamesP1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all

Plan on reading the thread in detail tomorrow, but in the meantime, as someone who has come from Audyssey and setting my LX57 up with a B and W series, can you give any tips as to setting up MCACC?

Many thanks,

James
JamesP1701 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5522 of 5548 Old 07-03-2014, 02:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
dazz87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: LA
Posts: 903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by walterappleby View Post
Hopefully you've already double checked this but make sure you have the sub cable hooked up to the proper connector on the receiver. You need to use the Subwoofer connection in the PRE OUT section... not the one in the MULTI CH IN section. Also, try setting the sub power to "On" NOT "Auto".
Yes I had the sub connection to the Pre Out section and not the Multi Ch section. I am going to try a new cable and a factory reset and hopefully it works or its time to look for a new receiver........
dazz87 is offline  
post #5523 of 5548 Old 07-09-2014, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
tang7969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tonawanda NY
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Does anybody have a link for a tripod that I could use for my MCACC mic? Tia


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

-46" SAMSUNG
-ENERGY RC-50'S
-ENERGY RC-LCR
-ENERGY RC-10'S
-SVS PC12 PLUS
-PIONEER ELITE SC-25
-OPPO BDP 103D
http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/1459339/default/
tang7969 is online now  
post #5524 of 5548 Old 07-09-2014, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
NYC Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tang7969 View Post
Does anybody have a link for a tripod that I could use for my MCACC mic? Tia


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Any camera tripod should work ok.
NYC Guy is offline  
post #5525 of 5548 Old 07-09-2014, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 5,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Any camera tripod will work.

Edit: Beat by seconds by a guy from NYC, I'm ruined!

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is online now  
post #5526 of 5548 Old 07-09-2014, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
tang7969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tonawanda NY
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYC Guy View Post
Any camera tripod should work ok.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
Any camera tripod will work.

Edit: Beat by seconds by a guy from NYC, I'm ruined!
Thank you. I'm assuming then I'm good with this??http://www.ebay.com/itm/40-Light-wei...item19e95a2fff

-46" SAMSUNG
-ENERGY RC-50'S
-ENERGY RC-LCR
-ENERGY RC-10'S
-SVS PC12 PLUS
-PIONEER ELITE SC-25
-OPPO BDP 103D
http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/1459339/default/
tang7969 is online now  
post #5527 of 5548 Old 07-09-2014, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 5,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 241
fine

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is online now  
post #5528 of 5548 Old 07-09-2014, 08:45 PM
Senior Member
 
NYC Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
Any camera tripod will work.

Edit: Beat by seconds by a guy from NYC, I'm ruined!
You snooze, you lose!
NYC Guy is offline  
post #5529 of 5548 Old 07-09-2014, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
NYC Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tang7969 View Post
Thank you. I'm assuming then I'm good with this??http://www.ebay.com/itm/40-Light-wei...item19e95a2fff
I recommend that you buy one that you will also use with a camera and not this one time MCACC setup. If you have an inexpensive point and shoot model this $10 one is perfect. If you use a DSLR you might want to invest in a tripod that is a little more sturdy.
NYC Guy is offline  
post #5530 of 5548 Old 07-10-2014, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 5,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Gitzo is good but may be a little pricey for just the MCACC mic...
pacman9270 likes this.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is online now  
post #5531 of 5548 Old 07-10-2014, 09:22 PM
Newbie
 
devildog1063's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
For all, to hard reset the Pioneer 1522k when you have a flashing mcacc light press and hold the enter button on the receiver and the tune button at the same time.
devildog1063 is offline  
post #5532 of 5548 Old 07-16-2014, 12:26 AM
Newbie
 
mtlx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone,

I have recently bought a Pioneer SC-2023 amplifier. I have read and applied the information that I found here (in the first pages of this thread) regarding MCACC, which by the way is very helpful.
I have one question though:
MCACC has set almost all (6.1 system) the speaker volume levels from -5.5dB (front) to -11.5dB (center)...!!
As a result, I have to turn the main volume knob to almost +2dB and for some lower level recordings even to +6dB in order to hear reasonably loud (I hear mostly rock). Given the fact that the max volume level of the amp is +12dB, how safe (clipping, distortion) and/or reasonable is this ?
One last question, in order to counteract the volume decrease of the MCACC, is it reasonable to adjust the playing level (via "all channel" button) to say +6db (given the fact that the mean "loss" of volume due to MCACC is 6dB) ?
Any help will be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance
mtlx is offline  
post #5533 of 5548 Old 07-17-2014, 03:15 PM
Senior Member
 
jer181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone happen to know if you can download Advanced MCACC, and or MCACC Pro into current AVR's that only have the original MCACC?
jer181 is offline  
post #5534 of 5548 Old 07-17-2014, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia Vicinity
Posts: 4,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by jer181 View Post
Does anyone happen to know if you can download Advanced MCACC, and or MCACC Pro into current AVR's that only have the original MCACC?
Know for an ironclad fact? No. Know as a moral certainty. Sure. They want you to buy a new AVR.

