"OFFICIAL" Pioneer MCACC thread - Page 207 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 83Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2016, 09:16 AM
Senior Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
I want a separate MCACC memory for Front Height so I can run it multiple times and see if one EQ run differs from another. If not, I know its consistent and i'll be happy.



This is what I am trying to figure out how to do. I am beginning to suspect that my receiver is not capable of storing MCACC EQs in separate memories because I do not see any screen within the AVR menu that shows me memory presets 1-6 or anything like that. All I have is Auto MCACC (which I understand what it is doing and how it works). I just want to know how, if it exists at all, I access the menu where the memory locations are visible.
I understand now, I was concerned when I went from 5.1 to 7.1 that I would lose that wonderful sound.

Nope mcacc shines for me. VERY consistant under similar conditions.

There should be several choices in the gui for mcacc data management.
LNEWoLF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-15-2016, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Wow, now I really understand.

Just L@@ked thru the manual fir you AVR.

I didn't see anything about mcacc memory presets either?.

I also don't understand why the manual tells you to run mcacc twice.

Once with surround backs, then again with heights. Changing the speaker system selection setting each time.

When I 1st read your intial post I thought you might be confused.

But I now am VERY CONFUSED.

I sure someone will be along shortly to esplain all this.
citsur86 likes this.
LNEWoLF is offline  
Old 07-15-2016, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by LNEWoLF View Post
Wow, now I really understand.



Just L@@ked thru the manual fir you AVR.



I didn't see anything about mcacc memory presets either?.



I also don't understand why the manual tells you to run mcacc twice.



Once with surround backs, then again with heights. Changing the speaker system selection setting each time.



When I 1st read your intial post I thought you might be confused.



But I now am VERY CONFUSED.



I sure someone will be along shortly to esplain all this.


Haha yeah I'm also very confused lol

My Current "Living Room" Home Theater!
==============================
Pioneer Elite VSX-44 AVR, MiniDSP 2x4 HD DAP,
Rythmik FV15HP SW x1, B&W 684 S1 Mains x2,
B&W 685 S1 Surrounds x2, B&W CM Center S2 x1,
Polk T15s Front Heights & Rear Surrounds x4
citsur86 is online now  
Old 07-15-2016, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
Haha yeah I'm also very confused lol
I think there is a concern between the online manual and the pdf file manual.

Unfortunitly, i have 3% battery left.

On the online version. Ifound were it states to switch between speaker a/b to choose between SB/FH during playback?. Huh

Also states else where that it will automagically switch between SB/FH depending on the input source signal?. Huh, ok that would be kool.

There are things stated one way. Then totally opposite on other pages.



When you select the speaker system. Normal SB/FH

When You perform the auto mcacc. Does it intially identify with test tones all your speakers. Including front height and surround back.

When playing a input source signal of 7.1 and you choose a dsp mode of dolby plIIz. Do you hear sounds coming from your FH speakers.

If you choose a dsp mode of direct auto same input signal source. Do you now hear sound from the rear surrounds.

Good luck, 1 percent left hope post makes it thru.
LNEWoLF is offline  
Old 07-15-2016, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by LNEWoLF View Post
I think there is a concern between the online manual and the pdf file manual.



Unfortunitly, i have 3% battery left.



On the online version. Ifound were it states to switch between speaker a/b to choose between SB/FH during playback?. Huh



Also states else where that it will automagically switch between SB/FH depending on the input source signal?. Huh, ok that would be kool.



There are things stated one way. Then totally opposite on other pages.







When you select the speaker system. Normal SB/FH



When You perform the auto mcacc. Does it intially identify with test tones all your speakers. Including front height and surround back.



When playing a input source signal of 7.1 and you choose a dsp mode of dolby plIIz. Do you hear sounds coming from your FH speakers.



If you choose a dsp mode of direct auto same input signal source. Do you now hear sound from the rear surrounds.



Good luck, 1 percent left hope post makes it thru.

Thx for the reply. I just tested this all out. So if I set speaker system to heights, it will play the front height speakers in addition to the normal 5.1 during MCACC. Then if I change speaker system to surround backs and redo the MCACC, It will play test tones for the normal 5.1 plus the surround backs and calibrate off of that. What's super weird to me is that the manual says if you have both hooked up you can just run MCACC both ways one after the other so there's no need to run MCACC when changing the speaker system between heights and Surrounds. Ok cool. Except it doesn't work! After running it 2 times in a row for both speaker systems, I go and change the speaker system from surround backs to heights and all the speaker settings are still set to the MCACC calibration for the Surround back speakers. The MCACC results when I have surround back speaker system are WAY different than when I have front heights due to the front heights being much bigger/better speakers than the surround backs. But when I switch to heights from surround back speaker system after have just ran it for both, it doesn't switch speaker EQ back to how it was when I ran with heights enabled. It just keeps the surround back settings. I'm so lost.

