Parasound Owners Thread - Page 179 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 388Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5341 of 5354 Old 12-06-2016, 04:11 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,930
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 936 Post(s)
Liked: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesiMunda View Post
Question : I am looking to introduce subwoofer for music at low/moderate volumes. I have A21 connected to Marantz 7702 pre amp using XLR cables in 2 channel only setup at the moment. Is there any way I can incorporate velodyne subwoofer in the setup without making main speakers as - small.

Thought - Can I user - L/R "Loop" RCA output of A21 and connect to RCA input terminals of velodyne sub ? This way I can use crossover of velodyne sub and it will always be engaged.

What do you think of this ?

Thanks
Why is it that you don't want to configure your main speakers as "small"? That's part of the process of integrating a subwoofer into the system. The "small" selection doesn't mean your speakers are now considered tiny, it means that the crossover has been turned on and the frequency you (or an Audyssey calibration) have selected now defines the transition point where content below the crossover point gradually transitions over to the subwoofer.

You could use the loop outputs on the A21 instead of setting the speakers to small, but then you would end up with double bass as the full bass content will then go to both your main speakers AND your subwoofer, which really isn't desirable.

Edit: To clarify the last point.

Last edited by gsr; 12-06-2016 at 06:01 PM.
gsr is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5342 of 5354 Old 12-06-2016, 05:56 PM
Member
 
DesiMunda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
Why is it that you don't want to configure your main speakers as "small"? That's part of the process of integrating a subwoofer into the system. The "small" selection doesn't mean your speakers are now considered tiny, it means that the crossover has been turned on and the frequency you (or an Audyssey calibration) have selected now defines the transition point where content below the crossover point gradually transitions over to the subwoofer. You could use the loop outputs on the A21, but then you would end up with double bass as the full bass content will then go to both your main speakers AND your subwoofer, which really isn't desirable.

Thank You for nice explanation. So this is what i am thinking of doing now. Please validate.

Change speaker setting to "small" connect "loop" RCA output of parasound to sub input. Run Audyssey calibration and tweak crossover settings if needed.

Thanks

Last edited by DesiMunda; 12-06-2016 at 06:01 PM.
DesiMunda is offline  
post #5343 of 5354 Old 12-06-2016, 06:00 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,930
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 936 Post(s)
Liked: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesiMunda View Post
Thank You for nice explanation. So this is what i am thinking of doing now. Please validate.

Change speaker setting to "small" connect "loop" RCA output of parasound to sub input. Run Audyssey calibration and tweak crossover settings on pre/pro if needed.

Thanks
Um, no that definitely won't work. When you set the speaker to small, the pre-out for that speaker will have the crossover applied, which means that hooking the subwoofer to the loop outputs from the A21 means the subwoofer won't be getting much content to work with.

Change the speaker setting to small and leave your amp hooked up as it currently is. Connect your subwoofer to the subwoofer output on the Marantz 7702. Then run an Audyssey calibration and then tweak any settings that need to be tweaked.
gsr is online now  
post #5344 of 5354 Old 12-06-2016, 06:25 PM
Member
 
DesiMunda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
thanks; will try as you suggested.
DesiMunda is offline  
post #5345 of 5354 Old 12-06-2016, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 511 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesiMunda View Post
Is there any way I can incorporate velodyne subwoofer in the setup without making main speakers as - small.
Does the Velodyne have "high level" inputs? You'd run speaker wire from the amp to the Velodyne then some more speaker wire to the L/R speakers.
artur9 is offline  
post #5346 of 5354 Old 12-06-2016, 08:50 PM
Member
 
DesiMunda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
Does the Velodyne have "high level" inputs? You'd run speaker wire from the amp to the Velodyne then some more speaker wire to the L/R speakers.
Thanks for your suggestions. It has output and input RCA connection; Don't know how much sound distortion they may add and that's why do not want to run additional cable wires out of subwoofers.
DesiMunda is offline  
post #5347 of 5354 Old Yesterday, 10:38 AM
Member
 
Yveke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesiMunda View Post
Question : I am looking to introduce subwoofer for music at low/moderate volumes. I have A21 connected to Marantz 7702 pre amp using XLR cables in 2 channel only setup at the moment. Is there any way I can incorporate velodyne subwoofer in the setup without making main speakers as - small.

Thought - Can I user - L/R "Loop" RCA output of A21 and connect to RCA input terminals of velodyne sub ? This way I can use crossover of velodyne sub and it will always be engaged.

What do you think of this ?

Thanks
Go into AV7702 bass or subwoofer(can't remember) section and select LFE + MAIN, with the option to select bass management crossover even if speakers are set to full range.

Note that some say this can cause "booming" issues due to double bass, but you're the best judge on how it sounds to you.

No need to loop anything connection wise, just a config option.

Rgds,

Yves.

2 x BK 400xxls - KEF R900 R600c R700 - ATI 4002 signature - ATI 2005 - Parasound P5 - Cambridge Audio 851N - Marantz AV7702 - Dune HD Solo 4K - xbox360 - Asset UPnP from PC - Pioneer LX5090 - Epson TW3600EW
Yveke is online now  
post #5348 of 5354 Old Yesterday, 12:38 PM
Member
 
DesiMunda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yveke View Post
Go into AV7702 bass or subwoofer(can't remember) section and select LFE + MAIN, with the option to select bass management crossover even if speakers are set to full range.

Note that some say this can cause "booming" issues due to double bass, but you're the best judge on how it sounds to you.

No need to loop anything connection wise, just a config option.