Wide Awake

on the Edge

of the World

 

rdclark is offline  
post #5535 of 5548 Old 07-17-2014, 04:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 5,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtlx View Post
Hi everyone,

I have recently bought a Pioneer SC-2023 amplifier. I have read and applied the information that I found here (in the first pages of this thread) regarding MCACC, which by the way is very helpful.
I have one question though:
MCACC has set almost all (6.1 system) the speaker volume levels from -5.5dB (front) to -11.5dB (center)...!!
As a result, I have to turn the main volume knob to almost +2dB and for some lower level recordings even to +6dB in order to hear reasonably loud (I hear mostly rock). Given the fact that the max volume level of the amp is +12dB, how safe (clipping, distortion) and/or reasonable is this ?
One last question, in order to counteract the volume decrease of the MCACC, is it reasonable to adjust the playing level (via "all channel" button) to say +6db (given the fact that the mean "loss" of volume due to MCACC is 6dB) ?
Any help will be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance
Seems a bit low, are you pretty far away and/or have inefficient speakers?

From +2 dB to +12 dB is a factor of ten in power so you have headroom, but that seems pretty high to me. I would re-run MCACC, and if it insists on pulling everything down again I would just manually set the speaker trims so the highest is at perhaps +3 to +6 dB and scale the rest accordingly.

Is one speaker coming out set high? If it is the sub, you should be able to turn up its gain. You might also try a couple of different mic positions. I assume you have the mic at ear level, preferably on a tripod? I helped a friend once who could not get the rears right; turned out the mic was sitting on the seat of his (big) couch...

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is online now  
post #5536 of 5548 Old 07-17-2014, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 60
This may be useful to some of you, a new white paper on MCACC operation.

Cheers!

Pioneer MCACC Reference Guide Available for Download
KC-Technerd and mtlx like this.
mogrub is offline  
post #5537 of 5548 Old 07-17-2014, 11:36 PM
Newbie
 
mtlx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
Seems a bit low, are you pretty far away and/or have inefficient speakers?

From +2 dB to +12 dB is a factor of ten in power so you have headroom, but that seems pretty high to me. I would re-run MCACC, and if it insists on pulling everything down again I would just manually set the speaker trims so the highest is at perhaps +3 to +6 dB and scale the rest accordingly.

Is one speaker coming out set high? If it is the sub, you should be able to turn up its gain. You might also try a couple of different mic positions. I assume you have the mic at ear level, preferably on a tripod? I helped a friend once who could not get the rears right; turned out the mic was sitting on the seat of his (big) couch...
Thanks a lot for the reply !!
The speakers are quite efficient (around 92dB) and my listening position from the front ones is 3,5 meters.
I have put the mic on a tripod to my listening position at ear level. I will indeed try to re-run MCACC and if it pulls everything down again maybe I should set the channel level via the amplifier button at about +5 dB in order to counteract the MCACC settings you say ?
Also, the MCACC sets the volume down at all speakers, not just one pair...
mtlx is offline  
post #5538 of 5548 Old 07-18-2014, 06:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 5,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 241
MCACC should set the levels so reference level at the listening position is attained at 0 dB IIRC. That is awfully loud, at least to me. Sometimes the room (and/or stuff in it) can fool the compensation program (be it MCACC or any other). I have seen programs set the trims low for high-efficiency speakers, but in those cases the system was plenty loud enough.

I would re-run to verify the initial results, and if they are the same then move the mic a foot forward or back, and/or side-to-side, and see if there is a significant change. If not, and the sound is low and trims are low, I would pull up the individual trim levels equally (each channel by the same number of dB) in the AVR.

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is online now  
post #5539 of 5548 Old 07-19-2014, 02:47 AM
Newbie
 
mtlx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have run the MCACC several times and each time the speaker levels are pretty much the same.
So I followed your advise and raised the level on each speaker by 6dB manually.
Thanks again for your reply...
mtlx is offline  
post #5540 of 5548 Old 07-20-2014, 07:09 AM
Member
 
xhattan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hello guys. A simple question:

I don't have room to properly place my front wides, and I love the sound that the Wide Surround mode puts out on my SC-75. However I do have plenty space between the center and my front towers. Do you guys think that placing wide satellites between center and fronts instead of the recommended position (aside of fronts) will add to my system, or will it have a negative effect on sound?

