Parasound Owners Thread - Page 120 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3571 of 3596 Old 07-19-2014, 08:34 AM
Senior Member
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor Morbius View Post
I broke down and ordered a Parasound Zdac. It is due to be delivered this afternoon. I'll play around with it for a couple of days and report back.
I noticed your new acquisition and was wondering how it worked out for you?
audio4life is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3572 of 3596 Old 07-19-2014, 10:08 PM
Member
 
Doctor Morbius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio4life View Post
I noticed your new acquisition and was wondering how it worked out for you?
Thanks. Quite well, in fact. IMO, it's every bit as good as my ubered Bifrost PLUS it has XLR outs, which I plan to utilize at some point.

1: Sony DVP-S7000 | Denon DVD-2900 | Laptop > Emotiva XDA-2 > Emotiva Control Freak > Crown XLS2000 > Focal 826V | Def Tech BP2000
2: Computer > Parasound Zdac > Emotiva Control Freak > Crown XLS1500 > Focal 706V | Def Tech SM450 | 2 Velodyne Subs
Doctor Morbius is offline  
post #3573 of 3596 Old 07-20-2014, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Wow, that's pretty good and I'd be interested in the Zdac but to my surprise I've recently moved in an analogue direction with a new turntable. With the P7 and A21 I'm really enjoying records!
audio4life is offline  
post #3574 of 3596 Old 07-23-2014, 10:10 AM
Member
 
ohrbrcko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
For all practical purposes, I have gone the separate route having just finished installing the Parasound A-21 2 Channel Amp with a Yamaha RX-V1030 AVR used as the pre-amp. The A-21 is driving my fronts while the RX-V1030 works all the other speakers. This is the second power amp I have had the pleasure of listening to. It has been over 35 years since I last had one. Back then it was the Yamaha M-65. What a great Amp it was. Does anyone remeber that? The Parasound sounds amazing and is a joy to listen to. It is a great performer all the way around. There is a real sense of "life" and energy to what I am listening to. To be sure, I am not motivated to perform all sorts of AB BA etc etc testing so I can't necessarily say with complete confidence that it is light years better than the Yamaha Rx-V1030. But I don't care. It is just a lot of fun to get back to audio fundamentals if I can use that expression. I opted for Parasound based upon their reputation, the quality and performance of their products. I was leaning toward Emotiva as you can't beat their prices but other than that, they just didn't wow me and Classe was out of my price range.

So is it worth going to separates? For me a big yes.
WAFWarrior likes this.
ohrbrcko is offline  
post #3575 of 3596 Old 07-25-2014, 02:40 AM
Senior Member
 
EZ-Rhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I would really appreciate some help with the math on how to set the pots on my 5250 v.2 amp. The specs on the amp are as follows:

1-V in = 28.28-V out.
1.6-V input is required to reach full rated output of 250-W.
The pots have a range of -10-dB to +10-dB (500-mV to 5-V).

My Pre-Pro has RCA & XLR outputs. The RCA outputs 1.2-V and the XLR outputs 2.4-V.

Since the 5250 v.2 only has RCA inputs I have the option of connecting from the Pre-Pro outputs and turning up the pots or Connecting from the XLR outputs with an adaptor and turning down the pots.

The question is, which would be the better option and how much would I have to increase (with RCA outs) or decrease (with the XLR outs) the pots to get the full 250-W/Channel output?
EZ-Rhino is online now  
post #3576 of 3596 Old 07-25-2014, 01:00 PM
Member
 
WAFWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Talking John Curl and Richard Schram

This is a teaser video for a talk John Curl and Richard Schram did in San Jose, CA last week. They will post the full talk in a few days.



feistyacorn likes this.

Chris
Parasound Products Inc.
2250 Mckinnon Ave.
San Francisco CA 94124
415-397-7100
WAFWarrior is offline  
post #3577 of 3596 Old 07-25-2014, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I seem to be having issues, it stops at 11 seconds and there's no audio. I'm in a bad area right now though…anybody else?
audio4life is offline  
post #3578 of 3596 Old 07-25-2014, 06:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Unhappy

I can't wait to hear my Halos perform. If these clowns ever get here with my cabinet so I can hook it all up! Smh
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #3579 of 3596 Old 07-25-2014, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
I can't wait to hear my Halos perform. If these clowns ever get here with my cabinet so I can hook it all up! Smh
Got a board and two cinder blocks .

Whenever I moved, the stereo was the first thing I setup.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #3580 of 3596 Old 07-26-2014, 04:13 AM
Member
 
Grit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I need some help with Halo A51, dimensions and heat.

I need to know the distance from the front faceplate of an A51 to the back of the rear foot. My cabinet is 19.25" with a front door, and I want to know if the back feet would hang off the back.

Also, the cabinet itself is a concern. There is a fan blowing air in and the back is open. But that's it. I've read Parasound runs hot, and more so into 4 ohm speakers. Anyone with similar setups?

Thanks in advance.

Garrett

Last edited by Grit; 07-26-2014 at 08:34 AM.
Grit is online now  
post #3581 of 3596 Old 07-26-2014, 02:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Help!!

I just finished hook up my Yamaha cx-a5000 to a parasound halo a21 and a31 and I have no sound!! Everything seems to be connected right. What am I missing??
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #3582 of 3596 Old 07-26-2014, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
I just finished hook up my Yamaha cx-a5000 to a parasound halo a21 and a31 and I have no sound!! Everything seems to be connected right. What am I missing??
Check that the input switch on the back of the A21 and A31 is set to Balanced if you are using XLR input or Unbalanced if you are using RCA input.

