Parasound Owners Thread - Page 124 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 69Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 3818 Old 10-23-2014, 10:04 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,697
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by tractng View Post
Thanks for the response. Hopefully another member with the P5 will response.
Have you tried contacting your dealer and/or Parasound for assistance?
gsr is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 3818 Old 10-23-2014, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tractng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
Have you tried contacting your dealer and/or Parasound for assistance?
Not yet. I just ran the setup using HT for the first time late last night. Figure I post here first.

Got the answer straight from Parasound. P5 HT bypass works (turned off) when using unbalanced connection.

Now I am trying to find out how I can integrated the devices to turn on/off with P5/A21/AVR. I can imagine my wife forgetting to turn some stuff off. So far the audio sensing to turn device on doesn't work too well and based on readings here.

Last edited by tractng; 10-23-2014 at 12:15 PM.
tractng is online now  
post #3693 of 3818 Old 10-26-2014, 01:11 PM
Member
 
jprod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had a UsP-1 and and xpa-5 from emotiva I was using and when I hooked up the parasound p5 to the emotiva - what a difference ! Then I hooked up the a21 and the diffence was minor. So I agree, the preamp is more important.
Btw, I have precious little space in the back of the cabinet where my a21 sits. It's attached via xlr. Any chance of bending a connection in the back of the a21 or is it sturdy?

Last edited by jprod; 10-26-2014 at 01:18 PM.
jprod is offline  
post #3694 of 3818 Old 10-26-2014, 02:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by jprod View Post
I had a UsP-1 and and xpa-5 from emotiva I was using and when I hooked up the parasound p5 to the emotiva - what a difference ! Then I hooked up the a21 and the diffence was minor. So I agree, the preamp is more important.
Btw, I have precious little space in the back of the cabinet where my a21 sits. It's attached via xlr. Any chance of bending a connection in the back of the a21 or is it sturdy?
Out of curiousity, did you try hooking up the A21 to the USP-1? I've heard that the USP-1 can be on the bright side, what are your impressions?
audio4life is offline  
post #3695 of 3818 Old 10-26-2014, 06:10 PM
Member
 
jprod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No I did not. I sold the usp before I received the a21
jprod is offline  
post #3696 of 3818 Old 10-28-2014, 04:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i am the owner of a parasound 2205a . i got it from my dad i dont need it its way to heavy im selling it for econamy reasons someone pm me and tell me whats up
deadbob49 is offline  
post #3697 of 3818 Old 10-28-2014, 04:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
my parasound

i am the owner of a parasound 2205a . i got it from my dad i dont need it its way to heavy im selling it for econamy reasons someone pm me and tell me whats up
deadbob49 is offline  
post #3698 of 3818 Old 10-28-2014, 04:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadbob49 View Post
i am the owner of a parasound 2205a . i got it from my dad i dont need it its way to heavy im selling it for econamy reasons someone pm me and tell me whats up
no its not stolen
deadbob49 is offline  
post #3699 of 3818 Old 11-01-2014, 08:13 AM
Member
 
jprod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Been using my new a21 hooked up to the p5 with my swan diva4.1s and my marantz tt15s2 turntable. So far, I dont see much difference between the a21 and the emotiva xpa3 it replaced. A little underwhelmed.
jprod is offline  
post #3700 of 3818 Old 11-01-2014, 09:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Having also owned the XPA-3, I can assure you there is a difference! With some tracks(brighter or more forward sounding) the XPA-3 produced high frequency distortion with volumes of 82db peaks. The bass was also less defined and so was the imaging. But my speakers are on the higher end of things too, Paradgim Signature S6. I'm not sure what the characteristics of your speakers, with silk dome tweeters perhaps they are more forgiving with high frequency sibilance. But I assure you, the A21 is in another league.
audio4life is offline  
post #3701 of 3818 Old 11-01-2014, 10:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Not even close

I went from an xpa5 to a a21 and a31. And when I say night and day that might be an understatement. Others that have heard my system with both have said its not comparison. I also have paradigm signature speakers. So maybe it has something to do with your speakers. You could always sell the A21 and go back to the emo amp.
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #3702 of 3818 Old 11-01-2014, 12:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by jprod View Post
Been using my new a21 hooked up to the p5 with my swan diva4.1s and my marantz tt15s2 turntable. So far, I dont see much difference between the a21 and the emotiva xpa3 it replaced. A little underwhelmed.
Did you buy yours new in box or used?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, VideoForge HDMI II, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #3703 of 3818 Old 11-01-2014, 12:40 PM
Member
 