My Current "Living Room" Home Theater!
==============================
Pioneer Elite VSX-44 AVR, MiniDSP 2x4 HD DAP,
Rythmik FV15HP SW x1, B&W 684 S1 Mains x2,
B&W 685 S1 Surrounds x2, B&W CM Center S2 x1,
Polk T15s Front Heights & Rear Surrounds x4
citsur86 is online now  
Old 07-16-2016, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,271
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 852 Post(s)
Liked: 851
I'm confused a little....
I just picked up a new VSX-1131 which is the 2016 model if the 1130 which has MCACC Pro. My 1131 does not. Even the 3 new Elite models for 2016 doesn't have MCACC Pro. Anyone have any insight on this? You can see the specs on Pioneers site and all the new 2016 models are exactly the same.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings.
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-2.0.13.13), Pioneer Kuro 5020
Pioneer VSX-1131
XBox One
TiVo Roamio OTA, TiVo Mini, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna
shoman94 is offline  
Old 07-16-2016, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 990 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I'm confused a little....
I just picked up a new VSX-1131 which is the 2016 model if the 1130 which has MCACC Pro. My 1131 does not. Even the 3 new Elite models for 2016 doesn't have MCACC Pro. Anyone have any insight on this? You can see the specs on Pioneers site and all the new 2016 models are exactly the same.
I believe only the SC model line have PRO.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
asere is offline  
Old 07-16-2016, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,271
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 852 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
I believe only the SC model line have PRO.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
The new SC-LX05 shows the same spec as mine.
Like I said though, even last year's 1130 model had pro.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings.
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-2.0.13.13), Pioneer Kuro 5020
Pioneer VSX-1131
XBox One
TiVo Roamio OTA, TiVo Mini, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna
shoman94 is offline  
Old 07-16-2016, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 990 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
The new SC-LX05 shows the same spec as mine.
Like I said though, even last year's 1130 model had pro.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
Moving forward Pioneer possibly is only going to incorporate pro on the SC line this time.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
asere is offline  
Old 07-16-2016, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,271
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 852 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
Moving forward Pioneer possibly is only going to incorporate pro on the SC line this time.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
You just quoted where I stated the "SC" model SC-LX05 shows that it only has the standard MCACC.

I would think the top Pionner non-elite model would have at least Advanced MCACC.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings.
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-2.0.13.13), Pioneer Kuro 5020
Pioneer VSX-1131
XBox One
TiVo Roamio OTA, TiVo Mini, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna
shoman94 is offline  
Old 07-16-2016, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,200
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 990 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
You just quoted where I stated the "SC" model SC-LX05 shows that it only has the standard MCACC.

I would think the top Pionner non-elite model would have at least Advanced MCACC.
I meant that possibly this time around only the high end SC elite have pro. Call Pioneer

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
asere is offline  
Old 07-16-2016, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,271
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 852 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
I meant that possibly this time around only the high end SC elite have pro. Call Pioneer

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
That's too bad that they are pulling features. I'll have to contact them. Is there any other way to manually put out pink noise and read it with a PC to help me make the adjustments instead of by ear?

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings.
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-2.0.13.13), Pioneer Kuro 5020
Pioneer VSX-1131
XBox One
TiVo Roamio OTA, TiVo Mini, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna
shoman94 is offline  
Old 07-16-2016, 05:21 PM
Newbie
 
iluvemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
PIONEER MCACC microphone

Does anyone know where I can get a replacement MCACC microphone. I have a VSX-01THX.
iluvemo is offline  
Old 07-18-2016, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,271
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 852 Post(s)
Liked: 851
I find this menu
Along with the manual saying it does auto eq.... It makes a huge difference when i toggle it. Looks like they are just changing it up. All the menus are different too.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings.
Vizio P75-C1 (fw-2.0.13.13), Pioneer Kuro 5020
Pioneer VSX-1131
XBox One
TiVo Roamio OTA, TiVo Mini, Antennas Direct DB4e w/Dipole OTA antenna
shoman94 is offline  
Old 07-18-2016, 12:49 PM
Senior Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by iluvemo View Post
Does anyone know where I can get a replacement MCACC microphone. I have a VSX-01THX.
Pioneer ---------> parts
LNEWoLF is offline  
Old 07-18-2016, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Is there any guide for troubleshooting MCACC errors during testing? I just upgraded to a brand new set of EMP Tek R5Bi's connected to my Pioneer VSX-521-K, and I cannot get MCACC to properly register with these new speakers. I just get this "ERR FCH" (assuming: Error Front Channel, but specific details sure would be helpful) to display on the front of the AVR.

I had gotten MCACC to work, previously, with this same AVR in this same exact room, using a real entry-level set of Polk RM-6750's (HTIB). MCACC had decided to set the Sub to -14 for those speakers.

My next upgrade is to get a new Rythmik FV15HP sub to go with those EMP Tek speakers, but before I spend any more money I sure would like to nail down exactly why I can't get a proper room calibration to work anymore...


I'm waiting for when the HVAC isn't running (background noise) to start the test, I have the mic elevated to *almost* ear/listening level... I have the speakers toed in a little. And I've used a 15' extension cable to get from the AVR all the way to primary seat (through a wall), but I also tried to do it WITHOUT the extension cable, and toed the speakers in REAL hard to point at the mic, just to try to get the test to work (even if it's for the wrong listening area... just to show a successful test and result).