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
post #3583 of 3596 Old 07-26-2014, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricoclaudio View Post
Check that the input switch on the back of the A21 and A31 is set to Balanced if you are using XLR input or Unbalanced if you are using RCA input.
I checked that and the a31 was switched to unbalanced. flip the switch and now I have center and rears and no left and right.
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #3584 of 3596 Old 07-26-2014, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
I checked that and the a31 was switched to unbalanced. flip the switch and now I have center and rears and no left and right.
The A21 has one input switch for both channels but the A31 has an input switch for each channel. Make sure that the three input switches on the A31 are set to balanced if you are using XLR inputs.

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
post #3585 of 3596 Old 07-26-2014, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jima4a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
I checked that and the a31 was switched to unbalanced. flip the switch and now I have center and rears and no left and right.
Are you not using the A21 for L&R. It would be the recommended choice if you have not. Slightly better than the A31.
jima4a is online now  
post #3586 of 3596 Old 07-26-2014, 05:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 3
The a31 is working fine. There is no sound coming from the a21. I switched everything around and the front soundstage is working now on the a31 and the rears are dead. So it has to be the a21 thats not working!! Any ideas??
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #3587 of 3596 Old 07-26-2014, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jima4a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
The a31 is working fine. There is no sound coming from the a21. I switched everything around and the front soundstage is working now on the a31 and the rears are dead. So it has to be the a21 thats not working!! Any ideas??
Does the A21 have the individual blue channel lights like the A31 and I assume A51? It is quite a light show. Would assume if the fuse was bad everything would be dead.
Edit: I went to the Parasound site and see the A21 does have two blue channel lights. Do they light up?

Last edited by jima4a; 07-26-2014 at 09:29 PM.
jima4a is online now  
post #3588 of 3596 Old 07-26-2014, 10:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jima4a View Post
Does the A21 have the individual blue channel lights like the A31 and I assume A51? It is quite a light show. Would assume if the fuse was bad everything would be dead.
Edit: I went to the Parasound site and see the A21 does have two blue channel lights. Do they light up?
Yep all the lights are on and blue!! Im sure I'm missing something small and obvious. At least I hope I am.
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #3589 of 3596 Old 07-27-2014, 03:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jima4a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
Yep all the lights are on and blue!! Im sure I'm missing something small and obvious. At least I hope I am.
Dang, it is powered on (channel lights, silly red light stays on) and you have verified the RCA / XLR switch so I am at a loss. I think there should be a bias adjustment but the most it could be is 6 dB down, not off. Unless someone else has ideas sounds like a faulty unit. Sorry.
jima4a is online now  
post #3590 of 3596 Old 07-27-2014, 03:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jima4a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 63
WAFWarrior, future requests:
desired option would be the ability to turn off some of the lights, especially the red one on the A series. My Shearborn amp allowed me to kill the five blue channel lights and only had a blue circle around the power button on when it was triggered on.
And as before a JC5, multichannel pre that would fall in Class A of Stereophile.
jima4a is online now  
post #3591 of 3596 Old 07-27-2014, 06:05 AM
Member
 
ohrbrcko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
What about the 12v toggle? Check that as it may be set to auto or manual depending on if you have hooked up a cable to your pre-amp/receiver.
ohrbrcko is offline  
post #3592 of 3596 Old 07-27-2014, 09:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Yeah checked all of that and switched the cables. Still nothing! I am just waiting for my dealer to open up so I can call him and ask if he has one on display for me to check and make sure its the amp. If so he will just swap this out and order me a new one.
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #3593 of 3596 Old 07-27-2014, 10:46 AM
Member
 
bronxkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was thinking of getting a 2 channel amp to power the front 4ohm tower speakers, and let the receiver power the center and surrounds. Seems like the halo a23 is a popular choice but I found a refurb 2125 v2 from safeandsoundhq.com. Any experience with these guys? I can't seem to find this amp anywhere else on the internet to see if I'm getting a good price.
bronxkid is offline  
post #3594 of 3596 Old 07-27-2014, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
Yeah checked all of that and switched the cables. Still nothing! I am just waiting for my dealer to open up so I can call him and ask if he has one on display for me to check and make sure its the amp. If so he will just swap this out and order me a new one.
Go back and recheck everything , be sure you have it connected to the right out puts on the Yamaha (R&L) and if you need to set it to rca or xlr in the pre, also don't use the triggers till you get sound . Its way to easy during initial setup to connect the wrong in's & outs. Are you using rca on the A31 and XLR on the A21?
audiofan1 is offline  
post #3595 of 3596 Old 07-27-2014, 11:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I figured it out! It was the gain controls on the A21. There were set to low or I guess off. I turned them up and everything is working great now. Thanks for helping guys
audiofan1 likes this.
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #3596 of 3596 Old Yesterday, 08:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
retro124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Hello guys, that do you think to have model 2125 ( not V.2) for klipsch RF-82II's. Now I'm using DenonX4000 for all 5 speakers I have. Looking for some extra amp to be on the end 9.2 set up. How is this amp sounds for movies?

Denon X4000
Klipsch RF-82II's , RC-62II , RS-52II's
SVS 2x PC12-Pluses
PS3,Mac mini
Sony KDF-60XS955
retro124 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Parasound , Parasound Products Inc , Parasound Classic 2100 Stereo Pre Amp

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off