jprod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
New. I will fiddle around with speaker placement. Also I have the a21 going into an old Panamax 4300. Damn cord won't reach directly into a wall outlet. Would this adversely affect it in any way?
Btw am listening to the Stevie Ray vaughan lp box set ( the 45 rpm version). Sounds great but that's a testament to the remastering work. One of the best if not the the best sounding vinyl in my collection.
jprod is offline  
post #3704 of 3818 Old 11-01-2014, 01:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 161
When I experimented with surge protection on the A21, it did affect the sound in my case. I'd try it both ways, just make sure you use an extension cord that is at least 14 gauge, shorter is better.
audio4life is offline  
post #3705 of 3818 Old 11-01-2014, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,905
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by jprod View Post
New. I will fiddle around with speaker placement. Also I have the a21 going into an old Panamax 4300. Damn cord won't reach directly into a wall outlet. Would this adversely affect it in any way?
Btw am listening to the Stevie Ray vaughan lp box set ( the 45 rpm version). Sounds great but that's a testament to the remastering work. One of the best if not the the best sounding vinyl in my collection.

I had a Panamax M5400PM and I found it detrimental to every amp I plugged into the high-current output. That includes a Sunfire 7400, Outlaw M2200, Outlaw 7500, ATI3005, and Parasound A51.

I would definitely try the A21 direct to the wall.

- Rich
Dave Vaughn likes this.

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A21 & A31 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #3706 of 3818 Old 11-01-2014, 04:45 PM
Member
 
jprod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the responses. Speaking of emotiva, am I better off buying one of their power strips that can accommodate amps or get a 14 gauge extension ?
jprod is offline  
post #3707 of 3818 Old 11-02-2014, 05:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 215 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by jprod View Post
New. I will fiddle around with speaker placement. Also I have the a21 going into an old Panamax 4300. Damn cord won't reach directly into a wall outlet. Would this adversely affect it in any way?
Btw am listening to the Stevie Ray vaughan lp box set ( the 45 rpm version). Sounds great but that's a testament to the remastering work. One of the best if not the the best sounding vinyl in my collection.
I've head that it takes something like 300 hrs to burn in a new A21.

Have other A21 owners found that the sound improved over time as the amp burned in????

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, VideoForge HDMI II, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #3708 of 3818 Old 11-02-2014, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 5,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by jprod View Post
Thanks for the responses. Speaking of emotiva, am I better off buying one of their power strips that can accommodate amps or get a 14 gauge extension ?
Just use an extention for the A21. Never plug it into a power conditioner.
I use a surge protector for my other gear(gives me enough outlets), but I always plug my HCA2205A directly into the wall outlet.

imo, using a power conditioner is a bit like using Dolby Volume...just totally screws up the sound.
4DHD is offline  
post #3709 of 3818 Old 11-02-2014, 08:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DHD View Post
Just use an extention for the A21. Never plug it into a power conditioner.
I use a surge protector for my other gear(gives me enough outlets), but I always plug my HCA2205A directly into the wall outlet.

imo, using a power conditioner is a bit like using Dolby Volume...just totally screws up the sound.
Does a power conditioner negatively affect a preamp as well, or just an amp?
BillP is offline  
post #3710 of 3818 Old 11-03-2014, 04:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 5,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post
Does a power conditioner negatively affect a preamp as well, or just an amp?
The only time I used a line conditioner was when I was using an AVR/power amp combo, I did not have my P7 at the time. And it did not improve the sound. The HCA2205A was connected direct to the wall.

So I would say, yes. The less in the signal path, the better.
I only use a surge protector, which of coarse provides the required number of outlets.
4DHD is offline  
post #3711 of 3818 Old 11-03-2014, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 547
I stand firmly by my PS audio Dectet & Quintet along with a Soloist Premier inwall conditioner surge protectors I run the entirety of my rig including my A21 (direct to the Soloist after a discussion with Richard which said it shouldn't be a problem) the result was enough for the first time to get my amp on some sort of protection with only pluses while doing so ( better perceived dynamics do lower noise, along with crystal clear highs) This was never the case with a Monster conditioner which did restrict dynamics. This along with two dedicated 20 amp circuits are my system must haves along with room treatments .

try a well made conditioner/ surge protector for yourself and then decide
audiofan1 is offline  
post #3712 of 3818 Old 11-03-2014, 01:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Ah, and how much for the PS Audio and Soloist Prmier units and cost of adding 2 20 amp circuits? Most people would say no to that, 2 new circuits could be in excess of $600 alone depending on if one has room in his panel to start with.
audio4life is offline  
post #3713 of 3818 Old 11-03-2014, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,905
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio4life View Post
Ah, and how much for the PS Audio and Soloist Prmier units and cost of adding 2 20 amp circuits? Most people would say no to that, 2 new circuits could be in excess of $600 alone depending on if one has room in his panel to start with.
I replaced the 20 amp breaker with a dual 20-amp breaker to save space and keep them on the same phase (to help with ground-loops).


- Rich
audiofan1 likes this.

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A21 & A31 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #3714 of 3818 Old 11-03-2014, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jima4a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post
I replaced the 20 amp breaker with a dual 20-amp breaker to save space and keep them on the same phase (to help with ground-loops).