Thanks!
xhattan is offline  
post #5541 of 5548 Old 07-20-2014, 08:41 PM
Senior Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Begs problems. Maybe consider front heights instead?
mogrub is offline  
post #5542 of 5548 Old 07-21-2014, 01:56 PM
Member
 
xhattan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post
Begs problems. Maybe consider front heights instead?
I already have front heights installed. Thanks.
xhattan is offline  
post #5543 of 5548 Old 07-22-2014, 05:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by xhattan View Post
Do you guys think that placing wide satellites between center and fronts instead of the recommended position (aside of fronts) will add to my system, or will it have a negative effect on sound?

Thanks!
you can try it but they don't belong there.

EVERY company & surround processing format places them outside the fronts. I expect it will degrade the phantom imaging between left & right since the purpose is to expand the front soundstage through phase cues & psychoacoustics. putting them inside the fronts would change the entire front soundstage, imaging & depth, basically degrading what you are supposed to hear in between the speakers.

it could make the front sound phasey or vague. or it could actually make your front soundstage sound narrower. think of wides as taking a bit of the normal L/R information and putting it in another pair of speakers. if you put them inside, then instead of hearing some L/R sounds from the front L/R's, you would now have them coming in between, just like normal phantom stereo imaging and end up narrowing the front stage. even if it had no negative effect at all, which is unlikely, what would you accomplish that the L/R's aren't already doing?

would you put your rear speakers in between the fronts? no difference.

they're called called wides for a reason
KC-Technerd likes this.

Steve

Last edited by ss9001; 07-22-2014 at 05:42 AM.
ss9001 is online now  
post #5544 of 5548 Old 07-22-2014, 08:44 AM
Member
 
xhattan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks man!

Guess I will keep my current 7.2 setup with heights and no surround backs. I miss the Wide Surround mode, but installing towers as fronts is really an upgrade in sound, even if what they replaced are the fantastic Kef 3005s used as main fronts and wides. I consider wides add much more to music than heights, and about the same in movies.
xhattan is offline  
post #5545 of 5548 Old 07-25-2014, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by musica0014 View Post
... I have no sound coming out of the speakers ... I suspect the speakers are correctly connected to the receiver because I could hear the sound coming out of them when conducting the MCACC sound tuning ... I am a rookie when it comes to this receiver and your help will be greatly appreciated.
Yours isn't really an MCACC question. Try the Official Pioneer Elite SC-71 Receiver Thread instead. It could be a number of things, but it will be an easy fix.

Go here: Official Pioneer Elite SC-71 Receiver Thread

Every once in a while, completely inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is offline  
post #5546 of 5548 Old 07-25-2014, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
jer181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdclark View Post
Know for an ironclad fact? No. Know as a moral certainty. Sure. They want you to buy a new AVR.
They should give you the option to upgrade even if you have to buy the file!! That would be great customer service...
jer181 is offline  
post #5547 of 5548 Old 07-25-2014, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia Vicinity
Posts: 4,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by jer181 View Post
They should give you the option to upgrade even if you have to buy the file!! That would be great customer service...
There is no way to know whether the new versions require hardware changes -- a different mic, for example, designed to measure low frequencies the old mics were designed to ignore, or different controller circuitry -- that is not present in existing equipment. Not everything can be accomplished with a software update.
ss9001 likes this.

Wide Awake

on the Edge

of the World

 

rdclark is offline  
post #5548 of 5548 Old 07-25-2014, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 244
^^
+1
some people think receivers are computers with CPU's. just download OS updates and all is well. they are not, never have been despite being computer-like. so the crowd thinking that all the company has to do is update some FW plus offer it for free are not being realistic or don't understand the business & techical practicalities.

the DSP chips in the SC-80 series are newer and have new code.

I went thru this thought process myself with the original Ice amp flagship, the $7K SC-09TX. but SC-09 owners also knew it would take wholesale circuit board & processor swaps to get some of the features that people who bought the next year's SC-07 for less than half the price got. that's the way it is.

when Denon offered the upgrade package for the $7500 AVP prepro & $5500 AVR5308 that included Audyssey Multi32XT, the hardware/software update kit was over $1000 and owners had to send it to an auth. service center.

I highly doubt people like jer181 are going to spend that kind of money for an upgrade even if Pioneer could make it available.

the new AVRs have 2 independent subs to calibrate, sub EQ, delays, distance, levels for both, so even if Pioneer could make it an update, it would have to be modified for older, current AVR's.

Steve

Last edited by ss9001; 07-25-2014 at 02:56 PM.
ss9001 is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off