Parasound Owners Thread - Page 163 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 237Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4861 of 4870 Old 02-01-2016, 04:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
Sure. Just don't use the RCA stereo outs. I used to use the optical out on my Connect all the time.
Actually after some research I Might use the Bluesound Node 2 or Auralic Aries Mini to connect to my parasound ..

For some reasons I thought you had to use the USB input on the parasound to use the DAC..
blackjack616 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4862 of 4870 Old 02-01-2016, 04:27 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,534
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackjack616 View Post
For some reasons I thought you had to use the USB input on the parasound to use the DAC..
If you send audio to it via any digital input, the DAC converts the signal to analog. If you use the analog inputs, the DAC doesn't get used because the signal is already analog...
gsr is offline  
post #4863 of 4870 Old 02-01-2016, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
If you send audio to it via any digital input, the DAC converts the signal to analog. If you use the analog inputs, the DAC doesn't get used because the signal is already analog...

thanks for this; i'll just use the coaxial then. I'm guessing the parasound DAC is far superior to the DAC in the blue sound node 2?

Supported DAC Sampling Rates
USB: up to 384 kHz / 32-bit PCM

Coax/Opt: up to 192 kHz / 24-bit PCM

Does this mean USB is better and would produce better sound quality?

Last edited by blackjack616; 02-01-2016 at 05:40 PM.
blackjack616 is online now  
post #4864 of 4870 Old 02-02-2016, 10:53 PM
Senior Member
 
RobDec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 12
AMP draw

Hi
Still researching the A51 and A21. Im curious what the amp draw is for these two units? I have a 20 amp dedicated line. And the Parasound amps will be replacing 2 Krell KAV 250a/3 and 1 KAV 250a. My amp draw is 6 amps with my current system, but just want to know if I may be in trouble?

Thank You,
Rob
RobDec is online now  
post #4865 of 4870 Old 02-03-2016, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Prescott AZ.
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDec View Post
Hi
Still researching the A51 and A21. Im curious what the amp draw is for these two units? I have a 20 amp dedicated line. And the Parasound amps will be replacing 2 Krell KAV 250a/3 and 1 KAV 250a. My amp draw is 6 amps with my current system, but just want to know if I may be in trouble?

Thank You,
Rob
I have the A21 a P5 preamp and cambridge752 bd as well as HSU sub all on 1 15amp line with no problems at all. The A21 barely gets warm and sounds great in this 2 channel system. It replaced my Krell KAV 250A that also sounded great.
I moved the Krell 250A to my 5.2 system along with the Krell KAV 250A/3. The/3 is on a 20amp line along with a sub , nad dac,cambridge 752bd and 46" TV no problems. The 2 channel KAV is on a 15 amp line along with a sub , Anthem MRX310, Roku , and the lights in that room no problems. For awhile the everything was on the 20amp line with no problems. So while I don't have the A51 I think you'll be safe. PS IMHO the A21 and KAV250A both sound great in my two channel room. If I had to pick one over the other it would be tuff sound wise. The krell may have a little stronger bass... my ears my system. Hope some of this helps.
uthiker is offline  
post #4866 of 4870 Old Today, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
adrummingdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Hey guys,


I'm selling my A21, along with my B&W CM and SVS setup. If interested, head over to the classifieds or PM me.

B&W CM9 S2, B&W CMC2 S2, DefTech XTR-20BP, Dual SVS SB-2000, Parasound Halo A21, Pioneer Elite SC-65, Samsung UN55F8000, Apple Mac Mini, Iomega NAS
adrummingdude is online now  
post #4867 of 4870 Old Today, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
RobDec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks uthiker,
That's interesting. I was hoping there would be a big difference between the Krells and the A51 and A21 combo. Maybe ill expand my search to other amps.

Rob
RobDec is online now  
post #4868 of 4870 Old Today, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDec View Post
Thanks uthiker,
That's interesting. I was hoping there would be a big difference between the Krells and the A51 and A21 combo. Maybe ill expand my search to other amps.

Rob
If you're looking for a very different sound you could try a Belles. I have a Krell integrated and the A52 and a boxed up Belles. The Krell and the Parasound are more alike then different but the Belles...wooo boy! is that a different thing. I am very tempted to put in back in but don't relish the rewiring.
artur9 is online now  
post #4869 of 4870 Old Today, 09:11 PM
Member
 
seanh1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Jc3+ that I've owned for about a year with no problems
. I was using s sounds its zephyr cart with the recommended 47K load setting on the Jc3+, worked flawlessly for a year.

Just upgraded to a Lyra etna MC cart, had it professionally installed, the recommended load for my cart is 100K. So I changed the Jc3+ load setting switch to 47k variable a load setting to 100k and it sounds like I'm playing an iPod
No low frequencies at all. Tried different loads on the dial, same problem. Switch back to fixed 47k as originally and sounds normal but not amazing. Installer said I'm not getting the full effect of the new cart because I can't send the proper load to it and that my Jc3+ is faulty. Anyone else ever this type of issue ?
seanh1978 is online now  
post #4870 of 4870 Old Today, 09:11 PM
Member
 
seanh1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Jc3+ that I've owned for about a year with no problems
. I was using s sounds its zephyr cart with the recommended 47K load setting on the Jc3+, worked flawlessly for a year.

Just upgraded to a Lyra etna MC cart, had it professionally installed, the recommended load for my cart is 100K. So I changed the Jc3+ load setting switch to 47k variable a load setting to 100k and it sounds like I'm playing an iPod
No low frequencies at all. Tried different loads on the dial, same problem. Switch back to fixed 47k as originally and sounds normal but not amazing. Installer said I'm not getting the full effect of the new cart because I can't send the proper load to it and that my Jc3+ is faulty. Anyone else ever this type of issue ?
seanh1978 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Parasound , Parasound Products Inc , Parasound Classic 2100 Stereo Pre Amp



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off