My Fronts are about 11 feet or so apart... the speakers are 18 inches from the back wall. The main listening area is a couch 11-12' from the front wall, with a wall directly behind the couch. The room is quite long, left-to-right, about 44 feet wide... but I was able to get MCACC to properly read and calibrate with my older/smaller/cheaper speakers in this exact room, with this exact AVR...

Any help would be appreciated.
psuKinger is online now  
Old 07-18-2016, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Is there any guide for troubleshooting MCACC errors during testing? I just upgraded to a brand new set of EMP Tek R5Bi's connected to my Pioneer VSX-521-K, and I cannot get MCACC to properly register with these new speakers. I just get this "ERR FCH" (assuming: Error Front Channel, but specific details sure would be helpful) to display on the front of the AVR.



I had gotten MCACC to work, previously, with this same AVR in this same exact room, using a real entry-level set of Polk RM-6750's (HTIB). MCACC had decided to set the Sub to -14 for those speakers.



My next upgrade is to get a new Rythmik FV15HP sub to go with those EMP Tek speakers, but before I spend any more money I sure would like to nail down exactly why I can't get a proper room calibration to work anymore...





I'm waiting for when the HVAC isn't running (background noise) to start the test, I have the mic elevated to *almost* ear/listening level... I have the speakers toed in a little. And I've used a 15' extension cable to get from the AVR all the way to primary seat (through a wall), but I also tried to do it WITHOUT the extension cable, and toed the speakers in REAL hard to point at the mic, just to try to get the test to work (even if it's for the wrong listening area... just to show a successful test and result).



My Fronts are about 11 feet or so apart... the speakers are 18 inches from the back wall. The main listening area is a couch 11-12' from the front wall, with a wall directly behind the couch. The room is quite long, left-to-right, about 44 feet wide... but I was able to get MCACC to properly read and calibrate with my older/smaller/cheaper speakers in this exact room, with this exact AVR...



Any help would be appreciated.


Have you tried turning off tv and lights while running it. They can emit noises we can't hear but the mic can.

My Current "Living Room" Home Theater!
==============================
Pioneer Elite VSX-44 AVR, MiniDSP 2x4 HD DAP,
Rythmik FV15HP SW x1, B&W 684 S1 Mains x2,
B&W 685 S1 Surrounds x2, B&W CM Center S2 x1,
Polk T15s Front Heights & Rear Surrounds x4
citsur86 is online now  
Old 07-18-2016, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
Have you tried turning off tv and lights while running it. They can emit noises we can't hear but the mic can.
Good comment.

The TV hasn't been on when I've been running this test... but I can't say for certain regarding the lights. I will be sure to confirm that when I retry!

Thanks for the idea.
psuKinger is online now  
Old 07-18-2016, 02:28 PM
Senior Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Is there any guide for troubleshooting MCACC errors during testing? I just upgraded to a brand new set of EMP Tek R5Bi's connected to my Pioneer VSX-521-K, and I cannot get MCACC to properly register with these new speakers. I just get this "ERR FCH" (assuming: Error Front Channel, but specific details sure would be helpful) to display on the front of the AVR.

I had gotten MCACC to work, previously, with this same AVR in this same exact room, using a real entry-level set of Polk RM-6750's (HTIB). MCACC had decided to set the Sub to -14 for those speakers.

My next upgrade is to get a new Rythmik FV15HP sub to go with those EMP Tek speakers, but before I spend any more money I sure would like to nail down exactly why I can't get a proper room calibration to work anymore...


Any help would be appreciated.

L@@k in the manual, most error codes are listed.

Verify your speaker cable connections for your front height speakers. Both at the AVR and the speaker.

Make sure you have a good tight connection and that none of the speaker wire strands are in contact with anything other than the terminal. If too long trim them. Best to use bananna plugs with heat shrink over them.

Rerun mcacc

Best to run mcacc with tv on. As it will display additional information.

Last edited by LNEWoLF; 07-18-2016 at 02:31 PM.
LNEWoLF is offline  
Old Today, 06:22 AM
Newbie
 
sideskroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys, anyone with a VSX-823 K receiver?
I have 2 really simple question regarding MCACC on this model (as the tips in the OP do not apply for my receiver).

- EQ on or off?

And

- Should I leave the crossover at 100Hz even though my weakest speaker can handle down to 55Hz (supposedly. but even if it can't, I'm sure it handles more than 100Hz?) no matter what I do, MCACC ALWAYS sets the crossover to 100Hz. Even with different speakers. Is that the perma-default for MCACC or something?
Reason I ask in conjunction with my EQ inquiry is because I would guess that EQ takes into account the crossover setting when equalizing? So changing it AFTER the fact (and not having a way to run MCACC custom/keeping SP settings) might mess with the EQ?
I have the Andrew Jones SP-PK52FS speaker system, if that makes any difference.
Thanks!

And I really hope someone can shed a light on these 2 issues that have been bugging me since I bought the receiver a couple of years ago...
sideskroll is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off