- Rich
I ran two 20 amp circuits to my room but they are on different phases. I will check on a dual 20-amp breaker as I am dealing with some pops now that I added a preamp and switched to XLRs in my system.
jima4a is offline  
post #3715 of 3818 Old 11-03-2014, 10:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio4life View Post
Ah, and how much for the PS Audio and Soloist Prmier units and cost of adding 2 20 amp circuits? Most people would say no to that, 2 new circuits could be in excess of $600 alone depending on if one has room in his panel to start with.
Indeed it can be a tad bit expensive! but the result is quite profound , I only considered doing this after I felt my system was sounding fantastic and I liked what each selected component brought to the table. It was done in stages over perhaps three or four years, first the dedicated lines> Soloist>Quintet and the Detect Dec 2012.
If I had it all to do again and given a choice , even before any gear was selected the room and its acoustics along with clean unrestricted power .
audiofan1 is offline  
post #3716 of 3818 Old 11-03-2014, 11:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
audio4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
Indeed it can be a tad bit expensive! but the result is quite profound , I only considered doing this after I felt my system was sounding fantastic and I liked what each selected component brought to the table. It was done in stages over perhaps three or four years, first the dedicated lines> Soloist>Quintet and the Detect Dec 2012.
If I had it all to do again and given a choice , even before any gear was selected the room and its acoustics along with clean unrestricted power .
The point I'm trying to make is, your route is a rather expensive one, and most people can't do it. And the question on the floor was, should one buy a hundred dollar Emotiva power bar for the A21. The previous thoughts were a few hundred dollar Panamax power conditioner also wouldn't help. I'm hoping you'll be skeptical of such a device too. Your several thousand dollar solution is in another category, and might prove quite effective, but we're discussing an under-500 category solution.
audio4life is offline  
post #3717 of 3818 Old 11-04-2014, 07:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,905
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
Indeed it can be a tad bit expensive! but the result is quite profound , I only considered doing this after I felt my system was sounding fantastic and I liked what each selected component brought to the table. It was done in stages over perhaps three or four years, first the dedicated lines> Soloist>Quintet and the Detect Dec 2012.
If I had it all to do again and given a choice , even before any gear was selected the room and its acoustics along with clean unrestricted power .
I am a bit skeptical of that company. Their DSD native DirectStream DAC does not perform well:

Here are the Stereophile measurements:

http://www.stereophile.com/content/p...r-measurements

Quote:
Things didn't look so good, however, when I performed a wider-band spectral analysis with the PS Audio processing dithered data representing a 1kHz tone at –90dBFS with 16-bit (fig.6, cyan and magenta traces) and 24-bit data (blue, red). With 16-bit data, the noise floor is dominated by the dither used to encode the signal, though a trace of second-harmonic distortion is visible. But when the bit depth was increased to 24, which was correctly indicated on the front-panel display, the noise floor dropped at most by 5dB, suggesting that the DirectStream DAC has only about 17 bits of resolution.
Then there was the Noise harvester which turns on a blue-led when it eats up the line noise:

http://www.musicdirect.com/p-7419-ps...-black-ea.aspx

My snakes are well oiled.

- Rich
audiofan1 likes this.

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A21 & A31 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15

Last edited by RichB; 11-04-2014 at 07:08 AM.
RichB is offline  
post #3718 of 3818 Old 11-04-2014, 08:40 AM
Member
 
jprod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I bought a short ( 2 feet) extension cord but have not had any time to listen. Busy week at work. Will try to listen over the next few days.
jprod is offline  
post #3719 of 3818 Old 11-04-2014, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by audio4life View Post
The point I'm trying to make is, your route is a rather expensive one, and most people can't do it. And the question on the floor was, should one buy a hundred dollar Emotiva power bar for the A21. The previous thoughts were a few hundred dollar Panamax power conditioner also wouldn't help. I'm hoping you'll be skeptical of such a device too. Your several thousand dollar solution is in another category, and might prove quite effective, but we're discussing an under-500 category solution.

A Dectet can be had for 399 which is capable of running an entire system.
audiofan1 is offline  
post #3720 of 3818 Old 11-04-2014, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post
I am a bit skeptical of that company. Their DSD native DirectStream DAC does not perform well:

Here are the Stereophile measurements:

http://www.stereophile.com/content/p...r-measurements



Then there was the Noise harvester which turns on a blue-led when it eats up the line noise:

http://www.musicdirect.com/p-7419-ps...-black-ea.aspx

My snakes are well oiled.

- Rich
I used Ps audio's stuff for a few years now (excluding the Harvesters ) and love them , they're well made and are solid performers in my setup both the cables and conditioners with what consider reasonable prices I haven't heard any of there dac's ( I love my 105 ) but they are indeed well respected and sometimes very innovative.
audiofan1 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Parasound , Parasound Products Inc , Parasound Classic 2100 Stereo Pre Amp



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off