Dual simultaneous independent HDMI output receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 01-25-2009, 08:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jwlake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

I've been reading a ton on the internet and I can't seem to figure out exactly which receiver will do what I want to do:

Inputs:
2 HR21 DTV DVRs
1 XBox 360
1 HTPC

Outputs:
1 50" Panasonic Plasma
1 24" LCD Panel

I'd like to have each display capable of showing any of the sources at any time. I.e. Both with HTPC, 1 with xbox and 1 with HR-20, etc etc.

From what I read:
Onkyo: None
Denon 4308: Maybe??
Marantz SR6003: Maybe??

Can anyone clear up the Maybe's for me? I'd prefer to not have to put a monoprice HDMI switch in front of the thing, I've had bad luck with the 4x2 switches in the past and would rather have a receiver do it all in one package.

Jim
jwlake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 04-14-2009, 06:35 PM
Senior Member
 
ondaedg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Are you powering speakers or just using the speakers built in the TVs?
ondaedg is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 04-14-2009, 07:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
MichaelJHuman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 18,958
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I did not think any receiver had independent HDMI outputs. I would be curious to know if there are any.

"But this one goes up to 11"
MichaelJHuman is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 08-10-2010, 02:33 PM
Newbie
 
Taterific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking to do the same thing with a 50" SXRD and a to be named 46" LCD TV with Inputs of 2x Xbox 360 HDMI, 1 PS3 HDMI, 1 DVR HDMI, 1 PC HDMI, and a few composite inputs. I want to be able to have the DVR on one TV while a 360 is on the other, and then tomorrow have the 360 on the first tv and the PS3 on the other, etc. I though the Denon 5308 would work but I've talked with crutchfield and they've said it wouldn't. Does anyone have any suggestions for me?
Taterific is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 08-10-2010, 03:47 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,464
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1974 Post(s)
Liked: 1747
The Denon 4308 won't do it either. You would need an AVR that can send HDMI to Zone 2 which AFAIK there are none currently on the market.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 08-10-2010, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Why not get an hdmi signal splitter and buy whatever AVR you want? I use one although it is connected before my prepro and it's powered to boost the signal for a 45' cable run. Works great and I can have both tvs on at the same time with no video/audio degradation.

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
Knucklehead90 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 08-10-2010, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mhdiab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think there is any out there.

I know some of the older Marantz couldn't even output the SAME source through HDMI 1 and 2 at the same time.

I use the SC-07 and it will output the same source over HDMI 1 and 2 alternatively you can output a zone 2 (different source) over component, but NOT HDMI.

As good as I have found.

Now there is still a limitation that you should know about if you accept the same source. At least with the Pioneer SC-07 (haven't checked on the newer models) If I use HDMI 1 for the HT and then the internal amplifiers then I cannot get sound through the TV on HDMI 2 alternatively sound through the hdmi to the tv then you cannot use the amps of the receiver. Pioneer said this was a HDMI limitation - I don't know if this is true or not....

I could use zone 2 for audio (analog only)

So to summarize -- buy two cheap HDMI receivers / use a splitter, but then you will have to run multiple HDMI's to each display or live with component for one display
mhdiab is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 08-10-2010, 04:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mhdiab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knucklehead90 View Post

Why not get an hdmi signal splitter and buy whatever AVR you want? I use one although it is connected before my prepro and it's powered to boost the signal for a 45' cable run. Works great and I can have both tvs on at the same time with no video/audio degradation.

The issue is independent sources
mhdiab is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 08-10-2010, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RoboRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are no receivers or processors (AFAIK) with built-in HDMI matrix switches.
RoboRay is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 08-10-2010, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Knucklehead90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: State of Confusion - 98823
Posts: 7,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhdiab View Post

The issue is independent sources

Actually it's my reading comprehension.

But thanks for the correction.

When all else fails - RTFM!

♫♫♫ Two Channel Rules! ♫♫♫

GO SEAHAWKS!!!
Knucklehead90 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 08-10-2010, 06:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
This seems like such a niche need that I wouldn't expect anyone to have made something like this yet, if ever.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 08-10-2010, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mhdiab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulpa View Post

This seems like such a niche need that I wouldn't expect anyone to have made something like this yet, if ever.

Well a long post didn't post properly so a small post will replace it

Lots of people with a multi-room setup would like this.

I kind of trick the system.

Room 1 ("Gym") -- TV for my treadmill. I am only going to use the cable box there so I split the cable signal and run one run directly to that TV and the second run goes to the receiver.

Room 2 (HT) -- gets the HDMI 1 from the receiver and can play any source

Room 3 -- (bar / pool table) gets component from the box to the receiver -- I could hook up the PS3 / dvd player to that as well but the issue with PS3 is I would need to change settings every time but I have the option there

So I can get independet sources on two displays in HD either using component for one TV or the HT needs to be used for movies / game and then the other TV's can use the cable box
mhdiab is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 08-10-2010, 06:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
I get that there are uses for it, but I think most just opt for separate systems. Any receiver that features this will likely be flagship priced and cost more than some whole setups.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 08-11-2010, 07:13 AM
Newbie
 
Taterific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info everyone.
Taterific is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off