Rgds,

Yves.
Thanks Yves. That's exactly audyssey did configure for me last night.
So far I do not notice "booming".
Planning to test this for few days and go from there.
Thanks
DesiMunda is offline  
post #5349 of 5354 Old Yesterday, 06:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlynch34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 82
just got a demo unit (A21)... coming from emotiva so far im not noticing much difference perhaps a tad more laid back than my emotiva mono blocks.... have to let it settle in and see how I feel about it with more listening..

Don
Marantz AV8802a,Parasound Halo A21, Emotiva XPA-1l x4,Emotiva MPS-2. Rhythmik DIY 15inch x2, Plus, Magnapan 3.7i, Magnepan CC5,Magnepan MC1,JVC RS400, DIY 125" 2:35 Elite Screen cinegray 3d .
dlynch34 is online now  
post #5350 of 5354 Old Today, 01:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,521
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1606 Post(s)
Liked: 1614
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesiMunda View Post
Question : I am looking to introduce subwoofer for music at low/moderate volumes. I have A21 connected to Marantz 7702 pre amp using XLR cables in 2 channel only setup at the moment. Is there any way I can incorporate velodyne subwoofer in the setup without making main speakers as - small.

Thought - Can I user - L/R "Loop" RCA output of A21 and connect to RCA input terminals of velodyne sub ? This way I can use crossover of velodyne sub and it will always be engaged.

What do you think of this ?

Thanks
This method will work when you listen to 2/ch (assuming you mean fullrange mains in Direct or Pure Direct mode on the 7702)but still want to have the option for a sub with 2/ch.

All you need to do is run Audyseey or not and set your mains to small in the speaker config. to what ever crossover point you like or sounds best ie 40,60,80hz etc.. or what the avr has determined if using Audyssey.

The great part to all this is when using the "Direct" or "Pure Direct" mode on the 7702 the mains will be full range with no sub or need to reconfigure, if you want a sub in the mix just use "Auto" as it will now incorporate the sub along with your mains at the crossover point you have selected. These three options are available by pressing the yellow button (labeled pure) on the supplied 7702 remote
audiofan1 is online now  
post #5351 of 5354 Old Today, 01:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,521
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1606 Post(s)
Liked: 1614
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlynch34 View Post
just got a demo unit (A21)... coming from emotiva so far im not noticing much difference perhaps a tad more laid back than my emotiva mono blocks.... have to let it settle in and see how I feel about it with more listening..
leave it on and keep listening.

Post back
audiofan1 is online now  
post #5352 of 5354 Old Today, 10:19 AM
Member
 
Yveke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
This method will work when you listen to 2/ch (assuming you mean fullrange mains in Direct or Pure Direct mode on the 7702)but still want to have the option for a sub with 2/ch.

All you need to do is run Audyseey or not and set your mains to small in the speaker config. to what ever crossover point you like or sounds best ie 40,60,80hz etc.. or what the avr has determined if using Audyssey.

The great part to all this is when using the "Direct" or "Pure Direct" mode on the 7702 the mains will be full range with no sub or need to reconfigure, if you want a sub in the mix just use "Auto" as it will now incorporate the sub along with your mains at the crossover point you have selected. These three options are available by pressing the yellow button (labeled pure) on the supplied 7702 remote
Hi,

Note that the Auto puts it into "stereo" DSP mode, which also means you need to select an audessey mode... L+R bypass is the best option if you don't want any more "color" added by the dsp, whilst still enjoying sub eq.

I did not like the way the combination sounded in my setup and opted to add a Parasound P5 to use as a 2 ch preamp with bass mgmt and HT bypass. Sound better than the av7702 preamp in my room/setup.

Brgds,

Yves.

2 x BK 400xxls - KEF R900 R600c R700 - ATI 4002 signature - ATI 2005 - Parasound P5 - Cambridge Audio 851N - Marantz AV7702 - Dune HD Solo 4K - xbox360 - Asset UPnP from PC - Pioneer LX5090 - Epson TW3600EW
Yveke is online now  
post #5353 of 5354 Old Today, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,521
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1606 Post(s)
Liked: 1614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yveke View Post
Hi,

Note that the Auto puts it into "stereo" DSP mode, which also means you need to select an audessey mode... L+R bypass is the best option if you don't want any more "color" added by the dsp, whilst still enjoying sub eq.

I did not like the way the combination sounded in my setup and opted to add a Parasound P5 to use as a 2 ch preamp with bass mgmt and HT bypass. Sound better than the av7702 preamp in my room/setup.

Brgds,

Yves.
Even with "Auto" you can still turn Audyssey off and use subs with your mains but if the point is to use and external dac with 7702 then the point is moot
audiofan1 is online now  
post #5354 of 5354 Old Today, 12:05 PM
Member
 
Yveke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
Even with "Auto" you can still turn Audyssey off and use subs with your mains but if the point is to use and external dac with 7702 then the point is moot
So true, in my case I opted to use the P5 as a pre and as I play only digital, my dac and source is a cambridge audio 851n. For me, the av7702 for pre and DAC in 2 channel(with embedded streamer) is no comparison to the joy of sound I have now. For movies the av7702 suits me... for now :-)

Yves.

2 x BK 400xxls - KEF R900 R600c R700 - ATI 4002 signature - ATI 2005 - Parasound P5 - Cambridge Audio 851N - Marantz AV7702 - Dune HD Solo 4K - xbox360 - Asset UPnP from PC - Pioneer LX5090 - Epson TW3600EW
Yveke is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Parasound , Parasound Products Inc , Parasound Classic 2100 Stereo Pre Amp

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off